Long term effects of overclocking., Please share your experience.

TSseveneleven
post Jul 16 2006, 02:02 AM, updated 20y ago

359 posts

I've been searching the web about the long term effects of overclocking and what I found is that your hardware (proc/ram/psu/mobo) is prone to shorten the life span depending on luck.

I got a spare lanparty mobo so I was wondering if you guys ever destroyed your hardware from overclocking before I start tweaking it. Please share your experience so members can take as precaution.

This post has been edited by seveneleven: Jul 16 2006, 02:04 AM
joylay83
post Jul 16 2006, 02:06 AM

854 posts

well if you go to lyp atoz on the 2nd floor, talk to one of the short specky guy, he smoked a board before. caps gave way.... but that was quite extreme overclocking. i forgot the details liao.

my rigs OC for 6 months so far no problem. make sure u got really good cooling.
TSseveneleven
post Jul 16 2006, 02:14 AM

359 posts

Yeah I've heard about dying caps. Is it the result of over voltage? I mean if we over clock at stock voltages is it the same as it running at stock speeds / voltage? (in controlled temperature)

This post has been edited by seveneleven: Jul 16 2006, 02:15 AM
joylay83
post Jul 16 2006, 02:18 AM

854 posts

ya , increase Vcore - increase temp - fumes

i oc my opty from 1.8 to 2.4 Ghz and have no change in temperature. until when i up Vcore then my temperatue change. even then, its about 2-3C oni. the lower your temp, the longer your lifespan. so don't save on cooling.
TSseveneleven
post Jul 16 2006, 02:27 AM

359 posts

Agreed. Got a nexxxos alphacool waterblock lock and loaded. Done some mild overclocking before for a short moment as PSU is chapalang.

280 x 9 = 2520MHz. The wierd part is the temp didnt even budge from the stock settings. Quite amazed with athlon 64.
cannavaro
post Jul 16 2006, 03:17 AM

CATTENACIO
3,008 posts

Has anyone here used a stable, OC-ed PC until it (or any individual parts) finally died? Or something similar?

soulfly
post Jul 16 2006, 11:36 AM

revving towards 10,000 rpm
15,903 posts

dying caps = poor quality mobo
joylay83
post Jul 16 2006, 02:32 PM

854 posts

QUOTE(cannavaro @ Jul 16 2006, 03:17 AM)
Has anyone here used a stable, OC-ed PC until it (or any individual parts) finally died? Or something similar?
well my fren did. the fella use 200w powerlogic PSU for athlon (32 bit) and 3 sticks of ram, 2 hdd. overclock for a year or so then psu burn.

now add antec 450w psu and 2 more fans then no problem liao.
G-ShoCk
post Jul 16 2006, 04:09 PM

233 posts

hurm~ juz my concern~ usually ppl try to oc their rig to see how far the rig can go rite?? but i dont think ppl will using the spec too long..

exp: my rig can oc up to 2.8Ghz(for now lah) but i only oc to 2.5Ghz only meh~ why really wan to oc by much if ur rig usage not require u soo~ rite..play some NFS and FIFA2006 didn't required high end setup lah~ hehe
RIGmaster
post Jul 16 2006, 05:36 PM

735 posts

Make it this way ... All Product , weather you overclock or not have life span ... Either long or Short , that is the matter ... There is no Un"rosak"able things in this world ... Even Diamond can Rosak if you put there thousand and billions of year in the case ....

The Shortening of life span usually due to Over Current , Over Voltage , Over Impulse , Over Temperature and Over Time .

Capacitors usually had kind of oil inside ... if it drys up over period of time ... it loose its capacitance ...

Over voltage Makes the narrow insulating Plates become para conducting and Sparks may happen and blown the thing ...

Over temp makes your Capacitor oil expand and Burst and dry out ...

