EASA part 66 License, let talk and discuss question here!!!!

jazzy939
post Jul 21 2006, 08:36 PM

reel is real
8,186 posts

ashraf,
this just a general remarks k. MAS always think they are the best. they live in their own cocoon and couldnt be bothered with what the others are doing. Earlier they wanted to 'kill off' pelangi air, berjaya air, transmile air, AIROD, AA included. With the exception of pelangi air, look at the other local airlines. how they prosper.. i make this remark because i was from MAS...

QUOTE(mr_ashraf @ Jul 21 2006, 07:41 PM)
tp one thing aku tak puas hati laaa
why HJ ZUL (MAS) suka condem MIAT...
he think TAME dia tu bagus sgt keerrrr
jazzy939
post Jul 22 2006, 12:08 AM

reel is real
8,186 posts

You have my sympathy, Kabadi. Unfortunately this is how MAS view the 'outside world'. They are 'the best' and nothing else come close! What a laugh... tongue.gif

Do not be despair to all MIAT students. Get your diploma, LWTR, whatever and work elsewhere.. if I were you, I'd work somewhere else and be paid better than the peanuts the pay you here... further more the cost of living is getting higher and higher... you get my drift...

BTW, by now you would have known that 100 A320 for AA is confirmed and 30 more on option. Where would you think AA going to get engineers/technicians etc?

QUOTE(Kabadi84 @ Jul 21 2006, 10:28 PM)
P/S: wei tokey u can edit your post lor if ya wanna add something... biggrin.gif

...  by the way jazzy this is something of a night mare to miat student some of us didnt waant to work for mas for this reason ...they discriminate us ..its was troublesome every action to them from miat student is wrong as if we are like bangla ...yup i also had second thought because of this right now im feeling somehow kinda regreting my choice ...but this is just the begining let them laugh first ...i and my frend will try our best to tell to them that they are wrong we also got potential ... n got what it takes to certify a airworthy a/c.... maybe ...maybe smile.gif
jazzy939
post Jul 22 2006, 12:15 AM

reel is real
8,186 posts

People. Let's clear this up.
DCA will NOT be converting to EASA 66. They will/may adopt EASA 66 WITH variations. The issuance of AMEL/LWTR as per Section L BCAR by DCA is still in force. This was indicated by the Director of Airworthiness, DCA himself during a dialogue sessions between DCA and the industry about 2 weeks ago... Currently they are still 'carefully' studying the implications of adopting EASA 66 and are NOT in a 'rush' to do it.
However nothing is stopping you to prepare for the EASA 66 implemetation/adoption. Just 'several' modules to include on top of your Section L syllabus, right? tongue.gif

QUOTE(mr_ashraf @ Jul 21 2006, 09:32 PM)
EASA is an international body so if  true MIAT get that approval, it does not to wait  for DCA to convert to EASA. maybe MIAT can be another places for people around asia to take EASA part66 license..
if true.. it will become national proude what???
This post has been edited by jazzy939: Jul 22 2006, 12:17 AM
jazzy939
post Jul 23 2006, 04:40 PM

reel is real
8,186 posts

good work kabadi! i wanna wish you and the others too (ashraf included) all the best.

what batch? whoa.. so very senior. The Lease Planning Manager, if you know him or who he is, was my batch. biggrin.gif

QUOTE(Kabadi84 @ Jul 22 2006, 11:26 PM)
weh tokey ko nie nak study mane nie pening lorr.....

to jazzy..yup is been my plan to make use the free and the rebate ticket from mas i will be using it for my easa exam if my lwtr doesnrt succeed huhuhhu its okay if im not allow to be an raspecfull lae there i can go else where with my lwtr or cat B1 ..huhuhuuhu ... just my stepping stone there huhuhuh bythewy jazzy what batch are u dude ????
jazzy939
post Jul 24 2006, 08:17 AM

reel is real
8,186 posts

i m still a licenced engineer, therefore, I should have the licence, right!
I think I hv replied to what batch I was from...

