XBMC / KODI users club, An Open Source Media Center
Samaliz
May 26 2015, 06:24 PM
Hi Guys,
I would like to ask a question about the Malaysia's Law on using the Kodi and XBMC in Malaysia.
Is Kodi legal to be used here specially in public or like say in company lobby?
I saw some boxes are getting sold in Lazada and some other e-commerce website? Just wondering are they legal to be used in Malaysia?
Thank you guys and I really appreciate your answers in advance.
AVFAN
May 26 2015, 06:40 PM
QUOTE(Samaliz @ May 26 2015, 06:24 PM) Hi Guys, I would like to ask a question about the Malaysia's Law on using the Kodi and XBMC in Malaysia. Is Kodi legal to be used here specially in public or like say in company lobby? I saw some boxes are getting sold in Lazada and some other e-commerce website? Just wondering are they legal to be used in Malaysia? Thank you guys and I really appreciate your answers in advance. i would think u will be infringing copyright laws if u use in public. kodi is an open platform for OTHERS to put their stuff; they r not responsible for that. those that put stuff there know how to protect themselves and r not responsible for how u use it. if u use in private, it is difficult to prove anything but in public, it's a diff story. This post has been edited by AVFAN: May 26 2015, 06:41 PM
AVFAN
May 26 2015, 06:52 PM
just when i thought the guys have abandoned frodo for gotham, here comes isengard! Kodi 15.0 Isengard – Beta 1 http://kodi.tv/kodi 16.0 will probably be either mordor or arkham! This post has been edited by AVFAN: May 26 2015, 06:56 PM
tryingtolearn
May 26 2015, 07:13 PM
hi, im new to kodi. just wondering how do i change the posters let say for an anime series? i cant seem to find an option. some series it has the poster, but no image for the seasons, how do i add in those as well?
tharmaraj
May 26 2015, 08:05 PM
yanhui95
May 26 2015, 09:23 PM
QUOTE(alucard89 @ May 26 2015, 09:29 AM) How exactly does TV licensing work in UK now? Do you get charged based on your income or something? You might wanna place your router as close as possible to the stick since there's no LAN port especially when you're streaming huge mkv files. students need to pay £170 a year to watch tv, which is pretty reasonable compared to damn astro lol. not sure about working adults. Hmm, wouldn't be streaming mkv files, would only use it to watch netflix and live tv if it is possible. not sure about the legality of it. Apparently it is gray area in the matter of law and it's fine for now. However, i would like to know if like streams are smooth etc.
alucard89
May 26 2015, 09:30 PM
QUOTE(yanhui95 @ May 26 2015, 09:23 PM) students need to pay £170 a year to watch tv, which is pretty reasonable compared to damn astro lol. not sure about working adults. Hmm, wouldn't be streaming mkv files, would only use it to watch netflix and live tv if it is possible. not sure about the legality of it. Apparently it is gray area in the matter of law and it's fine for now. However, i would like to know if like streams are smooth etc. Oh wow, it was still lot cheaper in Malaysia when it was still implemented back then Well, since you're in UK, I bet the broadband service there is a lot better than screamyx here assuming you're subscribing to gigabit speeds So you should have no problem streaming on that stick.
alucard89
May 26 2015, 09:31 PM
QUOTE(tryingtolearn @ May 26 2015, 07:13 PM) hi, im new to kodi. just wondering how do i change the posters let say for an anime series? i cant seem to find an option. some series it has the poster, but no image for the seasons, how do i add in those as well? Thanks. You can access the thumbnail option by navigating to the thumbnail section in menu (press C).
TSpowerwoot
May 26 2015, 10:11 PM
This is with regards to the coming iflix into our entertainment box, Kodi has it it strength as we able to customized of what we want to watch, and iflix most likely limited to movies.
Ngto
May 26 2015, 10:59 PM
QUOTE(AVFAN @ May 26 2015, 06:52 PM) just when i thought the guys have abandoned frodo for gotham, here comes isengard! Kodi 15.0 Isengard – Beta 1 http://kodi.tv/kodi 16.0 will probably be either mordor or arkham!  I started from the 15.0 Beta, from the very beginning. Never used any other versions before, that's why I have some problems with the youtube tutorials because the arrangements of the addons screens are not exactly the same.
AVFAN
May 27 2015, 12:17 AM
QUOTE(Ngto @ May 26 2015, 10:59 PM) I started from the 15.0 Beta, from the very beginning. Never used any other versions before, that's why I have some problems with the youtube tutorials because the arrangements of the addons screens are not exactly the same. actually beta version is the best to use as a starter. it would have been better for u in terms of stability n bug fixes to start with the latest official version, helix 14.2.
voncrane
May 27 2015, 12:19 AM
QUOTE(powerwoot @ May 26 2015, 10:11 PM) This is with regards to the coming iflix into our entertainment box, Kodi has it it strength as we able to customized of what we want to watch, and iflix most likely limited to movies. Not just movies, it's got TV Shows as well. Think of it as a growing Netflix for Malaysia. I've got my eye on them.
alucard89
May 27 2015, 02:07 AM
QUOTE(voncrane @ May 27 2015, 12:19 AM) Not just movies, it's got TV Shows as well. Think of it as a growing Netflix for Malaysia. I've got my eye on them. They've got Kopitiam complete season on their archives, so they automatically got my support. I can't even find this anywhere now. RM8/monthly is quite cheap also.
kherel77
May 27 2015, 02:09 AM
QUOTE(alucard89 @ May 27 2015, 02:07 AM) They've got Kopitiam complete season on their archives, so they automatically got my support. I can't even find this anywhere now. RM8/monthly is quite cheap also. Wish you can open thread for Iflix later...i support!
shahrilidzwan
May 27 2015, 09:53 AM