Anyway ... oc comp is better than non OC because Comp are easily outdated and hence ... OC a little and Use More happily than lagg for nothing ...
zeustronic
post Jul 16 2006, 05:56 PM

Retire OC Into Audiophiles
2,605 posts

I Oced my 2years old rig as stated below, so far no problem... onli the MEC psu rosak then change to Task 400W pure power...
soulfly
post Jul 16 2006, 06:33 PM

15,903 posts

if scared or have too many thoughts, better don't overclock.

seriously... this kind of thread may annoy some overclockers ...lol
jcheong
post Jul 16 2006, 06:38 PM

323 posts

Not baout scared lo, about preventing doing anything stupid like vcore at 2.5v or something.
soulfly
post Jul 16 2006, 06:55 PM

15,903 posts

vcore 2.5v straight away is definitely idiot! laugh.gif
joylay83
post Jul 17 2006, 12:58 AM

854 posts

QUOTE(soulfly @ Jul 16 2006, 06:55 PM)
vcore 2.5v straight away is definitely idiot! laugh.gif
wah i can cook satay on top of that mobo! biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by joylay83: Jul 18 2006, 08:36 PM
QD_buyer
post Jul 17 2006, 09:25 PM

John and Paul™
2,047 posts

MY GC got many artifacts after OC! sad.gif
kingmaker_20
post Jul 18 2006, 12:18 AM

" t3H 1337(tm)"
3,159 posts

QUOTE(QD_buyer @ Jul 17 2006, 09:25 PM)
MY GC got many artifacts after OC! sad.gif
So it's due to overclock?How did ya overclock? rclxub.gif
PeowYong
post Jul 18 2006, 01:14 AM

PeowYong
2,263 posts

havent experience hardware failure for long term oc...
just experience a burnt chapalang psu when trying max oc, and spoilt a mobo socket when cleaning the com....
almostthere
post Jul 18 2006, 12:25 PM

Kepala abah ko
3,773 posts

Every 6 months there's always a topic similiar like this. If you're afraid to overclock, then just don't and instead experiment in finding the best bandwidth by fiddling with the miscellanous RAM timings if you're on A64.
jaya_pc87
post Jul 18 2006, 12:38 PM

Workaholic Mode on
748 posts

lol dont worry i have overclocked over 5 rigs and 3 of them running 24/7 for over 3 years allready .... i myself never turn any of my pc off ( only when power failure coz Ups cant power longer than 1 hour sad.gif ) and my 2.4 is overclocked to 3.2 running on 2 chapalang psu, main rig 3.0ghz max can reach 3.45 and another new one ( both just now was s478) s775 oc from 3.0 to 3.4 still running fine till today
TSseveneleven
post Jul 18 2006, 03:07 PM

359 posts

QUOTE(almostthere @ Jul 18 2006, 12:25 PM)
Every 6 months there's always a topic similiar like this. If you're afraid to overclock, then just don't and instead experiment in finding the best bandwidth by fiddling with the miscellanous RAM timings if you're on A64.
Read jcheong's reply.

If its been the same topic every 6 month then why don't somebody please stickify this topic.
haylui
post Jul 18 2006, 03:56 PM

235 posts

I am here to share my experience of overclocking. I have my first PC for Intel Celeron 300 (non-A) version and Gigabyte motherboard. The celeron could go up to 450MHz with 100MHz FSB. But it can't remain stable since it is too hot to run at 450MHz at default voltage. So I make it running at 373MHz all the time with gaming and SETI@Home. I found no problems with overclocking at that stage. And I am happy with the increase of 24% in the clock too.

The second rig I bought is AMD Athlon XP 1800+ (Palomino) and Epox 8KHA+ motherboard. Since it is the earlier version of Athlon XP it is not happy to run at higher speed. I did not overclock it. After 1 year ++ the power supply unit come with the casing burnt and I had my motherboard fried. That time only I realized that there are severals bolted capacitors on my motherboard.
Later, I bought an Asus A7V8X-X and iCute 450W power supply. It runs very stable. I replaced the bolted capacitors and the power socket on the Epox motherboard and went to try to boot up. Unluckily I burn the processor and sent to claim for a new one. AMD replaces me with a Thoroughbred B 1800+ version. The overclocking ability is much higher than Palomino one.
Now I have this Thoroughbred B running at 2104MHz @ 1.75V (11.5*183) all the time without problem. But provided the vendalation is good enough and the ambient temperature is not too hot.
Here I would like to say that overclocking has not much effects on the durability of the processor, motherboard or PSU provided they are quality one. Do NOT overclock your processor when you're not sure that whether your PSU could supply enough constant voltage to your motherboard and processor. Make sure you have good cooling and good power supply before overclock.
QD_buyer
post Jul 18 2006, 08:58 PM

John and Paul™
2,047 posts

QUOTE(kingmaker_20 @ Jul 18 2006, 12:18 AM)
So it's due to overclock?How did ya overclock? rclxub.gif
using Ati tools lah,with cap ayam psu and cooler! biggrin.gif
ijan
post Jul 18 2006, 11:02 PM

The one with a boring life...
3,448 posts

overclocking, not much of an actual damage if u supply it without powers that are under its specification..damage is exponential when u torque the voltage, but being smart, u dun pump 50% more voltage in, duh! Oh, heat also damages the cpu, its technical, down to the silicon level..