QUOTE(mr_ashraf @ Jul 23 2006, 09:56 PM)
waaa jazzy what batch are u from...give number..
now you working where hah...got license
jazzy939
post Jul 24 2006, 08:38 PM

reel is real
8,186 posts

well, i share my experiences with those who want to learn. come to think of it, most licensed engineers would do the same.

btw, who is from MIAT here? I know a few 'names'. I will be in MIAT this 26th.(wednesday). I wanna drop in to look at the setup there...

QUOTE(mr_ashraf @ Jul 24 2006, 05:15 PM)
working at same plece is good if i can see u jazzy and learn from your experience....
jazzy939
post Jul 25 2006, 09:14 AM

reel is real
8,186 posts

The honor is mine just to be able to share experiences and view here in Low Yat's forum. Initially I was just curious and wanted to know what's going on but could not help it when things are being 'misquoted', misinterpreted and down right totally wrong.

I can be an instructor because I am qualified and was 'helping out' APR when they started in Taman TTDI Jaya awhile back...and I do remember preparing a group of MIAT/Northrop Rice students for their oral... the first batch.

Surething, if you need someone to countersign your work schedule, I can sign, provided they are in order and you are ready to answer my questions with regards to what you have written. Basically just make sure that you have covered the BCAR Section L. Have done the basic work for the trades that you are applying. You dont have to do ALL but it is also acceptable if you can observe the work being carried out.
It would be good if your have a 'C check' experience on any type of aircraft, preferably the B737s as this is considered 'basic' aircraft. Ensure also if you are going for an airframe license, you have participated in the flight control rigging. The same for engine license. Mandatory things to have is the engine change, rigging and EGR ( Engine Ground Run). Participating in any troubleshooting would be an advantage! Please take the trouble to have this included in your work schedule!

Please also bear in mind, that the objective of having the oral examination is not to check your knowledge as you have passed the written examinations, but to see if you are COMPETENT enough to exercise the priviledges given to you as a 'Licensed Aircraft Maintenance Engineer'.. that all.... biggrin.gif

QUOTE(Kabadi84 @ Jul 25 2006, 12:22 AM)
OMG we got an lae here what an honor ..huhuhuhuh by the way are u an instructor huhuhuh i got the feeling u are someone that i know huhuhuhhh

P/s: yo jazzy can get work schedule signature from u ka huhuhh ...bole la icon_question.gif  blush.gif
This post has been edited by jazzy939: Jul 25 2006, 09:29 AM
jazzy939
post Jul 25 2006, 07:26 PM

reel is real
8,186 posts

This is NORMAL when you're a trainee/apprentice. You are like a 'cheap labour' therefore you will do mundane things like removing floorboards, cleaning, some servicing, more panel removals, sealant removal/application etc.. don't worry about it...everyone goes through the same thing!

You have to take your own initiative, stayed back, come during the weekends etc, at your own time. Especially when there are special work to be done. Normally they will do this outside normal shift hours, like static rigging, power rigging, gear rigging and retraction (a/c jacking/dejacking included) etc. Volunteer yourself and work for 'free' if need to be. They wont say no to 'free labour' Best thing is get an engineer or senior technician to be a 'big brother'. This makes life a lot easier to a trainee. Remember the experience gained cannot be found or bought anywhere else. You're in MAS, use every opportunity to gain the experience and the necessary kowledge! Remember, NO ONE will spoon fed you anymore.
Anyway, you only have to do this probably once. Once you got your work schedule filled.. you're closer in submitting your application and even closer in getting your license... need I say more? biggrin.gif

There's a trick in answering questions... whether you know or not the answer is another story... learn boy, learn! tongue.gif

QUOTE(Kabadi84 @ Jul 25 2006, 06:51 PM)
man... i really like to participated in those job but usually we were put to cargo or cabin where man power is needed ...cant demand much since we are new but saw some lae and and trainee do it but still just seeing it without practical seems still blur....
about answering the question i get nervous when being question huhuhhuhuhuh  tongue.gif  smile.gif
This post has been edited by jazzy939: Jul 25 2006, 07:32 PM
jazzy939
post Jul 25 2006, 07:36 PM

reel is real
8,186 posts

Actually there no 'secret' to it... open your eyes and ears. One important thing about being an engineer,any engineer, is that you must be sharp and observant. I can't teach you this. This is part of your character, if you have them, you'll make one hell of an engineer! rclxms.gif

And please do read a lot. I mean A LOT! How many times have you read over the CAAIP? Honestly, if have less than 13 times, you're NOT ready.

