University Monash University Thread V4, Malaysia & Aus Campus, QS 2016: 67!! THES 2016: 73!! up up up!!

zstan
post Mar 2 2014, 12:54 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Mar 1 2014, 02:30 PM)
Hi, thanks for the reply. KTM is ok too. So the nearest station is Subang Jaya station? Do you know what is the estimated taxi fare from there to the campus?
Setia Jaya station is near too. nearby Sunway Mentari

QUOTE(louis6 @ Mar 2 2014, 02:41 AM)
Hello, may i know when is the convocation date for degree students?
depending on when you finish you degree
zstan
post Mar 2 2014, 05:21 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(Jardindeshalimar @ Mar 2 2014, 03:22 PM)
Hey guys, did you all enjoy orientation?  So classes start tomorrow.  Any tips on where to buy used books for the following courses ENG1091, ENG1040, ENG1061 and ENG1081? Also any info on past notes?  tongue.gif
can have a look here

https://www.facebook.com/groups/13645814979...=group_activity
zstan
post Mar 22 2014, 12:58 AM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(skyzzable @ Mar 20 2014, 11:21 AM)
Seems like i cant log into monash wifi, im using iphone, any solutions? sad.gif
wifi has been down for the past 3 weeks. already acknowledged by ITS. hopefully it can be fixed soon
zstan
post Mar 24 2014, 12:02 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Mar 23 2014, 08:52 PM)
3 weeks and they cant rectify it? thats some competency lvl  doh.gif
probably something major i guess hmm.gif new building already done probably have to link the networks there as well
zstan
post May 20 2014, 09:41 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(jackycrazy @ May 20 2014, 02:19 PM)
Hi All,
I have some questions and wondering if you all can help me out...

I have received acceptance letter from admission office of Monash University and have replied it through mail around 3weeks ago.
One lady called me and said they received my acceptance letter and they are passing it to the Finance Department to confirm my payment for initial fees.

So is there anything I will receive to confirm I'm accepted by Monash University already???
I have emailed them twice but no reply email from them.
The offer letter is good enough
zstan
post May 23 2014, 11:46 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(Exodus123 @ May 23 2014, 01:14 PM)
Does monash have honours for pharmacy ? Do i need to do 1 extra year to obtain honours?
yes the pharmacy degree has honours.
zstan
post Jul 20 2014, 12:50 AM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(jackycrazy @ Jul 19 2014, 08:33 PM)
Hi all...
Orientation starts on this Monday so I'm wondering if any new students are excited about it...
Well I'm a new student too and wondering if any senior here can help me out with a simple question...
Which carpark is the best for Monash students???
I know there are 2 carparks which is located just beside the University...
I heard there is a new Sunway carpark which is quite large and drivers who park their car there can walk to Monash through the bridge right??(Correct me if I'm wrong)
So how bout the rate of these carparks??? Which carpark is the most crowded and which one is your common carpark???
Thanks all for the reply.... smile.gif
park at south quay. foc tongue.gif
zstan
post Jul 20 2014, 03:22 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(jackycrazy @ Jul 20 2014, 02:08 PM)
That parking lot seems small..lol
If I reach Monash tomorrow around 9.30AM there are still some free parking lot there right???
The outdoor parking is RM2 per day though...seems a little bigger....
better go earlier if you want to fight for the free parking.
zstan
post Jul 26 2014, 11:50 AM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Jul 24 2014, 06:51 PM)
Guys, may I know what are the extra fees that you need to pay every semester or year, apart from the tuition fee? Thanks
rm100 extra per semester that's all.
zstan
post Jul 26 2014, 11:50 AM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Jul 24 2014, 06:51 PM)
Guys, may I know what are the extra fees that you need to pay every semester or year, apart from the tuition fee? Thanks
rm100 extra per semester that's all.
zstan
post Oct 30 2014, 09:43 AM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(dropboxid @ Oct 29 2014, 11:56 PM)
but different campus are providing different courses
so the employer will find that i am graduated from Malaysia which has lower entry requirement,isn't it?
in malaysia there won't be a difference la.. with the Monash name and a half-decent resume you are probably likely able to land an interview.. after that its your own doing liao
zstan
post Oct 30 2014, 08:23 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(Lespectraal @ Oct 30 2014, 06:10 PM)
Is it true that getting a degree in Monash is better than say Sunway or Taylors since it's Australian and all?