OC smartly la, dun be stoopid kaw kaw hantam, my 2.4 oc to 3.5 for..aa..3 years no hal also, absolutely stable.
PCcrazy
post Jul 19 2006, 12:26 AM

Milanista
3,224 posts

Most of top of the line hardware is over design such that it can accommodate for higher loads. Having the necessary knowledge in limits of any particular hardware is imperative so that you don't step over the line so to speak.

Well, the analogy is quite straightforward, a Ferrari is design to travel more than 200km/h and yet still maintain stability and drivability. Compare that to a typical car and I reckon you would get the picture right away.

This post has been edited by PCcrazy: Jul 19 2006, 12:26 AM
SUSMatrix
post Jul 22 2006, 01:12 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

My old Athlon XP1800+...o/c for 2 or 3 years at 2Ghz. Finally KOed...i think mainly due to the new Cooler Master fan which is quite but not very cool i installed later.

Results?

I took out the CPU and part of it was melted...like kena chip away..

Hot stuff man....LOL.

RIGmaster
post Jul 22 2006, 12:42 PM

735 posts

Ah .. one thing for sure in OC is depends on your luck biggrin.gif

A processor had a Average life span of 10 years ...
The mulfuntion rate of a processor is in normal distribution of 5 days to 50 years ( same as other electrical product ... where some good product mulfunction in seconds and some evn after 20 years also no problem ... the one longest ussage light bulb is recorded to be 38Years 24/7 without fail !!! they are lucky to had that biggrin.gif since now the most expensive light bulb .. if open 24/7 .. after five years ... most of it blacken tongue.gif )

The normal distribution tells all the story biggrin.gif
So you are lucky with your OCed Parts running over a long period of time while other might get their parts mulfunction .. same goes with Capacitors and PSUs .....

We can't predict Luck but we can Be prepared to face what we might face ...

Since OC is mean to be OCed at your own RISK ... You can go for it if you like to and no one will blam you as long as you dont blam yourself biggrin.gif

Ah .. one more thing ... One architecture had bigger Nanometers in their processor conducting lines ... for example 8 atom per crosection of line ... New nanoarchitecture had narrow the atom per line and hence increase Transistor per inch and Heat dissipation ( too much atom ... too much thermal resistance ) .... for example 2 atom per crossection of line ....

if the atom Failing rate is fix at 1 faliure per year ... then your 2 atom structure will be having faliure rate of about 2 years (if and only the two atom are situated side by side in a cross section and may cause a closed circuit to be open and hence consider mulfunction ... ) ... and for those 8 atom one .. it may take at least 8 years to fail ...

Anyway .. this may not always the case as now our technology had thermally reduce (expcially conroe biggrin.gif ) and the Failing rate per atom had decrease as not much high temp produced biggrin.gif ....

So still .. the failing rate still depends on your Luck biggrin.gif

Aoshi_88
post Jul 22 2006, 09:11 PM

Talking isn't difficult. Speaking is.
4,670 posts

Used to have a P3 that i OC'ed from 500 to 700Mhz. Could go higher even though at stock cooling it was 37C-45C depending on load. Never bothered as it was a bit risky with a crappy PSU.

My current rig is not OC'ed. Only pushed the GPU with ATITools. Won't dare OC'ing my AMD XP2500+ even with my Coolermaster Aero7+ installed. Temps now are around 53C with no load.

And i believe Bartons like my XP2500 are extremely overclockable. The FSB can be pushed from 166 to 200.
G-ShoCk
post Jul 22 2006, 10:36 PM

233 posts

computer is not a land for u to keep it on~ day by day the value decrease~ hehe~

juz for u info, try to use speedfan n check the voltage option~
then compair a high end psu n cap ayam psu
~ my i-cute psu supply 11.6-11.7volt to my mobo for it 12volt rail while my new sansun supply 11.9-11.8volt to my mobo maa~

can u see the different?? high end stuff is not about how it look like, it more on how it work n perform..

btw one more info, unsufficient power supply do kill ur mobo~ someone please vote me on this smile.gif
kucingfight
post Jul 22 2006, 10:50 PM

5,784 posts

All i can say is, get good quality parts and reputable cooling components.

