v9.0 The OFFICIAL 3G/5G Honda City 2011 thread, The new City, where to next?

whackowilson
post Mar 3 2014, 02:49 PM

165 posts

Anyone experiencing air-conditioning problem? Gotten my new City early this year, done about 2500km as of today.

Apparently, the air-conditioning takes some time to cool down with the cool air blowing into the cabin. Whenever the car is stationary, it's blowing out warm air (although the temperature dial is at 70% max & at 3rd speed of air). But whenever I accelerate, it produced cool air for a while.
It takes a good 10-15 minutes to actually blow cool air out.

Is this the A/C issue or is just that most Honda City compressors are function that way?

Thanks!
-W
whackowilson
post Mar 3 2014, 03:19 PM

165 posts

Also anyone installs Potent Booster on their City ride?
whackowilson
post Mar 5 2014, 05:27 PM

165 posts

QUOTE(nike89 @ Mar 4 2014, 06:11 PM)
my car aircond is working fine regardless stationary or moving...better send your car back to sc for further checking smile.gif
Especially when you just got into a very hot car on a hot day, does your air-conditioning cools down immediately (blowing cool air)?
As for mine, it takes good 15-20 minutes (speed at 3 and 70% temperature) to have the A/C blowing cool air. Meantime, it just blowing warm air though.

Thanks!
whackowilson
post Mar 5 2014, 05:28 PM

165 posts

QUOTE(sj0217 @ Mar 5 2014, 04:03 PM)
Haha, I was drive Myvi 1.3 previously, no dare to speed higher when reaching 130, because feel flying already...  tongue.gif
I've managed to do about 160-170KMph on my City few weeks ago heading down to Singapore. But it sure stresses the engine and the gearbox for sure. Of course with the under-carriage shield, it helps with the aerodynamics during high-speed. Less air drag though!

This post has been edited by whackowilson: Mar 5 2014, 05:29 PM
whackowilson
post Mar 6 2014, 11:50 PM

165 posts

QUOTE(nike89 @ Mar 6 2014, 02:37 PM)
yes, blowing cool air, not immediately but not more than 1min also

it takes 15-20 min to cool down the cabin, or to get the cool air blowing?

if the latter, then quite abnormal in my point of view.
Parked under the sun, it takes about 15-20 minutes only to have the A/C blowing the cool air; and eventually cools the cabin.. Sometimes, during the 15 mins of blowing warm air from the A/C; there's irregularities whereby I do get this cool>warm>cool>warm air out. Honestly, I would be sweating for the first 15 minutes in the car blink.gif

So for the apparent reason, shouldn't the A/C be blowing cool air in just a few minutes like most cars do?

I might suspect not enough gas or A/C compressor issue?? hmm.gif Oh well! will probably get it checked out on my coming servicing.

Anyone else, fellow owners experience as such before? Please advice.

This post has been edited by whackowilson: Mar 7 2014, 12:06 AM
whackowilson
post Mar 6 2014, 11:52 PM

165 posts

QUOTE(Geekbuster @ Mar 6 2014, 01:07 AM)
Quick question, anyone here did leather seat for ur city? How much it cost u and can recommend me the shop?
I planned to have my interior seats changed into leather but I put on hold to that. But one of my friend, (new Honda City) had his interior seats changed. Had his changed with Pecca Leather in Kepong for about Rm2500 including the side panels (interior door handle) and the armrest.
whackowilson
post Mar 6 2014, 11:57 PM

165 posts

QUOTE(cognac @ Mar 5 2014, 07:48 PM)
how much you bought the under-carriage shield for? thinking either do under carriage or add the modulo wings.
It's Orsen Shield Under Armour Protection Skid Plate (if you heard about this before in the auto market) I got it installed for Rm320. No need modulo wings lah!
Here's the google link on where you can read up more about the Orsen Shield.
https://www.google.com/search?q=Osren+shiel...+shield&spell=1
whackowilson
post Mar 7 2014, 12:00 AM

165 posts

QUOTE(cognac @ Mar 5 2014, 07:46 PM)
well after awhile i found the problem....

5th gear is not meant to give good acceleration at that speed

i downshifted to 4th gear, then he can't catch up....took him awhile to get near. at that time i oledi 170.

but strange, i feel my car more stable after 140. at 100-130, feel very sensitive to wind and not stable.

dun really like this gearbox. at lowspeed, i cant get smooth gearshift without pressing a lot on the fuel.

maybe i miss my old manual tranny car too much.....
dun really like this gearbox. at lowspeed, i cant get smooth gearshift without pressing a lot on the fuel.

To help with this, I had the 'Potent Booster' installed to assist with the gear shift on low speed. You might want to read up about it too. In my case, it does help a lot for me though. wink.gif
whackowilson
post Mar 11 2014, 09:59 PM

165 posts

QUOTE(sj0217 @ Mar 10 2014, 04:47 PM)
May I know the new City come with any cover??

Maybe you can see the link below
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2673852/all
No it does not come with the stock cover for the city.
whackowilson
post Mar 11 2014, 10:01 PM

165 posts

QUOTE(jenli_84 @ Mar 10 2014, 03:22 PM)
where u got it installed? can reduce road noise? u know city is so noise on highway
Not sure if it reduces road noise but it does somehow improve my driving especially cruising on high speed. Lesser down force drag.
Had it installed at Lim Tayar at TTDI and I am sure you should be able to find in most Lim Tayar workshops.

This post has been edited by whackowilson: Mar 11 2014, 10:15 PM
whackowilson
post Mar 11 2014, 10:04 PM

165 posts

QUOTE(chosenlc @ Mar 11 2014, 02:52 PM)
all sifu sifu, abang abang here.....im new to the new city (only can use `new` for this 2-3 days).....and i feel weird cause first time drive honda

thing i figure weird is
1) when my car in slow speed, 20-40km, i feel my car it got slightly breaking feel, it feel like something pulling back my car.....I try to ask the service agent, he say this is some feature it call "power shift" (i also not sure is it correct ot not....

