Worklog: Project King Kong(V1200), Lian Li V1200 mod

hypermax
post Dec 20 2006, 12:48 PM

2,524 posts

Better stop accepting other pple's request for while and finish off your king kong... if not later he die of boredom... tongue.gif
hypermax
post Jan 5 2007, 12:22 AM

2,524 posts

Just out of curiosity, why are you using those loud UV fans? Why not go for coolermaster UV fan which is more quiet?
hypermax
post Jan 5 2007, 12:44 AM

2,524 posts

QUOTE(ianho @ Jan 5 2007, 12:30 AM)
Loud? Those fans aren't loud at all. I can barely hear my rig. Besides I really need those 65CFM fans. In fact I need more air intake which I'll b sorting out soon. My rig is incredibly hot like a volcano. The CPU is highly overclocked n over volted at 2.7ghz n 1.6Vcore n it's hot as hell, the motherboard is really hot too with all the voltages bumped up to support the CPU at 2.7ghz n the 8800GTX pumps out incredible amounts of heat too. The 8800GTX itself gets up to about 95C during my 8 hour long gaming sessions. Without those fans, King Kong wud die from heatstroke.
If i am not mistaken those fans are vantec rebranded. I was using one of those fan but it's super duper loud if compared to coolermaster's offerings. Well, i was using it in a Shuttle XPC (put on table instead of putting below the desk), so that might be the reason why it sounded loud to me.

Anyway, where's your water cooling? Isn't water cooling better and more quiet?

This post has been edited by hypermax: Jan 5 2007, 12:45 AM
hypermax
post Jan 5 2007, 12:48 PM

2,524 posts

QUOTE(ianho @ Jan 5 2007, 01:29 AM)
U use it in a Shuttle sure loud lar.  laugh.gif  There's hardly any space in there. That will cause a lot of turbulence hence more noise. Also, u used 80mm fans right? Mine's 120mm all round. Those 80mm fans r really loud. Not the 120mm.

The water cooling kit?  laugh.gif  I stopped playing with water cooling d. I simply dont haf the time to maintain the water cooling kit. N there's always the constant worry about leaks. With the current set up now, I just leave the PC on 24/7 without any worries. The funny thing is, my rig is actually quieter than with the water cooling kit b4.
That's actually quite normal for the top end gfx cards. Just that it'll be better for all the other components if I improve the case ventilation even more. The V1200 is already a very very good air cooling case but I'm gonna make it better. 
Heheheheh. Watch the updates later lor. I'll b improving the airflow of tha cse even more.
That fan is just sitting on top of the floppy drive for now. Will make it a permanent solution soon.
So the 80mm is louder? Didn't know about that, silly me doh.gif
How can the water cooling be louder than fan cooling? You mean water cooling actually produces gushing sound? tongue.gif

QUOTE(kalakatu @ Jan 5 2007, 01:37 AM)
well the coolermaster's fan are stated as 'silent' so it has a low rpm compared to vizo/vantec and it is not suitable to cool down ur volcano rig.. tongue.gif
im using vantec fans..and yeah its loud..but it really helps me decrease the temp.. smile.gif
Yup, indeed powerful but just can't tolerate the noise. I prefer dead silent setup. I am a very sensitive person biggrin.gif tongue.gif
hypermax
post Jan 5 2007, 11:58 PM

2,524 posts

QUOTE(EmperorMeng @ Jan 5 2007, 06:48 PM)
haha! waddaf***!! good one! rclxms.gif
Dude, do you even know what's he talking about? Seems that you are spamming across the forum with your one line post. Pls, if you wanna spam, pls spam in kopitiam. Read the rules before you post anything here. Thanks.

Sorry mod for kacauing this thread.
hypermax
post Jan 6 2007, 07:02 AM

2,524 posts

QUOTE(tyrion4 @ Jan 6 2007, 12:22 AM)
Lol chill la. Maybe he hasn't read the pantyhose thing before. I'd go WTF for a few brief seconds as well.
Well, if you read his previous posts which are also idiotic, i am sure you'll get worked up also.

Anyway, back to the discussion.
hypermax
post Jan 6 2007, 07:00 PM

2,524 posts

QUOTE(ianho @ Jan 6 2007, 06:43 PM)
laugh.gif  It's a fact not many ppl know. It damps out the vibrations on the alu panel. Gifs it more of a Mercedes "thud" sound instead of a Proton like "Clank".  thumbup.gif
Acrylic can do that? Then a side window is a must for a dead silent setup. Learned a new thing today.
hypermax
post Jan 7 2007, 01:43 AM

2,524 posts

QUOTE(deric88 @ Jan 6 2007, 09:10 PM)
if like dat use full acrylic casing.....
Nope, still prefer metal casing. Acrylic casing needs superb cable management. Also, it can't absorb radiation emitted by processor like the metal casing does.
hypermax
post Jan 11 2007, 01:06 PM

2,524 posts

No recent update? Faster update la, can't wait to see what you are going to do with the area in your casing which is marked red in one of the photos. smile.gif

This post has been edited by hypermax: Jan 11 2007, 01:06 PM
hypermax
post Mar 1 2007, 11:39 PM

2,524 posts

QUOTE(DiCalto @ Mar 1 2007, 11:25 PM)
look lik uncle has adbandon this thread... laugh.gif
so long no updates liao.....

off topic : where can get compress air?
I guess he's really busy with the King Kong II. Well, hopes he get to finish this project soon. It's really wasted if this project stops here. sad.gif

0.0156sec    0.77    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 06:25 AM