And of course, know what you're doing. I love pushing every single components to its limits
Westley
post Jul 22 2006, 11:12 PM

Night Crawler...
Store Representative
679 posts

QUOTE(kucingfight @ Jul 22 2006, 10:50 PM)
All i can say is, get good quality parts and reputable cooling components.

And of course, know what you're doing. I love pushing every single components to its limits
i'll more prefer to use this word: advance.
pushing to advance is better to describe...

limit, is not defined...
using xtreme cooling u get bumped another 50%, is this the limit?
zeustronic
post Jul 22 2006, 11:17 PM

Retire OC Into Audiophiles
2,605 posts

QUOTE(QD_buyer @ Jul 18 2006, 09:58 PM)
using Ati tools lah,with cap ayam psu and cooler! biggrin.gif
Slowly overclock don straight push to the max, if u see artifacts lower clock speed slightly...
kucingfight
post Jul 23 2006, 02:55 AM

5,784 posts

QUOTE(Westley @ Jul 22 2006, 11:12 PM)

limit, is not defined...
Think there's no point of splitting hairs here.

Obviously, pushing it to the limits with what u hav
KilJim
post Jul 23 2006, 03:57 AM

^-_-^ ZzzZzZzZzzz....
4,424 posts

QUOTE(Westley @ Jul 22 2006, 11:12 PM)

limit, is not defined...
"Pushing to advance" is simply bad english...i'm not too sure what u mean by that sweat.gif
Aoshi_88
post Jul 23 2006, 06:50 AM

Talking isn't difficult. Speaking is.
4,670 posts

Pushing to the limit would be better.
RIGmaster
post Jul 23 2006, 12:25 PM

735 posts

PUSH to the LIMIT and back a little for stability ...
Who knows suddenly your PSU not enough Juice and performance drop .. and JAM the whole system with BSOD biggrin.gif
TSseveneleven
post Jul 23 2006, 01:50 PM

359 posts

RIGmaster, what PSU you using now?
pu7era
post Jul 23 2006, 09:05 PM

I've overclock my athlonXp2600 1.9GHz @ 2.3Ghz w/ abit an7, 2X corsair VS 512MB DDR400, AsusEN6600, SBLive! Value and Acbel 400W PSU. Using for it for gaming almost everyday for about 2 Years. Yet still performs very well but my old SBlive live card start to show some Prob. Distortions occur when using midrange volume. maybe bcoz the pci run overspecs while agp and ddr run according to specs. or maybe! the sblive card is too old already, bought it since Creative launch it several years ago...
knobi
post Jul 27 2006, 01:34 PM

15 posts

i love pushing the limit. My old 2800+ barton was running 3.0 Ghz, my winchester, venice were all running 2.6 Ghz and my 4400X2 was running 2.7 Ghz. Now my Opty 170 is running 2.95 (tune down)

OC is my life now. i love it but the prob is i tend to spend more on cooling now sad.gif

http://s7.photobucket.com/albums/y275/knob...mgAnch=imgAnch5
RIGmaster
post Jul 27 2006, 02:51 PM

735 posts

QUOTE(seveneleven @ Jul 23 2006, 01:50 PM)
RIGmaster, what PSU you using now?
PSU ...
How ah .. using a Cooler Master 550W SLI and the Power meter only show ussage of <100W idle ..... <150W on load ....
tomsdc
post Jul 29 2006, 02:38 PM

15 posts

QUOTE(PeowYong @ Jul 18 2006, 12:14 AM)
havent experience hardware failure for long term oc...
just experience a burnt chapalang psu when trying max oc, and spoilt a mobo socket when cleaning the com....
absolutely...always cleans your pc..once a week icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by tomsdc: Jul 29 2006, 02:38 PM
joylay83
post Jul 29 2006, 04:19 PM

854 posts

QUOTE(tomsdc @ Jul 29 2006, 02:38 PM)
if u use table fan to cool ur PC then no need once per week coz it dun get dusty so fast laugh.gif

and table fan provides much better cooling. but mind the noise wink.gif
Irishcoffee
post Jul 30 2006, 01:32 AM

ilX / Espressivo
2,994 posts

wad will happen if i OC my rig (long term) wif chapalang PSU(dunoe wad cheap "fortune" branded chapalang PSU)??
currently i OC my barton 2500+ @ 3200+ no problem for now
shinjite
post Jul 30 2006, 01:55 AM

