Application

Information

Previous threads:

Citibank Credit Card Product Disclosure Sheet

Revised with an Update, EFFECTIVE 3 AUGUST 2015...(contributed by fly126)

Citibank Cash Back Card (Income Requirement RM36k p.a) Annual Fee - RM120 + (6% GST) = RM127.20
Citibank Cash Back Platinum (Income Requirement $60k p.a) Annual Fee - $195 + (6% GST) = RM206.70
Cash Back:
* 5% X for Petrol
- Monthly capped at RM300 with Max.$15 Cash Back for Citibank Cash Back
- Monthly capped at RM400 with Max.$20 CB for Citibank Cash Back Plat.

* 2% X Cash Rebate for Major Mobile service providers (Maxis, Digi & Celcom)
[Unlimited Monthly Rebates with t&c On, MUST Pay the Bill thru Citibank Online ONLY in-order to get Cash-back]

* 2% X Cash Rebate on Groceries (AEON Big formerly known as Carrefour, Tesco, Cold Storage, Giant, Everise, Servay, Econsave & Mydin)
- Monthly capped at RM1500 with Max.$30 Cash Back for Citibank Cash Back
- Monthly capped at RM3000 with Max.$60 CB for Citibank Cash Back Plat.

* 2% X Cash Rebate for Pharmacies (Guardian, Watson and Caring) [No Capping]

* 0.2% X Cash Rebate for Others Spending [No Capping]

Note: Cash Back Platinum in BLUE

Citibank CB Only credit the cash back earned once you reach RM20 & If Cash Back < RM20 for a particular month, the total cash rebate amount will be carried forward to the following month.
https://www.citibank.com.my/global_docs/pdf/citicashback.pdf

REVISION OF TERMS AND CONDITONS FOR SELECTED CARDS, BENEFITS AND PRIVILEGES EFFECTIVE 15 MARCH 2015

More bad news: The Instant Rewards Terms and Conditions

NO MORE Lucky Number 8.88% p.a. finance charges for Citi credit cards wef 22nd May
QUOTE(cybpsych @ May 2 2015, 09:44 AM)
Effective 22 May 2015, the 8.88% p.a. finance charge rate is no longer applicable. The tiered finance charges for all Citi credit cards will be revised to 15%p.a, 17%p.a. and 18% p.a.

All finance charges to be applied will be based on your 12 months' repayment record.
https://www.citibank.com.my/english/existin...OLNTLTieredHOME
Ongoing Promotions

Why you should apply for a credit card online!

Citi Rewards Platinum Links

Citi Prestige Links

This post has been edited by Berkshire Breakaway: Aug 3 2015, 06:31 PM
TSBerkshire Breakaway
post Feb 27 2014, 10:03 AM

397 posts

reserved

This post has been edited by Berkshire Breakaway: May 3 2015, 02:16 PM
TSBerkshire Breakaway
post Feb 27 2014, 08:28 PM

397 posts

QUOTE(fly126 @ Feb 27 2014, 07:51 PM)
Yup... U will Received Your Card in 5-10 Working Days, if Not Call Customer Service to Query smile.gif
you get it as early as 2 working days
my card was worn out and requested for a replacement and i ordered in on saturday
came on tuesday by post laju
(no it is not the almost instant 2 hours/24 hours card replacement thingy)
TSBerkshire Breakaway
post Feb 27 2014, 08:29 PM

397 posts

QUOTE(bearbear @ Feb 27 2014, 10:46 AM)
Coffeebean buy 1 free 1 on weekdays

Movie buy 1 free 1 on friday

nothing is good or bad, suit you or not is the question.
agreed there are no good or bad cards in general
it all depends on your perspective and needs

clear card has the movie benefit which the other higher premium card don't
TSBerkshire Breakaway
post Mar 1 2014, 07:52 PM