as far as i previewed iflix, the choices of tv shows and movies are limited. hopefully the rm8/monthly gonna worth it or kodi will still be the preferred choice.
ieian81
May 29 2015, 09:57 AM

Anyone here channeling Astro Beyond HD through their Open Elec?
Looking to set that up, and first advice needed:-
Which TV Tuner Card to buy that supports HD and works out of the box with Open Elec?
AVFAN
May 29 2015, 10:54 AM
QUOTE(ieian81 @ May 29 2015, 09:57 AM) Hi, Anyone here channeling Astro Beyond HD through their Open Elec? Looking to set that up, and first advice needed:- Which TV Tuner Card to buy that supports HD and works out of the box with Open Elec? curious.... why these non-kodi questions keep popping up in this kodi thread?
ieian81
May 29 2015, 03:08 PM

QUOTE(AVFAN @ May 29 2015, 10:54 AM) curious.... why these non-kodi questions keep popping up in this kodi thread?  Assuming you know that OpenElec is an operating system developed based on Kodi right? "OpenELEC provides a complete media center software suite that comes with a pre-configured version of Kodi and third-party addons with retro video game console emulators and DVR plugins. OpenELEC is an extremely small and very fast booting Linux based distribution, primarily designed to be booted from flash memory card such as CompactFlash or a solid-state drive, similar to that of the XBMCbuntu (formerly XBMC Live) distribution but specifically targeted to a minimum set-top box hardware setup based on an ARM SoCs or Intel x86 processor and graphics." - Wikipedia
alucard89
May 29 2015, 03:52 PM
QUOTE(ieian81 @ May 29 2015, 09:57 AM) Hi, Anyone here channeling Astro Beyond HD through their Open Elec? Looking to set that up, and first advice needed:- Which TV Tuner Card to buy that supports HD and works out of the box with Open Elec? Check out the wiki, there's a complete list for the tuners http://wiki.openelec.tv/index.php/Supported_TV_TunersI'm actually quite interested in this, has anyone successfully tried using TV tuner with Astro Beyond and manage to display the channels on Kodi?
ieian81
May 29 2015, 08:24 PM

QUOTE(alucard89 @ May 29 2015, 03:52 PM) Check out the wiki, there's a complete list for the tuners http://wiki.openelec.tv/index.php/Supported_TV_TunersI'm actually quite interested in this, has anyone successfully tried using TV tuner with Astro Beyond and manage to display the channels on Kodi? Yeah I saw that list. Just thought of getting recommendation from users here who have successfully set up before on which model will they recommend. I have seen the video on Youtube. Astro Beyond HD on Kodi can be done. Need the TV Tuner and the Stripper to remove the HDCP.