�ŞħĬΩĵΐŦ��
19,318 posts

So far up till now my 2.4B to 3.24Ghz no problems
Using Antec Truepower 430W v2 smile.gif
tesla_rage
post Jul 31 2006, 09:42 PM

Gundam 00
1,357 posts

QUOTE(Irishcoffee @ Jul 30 2006, 01:32 AM)
wad will happen if i OC my rig (long term) wif chapalang PSU(dunoe wad cheap "fortune" branded chapalang PSU)??
currently i OC my barton 2500+ @ 3200+ no problem for now
your PSU can blow and might take along ur rig with it.

had my own little experience.. sweat.gif
Irishcoffee
post Jul 31 2006, 10:26 PM

ilX / Espressivo
2,994 posts

QUOTE(tesla_rage @ Jul 31 2006, 09:42 PM)
your PSU can blow and might take along ur rig with it.

had my own little experience.. sweat.gif
wah
now i being worry... cry.gif cry.gif
how abt gc n ram
also the same??
i do add voltage n OC my gcn ram

This post has been edited by Irishcoffee: Jul 31 2006, 10:27 PM
empire23
post Aug 1 2006, 12:10 AM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

Electromigration sayang is the key word in this topic for Processors.

Capacitors suffer from Dielectric degradation, slippage, contamination and cummulative ESR effects as the voltage gets bumped up.

Traces can burn out due to overcurrent (bridge wire principle), but generally heat degrades components by allowing materials to react faster with other materials, oxidization is good example and such.

But generally there's nothing to be afraid off once you stave off the short term problems like explosive loads and heat since most semi conductors are made to withstand decades of use.

chickenducksoup
post Aug 1 2006, 02:51 AM

I'm so GAY
1,298 posts

i clock my 5900xt(winfast) mem 900mhz.
after 1 year the GC just die.send to RMA.
get back from RMA ,then never dare clock again.

lichyetan
post Aug 1 2006, 02:56 AM

2,295 posts

i juz oc my clockspeed without adding vcore, does it affects a lot in long term?? ya, dun oc too high, my ram a are running slower clockspeed compare to last time it can achieve, nw juz tune the timings, on default vdimm and clock...
kingmaker_20
post Aug 1 2006, 04:46 AM

" t3H 1337(tm)"
3,159 posts

So,are there any proof,running an overclocked processor with good cooling and PSU effects hardwares etc?
G-ShoCk
post Aug 1 2006, 02:22 PM

233 posts

QUOTE(tomsdc @ Jul 29 2006, 02:38 PM)
sad.gif i dont think u will be that hardworking 4 dat purpose rclxms.gif btw i think table fan wat better for suppling a good air flow lah~ bigger fan didn't required a high speed fan blade..since it diameter already wide..

for ur proc..that different ..a high speed fan with high cfm is required smile.gif cheers
magiara
post Aug 1 2006, 02:42 PM

Legend
1,599 posts

QUOTE(joylay83 @ Jul 16 2006, 02:18 AM)
ya , increase Vcore - increase temp - fumes

i oc my opty from 1.8 to 2.4 Ghz and have no change in temperature. until when i up Vcore then my temperatue change. even then, its about 2-3C oni. the lower your temp, the longer your lifespan. so don't save on cooling.
high vcore with low temperature also can kill ur procsessor

QUOTE(cannavaro @ Jul 16 2006, 03:17 AM)
me! tongue.gif my ati x700, stable OC-ed run 3dmark03, 05, and ati tools all stable, but then 'KONG' edi! LOL biggrin.gif
kingmaker_20
post Aug 1 2006, 03:49 PM

" t3H 1337(tm)"
3,159 posts

QUOTE(magiara @ Aug 1 2006, 02:42 PM)
high vcore with low temperature also can kill ur procsessor
me!  tongue.gif  my ati x700, stable OC-ed run 3dmark03, 05, and ati tools all stable, but then 'KONG' edi! LOL biggrin.gif
Idle/load temp?
G-ShoCk
post Aug 2 2006, 02:43 AM

233 posts

juz my suggestion..why not create a threat juz regarding the finest oc setup~

so there will be no more hassle on oc got problem2 bla2..since we got our own database on who's already oc their rig..n performing well
kingmaker_20
post Aug 2 2006, 04:31 AM

