Just curious, how much is the market price for a Common Budgie? I saw some labeled as Common Budgie and others as English Budgie?
What's the difference?
BirdieS~, Parrots, Budgies, Canaries, Lovebirds...
May 5 2008, 01:37 AM
367 posts Joined: Oct 2007 |
Just curious, how much is the market price for a Common Budgie? I saw some labeled as Common Budgie and others as English Budgie?
What's the difference? |
May 5 2008, 06:52 PM
After reading every single page of this thread, I'm feeling the urge to get a bird, perhaps a budgie since they're stated as a beginner bird on the first page yeah?
Question is, does anyone know of pet shops around PJ that has Common Budgies for sale? Also, I have a couple of questions in mind : 1) How big should the cage be for a single budgie? 2) Where should I situate the cage? Outdoors? (The weather's kinda hot at this time of the year) Many thanks in advance. =) |
May 5 2008, 08:02 PM
Thanks for the quick reply Juztiny.
Is it possible to tame an untamed Budgie? I'm currently looking into getting a single Budgie as I like the idea of bonding with the bird and not a pair of Budgies bonding with each other. If taming an untamed Budgie is difficult then by any chance do you happen to know of any Common Budgie breeder?(My guess is that birds from breeders are usually tamed) QUOTE(Juztiny @ May 5 2008, 07:18 PM) If you intend to buy untamed Budgies, then better buy a pair, otherwise it will be very lonely. This post has been edited by liette`: May 5 2008, 08:04 PMYou can put outdoor (under shade) or indoor. However must give them some morning sun and bath daily. A 16" metal cage would be just fine. |
May 5 2008, 08:34 PM
QUOTE(Juztiny @ May 5 2008, 08:20 PM) If you want to buy a tamed Budgie, then the price won't be RM20-30 each. If you want to tame an untamed Budgie, very difficult. Unless you know the technique well. Even just hold it, it will bite you, very painful though. To get a tamed bird, better buy still under hand feed baby, the risk is there, it may not survive under your unexperienced care. I'm buying a pair of baby love birds (less than 2 weeks old). Just cost around RM45 each bird directly from a breeder. The risk is there, I'm not sure I could succeed in bringing them up or not. |
May 5 2008, 09:08 PM
QUOTE(Juztiny @ May 5 2008, 09:01 PM) I have seen someone wanted sell a tamed Budgie for RM128. (refer http://homeapet.com/phpbb/viewtopic.php?f=45&t=5351) I got my tamed Cockatiel only RM150. I also don't know much about hand feeding chicks, have to rely on the breeder's guidance. Woot! Thanks for the link, appreciate it a lot! Usually are the wings clipped prior to purchase or do you have to clip them yourself? And for the bedding below the cage wire mesh, newspaper will be good enough? |
May 5 2008, 09:20 PM
Last question, is it the norm for pet birds to have their wings clipped or is it deemed cruel by bird keepers? Wouldn't want to do something harmful to my pet.
QUOTE(Juztiny @ May 5 2008, 09:14 PM) |
May 5 2008, 10:08 PM
Thanks for enlightening me. I always thought that 'clipping' translates to 'clipping the wings to the body'.
About the chick, I've contacted the breeder that Juztiny referred me to(all his Budgies are tamed) and he said that for a beginner, a 4 month old bird would be the best. Correct me if he's wrong. p/s : Is a 4 month old bird still considered a chick? QUOTE(prophet007 @ May 5 2008, 09:47 PM) Well, I think clipping a bird's wing is more safer and the bird is easier to be tamed also. This is because the bird wont have to spend time flying over from curtain to curtain and avoiding being caught by you. This post has been edited by liette`: May 5 2008, 10:09 PMClipping a bird's wing is not cruel. The wings will grow back eventually.. Its not that you cut off the whole wing, you are just clipping the few front feathers and they will grow back the next molt. But when you are clipping the wings yourself, just be careful not to trim the blood feather. And for bedding, newspaper would just do but just keep in mind you have to change it twice a week or once every week. As for raising chicks, you dont even have the experience to raise an adult bird, let alone a chick. Most budgies in store are under 6 months which mean they are still young and taming can be done easily. Just FIY, it is advised not to use plastic cups for water or anything. Because they can be stratched easily and the stratches are perfect breeding places for bacteria. Get a stainless steel one. I assume that you know what to feed you birdie. If you are not sure, please ask. |
May 5 2008, 10:24 PM
No, not chopping. I thought people clip the wing to the bird's body using some metal clip.
No prob, I can spend hours staring at my scorpions and they're not interactive. RM128 a reasonable price for a 4 month old tamed Common Budgie? For cages, do you have photos of those you recommend for a single bird? QUOTE(prophet007 @ May 5 2008, 10:21 PM) lol...you mean chopping the wing? Thats cruelty. Everytime you see feathers growing you can just trim it. Well, 4 months budgie is completely fine. And I assume you would want the birdie to bond with you right? That means you will have to spend quite a lot of your time with him/her. Not to mention DIY toys. |
May 5 2008, 10:34 PM
And you tamed them yourself? Cool. Is a 4 month old bird the same size as adults or smaller alot?