QUOTE(Kabadi84 @ Jul 25 2006, 07:30 PM)
care to share the secret huhuhhhhhu cool.gif
This post has been edited by jazzy939: Jul 25 2006, 07:38 PM
jazzy939
post Jul 25 2006, 09:19 PM

reel is real
8,186 posts

ashraf,
these would be sufficient in order to prepare for your exams, however, how well do you understand what you have read? basically they all tell you the same thing, more or less. a gas turbine engine is a gas turbine engine! what make it work?

Do you understand about constant pressure cycle? charles law?boyle's law?universal gas law? how they are related in gas turbine applications/operations? A simple question here: Whats an engine and whats a power plant?

What is meant by 'flat rated engine'? If by now you are unable to explain these in your own words..... i see problems coming your way dude! biggrin.gif

TOYOL helps but please DO NOT rely on them! biggrin.gif

"CAIP" jarang2 baca<--- trouble brewing....

QUOTE(mr_ashraf @ Jul 25 2006, 07:57 PM)
i only finish once reading CAIP, that why larr i fails that exam. i sometimes cofusee what shold i read....
now for engine turbine engine i just read:-
1- the jet engine (rolls royce)
2- jeppesen powerplant
3- jeppersen gas turbine engine
4- Glenco gas turbine (just borrow from MAS library)
5- TOYOL
CAIP jarang2 baca

is it enough??
any suggestion of good books...
This post has been edited by jazzy939: Jul 25 2006, 09:22 PM
jazzy939
post Jul 27 2006, 09:35 PM

reel is real
8,186 posts

Unfortunately, this is NOT the right answer. If you're going for your engine exams, you should start to worry....

QUOTE(mr_ashraf @ Jul 26 2006, 12:47 AM)
what i understand about flat rated engine is engine which are derated at specific power bcoz of the condition of airplane that can handle limit force only. it relay on condition of the aircraft....
jazzy939
post Jul 28 2006, 08:29 PM

reel is real
8,186 posts

Aha! big mistake. using logic. and also, this is NOT an english language test! doh.gif

OK, about flat rated engine.

A flat rated engine will be rated like x thousand pounds of thrust at ISA+15.
eg, 22000 lbs. of thrust at ISA+15. Meaning, the engine is GUARANTEED by the manufacturer to produce the rated thrust (in this case 22000 pounds) as long as the temperature is NOT MORE than 30 deg. celsius.(ISA+15), hence the 'flat rating'. Simple right? IF you know the basics, yes! biggrin.gif

Now, next question: what happened if the temperature is above 30 deg. celsius? tongue.gif

BTW, are we deviating from the topic? Maybe we should start a thread for LWTR questions huh? tongue.gif

QUOTE(Kabadi84 @ Jul 28 2006, 06:26 PM)
sweat.gif  sweat.gif  sweat.gif .... huih simple question ... but answer huhuhuhhh sweat.gif  sweat.gif

my try ..from my logic laa... an engine that cannot produce it proper power production due to the limitation applied to it from the manufacturer... it is apply because on how the operator decide maybe to preserve  more fuel??? tongue.gif  my try loorr
This post has been edited by jazzy939: Jul 28 2006, 08:42 PM
jazzy939
post Jul 30 2006, 10:10 PM

reel is real
8,186 posts

ashraf/kabadi,
i'd say your answer is not acceptable. your answer is still based on your logical reasoning and (mis)interpretation of the question.
For a start, I suggest you better start learning the approach how to answer properly. It all starts with your train of thoughts... compose the facts,then layout the answer. They don't teach you this, NO?

please,polish your english! Its a prerequisit that you can read/write and speak proper english...