" t3H 1337(tm)"
3,159 posts

QUOTE(G-ShoCk @ Aug 2 2006, 02:43 AM)
juz my suggestion..why not create a threat juz regarding the finest oc setup~

so there will be no more hassle on oc got problem2 bla2..since we got our own database on who's already oc their rig..n performing well
A discussion thread is a must since i don't see any prrof that overclocked setup with good cooling will die or kill your hardwares. wink.gif
cannavaro
post Aug 2 2006, 07:07 AM

CATTENACIO
3,008 posts

QUOTE(magiara @ Aug 1 2006, 02:42 PM)
me!  tongue.gif  my ati x700, stable OC-ed run 3dmark03, 05, and ati tools all stable, but then 'KONG' edi! LOL biggrin.gif
Interesting... so how long did it take to 'kong'?
magiara
post Aug 2 2006, 01:50 PM

Legend
1,599 posts

QUOTE(kingmaker_20 @ Aug 1 2006, 03:49 PM)
Idle/load temp?
can't remember already quite long ago

QUOTE(cannavaro @ Aug 2 2006, 07:07 AM)
Interesting... so how long did it take to 'kong'?
less than 3 weeks tongue.gif
G-ShoCk
post Aug 2 2006, 02:11 PM

233 posts

QUOTE(magiara @ Aug 2 2006, 01:50 PM)
wahh..3 weeks kah..if 3 month or 1 year can tell it that the setup pretty stable~ somehow i what can i say is.. oc does give effect..so oc on ur risk
nelza_ax
post Aug 2 2006, 03:10 PM

i am me
889 posts

n00b here notworthy.gif
erk..wat bout my case..
oc a bit high without increase the voltage.. izzit the same meh? blush.gif
kingmaker_20
post Aug 2 2006, 03:44 PM

" t3H 1337(tm)"
3,159 posts

QUOTE(magiara @ Aug 2 2006, 01:50 PM)
Even yoo don't know the temp.So how you know that your GPU died due to OC? tongue.gif
lichyetan
post Aug 3 2006, 02:13 AM

2,295 posts

anyone know the effects if oc high with default vcore???
cool disel
post Aug 3 2006, 03:40 AM

177 posts

QUOTE(lichyetan @ Aug 3 2006, 02:13 AM)
i think it will hang bcoz not enough power ?????
uzairi
post Aug 3 2006, 03:46 AM

Team almostthere
6,744 posts

QUOTE(lichyetan @ Aug 3 2006, 02:13 AM)
The proc will become hotter than using stock voltage. More voltages means more heat and would lead to the decrease of the proc's lifespan.
RIGmaster
post Aug 3 2006, 10:27 AM

735 posts

It is very important to never let your Processor reach 50 celcius once biggrin.gif

thats my Key biggrin.gif

Ah .... electron is such a cute fellow but also create such problem when migration and tunneling happens biggrin.gif

No way to prevent a Component for not ROSAK at all . Thats why Superconductor is so important ... The current flow without Resistance . Since no resistance , no work against the unwanted force and hence no heat being dessipated and hence no thing will be delocalised biggrin.gif

The Most stable structure is still Subatomic Particle biggrin.gif

It form from the first universe start with all the 6 Quarks , electron , positron , neutrino and anti neutrino . Things never change since then .
Haha , unless you can break quarks into even smaller particle tongue.gif
magiara
post Aug 3 2006, 01:21 PM

Legend
1,599 posts

QUOTE(uzairi @ Aug 3 2006, 03:46 AM)
The proc will become hotter than using stock voltage. More voltages means more heat and would lead to the decrease of the proc's lifespan.
what if 1.6Vcore and 1.4Vcore but with same temperature?

alex_tan1983
post Aug 3 2006, 01:23 PM

206 posts

your pc actually will quite stable if overcloking not more than 10%.
G-ShoCk
post Aug 3 2006, 02:19 PM

233 posts

QUOTE(alex_tan1983 @ Aug 3 2006, 01:23 PM)
your pc actually will quite stable if overcloking not more than 10%.
please indicate where u got this statement.. smile.gif please dont give any statement without any sapporting proof smile.gif :cheer:
nelza_ax
post Aug 3 2006, 04:49 PM

i am me
889 posts

QUOTE(magiara @ Aug 3 2006, 01:21 PM)
what if 1.6Vcore and 1.4Vcore but with same temperature?
stay at 1.4v blush.gif
G-ShoCk
post Aug 3 2006, 07:44 PM

