5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Credit Cards Maybankard 2 Gold & Platinum Cards V9, Pls read post 1-3 & use Search Topic 1st

SUSsupersound
post Apr 11 2014, 07:25 AM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(ryudell @ Apr 11 2014, 07:06 AM)
Application approved on tuesday..
Sms received yesterday..
Y so delay? Today go klcc branch n take my card n use for petrol tomorrow
Mine are the other way round, receive sms on credit cards promotion, after 1 week then only got card to take whistling.gif
SUSsupersound
post Apr 11 2014, 10:19 AM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(ryudell @ Apr 11 2014, 07:33 AM)
I do not receive any sms for the promo..i go apply direct..
But the sms delay between approval n sms received is 48hrs..but card can collect today..
Well, as long as you got card to use on this weekend, why not?
If it comes on next week, then you may need to spend harder to get rm50 cash back whistling.gif
SUSsupersound
post Apr 11 2014, 10:59 AM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(ryudell @ Apr 11 2014, 10:53 AM)
Haha..rm50 CB means have to spend rm1k lol
Well, it is quite easy to hit that rm1000 for me. Now I'm paying TNB, Streamyx bills(my house comes to about rm220 and my wife's taska about rm400). A dinner at KL in weekends. Balance of that rm1000 will be used to pay in advance on my TNB or Streamyx bill. So all my account monthly statement are -rm*** whistling.gif
Starting to next month I'll pay my parent's bill also thumbup.gif
Now I'm forced to spend rm2000 a month to get back rm150 of cash back.
SUSsupersound
post Apr 11 2014, 11:16 AM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(ryudell @ Apr 11 2014, 11:13 AM)
Haha..i only have maxis mobile n fibre, n also astro to pay coz i'm staying with my parents smile.gif
Haha..too bad they impossed expiry nw..just redeem all the expiry TP b4 they vanish
You need to have strategy to use the cards.
For me, I only spend rm900 a month on everything. But by buying for others and pay other's bills, I managed to get full rm2000 a month. Even my mom disturb me on such heavy spending. I tell her back that this is how I cash out my cash and get some extra "interest" from it.
SUSsupersound
post Apr 11 2014, 01:10 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(maskedchan @ Apr 11 2014, 12:27 PM)
can you explain more on why need to spend RM2000 a month and how you get RM150 cash back?
as i know cash rebate max RM50 and even include TP also doesnt add up RM150 cash back...
I got both cards which gives maximum cash back with lesser T&C. Last time was OCBC + WISE. I really missed OCBC's card which gives the less T&C.
Be a good boy and buy stuffs for parents(and give lesser cash) icon_rolleyes.gif

QUOTE(ryudell @ Apr 11 2014, 12:39 PM)
Haha..i wont spend that much unless need to go service car..
Not all SC accept AMEX.
SUSsupersound
post Apr 11 2014, 02:32 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(ryudell @ Apr 11 2014, 02:18 PM)
Haha..not sure if perodua can..
Aiya..maybank inform card just post to klcc yesterday..
So chances will get is by next week..
As long as they have Maybank card reader, then it should able to handle AMEX.
SUSsupersound
post Apr 11 2014, 02:44 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(maskedchan @ Apr 11 2014, 02:41 PM)
that not always the case...
if they do not 'subscribe' amex services, then having maybank card reader also cant do anything
Maybe, as AMEX charge higher %, so not much merchant wants to use it.
SUSsupersound
post Apr 13 2014, 09:58 AM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(kianwee @ Apr 12 2014, 11:34 PM)
Same. Mine USD59.99 BLIZZARD ONLINE STORE. Called CS straightaway block. AMEX security really need to buckle up!
Did online purchase regularly?
SUSsupersound
post Apr 13 2014, 03:08 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(ryudell @ Apr 13 2014, 11:03 AM)
if it is me, i wont spend 12500 TP (or rm 2500, assuming 5x TP) unnecessarily just to offset with rm50 GST..
not worth it..
but since 12500 is accumulated over a year, you can easily achieve even 30000 TP a year.
Then you better go for pay cash only doh.gif
Petrol, groceries, dining, utilities bill you can use credit card. I don't see there's any reason to use cash like a petrol station you need to walk to the counter pay the cash then only fill.
Have to bring cash on buying groceries.
Queue at post office waiting for those snail workers and worry they count the cash wrongly.
When using cash, rm1000 spent are rm1000 spent.
But using AMEX, for rm1000 spent, you only pay rm950 icon_rolleyes.gif
SUSsupersound
post Apr 13 2014, 03:23 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(sj0217 @ Apr 13 2014, 03:20 PM)
Additional for 5000 point to be collected = RM 20, so total 70 but only paid RM930
rclxms.gif
I usually don't see the points first till I change something.
Most of the people still thinks using cash are better.
But for me, if know how to control, it will be better than using cash, for sure some places we can't use cash.
SUSsupersound
post Apr 13 2014, 03:44 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(sj0217 @ Apr 13 2014, 03:33 PM)
Ya, but still don't know why people don't use card rather then use cash. probably financial control