397 posts

QUOTE(cdspins @ Feb 28 2014, 01:12 PM)
For my case the CS call me less than a week after the agent submitted my application. Maybe going through agent is faster because agent want to claim commission?  brows.gif
that's not really true
once they have your signed application form ready, they sometimes (unprofessionally) bulk them and mass submit.
to them it is does not make a difference because the chance of approval is the same and it does not make a difference in their commission. commission is also paid on pre-determined dates, so they sometimes have no intention of doing an early submission.
TSBerkshire Breakaway
post Mar 3 2014, 03:54 PM

397 posts

QUOTE(Kerry1136 @ Mar 3 2014, 03:38 PM)
Where do you guys recommend to apply the premier amex ...from the branch or through shopping malls counters...
online!

reasons:
1) i do not believe in the idea that agents get free commission (regardless lenglui or not) when you know the product as good (if not better) as them
2) applying thru agents for citibank, based on my experience at least, does not make the processing much faster.
3) you do not usually get better free gifts when you sign up at shopping malls.
4) in the event that you do not qualify for a higher card, agents normally manipulate your application to get lower requirement cards which you do not want - for the sake of getting commissions.
5) there are also cases where you want to try your luck for approval for a card which you are not sure you would qualify. to improve the chance of a confirmed and secured comission, the agents automatically downgrade your application even before it stands a chance to be evaluated by the credit evaluation team.
TSBerkshire Breakaway
post Mar 5 2014, 06:41 PM

397 posts

QUOTE(ciohbu @ Mar 5 2014, 03:46 PM)
anyone managed to waive annual fee for platinum card ? i think its rm600 per year
you're serious? who earth pays for annual fees for this platinum card.
i have mine waived 5 years in a row
the only one you cannot waive is prestige (but there are ways to earn back the money)

TSBerkshire Breakaway
post Mar 7 2014, 02:55 PM

397 posts

again, i don't understand you guys
i rarely hear people pay annual fees for citibank platinum card
yes the annual fees is rm600 - that's right
but that's for show only. you can easily waive it unless you're a bad customer.

1st year is free btw, but that does not mean you must pay the 2nd year.
TSBerkshire Breakaway
post Mar 7 2014, 02:56 PM

397 posts

QUOTE(DarReNz @ Mar 7 2014, 02:01 PM)
u mean you got the prorated annual fee charged to your platinum card then ? i have to call them just before the anniversary date then as i have direct debit on the card
it is safer for you to cancel your direct debit first.
TSBerkshire Breakaway
post Mar 7 2014, 03:14 PM

397 posts

from my experience, gone are the days where you "threaten them to cancel the card" and all those nonsense. not that it would not work but it is messy and not the best way.

just tell them like a boss why you need a waiver.
citibank is very good in waiving annual fees.
TSBerkshire Breakaway
post Mar 7 2014, 04:55 PM

397 posts

QUOTE(fly126 @ Mar 7 2014, 12:23 PM)
Prestige Card Annual Fee is $1000 & It Can NOT be Waived... sweat.gif
http://www.citibank.com.my/prestige/home_l...Prestige_040313
i have a prestige card and true enough the 1K it cannot be waived
but if you are a moderately heavy user and spend 3K within the first 60 days or so, there is a way to get ang pow of RM900 back (you will only get the details from your customer service AFTER you get the card)
so your actual cost is only RM100 (not including RM50 GST which of course can also be waived)

but for me the perks and benefits i get playing golf in one of the most expensive gold courses in malaysia (compared to maybank visa infinite card which makes me wait for so long) and priority pass with no limits, i think it easily costs about 2k in 3 months if i pay cash based on my lifestyle.

so i don't care about the RM 100 that i really have to pay for annual fees in the end.
(yes it is not a typo, it is 100 not 1000)

therefore i feel this card should remain at annual fees cannot be waived level so that people who are not serious about it do not spoil the market.

don't agree with me? look at what happened to citi premier miles. even the limited 6x priority pass sudah tarak.