233 posts

QUOTE(nelza_ax @ Aug 3 2006, 04:49 PM)
stay at 1.4v  blush.gif
hurm..actually i agree with this feller..BUT if u got a really nice hsf which u have tried the full load temp juz around 50celius..i think its ok to use vcore 1.6Volt rite smile.gif but be reminded..dont simply increase the vcore~ to 1.6volt straight away
Aurora
post Aug 3 2006, 11:14 PM

630 posts

I OCed my Barton for a period of time before, for benchmarking. From 166*10.5 to 200*10.5 on a lock barton. Temperature never exceeded 50C. Then one day, my PC just sudden death. Like *poof* while I was surfing the net and chatting, then restart, nothing. After I check, the culprit was mobo. My rig was left in the corner of my room for 1 month. Finally when i got my new mobo, replaced it, and next the case fan and HSF led just lid for less than a second and stop, as well as the fan attempt to move then halt. Tried it several time, then *spark*, my ICUTE PSU kaput. Now running on enermax from garage sale, luckily my mobo and other component didn't fry with the PSU. End of the story.

I open up the ICUTE PSU, the fuse has shatter everywhere. I don't dare to change the PSU and try it again, who knows what would happen next. I learn an important lesson, PSU is as important as other component, and ICUTE = bad.
lichyetan
post Aug 4 2006, 01:53 AM

2,295 posts

QUOTE(G-ShoCk @ Aug 3 2006, 07:44 PM)
hurm..actually i agree with this feller..BUT if u got a really nice hsf which u have tried the full load temp juz around 50celius..i think its ok to use vcore 1.6Volt rite smile.gif but be reminded..dont simply increase the vcore~ to 1.6volt straight away
there are some theory frm electronics which increase the voltage will make the proc die faster even with good cooling, i dunno hw to explain though but it seems related to atoms... and also all proc have a lifespan, overclock too high will greatly reduce the lifespan...
empire23
post Aug 4 2006, 04:05 AM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

QUOTE(RIGmaster @ Aug 3 2006, 10:27 AM)
It is very important to never let your Processor reach 50 celcius once biggrin.gif

thats my Key biggrin.gif

Ah .... electron is such a cute fellow but also create such problem when migration and tunneling happens biggrin.gif

No way to prevent a Component for not ROSAK at all . Thats why Superconductor is so important ... The current flow without Resistance . Since no resistance , no work against the unwanted force and hence no heat being dessipated and hence no thing will be delocalised biggrin.gif

The Most stable structure is still Subatomic Particle biggrin.gif

It form from the first universe start with all the 6 Quarks , electron , positron , neutrino and anti neutrino . Things never change since then .
Haha , unless you can break quarks into even smaller particle tongue.gif
First of all heat isn't related, since it just damages the physical lattice and increases environment reaction rates.

Problems due to electron flow is called electromigration, as you raise the voltage, the force behind and electron continues to grow with it, the electron is already moving at C which is as fast as the laws of physics allow for, but then it doesn't stop it increasing it's kenetic energy, and that kenetic energy will eventually thin out and break those mircoscopic traces.

Resistance is another point, semiconductors require resistance to operate. It's by the laws of physics that for any action, some energy must be put it, so the switching of a transistor (which uses heat or energy to allow the source and drain to connect) must have resistance. Generally it's the use of logic, good placement, less redundancy, higher IPC and better processes that allow for less heat. Since generally all transistors are the same and switch using the same amount of energy, it's just a problem of needed switching and other factors.

Particles do not break unless you can overcome the electrostatic forces detailed in Coloumb's law and the strong force (one of the 4 fundemental forces) that binds the atoms together. There is decay, but the amount of time it takes for such particles to decay is insanely long

QUOTE(lichyetan @ Aug 4 2006, 01:53 AM)
there are some theory frm electronics which increase the voltage will make the proc die faster even with good cooling, i dunno hw to explain though but it seems related to atoms... and also all proc have a lifespan, overclock too high will greatly reduce the lifespan...
Generally if kept within the confines of the process limitations, procs can survive a very long time. Semiconductor based OPAMPs already have an MTBF of 10^12 hours and that's damned long lol. Same goes generally with processors, unless you take them far past their process specifications (Eg; Intel 90nm, AMD 90nm SOI, TSMC 80nm)

This post has been edited by empire23: Aug 4 2006, 04:06 AM
ikanayam
post Aug 4 2006, 04:25 AM

there are no pacts between fish and men
10,544 posts

QUOTE(empire23 @ Aug 3 2006, 03:05 PM)
Since generally all transistors are the same and switch using the same amount of energy, it's just a problem of needed switching and other factors.