I always saw ppl use cash especially paying for big amount for item, i was thinking this is such a waste to get back money... Haha
I will say this is case by case basis, no right or wrong on this.
Dining at hawker sure have to use cash. But if were in restaurant still use cash I think that's stupid, as with CC, I may get back some CB to offset the GST.
Buying electric appliances, buying using cash always cheaper(on the right shop) and using CC maybe more expensive. Again, ask the workers that paying using CC or cash and the difference from them.
Some like to use CC to pay ID or renovator. But they never knows that these people are charging 50% more. On this, I look for pay cash that are cheaper.
SUSsupersound
post Apr 13 2014, 06:04 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(ryudell @ Apr 13 2014, 04:34 PM)
haha..u get the wrong point here  doh.gif  doh.gif  doh.gif
i did not say pay cash for the spending..i only mentioned to spend 12500TP (which is equivalent to rn2500) just to redeem the gst waiver..
i'm not the person who spends 2k a month..unless for the 0% installment plan..
if u can spend rm2500, what is rm50 to u.. even though the TPs were no longer evergreen, but i can still use it to redeemed vouchers or enrich miles  icon_rolleyes.gif

furthermore, rm50 gst is only once a year..if u divide by 12, it is only rm4.17 a month..if you don;t want to pay rm50 lump sump, start saving each month to enable to pay the gst..hahaha

this is just a view from an accountant  cool2.gif no offence brother  smile.gif
As an accountant, I'm quite surprise to know rm4.17 is nothing. No wonder Malaysians now the personal debt are >90%.
What can this rm4.17 do? That's 2 glasses of coffee C kosong for me or a breakfast. And now by using the card, I'm getting rm50 every month, again, that's nothing?
When you have a family to take care about, you will know that the rm2000 are not enough, giving cash to the old ones(you never give them before? If yes, shame on you), tuition fees and not to mention groceries.
No offence, but next time don't tell people that you are an accountant.

QUOTE(victorywp @ Apr 13 2014, 05:51 PM)
LOL! i can't believe the reply to my post can go this far.

at first i'm suggesting perhaps the person would like to swipe at least rm2.5k (in a year) to get 12,500 tp to redeem for rm50 gst. but you mistaken i'm suggesting the person to swipe rm2.5k in a month instead of a year.  laugh.gif

then now your reply was misunderstood to be in favour of paying cash for spending.  biggrin.gif
As a single person that working, just the petrol already clock rm200-400, mobile another rm20-100, staying outside need to pay utilities for rm100-300, some groceries like shampoo, food and detergents another rm100-400.
It is not hard to spend rm1000 whistling.gif
SUSsupersound
post Apr 13 2014, 09:45 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(Sesshoumaru @ Apr 13 2014, 07:51 PM)
I don't understand. Using 12500 points for GST waiver or voucher, it's the same thing - you get back RM50 value worth.

What is the argument here? Rather pay RM50 cash for the GST and use points for vouchers? Or purposely spending RM2,500 when there is no need to spend for it, just to redeem RM50 GST?
Make it this way, bank are making money from the CC, either 18% interest or 1-3% from merchant. So the more we spend, the more they make. They shall not charge us anything from this.

