NVIDIA GeForce Community V13

trent666
post Oct 20 2014, 10:17 PM

422 posts

Guys, what do you think of the Gainward Phantom 970? Idealtech selling at RM1199. Clock speed reaches 1304Mhz with "boost".

What is this "boost". Do I only turn it on when gaming?
trent666
post Oct 20 2014, 10:33 PM

422 posts

Thanks for the reply. in other words, I just don't touch it, right? Noob here.
trent666
post Oct 28 2014, 05:54 PM

422 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Oct 27 2014, 04:19 PM)
Also another pet peeve I have with the Gainward is the I/O:

I understand and get what Gainward is trying to do here. Use a Flex I/O to have 4 display outs. It's not a bad idea, in fact it's a great one. But once again personally, I hate mini-HDMI. It breaks so easily it's not even funny.
Also Flex I/Os usually incur higher input lag as well, not significantly of course but it's something to keep in mind.
What's the big deal? Use DVI or buy a DP cable. I have bought mine xD Now just waiting for my card to arrive.

QUOTE(ongweiping @ Oct 28 2014, 02:40 PM)
I think previously the brand known as Galaxy, wonder why changed to Galax.
Galaxy/Galax is big in Japan and venturing into Europe. In South East Asia, apart from Big Three (Asus, MSI and Gigabyte), only other companies selling 980/970 are Palit, Gainward and Zotac. nod.gif

Palit owns Gainward, but are distributed by two different companies in Malaysia.
trent666
post Oct 28 2014, 06:16 PM

422 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Oct 28 2014, 06:01 PM)
Well... because you know, there are people who use their PC with a HDTV in the room in addition to monitors. smile.gif
WAH LAU EH... basket-ball...

rclxms.gif
trent666
post Oct 28 2014, 10:02 PM

422 posts

QUOTE(Skidd Chung @ Oct 28 2014, 09:14 PM)
Thinking of selling my 280x as well and get another 970 before the 2nd hand prices dropped too low.
Better hang on to your 280x. Assuming you bought it a year ago for around RM1,100, I don't think the increase in performance justify you going through the trouble of selling the 280x and buying a new 970. You still can play games at full setting at 280x.

trent666
post Oct 29 2014, 01:59 AM

422 posts

zotac and gainward has reasonably priced 970 ma. I won't pay premium for asus, gigabyte and MSI.
trent666
post Oct 29 2014, 08:14 AM

422 posts

Just a quick share. This German website compares 11 GTX 970 and rates MSI's version as their favorite followed by Zotac.

They also did a coil whine ( Spulenfiepen) test which shows that Gainward and Palit can be loud. I guess, that's why its cheaper.

http://www.computerbase.de/2014-10/nvidia-...up-vergleich/6/

This post has been edited by trent666: Oct 29 2014, 08:23 AM
trent666
post Oct 30 2014, 08:48 PM

422 posts

QUOTE(pot @ Oct 30 2014, 09:38 AM)
I having this issue on photo, for my previous Intel HD 4000 New driver also get this tail shadow, old driver fixed it So not related to graphic card.
Any 970 sifu can help?
Using Windows 7 64bit. Had try using 344.48 and 344.16.
TQ
Have you tried disabling mouse trail in the mouse settings?
trent666
post Nov 6 2014, 07:44 AM

422 posts

This new offer by Nividia and Ubisoft is SHIT. it is only for NEW purchases at SELECTED RETAILERS in SELECTED COUNTRIES.

http://redeem.nvidia.com/ doesn't even recognize Malaysia's existence. ***!

AMD's Never Settle Bundle was much better. FML. If this offer by Nvidia+Ubishit never came out, I would have never had second thoughts about buying a GTX970 over a 280x.

This post has been edited by trent666: Nov 6 2014, 07:45 AM
trent666
post Nov 7 2014, 12:21 PM

422 posts

Hi guys,

Anyone of you guys have GAINWARD PHANTOM GTX970?

Idle temp is quite high - 40c.

What is your temp?
trent666
post Nov 10 2014, 11:43 AM

422 posts

Best value prize should go to Gainward Phantom 970 RM1199. There are complaints about the blower model having coil noise problems. I don't want to argue, but this is my IMHO.
trent666
post Nov 11 2014, 11:41 AM

422 posts

I tested Witcher 2 last night. Set on ULTRA. My Gainward Phantom 970 hit a about 110-130fps in game, but GPU cooking at 80c! During cutscenes, screen tearing like <<i'm a naughty boy who just used a naughty word>>, coz running at almost 1000 fps/64c. (I use Fraps and OpenHardwareMonitor)

Dear sifus,

1. is there a way I can play at 60fps (monitor 60hz) and full details?
2. Is 80c acceptable? Do you guys normally game at around this temp?
3. Is there a way to limit FPS using Nividia Experience or Nvidia control?

Thank yous.
trent666
post Nov 11 2014, 09:33 PM

422 posts

dear friends, thanks for the feedback.

I won't buy gsync monitor. no money.

so means I have to v sync. is it better to choose adaptive vsync in Nvidia experience or in game?

repeat question: is there a way to force my card to display only at 60fps?

thank you in advance.
trent666
post Nov 12 2014, 01:44 AM

422 posts

thanks for the replies sifus. I tried Vsync ON and Adaptive on Witcher 2. fps still 100 screen tearing like seebee. looks like game overrides the Nvidia control panel.

question about INPUT LAG due to Vsync: do you guys realize it during first person shooter games only or in other games that don't need super precision like Dota 2, Tomb Raider etc.

thank you in advance.
trent666
post Nov 14 2014, 01:10 PM

422 posts

Seasonic M12 Evo 120 + Gainward Phantom 970 here. No coil whine during stress tests.

0.0459sec    0.69    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 11:35 PM