2) When i drive for some period example 1 hour....they remote key will get some heat, is everyone is the same?
1. Not really sure about this whether I experienced exactly what you had, and to most current Honda City owners. Probably I did not realized it as much as it was subtle for me. Apparently, there's some "Shift Lock" for the current City for the auto transmission. But you should clarify more with other City owners here and find out further?

2. Surprisingly, my key fob is quite normal, unlike your situation that it tends to get warm. hmm.gif
whackowilson
post Mar 15 2014, 06:34 PM

165 posts

QUOTE(cognac @ Mar 15 2014, 08:53 AM)
city can use?
Yes it does. Just ask them for Potent Booster for Honda City chipset.
whackowilson
post Mar 15 2014, 06:36 PM

165 posts

QUOTE(fahmiyaeii @ Mar 15 2014, 02:57 PM)
Honda city soft launch
Thanks for sharing!
The rear brake lamps and the interior looks nice. Cool that it comes with the keyless entry, push-start button and the auto-cruise for this.
whackowilson
post Mar 15 2014, 06:38 PM

165 posts

QUOTE(sj0217 @ Mar 13 2014, 04:19 PM)
perhaps we can go as few people and get a good price at TTDI Lim Tayar??

I have checked it in 1u there, there is currently no stock for Honda City
Well, actually most Lim Tayar branches do carry them. Apparently, if you contact the main distributor in Kepong, having bulk orders for Honda City, they'll offer discounts for the bulk orders. And not mistaken, with RM380 as they quoted, this should come free with the Rbach Suspension cushions too.

The Osren facebook page administrator also mentioned to be, that they are releasing a few more new products this year too, sometime in April-May. Some protective undercarriage "anti-rust" coating...somewhat. thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by whackowilson: Mar 15 2014, 06:39 PM
whackowilson
post Apr 1 2014, 10:08 AM

165 posts

QUOTE(Redundant @ Mar 31 2014, 04:45 PM)
Mine got cucuk too a year ago... an empty laptop bag was stolen and a broken key hole...

Took out the lock myself (just a few screws) and brought it to a locksmith beside the road, passed him my original honda car key, he use a new lock, insert it into the old bracket and use the ori key to set the lock... done! RM90.... go home and install the lock back into the boot and it's working fine again... just some scratches and dented part on the key hole... =/
Perhaps should disable the key-hole at the rear and the only access to pop open it is from the inside of the car.
Should this be the decent preventive option?

whackowilson
post Apr 1 2014, 10:09 AM

165 posts

QUOTE(babygrand123 @ Mar 31 2014, 11:25 PM)
Yup mine exactly  the problem u describe here but still no solution on that !!! And SC just can't fix it and please don't look for them anymore is totally wasting u time
What kind of noise from the passenger's airbag section? "Whirring sound"?
whackowilson
post Apr 1 2014, 10:48 AM

165 posts

QUOTE(babygrand123 @ Apr 1 2014, 10:23 AM)
Yes !!! u got any solution on that ???
Unlike what you had experienced during uneven road at the passenger's airbag side, mine has the "whirring sound" on the driver's side going at 160kmph. So frankly, I can't be exactly sure that we had the same problem or it is the similar issue like yours.
Nonetheless, I do not have the solution for this. Sorry!
whackowilson
post Apr 1 2014, 05:11 PM

165 posts

QUOTE(fuzzy007 @ Apr 1 2014, 03:53 PM)

i tried this on my city 2012 and it works  rclxms.gif
although it can't prevent ppl to 'cucuk' it but at least it sounds when someone try to open it  cool2.gif
THANKS FOR SHARING the video. I shall give this DIY a try.
whackowilson
post Apr 7 2014, 05:52 PM

165 posts

QUOTE(cognac @ Apr 6 2014, 08:25 PM)
i confirm your statement is true.
i have first hand experience in this.

new design metals are v thin, they refuse to knock it back.

they will change the whole piece and weld it back following factory method. thats why they take time to check, confirm with insurance, then order part for replacement.

you can visit their service centre in old klang road (Peringgit), the body and paint section is just behind.

you see all the car change, no knocking. usually can find cars doing major repair by changing on whole front side or back side due to accident. even frame can be changed, except for the cabin frame.
How long did you had to wait for the part replacement with Honda SC? OR anyone experienced re-spray body paint job with Honda SC; how long you had to wait? A day at least? Thanks! icon_rolleyes.gif
whackowilson
post Apr 12 2014, 08:55 AM

165 posts

QUOTE(EmiTech @ Apr 12 2014, 03:42 AM)
Yeah, the whole reason why i bought them at first was because It started to smell bad. i bought Ambipur and now the smell is still there.. But combined with the bad smell from the AC. so now its mixed up smell ==
How can i do those checks? ive only taken my cabin AC filter and see if theres anything. everything seems fine but how do i do further inspections? TY!
BTW, the smell doesnt smell like rotten flesh or anything. Smell like the a wet towel. Like something is not dry and kept damp.
If it smells damp most of the time, is your car mat/carpet is wet and not dry properly whenever you step in from the rain? (usually the carpets are the culprit) Last resort, go look for a car wash that provides "nano-misting" that should probably help getting rid of the smell. Do that fist and see how it goes after that.

Another suggestion is to put some charcoal to absorb the moisture "damp" smell in the car for a few days.

This post has been edited by whackowilson: Apr 12 2014, 08:56 AM

0.1042sec    0.59    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 12:40 PM