my 6600GT graphics suck after changing slots!, pls help! i'm using a SLI motherboard..

TStchiaming
post Jul 16 2006, 03:30 AM, updated 20y ago

incubus
1,039 posts

hey guys... here goes my prob...

i'm using a MSI 6600GT (with arctic silencer 6)
ASUS A8N-SLI motherboard...
AMD 64 3000+ (winchester)
1GB DDR1 Corsair Ram

bought my system bout a year plus alrd... just recently my northbridge fan kaput.... so i changed it to a slightly bigger fan...
after that, i realised that i can't fit my 6600GT at the original slot (slot 1)
so nvm... i changed my card position to the second slot (slot 2)
after that, i played NFS most wanted and i realised that it was lagging!!!!
i runned 3DMark05 n i got a result of 2400 instead of my previous record 4100 (both were overclocked at the same settings)

so wat should i do now guys? pls help!!!
wat should i do in order to have a fast performance card producing from slot 2?
thanks in advance!!! notworthy.gif

(i know some of u might ask me to change it back to slot 1 n change my fan... i do not wish to do that... any other advise is very very welcomed!!!)

icon_question.gif icon_question.gif icon_question.gif icon_question.gif icon_question.gif

soulfly
post Jul 16 2006, 11:31 AM

revving towards 10,000 rpm
15,903 posts

uninstall and reinstall your forceware driver with your card in the new slot
TStchiaming
post Jul 16 2006, 11:50 AM

incubus
1,039 posts

yeah...did that alrd... updated the drivers with the card in the new slot alrd...

actually in the past, when i used to play games with the card in the slot 1... it used to have this same problem... the lagging problem...

a fren of mine taught me that i should try overclocking it n it might be faster....

so i tried... in the end, after some overclocking... the card is peforming much much better and the lagging stopped... even at default settings...

from then onwards... i guessed that i must burn-in my card with the motherboard...

have u guys heard of that before?
davidletterboyz
post Jul 16 2006, 02:03 PM

Der Kaiser
4,672 posts

QUOTE(tchiaming @ Jul 16 2006, 11:50 AM)
yeah...did that alrd... updated the drivers with the card in the new slot alrd...

actually in the past, when i used to play games with the card in the slot 1... it used to have this same problem... the lagging problem...

a fren of mine taught me that i should try overclocking it n it might be faster....

so i tried... in the end, after some overclocking... the card is peforming much much better and the lagging stopped... even at default settings...

from then onwards... i guessed that i must burn-in my card with the motherboard...

What's your 3dmark score after o/ced? I have never heard a graphics card must burn-in with mobo LOL.... doh.gif

This post has been edited by davidletterboyz: Jul 16 2006, 02:04 PM
G-ShoCk
post Jul 16 2006, 04:14 PM

233 posts

QUOTE(tchiaming @ Jul 16 2006, 11:50 AM)

u sure ah~ wat type of oc method u use...riva tuner or what?? since my 6600gt aso got some lag problem..i thougt it is the result of using juz only one 512mb ram~ hehe u sure a~
TStchiaming
post Jul 16 2006, 09:56 PM

incubus
1,039 posts

QUOTE(davidletterboyz @ Jul 16 2006, 02:03 PM)
What's your 3dmark score after o/ced? I have never heard a graphics card must burn-in with mobo LOL.... doh.gif
erm... pls refer to the first post... it's stated there alrd... hehe... i dunno bout the burning in thing la... it's just my theory... tongue.gif

QUOTE(G-ShoCk @ Jul 16 2006, 04:14 PM)
u sure ah~ wat type of oc method u use...riva tuner or what?? since my 6600gt aso got some lag problem..i thougt it is the result of using juz only one 512mb ram~ hehe u sure a~
i'm using the latest forceware driver to overclock my card... haven't tried with rivatuner yet.. but i guess the result would be the same...
3Dmark05 score before o/c is 2000... after o/c is 2400...
previously can reach 4100 leh!!! damn sad la!!! cry.gif cry.gif
pls help me guys!
Westley
post Jul 16 2006, 10:44 PM

Night Crawler...
Store Representative
679 posts

mayb the slot can't support 16x?
soulfly
post Jul 17 2006, 12:19 AM

revving towards 10,000 rpm
15,903 posts

or maybe the newer drivers reduce performance of 6600GT?
ahpaul82
post Jul 17 2006, 01:25 AM

.:保罗:.
3,795 posts

Do you turn the SLI card to enable SLI, so that the PCI-E slot are running 8x 8x ?

0.0143sec    0.43    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 05:42 PM