This post has been edited by Berkshire Breakaway: Mar 7 2014, 05:42 PM
TSBerkshire Breakaway
post Mar 7 2014, 05:41 PM

397 posts

QUOTE(DarReNz @ Mar 7 2014, 05:21 PM)
ok so u can just worry on the 2nd year  nod.gif
yes, 2nd year, there will be new cards
maybank visa infinite was my favorite card in 2012.
look what happened now?

TSBerkshire Breakaway
post Mar 10 2014, 11:39 AM

397 posts

QUOTE(yeeck @ Mar 8 2014, 07:58 PM)
To waive citibank annual fee just call in. Just direct through the auto-answering system, no need to speak to CSO anymore because they already anticipated these kind of calls. I feel they should just waive it once and for all instead.
yeah they used to have that prompt.
nowadays not sure anymore cause i don't use the self service system anymore
i only talk to the customer service oficer

QUOTE(yeelin04 @ Mar 9 2014, 12:28 PM)
wanted to cancel my Choice Rewards Mastercard due to not using & not much of stuffed offered by Citibank. The staff upgraded my card to CLEAR card because i told them, i was disappointed of not getting it. Then they said CLEAR card got movie offer when i said other bank got movie offer.
did you get it in the end?

QUOTE(carpathia @ Mar 9 2014, 11:04 PM)
CHOICE card is the worst card on offer by citibank malaysia. not much deals.
just like the Shell VISA Cashback Gold Card
Nowadays everything that has Gold associated with them is on the decline.
Including CitiGold tongue.gif
Silver Rulez
TSBerkshire Breakaway
post Mar 11 2014, 11:35 PM

397 posts

QUOTE(fly126 @ Mar 11 2014, 10:42 PM)
Just Succeeded to Waive Off AF of My Cash Back Platinum... icon_rolleyes.gif
I Request it  3 Months Advanced before Annual... Called CS  Kacau Them, Every Month... tongue.gif
i waived mine in 2 seconds
TSBerkshire Breakaway
post Mar 17 2014, 08:43 AM

397 posts

QUOTE(ciohbu @ Mar 13 2014, 09:06 PM)
need to take note on the new t&c for petrol cashback for UOB

Note: For the rebate category of petrol, the maximum Cash Rebate awarded for purchases made by the principal and supplementary Card members shall be capped at RM500 for UOB ONE Platinum Card and RM300 for UOB ONE Classic Card per month.The maximum monthly Cash Rebate payout for the rebate category of petrol is RM900,000 which is to be given out on a first come first serve basis, based on UOBM’s transaction records. UOBM does not have any obligation to inform any Cardmember should the Cash Rebate payout reach the maximum
monthly payout limit.

http://www1.uob.com.my/assets/pdf/tnc/ccTNC/OneCard_tnc.pdf
that is the biggest bullshit ever. you have no control about UOBs customer base.
to say the payout is capped at 900K is crap. Only asian banks can actually come up with vague conditions like this without the scrutiny of monetary authorities.

QUOTE(ngaisteve1 @ Mar 14 2014, 03:26 PM)
Saw that citibank cc offer 8% to petrol is it?
for shell gold visa card but there is a monthly cap which is very low
unless you use so much petrol, you're better of with the blue cashback platinum

QUOTE(Reventon @ Mar 16 2014, 02:19 AM)
Anyone applying for the prestige card ?
QUOTE(carpathia @ Mar 16 2014, 09:54 AM)
any special gifts for sign up on the prestige card now ?
yes, you will get a camera with extra lens worth 2.5K
in lowyat selling for 1.7K now
GST can be waived.
annual fees they say cannot be waived, but there are ways to get RM 900 cashback.
i tried it and it worked.
TSBerkshire Breakaway
post Mar 17 2014, 06:12 PM

397 posts

QUOTE(carpathia @ Mar 17 2014, 04:43 PM)
the free camera for citi prestige card already over la bro
yesh ah? wah lucky i was quick....
but i can still teach you how to get cashback 1000

