University Monash University Thread V4, Malaysia & Aus Campus, QS 2016: 67!! THES 2016: 73!! up up up!!

Aaa321
post May 5 2015, 07:33 PM

19 posts

i would like to ask is it hard to maintain average 75% or above for engineering course,which is the requirement to continue receiving monash high achiever award?
do most students manage to maintain throughout the studies or lose it?
and also,any of you working part time while studying??

This post has been edited by Aaa321: May 5 2015, 07:34 PM
Aaa321
post May 5 2015, 10:17 PM

19 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ May 5 2015, 10:01 PM)
usually only top 10% will receive it... it is easier to maintain after getting scholarship upon entry than to apply by merit after enrolling
ya,so i mean is it hard to maintain an average of 75% or above for the following years after i've qualified for the entrance scholarship,especially for engineering students??
And, thank you very much for the reply biggrin.gif
Aaa321
post May 5 2015, 10:33 PM

19 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ May 5 2015, 10:26 PM)
should be ok if u can even be considered for entrance...

usually only 5% qualify for merit in course... but if maintaining usually 15% will get that results... based on exp for class of 30+ students
u mean out of those who have qualified for entrance scholarship,only 15% of them will maintain? shocking.gif
Aaa321
post May 5 2015, 11:06 PM

19 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ May 5 2015, 10:55 PM)
no i mean if your results is among the top 15% then you would be able to maintain the scholarship... eg class of 30, 3-5 will be able to meet that requirements
hm..top15%?not top 25% since is 75%?
so is still consider quite hard,i suppose?
Aaa321
post May 6 2015, 12:20 PM

19 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ May 5 2015, 11:22 PM)
top 15% percentile, not percentage...

just an indicator... it varies by module/subject...
Oo..got it..thankyou smile.gif
Aaa321
post May 6 2015, 04:27 PM

19 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ May 6 2015, 04:21 PM)
are you in monash yet? if yes which school n course...
haven't,but i've applied,engineering,still considering whether to take up or not
would u encourage to go despite the expensive tuition fee??
and i'm actually afraid of not able to maintain the scholarship
Aaa321
post May 6 2015, 04:33 PM

19 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ May 6 2015, 04:31 PM)
go only... fear of losing your scholarship will be your motivation  tongue.gif
so u suggest to go??
it could be the other way round,haha
Aaa321
post May 6 2015, 04:53 PM

19 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ May 6 2015, 04:49 PM)
be confident in yourself... if you fail to maintain or want to make extra $$$, i got jln... hehehee

i lost my entrance scholarship but still managed to pay off my tuition fees without fama... but in d end fama pay ask me keep my $$$
jalan?like??
really??how??but that's a lot
Aaa321
post May 6 2015, 05:31 PM

19 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ May 6 2015, 04:57 PM)
use work n travel prog during winter break to work overseas  rclxms.gif
It's enough to cover 4 yrs studies????o_O
How many winter breaks u've work for??
Which country u went??

Btw,u were in Monash??which course u took?
Aaa321
post May 6 2015, 06:08 PM

19 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ May 6 2015, 05:34 PM)
enuf... go every year end  rclxms.gif

whistling.gif

1 country...

i start this thread of course i was from monash ler... mechanical
Oo..I tot one can go for work travel only once in a country
U went US??

Haha..my mistake:-D
Aaa321
post May 7 2015, 10:50 AM

19 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ May 6 2015, 09:53 PM)
yea... US, kaching $$$  rclxms.gif
Kaching?
But I still don't get how did u cover 4yrs studies with 3wb, u worked full time?
Aaa321
post May 7 2015, 05:48 PM

19 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ May 7 2015, 11:34 AM)
yeaps... full time... 6d/w, 14 hours a day  rclxms.gif around nett 3-3.5k savings a month.. x4 minus airfare n visiting.. 10-12k return... avg 11kx3.7 ... enough la
Oo...
But then how come u lost the entrance scholarship??because it's too tough or u're not well-prepared??
Aaa321
post May 8 2015, 01:04 AM

19 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ May 7 2015, 07:35 PM)
under estimated things... lost interest...  laugh.gif
under estimated things??for example?
Aaa321
post May 8 2015, 01:05 AM

19 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ May 7 2015, 07:35 PM)
under estimated things... lost interest...  laugh.gif
under estimated things??for example?
Aaa321
post May 8 2015, 11:57 AM

19 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ May 8 2015, 07:42 AM)
hardly studied for pre-u and got good results... then when uni came, did badly  laugh.gif
wah...
but then after that u did well lah?

Aaa321
post May 13 2015, 07:14 PM

19 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ May 8 2015, 07:49 PM)
rclxms.gif
did well enuf to grad  laugh.gif
iccc..
another question i wanna ask is they will adjust the tuition fee with not more than 6% per annum right??normally how much will they increase each year??
Aaa321
post May 13 2015, 08:17 PM

19 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ May 13 2015, 08:12 PM)
4-6% i guess... now with the drop in myr... i think might be more, but once you have enrolled it will be fixed, so dont worry
that means let say the tuition fee is rm42400,it will be the same for 4 yrs??
Aaa321
post May 13 2015, 08:45 PM

19 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ May 13 2015, 08:34 PM)
you're giving me per annum figures right?

better to quote per module/subject...

yes, it is hedged
oo...
thank you very much for answering my every question biggrin.gif
Aaa321
post May 14 2015, 05:52 PM

19 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ May 14 2015, 01:19 PM)
f&b

stop hedging? are you sure?
The semester tuition fee quoted is only applicable to a course commencing in the year as stated in offer statement. In the event of a variation between the fees on the offer letter and the approved Monash University structure of fees, the approved structure will prevail. For future vears of your course, Monash University reserves the right to adjust the annual tuition fees. However, Monash University undertakes that any adjustment factor will not exceed 6% per annum and will be applied on the 1 st of January each year for that calendar year.

this is what they say,so does it mean there will be an increase each year?

0.0389sec    0.94    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 03:38 PM