Opteron144 vs Opteron146, Compare it

TSthomaz
post Jul 15 2006, 05:37 PM, updated 20y ago

33 posts

i saw most of the thread says that opty144 can go 2.8++ in stock voltage

how about the opty146???

should i go 4 146 or wait for some ppl to selling 144????

hard to get dission to it....
nuox
post Jul 15 2006, 05:45 PM

621 posts

depends my fren not all processor are magic processor, make research on steppings, and opty 146 also can get colorfull result but as i said it depends on steping and othe hardware too, motherboard, ram, and others
e-jump
post Jul 15 2006, 06:00 PM

┐( ¯3¯)┌
4,784 posts

for a same batch with similar OC capabilities, 146 wins for 10x multi over 144 9x multi [its good if u dont have ultra fast ram]
TSthomaz
post Jul 15 2006, 06:11 PM

33 posts

ok thats my rig without proc....

corsair c2pt
seagate 250gb
dfi lp ut nf4 ultra-d
cm hyper 6+
cm centurion 5
samsung 740BF
altec lansing fx 6021
lg dvd rw
antect neo

how will the opty 144 n 146 work in my rig???
sup3rfly
post Jul 15 2006, 06:17 PM

Techno Slave
1,561 posts

both will work with ur rig.... as muox mention.... the stepping + luck plays the biggest roll in ocing.... some ppl has the same stepping but the oc result is not the same also...so it depends on luck also...
TSthomaz
post Jul 15 2006, 06:24 PM

33 posts

so do you guys know any goob chip for optry146 (the box no.)
soulfly
post Jul 16 2006, 11:38 AM

revving towards 10,000 rpm
15,903 posts

If both 144 and 146 can clock max 2.8ghz.... which one is the highest clocker? of course the 144 right, because it has the highest percentage of overclocked speed.

for me... the best overclock chip would be the lowest/cheapest model, but able to overclock quite high.... like a 1.6ghz that is able to run at 2.7ghz.... not a 2.6ghz that is only able to clock at 2.8ghz. 200mhz difference? come on lah.... tongue.gif

This post has been edited by soulfly: Jul 16 2006, 11:40 AM
^KamilskaZ^
post Jul 17 2006, 12:34 AM

roar...roar....
1,222 posts

QUOTE(soulfly @ Jul 16 2006, 11:38 AM)
If both 144 and 146 can clock max 2.8ghz.... which one is the highest clocker? of course the 144 right, because it has the highest percentage of overclocked speed.

for me... the best overclock chip would be the lowest/cheapest model, but able to overclock quite high.... like a 1.6ghz that is able to run at 2.7ghz.... not a 2.6ghz that is only able to clock at 2.8ghz. 200mhz difference? come on lah....  tongue.gif
btw bro...some reviewer said high multiplier can make overall system bus run on high speed.there said,not me.i forgot which url
soulfly
post Jul 17 2006, 12:38 AM

revving towards 10,000 rpm
15,903 posts

One thing for sure... it's easier to overclock without using divider. When you use different divider, different combination of memory timing is needed. Very hassle....
satanhead2003
post Jul 17 2006, 01:12 AM

551 posts

The percentage of getting 3G stepping for 144 is slimmer than 146. Only 2 known stepping, CAB1E and CAB2E. The rest, depends on luck. if u can confirm get these 2 stepping, well, go for 144, if not, better go for higher multi. chances r higher
moderno
post Jul 22 2006, 12:18 AM

*Thanks for all the memories & supports! @ LYN**
1,924 posts

QUOTE(satanhead2003 @ Jul 17 2006, 01:12 AM)
The percentage of getting 3G stepping for 144 is slimmer than 146. Only 2 known stepping, CAB1E and CAB2E. The rest, depends on luck. if u can confirm get these 2 stepping, well, go for 144, if not, better go for higher multi. chances r higher
my CAB1E can't get prime stable at 3G over here sad.gif

now playing u how much a vcore can core for this steeping..

currently 2.8ghz with 1.32v laugh.gif
mynewuser
post Jul 25 2006, 10:06 PM

2,549 posts

It will be no point of getting opteron now as the price is very much higher.
TSthomaz
post Jul 26 2006, 11:04 AM

33 posts

opty onli gd for overclockers......

for those normal ppl go for the am2.....

opty arr opty.....

on now days there are so less opty can be found at LYP.....

hav any ppl can clock till 3.0ghz++???

0.0152sec    0.36    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 07:58 PM