Credit Cards Maybankard 2 Gold & Platinum Cards V9, Pls read post 1-3 & use Search Topic 1st

aeiou228
post Mar 6 2014, 06:18 PM

5,867 posts

My Amex got compromised again for the 3rd time. This time the amount is above RM5K. I never use it for online transaction since 1st and 2nd incidents. Where is the leak actually ?? hmm.gif
aeiou228
post Mar 6 2014, 06:28 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(plumberly @ Mar 6 2014, 06:25 PM)
How did you find out?

Via SMS informing you of the transaction?

Maybe check the last 10 card transactions you did for possible "infor leak" where they noted your particulars.

Cheerio.
By sms.
aeiou228
post Mar 6 2014, 06:43 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(plumberly @ Mar 6 2014, 06:38 PM)
I see.

I hope the bank will compensate you for the illegal transaction.

Possible to find out whether it is a local or overseas company that person used for the transaction? If it is a transaction in M'sia, then the culprit is in M'sia.

Sorry for asking so many questions.

Stop here.
The bank will refund me.
Online transactions. Overseas merchant.

aeiou228
post Mar 6 2014, 06:44 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(OptimusStar @ Mar 6 2014, 06:35 PM)
My Amex just got compromised. They called me to come and pick up the replacement card. Is it common for Amex to have this problem ?
Very common. Me kena 3 times already.
aeiou228
post Mar 6 2014, 07:49 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(DarReNz @ Mar 6 2014, 06:56 PM)
MSOS  activated ?
MSOS is for visa and MasterCard only. Amex never have MSOS.
aeiou228
post Mar 7 2014, 01:13 AM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(BRY7 @ Mar 6 2014, 07:59 PM)
Amex does have MSOS, its called SafeKey
QUOTE(plumberly @ Mar 6 2014, 08:03 PM)
The other day I called up MB to register the MSOS for both my Amex and Master cards.

So dapat.
QUOTE(beyond86 @ Mar 6 2014, 08:18 PM)
Thanks for the heads up. notworthy.gif
Will call Mbb to apply one.
aeiou228
post Mar 7 2014, 12:26 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(maskedchan @ Mar 7 2014, 09:43 AM)
if you dont mind i ask, how often did you use the AMEX card?
Not very often. Why?
aeiou228
post Mar 7 2014, 02:17 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(nothingz @ Mar 7 2014, 01:15 PM)
he wonders why your card get compromised so often. I use my card online quite often but never used at petrol station, never get compromised. I used my card online at least once a month averagely

petrol stations may be the reason.
QUOTE(maskedchan @ Mar 7 2014, 01:43 PM)
i am wondering if this is the case..
someone monitoring the spending pattern and target those who seldom use the card...

just like my case, all this while, no issue of fraud since i use it everyweek..
but one time i stop using it for 3months++, there come my first fraud case...
I think my case is most probably due to I did not activate the MSOS. I didn't know Amex user can now use MSOS security starting from Nov last year.
aeiou228
post Mar 7 2014, 05:11 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(beyond86 @ Mar 7 2014, 02:32 PM)
but my friends never online buy anything also kena....this is weird.. hmm.gif
QUOTE(maskedchan @ Mar 7 2014, 04:22 PM)
MSOS for amex not support by alot merchant..
so no point as well..
i bet those fraud case is merchant that doesnt use MSOS..
QUOTE(tifosi @ Mar 7 2014, 04:37 PM)
Some overseas merchants don't even need your CVC whatmore MSOS. Just your card number and expiry date will do.
I thought once I activated MSOS, any online merchant regardless of supporting MSOS or not must need my OTP to approve the payment just like visa and mc. No ?
aeiou228
post Mar 8 2014, 11:00 AM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(cdspins @ Mar 8 2014, 08:38 AM)
In your previous case, did they void the extra bill charges in the end?
Yes. Mbb reversed the charges.

QUOTE(Blues03 @ Mar 8 2014, 10:36 AM)
for AMEX MSOS service..do I need to call maybank to active this service? I also did not know amex user got this MSOS security..last year my AMEX has been fraud where somebody use my card to buy an item in USA... vmad.gif  vmad.gif

for visa...MSOS code is automatically activated rite?
No harm to give a call to reconfirm.
Visa and MC by default need OTP to approve payment but I came across one website that is YES 4G doesn't need OTP for payment by credit card.

aeiou228
post May 7 2014, 05:37 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(cybpsych @ May 7 2014, 05:21 PM)
how does the future payment works?

system "blocked" the amount first, but only charged to AMEX card on the specific date?
No, system wouldn't block. It will only pay on the date you selected.

0.0423sec    0.62    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 12:41 PM