19 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Sony XPERIA™ Z1, Official Thread V7, 4.4.4 Rolling out for Xperia Z1!!!

ckchan
post Mar 6 2014, 12:06 PM

3,026 posts

QUOTE(Yumi Hayashi @ Mar 6 2014, 11:58 AM)
Thinking of getting z2 after this z1.
It's supposed to be similar right? hmm.gif
Only the battery and RAM is different.

Is it worth it to change?
up to you to decide whether is worth or not

most spec in z2 is slightly upgraded

better and larger screen - 5" -> 5.2" IPS
faster processor - 2.2 -> 2.3GHz
bigger RAM - 2GB -> 3GB
bigger battery capacity - 3000 -> 3200MAH
mono -> stereo front speaker
slightly slimmer dimension

to me, it's not really worth it la cos most of the improvement will be hardly noticeable except the screen viewing angle and stereo speaker

This post has been edited by ckchan: Mar 6 2014, 12:09 PM
ckchan
post Mar 6 2014, 12:12 PM

3,026 posts

QUOTE(Yumi Hayashi @ Mar 6 2014, 12:08 PM)
hmm.gif
Well depending on the price they'll offer it at I guess.
But I heard that it's going to be 500 / 1k above the original Z1 price.
Or maybe they take over z1's price.

Cause my microphone is already muffled when i talk into it.
So thought of changing it, and give it to my mum or something.

Thanks for the info  thumbup.gif
yeah... i think most probably it will be priced similarly to z1's initial launch price. that's just my guess.
ckchan
post Mar 6 2014, 04:02 PM

3,026 posts

QUOTE(shaynewai @ Mar 6 2014, 03:12 PM)
Wouldnt it be nice if they allow trade in with z1 for z2?  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif
i think sony did offer trade in program, for ZU i think. but the trade in price was very low, unattractive at all.
ckchan
post Mar 6 2014, 04:16 PM

3,026 posts

QUOTE(lkhdungeon @ Mar 6 2014, 04:07 PM)
any root for double tap screen to wake up phone from z2?
i'm waiting for this too... lots of z2 apps and features ported to z1 already, but not tap to wake...
ckchan
post Mar 6 2014, 05:22 PM

3,026 posts

QUOTE(arrowhead7372 @ Mar 6 2014, 04:41 PM)
Djkarut
aidy_ash84
apparently, that touch screen problem is with most z1's as mentioned in sony and xda forums.

alot of users are frustrated as there are close to 0 response from sony regarding it albeit being posted in sony forums.

link: http://talk.sonymobile.com/t5/Xperia-Z1-Z1.../410611/page/42

i did a test on touch screen  ( setting > about phone > diagnostics > test device > touch screen ). it gives u a 10 sec to conteng the screen. everything went well. do it for the 2nd time and the line keeps breaking after 1-2 secs.
mine was exactly like: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oj1P0X12r_A
cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif
if yours happen frequently, i suggest u to send your phone back to service center
ckchan
post Mar 6 2014, 05:37 PM

3,026 posts

QUOTE(arrowhead7372 @ Mar 6 2014, 05:23 PM)
not frequently, but it does happen.

i scared i send back, wait 1-2 weeks, get back phone "sir, ur phone fixed"

the moment i leave the service centre - jeng jeng jeng. history repeats itself
well, if u check back previous thread, i do face this problem b4 also. but very rarely and it only happens if i play my phone lying flat. but each time i test it on the test menu, it's ok.

but now... it seems the touch screen is better that it's been quite some time i did not notice this problem happening anymore.
ckchan
post Mar 8 2014, 03:34 PM

3,026 posts

QUOTE(jloi @ Mar 8 2014, 12:01 PM)
Z1 VS Z2 camera. Damn hopefully Z1 kitkat will have same algorithms as Z2

more images at http://www.xperiablog.net/2014/03/07/has-s...-the-xperia-z1/
This is great!
ckchan
post Mar 8 2014, 04:29 PM

3,026 posts

QUOTE(jloi @ Mar 8 2014, 04:28 PM)
I know. Thats why I hope Sony dont do something stupid and kill Z1 tongue.gif
haha... pray... that sony will bring most, if not all, of the goodies from z2 to z1 in the upcoming kitkat update
ckchan
post Mar 9 2014, 04:27 PM

3,026 posts

QUOTE(Roddin @ Mar 9 2014, 12:27 PM)
Guys, prior to update for 4.3, my z1 use to be able to stand for up to 2 days without charging. But now, at 4.3, it heats up often and the battery by lunch time Is around 65%. Anyone have experienced the same problems?
I have very little apps installed with no games. I asked the dude at sony center but even doesn't know a solution. =/
I did noticed the battery drain faster in 4.3, but not too huge difference.

