Folding Bicycles v3, Foldies come in!

eohl79
post Jul 17 2014, 12:27 AM

Hi guys, just bought a Dahon Boardwalk D8 for the wife. Realized that the wheels are not the same as what was stated in Dahon website. I am getting a 28H rear n 20H front wheels with steel angular contact bearings instead of sealed cartridge bearings. Square taper BB I dont think it is sealed bearings too. Had to true the rims myself as the spoke tension as wells as wheel hop was bad. I can see the rims lack lateral stifness when truing it up. Also the hub angular contact bearings were too tight causing the wheels to not spin freely... hub bearings were also a little low on grease so had to top it up a little. Took it out for a spin after all the adjustments n now it is fine. Is the the MY Boardwalk D8 having diff specs than website? No rear rack like website too...
eohl79
post Jul 17 2014, 01:29 PM

QUOTE(mbax @ Jul 17 2014, 09:10 AM)
sifu, we have different spec from website rims, tyre, rack and summore...
? How come ar? cut cost? Maybe will change to a better wheelset later. Need to do some research on foldies rim/hubs as I seldom see them.

QUOTE(zeliustitan @ Jul 17 2014, 01:04 PM)
where did you buy?
Got it from Rodalink. 5% member discount @ RM1040.
eohl79
post Jul 20 2014, 06:48 PM

Me n missus haven't rode the Boardwalk D8 much and have now decided to upgrade the rear drive train. Wasn't satisfied with the stock:
- Neos 8 speed RD and drive train. Shifting very muted, not crisp and inaccurate. Hated the reverse shift operation.
- Wheelset not stiff enough and freehub is very tight/binding causing lots of drag when free wheeling

Upgrade parts for the day:
- Dahon RD adapter for Boardwalk D8, got it from GW Cycle Boutique
- Shimano XTR 10 speed RD medium cage (was on sale for 50% at rodalink), no clucth mechanism
- Deore 10 speed left + right shifters. Only needed right/rear shifter but need to buy as a pair
- Deore 10 speed chain
- Selle Royal mano moderate grips to replace the stock grips
- Shimano 105 10 speed road cassette 12-27, already have this item in my stash

Bought the items from Rodalink Botanic and at the same time a big thank you to them for allowing me to use their tools and work area to do the upgrade myself! Lovely place with all the tools available. Now loving the very light, fast and crisp shifting of the XTR rear mech.

Now time to go search for a reasonable priced wheelset (sealed bearing hub, double wall rims). Think I can live with the front stock cranks for now.

This post has been edited by eohl79: Jul 20 2014, 06:50 PM
eohl79
post Jul 21 2014, 06:50 PM

QUOTE(H2D @ Jul 21 2014, 05:58 PM)
just did some calculation..

if u buy the rims spoke n hubs together n build here, it will be cheaper by air,
provided all these items from same selller n he pack it tight.

if fully built wheels pack together....
u need to lookout for the minimum vol charge for sea freight...
some agent min is 0.3 m3 thats over rm 150...
some agent min 0.1m3 rm 65..
vol for fully built wheels 20in x 2 will not exceed 0.1m3 most probably....  biggrin.gif
Any recommendation where to source/buy foldie hub + rims? Was looking around for 20" alexrims double wall but not too many sellers around. Haven't checked China sources yet.

0.0209sec    1.45    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 12:37 PM