Because I've been accepted to Monash in Bachelors of Arts(Psychology) but I am also thinking of doing computer science in Sunway.

I did not get accepted to Monash for computer science though, because I didn't get pass their requirements for that course.

Any thoughts guys?
both are different courses man. how to compare? but on paper Monash is definitely better. but ultimately u should go for a course u r interested in.
zstan
post Oct 31 2014, 10:37 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(itserin @ Oct 31 2014, 03:21 PM)
Yes, like lowyat. Or this:
https://www.xtremepapers.com/community/

Problem with lowyat is that it's an extremely wide net. Since Monash syllabus is really specific, it'd be great if there was a place to discuss each subject.

From your reaction, I'm guessing there's none.. but thank you anyway ^^
what's wrong with discussing on moodle or with your group of friends?
zstan
post Nov 14 2014, 09:25 AM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(dropboxid @ Nov 3 2014, 10:46 PM)
Does anyone of you know when can I visit monash sunway to look around the university?
QUOTE(iLegend @ Nov 3 2014, 11:41 PM)
Anytime my friend smile.gif Just ask the staffs at the place where they talk and advise new/potential students and parents (building 2) to give you a tour.
not anytime la sweat.gif sundays not available unless got open day. saturday i think half day only.

QUOTE(chuakz @ Nov 13 2014, 08:51 PM)
Monash graduate here. I've had the honour of being able to study at Monash in Malaysia and at the Clayton campus. I have to agree with you that the quality of teaching doesn't necessarily differ across the campuses but it's actually all down to personal preferences. Yes, the Aussie campuses tend to focus more on participation. Again, this is probably down to their culture. From my experience they are more relaxed in their teaching styles and also tend to reward students if they can see that you've tried your best etc. Malaysian campus, work your ass off and you still get mediocre marks. It's the cultural difference. Asians tend to be more demanding when it comes to quality of work. To think about it, when I was in Aus the students would be amazed at how professionally done our lab reports were. In comparison, they'd scribble stuff on a piece of paper and pass it up as their lab reports. Plus don't be surprised when our level of written English is actually higher than the local Aussie students.
yeah their reports/literature review are wayyyy more simple and they can get full marks for a simple report. it's really shocking to see their quality of work compared to malaysians.
zstan
post Nov 17 2014, 10:25 AM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(dropboxid @ Nov 17 2014, 03:21 AM)
Is it very difficult for monash malaysia student to credit transfer/exchange to australia campus?
credit transfer.. as long as got money can liao..

exchange then u have to be among the top (well, at least the top few in the group of people that wants to apply for exchange)
zstan
post Nov 18 2014, 10:47 AM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Nov 17 2014, 01:01 PM)
usually if you're within the top 25% of the cohort you should be fine...
depending on your course also la. if pharmacy you need to be top 10%
zstan
post Nov 29 2014, 12:56 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(cckkpr @ Nov 28 2014, 09:47 PM)
Just want to check with you.

Is it true that once a student is required to sit for a supplementary exam, he will be asked to sit for supplementary exams in subsequent years irrespective how he does in the year end exams? And the max marks for a supplementary is restricted to 50 marks?
supplementary exams are only offered for units that you have failed.. and yes for the marks part.. there's only pass and fail grades.
zstan
post Nov 29 2014, 08:12 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(cckkpr @ Nov 29 2014, 07:59 PM)
You mean if you sit for supp in year 1 for accounting, you have to sit for supp in year 2 and 3 for accounting? Once in, until you graduate!
no.. every semester there will be different units/subjects... if you fail one unit you MAY be offered to sit for a supplementary paper for that particular unit only.. for other units in other semesters you can sit for the normal finals.. some units do not offer a supplementary paper so you may have to repeat the same unit the following semester or following year.
zstan
post Dec 8 2014, 06:50 PM

15,856 posts

I am alumni liao biggrin.gif
zstan
post Dec 9 2014, 10:22 AM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Dec 9 2014, 12:14 AM)
dr.?
pharmacy

0.0368sec    0.54    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 04:01 PM