Check and see if there is any apps constantly running in the background. If no suggest to do a factory reset
ckchan
post Mar 9 2014, 09:12 PM

3,026 posts

QUOTE(jloi @ Mar 9 2014, 08:37 PM)
heard d system leaked they dun have 4k video recording
Not sure it is because of the camera hardware - BIONZ related
To me doesn't really matter got 4k recording or not. Improving the photo quality is more important.
ckchan
post Mar 9 2014, 09:45 PM

3,026 posts

QUOTE(jloi @ Mar 9 2014, 09:13 PM)
don't think that happened on ZU  sweat.gif previous sony EXMOR RS sensor was pretty bad especially on the processing image.
Yeah... Zu camera is very different from z1/z2. Maybe that's the reason 4k recording is not available.

According to the leak, alot of features are left out in zu kitkat update... Crap... Tap to wake not included...

http://www.xperiablog.net/2014/03/09/xperi...or-tap-to-wake/
ckchan
post Mar 10 2014, 01:23 AM

3,026 posts

QUOTE(Gemc666 @ Mar 9 2014, 10:48 PM)
dont worry, we will get it on the z1, official or XDA way xD

Guys i wanna ask, how much time does it take for you to full charge the phone using the Magnet cable? i bought the cable only and sometimes it charge fast, sometime it take 5 hours or more O.o maybe the cable is not original?
Might be due to the quality of the cable. I face the same issue too. Sometimes charges whole night, 6 hours or so, only manage to charge 30%...
ckchan
post Mar 10 2014, 09:02 AM

3,026 posts

QUOTE(Gemc666 @ Mar 10 2014, 02:01 AM)
hmm, let's wait to see if someone with the dock is facing the same issues
No issue with the dock. This only happens to the 3rd party magnetic cable I bought.
ckchan
post Mar 10 2014, 09:03 AM

3,026 posts

QUOTE(Xirality @ Mar 10 2014, 01:44 AM)
original cable?
No. Bought from Internet

Yesterday night I tried that cable again. Charged 5 hours at least, battery increase 10% nia...

This post has been edited by ckchan: Mar 10 2014, 09:06 AM
ckchan
post Mar 10 2014, 11:33 AM

3,026 posts

QUOTE(j0ann3 @ Mar 10 2014, 11:13 AM)
I have the same problem recently too~ i was wondering if my face activated it or something~
Im also having an issue with the person on the other side not hearing me clearly. It seems the sound from my side cuts off. Am wondering if i should send it back to SONY.. sighz~!!
yeah... for the loudspeaker, i think it's a fw bug. hopefully sony solve it in the upcoming fw update.

but it's not really big deal as we can just easily switch off the loudspeaker. and to me it's not always happening also, not sure about others la. it's annoying, yes i agree. let's just wait and see if there's any fix later.

ckchan
post Mar 10 2014, 02:15 PM

3,026 posts

QUOTE(j0ann3 @ Mar 10 2014, 12:37 PM)
hehe~ it wasnt irritating until i had to answer a call in an auditorium and the loudspeaker suddenly came on~! lol~

but do u guys experience any issues with ppl not being able to hear u on the other end? i seem to have this problem with every call. its definitely not the coverage issue cuz the other side says the sound just goes blank. then they can hear me again.
if every call i think quite serious la. i myself never encounter such problem b4 la. have u tried changing sim card and see if the same problem exist? if after changing another sim card also the same then i think can quite confirm is your phone problem and better send for warranty
ckchan
post Mar 10 2014, 03:49 PM

3,026 posts

QUOTE(Xirality @ Mar 10 2014, 03:45 PM)
That's way too slow  ohmy.gif
yes... the quality of the cable degraded over time. when first bought the cable no problem at all. after some time, can feel the charge getting slower and slower...

but i guess depends on luck la. some user been using these 3rd party magnetic cable with no problem. some facing problem after some time like me.

i still recommend using the ori charging dock. no issue thus far.

This post has been edited by ckchan: Mar 10 2014, 03:50 PM
ckchan
post Mar 11 2014, 09:45 AM

3,026 posts

QUOTE(Gemc666 @ Mar 11 2014, 08:34 AM)
seeing the users experience with the cable here i'll go with this dock, should add it on the OP on the accesory parts?

Sony BSC10 bluetooth speaker with Magnetic charging pad

this looks cool la. when available in m'sia?
ckchan
post Mar 11 2014, 10:43 AM

3,026 posts

QUOTE(cyew86 @ Mar 11 2014, 09:55 AM)
the only bad thing about using a dock is that it cannot be used together with phone casing. constant removing and installing might pose scratching problem onto the phone :/
that's y i modified the dock by scraping away the hinges so that now it fits my phone together with most back case
ckchan
post Mar 13 2014, 10:23 PM

3,026 posts

QUOTE(cheebc @ Mar 13 2014, 08:22 PM)
tempered glass may crack, but it wont shatter into pieces like normal glass

u can check the drop test below:

Nillkin tempered glass review:

I'm using Gustell case from Taobao.

How does it fare against finger print?