Also, the price range of said cage? Wouldn't wanna get conned by pet shops nowadays. This post has been edited by liette`: May 5 2008, 10:35 PM |
May 5 2008, 10:46 PM
I live at Kota Damansara.
What's the size of a full grown Common Budgie? |
May 5 2008, 10:56 PM
Maybe in a couple of weeks. I'm a college student so I'll have to save up for the expenses. In the mean time, I can read up more about Budgies.
Seeds, any recommended brands? |
May 5 2008, 11:13 PM
Staying with parents. Budget for maintenance wouldn't be a problem. All I have to save up for is the immediate need of RM128 for the bird and for the cage.
How old are your Budgies now? Still alive? |
May 5 2008, 11:25 PM
Michael, how much does your breeder charge for a tamed Common Budgie? I'm looking for Common Budgies as I've read they're smarter than their English counterparts and also have a higher life expectancy.
Nice prophet, how old are you? Uncle ah? |
May 5 2008, 11:34 PM
QUOTE(michael2wk @ May 5 2008, 11:31 PM) well... i will double check for the normal & eng budgies for u. Okay, I'll be awaiting your reply. The breeder that I contacted doesn't seem interested to do business so heck him la. well.. bout smart - depend on the bird, parent, how u teach him/she n etc... like human only. life span - also depend how u keep it, diet, environment n etc.. no wrong or rite. just my 2 cents Oh, I read that Common Budgie 10-15 years while English Budgie 7-8 years. Where are you/ your breeder located anyway? I'm located in PJ. This post has been edited by liette`: May 5 2008, 11:35 PM |
May 5 2008, 11:42 PM
Lol. Do send me a PM after you've confirmed the price with your breeder. The cheaper the better.
At what age does a Budgie's growth stop? |
May 5 2008, 11:49 PM
Oh, that's an eye-opener, never knew that.
Okay then, will be awaiting your PM. Do post some photos of your cage set-up if possible. A picture tells a thousand words! |
May 6 2008, 12:04 AM
QUOTE(michael2wk @ May 5 2008, 11:58 PM) trial n error la bro, Metal bowl for food and water, put on the floor of the cage? For birds which wings are clipped, if they jump down to the floor to bathe, how are they gonna get back up to their perch? They can't fly right with clipped wings. Man, I'm blur!me still learning from the sifu, metal bowl or those dog porcelain bowl wit deep dish n heavy will be good. as for cage, try to give a bunglow if can afford, u still studying can understand la. got money then only upgrade next time. i just 1 time till the cage get rusty. will try to upload some pic. |
May 6 2008, 12:18 AM
QUOTE(michael2wk @ May 6 2008, 12:12 AM) metal or porcelian bowl for food on the base. Oh, so bathing a bird = sprinkle water on them?water u can get those water tumbler for birds & hang thru the cage, try to sprinkle some water using those ironin cloth from a distance with mist style, not those sniper style ok. clip wing also can jump or climb back to the perch la. betta bath them with some sun light like evening time, easier for ur bird to dry. make sure not too long under the sun n watch out for CAT!!!!!!!!!!!! juztiny or anyone, care to post some cage set up? i can only do it tmrw nite la since fetchin wife to work in the morning. cheers! Really appreciate all the advices I've gotten here! Seeds must be available 24/7? Vegetables too? |
May 6 2008, 12:28 AM
QUOTE(prophet007 @ May 6 2008, 12:21 AM) one more thing, if you use water tumbler, remember to change the water everyday. Dont think that oh, theres still water, I will wait till tomorrow. And budgies like to make soup which means they will poop in the water. But if you use tumbler, they wont be able to poop in it right since tumbler = bottle?Budgies do like to bath. But dont suddenly spray on them. They will be scared to death. LOL... Mist the surrounding first then slowly change the target to the birdies. For me, I will bath them whenever I like cause I use hair dryer to dry them up. LOL..And if you have a bath tub, you dont need to mist them so often. Bath tub u mean a bowl of water at the base? Food must be available at all times? <--nobody answer. |
May 6 2008, 12:37 AM
QUOTE(prophet007 @ May 6 2008, 12:33 AM) liette, refer to my post, the one before this. I editted something already. I doubt about mealworms as I didnt feed them any before. Wait. how does a bird bottle look like? Not the same as hamster bottle right? Yes, cuttlebone is a must! It will help them get additional calcium and trim their beaks as well. Well, for the tumbler, you dont know where they will be poop. Tumbler or not, change your water everyday. If i provide a big bowl of water on the base of the cage, it'll serve as a bath tub? Yeah I know not sprinkle, wrong choice of word. Mist. |
| Change to: | 0.0299sec
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 01:58 PM |