QUOTE(Kabadi84 @ Jul 29 2006, 12:41 AM)
heheheh  my english huhuhuhhh...hmmmm the thrust  will  increas but the effect will be at the engine it will some how overdo the engine causing a shorter life to it  due to the manufacturer that have rated the engine    means like a 1.3 version of neo with a 1.6  neo huhuhhhu trying without wing  uhuhuhuhhhhh...
P/s : no worry jazzy this is a thread to discuss about aviation espeacially maintenance huhuhhhhh by the way the post will help people understand more huhuhhh about our story huhuhuhuh... by the way mod if this thread kinda sux just msg us yaa (to mod ) we will cool it down  smile.gif
jazzy939
post Jul 31 2006, 10:54 AM

reel is real
8,186 posts

Haha! Thats too easy. You have to do better than that ler.

The intention here is to tell you that, whatever that you know/read at this point of time is (to my point of view) is insufficient for you to go thru the exam, particularly the ORAL. You need to be good, no, you need to be darn good! Got my point?

QUOTE(mr_ashraf @ Jul 30 2006, 11:00 PM)
my7 answer is based on what have i read in a book about rated engine. soj azzy could u tell us what are athe actual answer.????
i also want to know a correct answer...
jazzy939
post Aug 1 2006, 07:48 PM

reel is real
8,186 posts

well, thats for you to find out! wink.gif

Let's throw you another one.

Describe Brayton Pressure Cycle.
How does this related to the gas turbine engine?

QUOTE(mr_ashraf @ Jul 31 2006, 12:48 PM)
yah i understand... so can you tell us what is the answer...
jazzy939
post Aug 2 2006, 08:43 PM

reel is real
8,186 posts

ooops, then you better concentrate on your airleg dude!

MMOE? There is no standard or format but the mandatory requirements are laid out in the AN. Now, which AN is that? tongue.gif

But more importantly, why is MMOE important? What is so significant about having an MMOE?

QUOTE(Kabadi84 @ Aug 2 2006, 06:19 PM)
alamak ..huhuhhh know but mcm basic je  this but wanna contruct a good sentesnse for you aaa sifu huhuh currently sruggling to remeber  n understand air leg arrgggghh.....
btway wanna ask jazzy is mmoe a document that follow standard do their have spesific standard stated by dca ?? for example air asia ?? do they have similar standard of mmoe like mas mmoe ????? smile.gif  plezz jazzy help mee huhuuhh
jazzy939
post Aug 5 2006, 01:25 AM

reel is real
8,186 posts

Good work ashraf. I'm impressed! rclxms.gif

Now, this is HOW you would answer such a question!

QUOTE(mr_ashraf @ Aug 3 2006, 10:13 PM)
ya la engine ada 2 type
1.otto cycle
2.bryton cycle

ottocycle is a concept for pistone engine where constant volume is applied. manakala, bryton cycle is a constant pressure engine.
in ottocycle a complete cycle happen in one places but for turbine engine, all the cycle occur continously in deffrent area e.g compressor, combustion,turbine and exhaust.

p/s to ahaw :- nak seribu daya, x nak seribu dalih, sedangkan a/c cleaner pun boleh jadi engineer, takkan kita TJT x bleh kot

YAKIN BOLEH!!!!!
PASTI BOLEH!!!
jazzy939
post Aug 5 2006, 08:00 PM

reel is real
8,186 posts

If you need to maintain 'complex stuffs', surelyyou need to know and study one, right? tongue.gif

QUOTE(Unbelievable @ Aug 5 2006, 02:07 AM)
waliu maintainence guy oso need tostudy so complex stuff?
jazzy939
post Aug 6 2006, 09:26 PM

reel is real
8,186 posts

and your career in aviation!

QUOTE(mr_ashraf @ Aug 6 2006, 06:06 PM)
yes its true... if you make a mistake you probably will kill about hundred people on board....
jazzy939
post Aug 20 2006, 09:26 AM

reel is real
8,186 posts

ahaw,
very good explanation of the brayton cycle... rclxms.gif

about the ISA+15. Okay, think in this manner: The temperature is now higher(hotter). When the temperature is high, what is the affect on the air properties?
If these properties of the air changes, what will be the effect on the engine thrust?

QUOTE(ahaw @ Aug 8 2006, 07:31 PM)

2. for the flat rated engine this is the first time i heard about it.... anyway jazzy can you briefly explain about International Standard Atmosphere + 15/ ISA+15 ? i cant answer the the effect of the temperature rise to the engine, because i dont really understand what it mean....

0.0219sec    0.46    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 07:54 AM