Not sure what you mean by this. AFAIK transistors vary greatly in terms of switching characteristics.
magiara
post Aug 4 2006, 06:25 AM

Legend
1,599 posts

QUOTE(nelza_ax @ Aug 3 2006, 04:49 PM)
stay at 1.4v  blush.gif
QUOTE(G-ShoCk @ Aug 3 2006, 07:44 PM)
duh of course i know sweat.gif
my only works super stable at 1.6 vcore, but worrying that running high vcore can kill the procesor

my cooling is decent enough, 1.4 and 1.6 vcore both have same temperature at full load
cannavaro
post Aug 4 2006, 08:09 AM

CATTENACIO
3,008 posts

Eh... I see you guys talking about 1.4-1.6 vcore being good.

My ancient P4 (1.7@2.0) is running at 1.8 vcore. The lowest it can be adjusted in the bios is 1.7 vcore.
Motherboard limitation or it's standard for the ancient P4?
nelza_ax
post Aug 4 2006, 09:59 AM

i am me
889 posts

QUOTE(cannavaro @ Aug 4 2006, 08:09 AM)
Eh... I see you guys talking about 1.4-1.6 vcore being good.

My ancient P4 (1.7@2.0) is running at 1.8 vcore. The lowest it can be adjusted in the bios is 1.7 vcore.
Motherboard limitation or it's standard for the ancient P4?
wiilemette rite? should be normal..
empire23
post Aug 4 2006, 10:04 AM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

QUOTE(ikanayam @ Aug 4 2006, 04:25 AM)
Not sure what you mean by this. AFAIK transistors vary greatly in terms of switching characteristics.
I meant All transistors on the same piece of silicon lah tongue.gif. I know SOI and Strained Silicon have far different switching characteristic and there are tons more processes with different variables.
ernie ball
post Aug 4 2006, 10:10 AM

459 posts

Who cares about long term effects when you o/c? You probably just gonna use your hardware for ~6months before your hands itch to touch the new mobo again. And good luck to the next owner. I used to be a hardcore overclocker myself around 1 year ago, now had a car had no more extra $$ to spend on pc hardware, so I play silent pc instead. Do underclocking, passive cooling etc.

Sometime you don't need all the processing power at all, if all you do is browse some geeks forum asking whether overclocking will kill your mobo faster, dl some pr0n, IM etc etc. BTW, i run my Barton 2600+ at 1GHz 1.1v (stock is 1.67GHz 1.65v) heat output is roughly 18w full load. Very flexible processor since it can do 2.4+GHz on stock voltage.
G-ShoCk
post Aug 4 2006, 12:34 PM

233 posts

QUOTE(magiara @ Aug 4 2006, 06:25 AM)
duh of course i know sweat.gif
my only works super stable at 1.6 vcore, but worrying that running high vcore can kill the procesor

my cooling is decent enough, 1.4 and 1.6 vcore both have same temperature at full load
owh~ can u now at what speed ur rig running on rite now? i also a noob in oc thing..btw regarding on the voltage thing..u sure really sure izzit..somehow kind of interesting ur fact notworthy.gif i didn't know that running on different vcore wont effect much on ur proc under full load..

magiara
post Aug 4 2006, 02:32 PM

Legend
1,599 posts

QUOTE(G-ShoCk @ Aug 4 2006, 12:34 PM)
owh~ can u now at what speed ur rig running on rite now? i also a noob in oc thing..btw regarding on the voltage thing..u sure really sure izzit..somehow kind of interesting ur fact  notworthy.gif i didn't know that running on different vcore wont effect much on ur proc under full load..
speed is in my siggy wink.gif
ikanayam
post Aug 4 2006, 05:03 PM

there are no pacts between fish and men
10,544 posts

QUOTE(empire23 @ Aug 3 2006, 09:04 PM)
I meant All transistors on the same piece of silicon lah tongue.gif. I know SOI and Strained Silicon have far different switching characteristic and there are tons more processes with different variables.
Actually even on the same piece of silicon, transistor switching characteristics vary greatly by design (and by manufacturing inconsistencies, but this is not deliberate).

0.0501sec    0.47    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 03:30 AM