Credit Cards Maybankard 2 Gold & Platinum Cards V9, Pls read post 1-3 & use Search Topic 1st

akh2920
post Apr 13 2014, 10:26 AM

440 posts

I was thinking to get this card as my second card, and might use it seldom... may I know is it hard to maintain? e.g. annual fee, minimum spend, etc
akh2920
post Apr 13 2014, 09:22 PM

440 posts

QUOTE(victorywp @ Apr 13 2014, 10:57 AM)
it's easy to maintain. free for life with no annual fee. no minimum spend but maybe you may want to spend enough to get the sufficient tp to redeem your gst.
Thanks for reply! Wow it is indeed attractive! But is there any way to waive the GST without using up points/rebates, like my UOB card does? (a bit greedy right) tongue.gif

QUOTE(sj0217 @ Apr 13 2014, 03:23 PM)
You should get it as your first card if you staying around Klang valley.

May I know what is the card as your first card??
My first card is UOB one, with 7% cash rebate at BHP (5% cash back 2% smart $$). But it have a total cap of 900k for petrol every month cry.gif Hence i was looking for a secondary card which can be used during end of month, where 900k quota most likely exceeded whistling.gif

By the way why u mention staying Klang Valley? got any benefits? tongue.gif

This post has been edited by akh2920: Apr 13 2014, 09:25 PM
akh2920
post Apr 13 2014, 10:04 PM

440 posts

QUOTE(supersound @ Apr 13 2014, 09:45 PM)
Make it this way, bank are making money from the CC, either 18% interest or 1-3% from merchant. So the more we spend, the more they make. They shall not charge us anything from this.
OCBC last time do waive rm50 GST and annual fee(most bank will auto waive anyway) but with certain T&C.
MBB's TP for me I don't really care for it as I will control my spending at rm1000 a month max.
And if you are using lots of fuel, why not take HLB's WISE? It gives 8.25-9.6% of cash back which is highest among all banks.
I've thought about HLB Wise, but that RM50 minimum spend X 10 minimum swipe makes me hesitate... Once not reached then whole month no rebate at all cry.gif Somemore annual fee dont know can waive or not, quite expensive leh~ unsure.gif
akh2920
post Apr 13 2014, 10:13 PM

440 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Apr 13 2014, 10:08 PM)
There you go.
What happened? Why some say cannot waive some say no need pay? shocking.gif rclxub.gif
akh2920
post Apr 13 2014, 10:28 PM

440 posts

QUOTE(supersound @ Apr 13 2014, 10:17 PM)
That's why I said 8.25-9.5% of cash back. rm50 per transaction are not hard.
Also, you got total of 3(2+mobile) categories to choose from. I choose petrol, groceries and mobile. Petrol you can always refuel earlier, like now your transaction each time rm90 for 6 days, then you need to visit petrol station every 4 days.
My way on hitting 10 transaction, use as reference :
mobile spending every month : rm150-200
petrol : rm400-600
groceries : rm200-400
cash back are calculated based on transaction month(really have to take note on this)
1st week I'll swipe 5 transactions, 2 on petrol(mine and my wife), 2 times on groceries and 1 time mobile.
2nd week another 2 transactions on petrol and 1 groceries
3rd week case by case(should be another 2)
4th week 1st half will target hit the rm1000, will top up petrol to full again(since hit 10X so can be < rm50) and balance will pay mobile's bill(usually will pay more if possible)
To keep it simple, you need to have strategies on using this bloody card whistling.gif
notworthy.gif Wahh great formula!! You must have been taking a lotttt of advantage since using this card rclxms.gif Really need to plan well~

By the way, I am single and dont have wife/kid, so kinda hard to spend so much on groceries~ I use petrol quite heavily though, personally use around RM400 per month inconsistently... So I guess it might be a great card for family use, not for single people like me~ cry.gif
akh2920
post Apr 13 2014, 10:28 PM

440 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Apr 13 2014, 10:25 PM)
This is MBB2 thread. Please discuss this at the HLB wise thread.
QUOTE(supersound @ Apr 13 2014, 10:27 PM)
People ask, I answer.
Sorry, my bad~ sweat.gif
akh2920
post Apr 14 2014, 08:43 AM

440 posts

QUOTE(DarReNz @ Apr 13 2014, 10:53 PM)
since you use petrol about rm400 then you just need to spend rm100 could be mobile or groceries/utilities category and you would get your rebate with wise card
The problem is my petrol usage could be inconsistent.... sad.gif

QUOTE(cybpsych @ Apr 14 2014, 07:29 AM)

general rule of thumb: if no high spending, then dont spend so much just to get the cashback. dont get another card for the sake of getting more cashback.

Couldn't agree more!! I should control myself from being "cashback slave" nod.gif
akh2920
post May 19 2014, 02:03 PM

440 posts

May I know is there any limitation on merchants for the 5% weekend cash back? What are the mentionable examples of supported merchants?
akh2920
post May 19 2014, 03:23 PM

440 posts

QUOTE(cybpsych @ May 19 2014, 02:21 PM)
no limit on merchants, including online transaction such as Paypal (non-MYR). Cashback is purely dependent on transaction date that is performed during weekend.
QUOTE(beyond86 @ May 19 2014, 02:22 PM)
as long as able to swipe, the transaction is successful, u will entitle 5% Cash Back
Wow thats great! Thanks! biggrin.gif

Btw, maybank credit card center called me yesterday, saying that my name is already pre-registered for the credit card (because I have been active in my saving account?), and i can get it without needing to apply... Anyone experienced this before? hmm.gif
akh2920
post May 27 2014, 09:01 AM

440 posts

I am planning to get gold card, anyone knows where got booth which gives freebies?? brows.gif Thanks!!
akh2920
post May 27 2014, 09:39 AM

440 posts

QUOTE(victorywp @ May 27 2014, 09:28 AM)
at the upcoming treats fair (as mentioned above)...
Thanks!! Didnt see anything regarding new card application in the website though, but will go check it out biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by akh2920: May 27 2014, 09:40 AM

0.0179sec    0.58    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 01:52 AM