QUOTE(akh2920 @ Apr 13 2014, 09:22 PM)
Thanks for reply! Wow it is indeed attractive! But is there any way to waive the GST without using up points/rebates, like my UOB card does? (a bit greedy right)  tongue.gif
My first card is UOB one, with 7% cash rebate at BHP (5% cash back 2% smart $$). But it have a total cap of 900k for petrol every month  cry.gif  Hence i was looking for a secondary card which can be used during end of month, where 900k quota most likely exceeded  whistling.gif

By the way why u mention staying Klang Valley? got any benefits?  tongue.gif
OCBC last time do waive rm50 GST and annual fee(most bank will auto waive anyway) but with certain T&C.
MBB's TP for me I don't really care for it as I will control my spending at rm1000 a month max.
And if you are using lots of fuel, why not take HLB's WISE? It gives 8.25-9.6% of cash back which is highest among all banks.
SUSsupersound
post Apr 13 2014, 09:55 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(Sole X @ Apr 13 2014, 09:50 PM)
I have a question guys. I made payment for my March statement short off RM50 as I thought that the RM50 cashback will be captured as payment in the statement to minus the balance.

Did I get it wrong here?
Always follow statement balance when doing payment.
SUSsupersound
post Apr 13 2014, 10:02 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(Sole X @ Apr 13 2014, 09:58 PM)
I see. My mistake then. Is it possible to ask for a waiver for the interests incurred? I've always paid my statement fully prior to this.
Due date was when? If still within a week, then should not be any problem.
This mistake I've done it before on HLB's WISE. Called the card center and they said as long as you paid in full before next statement date, it should be ok.
Still, call card center for a piece of mind.
SUSsupersound
post Apr 13 2014, 10:17 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(akh2920 @ Apr 13 2014, 10:04 PM)
I've thought about HLB Wise, but that RM50 minimum spend X 10 minimum swipe makes me hesitate... Once not reached then whole month no rebate at all  cry.gif  Somemore annual fee dont know can waive or not, quite expensive leh~  unsure.gif
That's why I said 8.25-9.5% of cash back. rm50 per transaction are not hard.
Also, you got total of 3(2+mobile) categories to choose from. I choose petrol, groceries and mobile. Petrol you can always refuel earlier, like now your transaction each time rm90 for 6 days, then you need to visit petrol station every 4 days.
My way on hitting 10 transaction, use as reference :
mobile spending every month : rm150-200
petrol : rm400-600
groceries : rm200-400
cash back are calculated based on transaction month(really have to take note on this)
1st week I'll swipe 5 transactions, 2 on petrol(mine and my wife), 2 times on groceries and 1 time mobile.
2nd week another 2 transactions on petrol and 1 groceries
3rd week case by case(should be another 2)
4th week 1st half will target hit the rm1000, will top up petrol to full again(since hit 10X so can be < rm50) and balance will pay mobile's bill(usually will pay more if possible)
To keep it simple, you need to have strategies on using this bloody card whistling.gif
SUSsupersound
post Apr 13 2014, 10:27 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Apr 13 2014, 10:25 PM)
This is MBB2 thread. Please discuss this at the HLB wise thread.
People ask, I answer.
SUSsupersound
post Apr 13 2014, 10:40 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(akh2920 @ Apr 13 2014, 10:28 PM)
notworthy.gif  Wahh great formula!! You must have been taking a lotttt of advantage since using this card  rclxms.gif Really need to plan well~

By the way, I am single and dont have wife/kid, so kinda hard to spend so much on groceries~ I use petrol quite heavily though, personally use around RM400 per month inconsistently... So I guess it might be a great card for family use, not for single people like me~  cry.gif
I have both of them, MBB and WISE. My spending also not that high, both of us only use about rm1000-1500 max.
Last time when using 1 card(OCBC), always burst rm1000. Initially when I got my second card(dump OCBC and get MBB), I have hard time to hit rm1000 for both cards.
Now I'm handling 3 family's groceries(WISE) and utilities bill(MBB) to hit rm1000 target each.
Some people getting a card and end up being sued bankruptcies while I'm getting money back from the card whistling.gif
Use wisely on the card and you will have freedom on your financial status.
SUSsupersound
post Apr 13 2014, 11:01 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(DarReNz @ Apr 13 2014, 10:53 PM)
since you use petrol about rm400 then you just need to spend rm100 could be mobile or groceries/utilities category and you would get your rebate with wise card
Cannot, this STUPID card you must swipe rm1000 a month, else the actual cash back will be lower.
SUSsupersound
post Apr 14 2014, 04:22 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(nickcct @ Apr 14 2014, 03:58 PM)
If apply this CC at branches need how long to get the card ya?
Mine 2 weeks as a my salary enter there. I never submit any document when being offer on this card thumbup.gif

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0470sec    0.40    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 11:45 AM