TSBerkshire Breakaway
post Mar 18 2014, 01:08 PM

397 posts

QUOTE(terisunny @ Mar 18 2014, 01:05 PM)
Thanks for the replies! Ok, I keep Citi.

fly126, you're rite that cashback only given once RM50 is reached. But at least it is accumulated. Just a matter of getting it sooner or later, rite?
betul betul
unless you're like those expecting the monthly payout immediately in order to knock out your monthly bill and need it in a hurry or something like that, it should be the same. like you said, sooner or later, when it reaches 50, you will get it for sure.
TSBerkshire Breakaway
post Mar 18 2014, 03:48 PM

397 posts

QUOTE(Reventon @ Mar 18 2014, 01:10 AM)
Cash back RM1000 ? how ?
there are many ways, here's one way, call them up and tell them.

dear mr customer service officer

i know when i applied for this card, it is clearly mentioned to me that the annual fees for this card cannot be waived.
but then i don't care, cause my believe system says it does not believe in paying annual fees, so i want it free.
are you sure you want to reject my offer? think think a bit lah.

then the ahmoi officer replied: yes, it cannot be waived. because cannot be waived means cannot be waived. i hope you understand sir (followed by 5 seconds silence)

then she continued: but anyway you pay the annual feed first...later on i can give you RM1000 cash bonus for being a loyal customer and spending 100k+ in the last one year. this is in addition to the rewards points and relationship bonus points you have accumulated for this card. how about that?

then i replied: ok lah...sure boh?
then they confirm and then i got a rebate.
i got the 1K cash bonus last month

Reventon
try this and let me know

This post has been edited by Berkshire Breakaway: Mar 18 2014, 03:51 PM
TSBerkshire Breakaway
post Mar 20 2014, 09:40 AM

397 posts

QUOTE(carpathia @ Mar 12 2014, 03:28 PM)
GST usually banks will not waive unless you are super high spender as the RM50 needs to be paid to the govt, not some imaginary cost by the banks.

back to citibank - any great deals lately for new card sign ups ?
that's usually true- but not always the case
sometimes if you're a good customer or have citigold they still waive it for you

QUOTE(samjet @ Mar 13 2014, 08:52 PM)
Yes you are right! Citibank will straight away waive your af and even gst at your first attempt.. If you use few k per month(My boss)
Some only get waived for the af only if threaten to cancel or they call you back few days later.. (Like me rclxub.gif )
yeah mine get waived in 5 seconds.

QUOTE(Reventon @ Mar 18 2014, 10:18 PM)
How long for you to receive the free camera?
2 weeks
but sadly now the camera is no longer available
changed to holiday package

you're late sad.gif

QUOTE(axymax @ Mar 20 2014, 09:35 AM)
When I sign up last december they said will send a condotti luggage bag if
spend more than RM1000 within 60days.
Until now not yet receive it.
call customer service to find out
who are they? if it is an agent, chances are you got conned.
TSBerkshire Breakaway
post Apr 4 2014, 08:49 AM

397 posts

QUOTE(koh_424 @ Apr 3 2014, 08:12 AM)
Can we call in request for easy payment when swipe a big amount with Citi Card?
QUOTE(fly126 @ Apr 3 2014, 09:31 AM)
It Depends... Must Look out for Merchants which display the "Citibank 0% Easy Pay" Sign Baru Boleh  nod.gif
http://www.citibank.com.my/english/existin...members-epp.htm?
Merchant List: http://www.citibank.com.my/english/docs/pd...rchant_list.pdf
you can use 0% easy payment like fly mentioned above or still call in later after you have swipped to turn your payment into flexi payments of up to 36 months - this however is NOT 0% - you will make the bank richer.

This post has been edited by Berkshire Breakaway: Apr 4 2014, 08:50 AM

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0518sec    0.19    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 10:48 PM