Hi, need recommendations with 16" foldies. Preferrably cheaper than Bromptons.
Folding Bicycles v3, Foldies come in!
Sep 22 2014, 07:02 PM
962 posts Joined: Oct 2006 From: KL |
Hi, need recommendations with 16" foldies. Preferrably cheaper than Bromptons.
Sep 22 2014, 07:05 PM
2,028 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Kuala Lumpur, MYS |
We were at Putrajaya yesterday https://www.facebook.com/OutdoorXplorerPage...?type=3&theater This is to poison the folding kakis here hehehe ....
This post has been edited by outdoorxplorer: Sep 22 2014, 07:12 PM |
Sep 22 2014, 07:22 PM
569 posts Joined: Jul 2007 |
QUOTE(NasiLemakMan @ Sep 22 2014, 07:02 PM) Brompton consider as high price folding bike. That means many bikes are cheaper. If one class cheaper you can go for Tern or Dahon. Then is Java and etc...If you don't mind heavier and less speed then Doppelganger is a good choice. My 2 cents. |
Sep 22 2014, 10:09 PM
1,583 posts Joined: Apr 2006 From: Clerking. Data Entry like a Mad Man |
QUOTE(Shengz @ Sep 22 2014, 01:48 PM) Ehh... You got eat breakfast or not oh before ride? Got breakfast.... All vommit out liao.Abo... You breath using nose ka during ride? Or... You sleep late the day before ride? The days I ride RB, must sleep well, breakfast must eat well, breath with mouth, and the most important ones, my wife must not ride me the day before. |
Sep 23 2014, 11:18 AM
42 posts Joined: Apr 2012 |
QUOTE(andrewhtf @ Sep 22 2014, 10:09 PM) I would suggest a light breakfast instead. You'll need to build up your stamina before tackling long uphill. Road in the picture looks flat, but I think it is a long gradual uphill stretch? These conditions, your 34T will not save you, LOL! Sometimes you need a more suitable bike for the occasion. A foldy has limitations as it it sometimes difficult to get leverage when pedaling off the seat.When cranking uphill, breath deeply, you need maximum oxygen levels. Nothing beats training though.... |
Sep 23 2014, 11:22 AM
208 posts Joined: Oct 2010 |
Sep 23 2014, 11:46 AM
QUOTE(desastar @ Sep 23 2014, 11:18 AM) I would suggest a light breakfast instead. You'll need to build up your stamina before tackling long uphill. Road in the picture looks flat, but I think it is a long gradual uphill stretch? These conditions, your 34T will not save you, LOL! Sometimes you need a more suitable bike for the occasion. A foldy has limitations as it it sometimes difficult to get leverage when pedaling off the seat. Thanks for the tips. It was light breakfast indeed. Few pieces of slice bread with a glass of Milo at home, then drive almost 1 hour from Klang to reach org asli settlement, light stretching and then start pedal liao.When cranking uphill, breath deeply, you need maximum oxygen levels. Nothing beats training though.... :D got ppl manage to do it on a stock foldie wor, so what is lacking now is just my stamina and strength. Must train. Yesterday went to try out the new setup. Only 6.5kms ride in half hour enuf to make my legs go jelly. Aiyohh... |
Sep 23 2014, 12:09 PM
671 posts Joined: Jul 2005 |
QUOTE(andrewhtf @ Sep 23 2014, 11:46 AM) Thanks for the tips. It was light breakfast indeed. Few pieces of slice bread with a glass of Milo at home, then drive almost 1 hour from Klang to reach org asli settlement, light stretching and then start pedal liao. What speed and which gear make your legs melted?got ppl manage to do it on a stock foldie wor, so what is lacking now is just my stamina and strength. Must train. Yesterday went to try out the new setup. Only 6.5kms ride in half hour enuf to make my legs go jelly. Aiyohh... Your seat adjusted correctly dy? Impossible ler... As I remember first session of my ride with RB, I rode 25-28kmph for 20++kms, no problem on legs except the buttock. You pedaling too hard ke? If seat-post too low also cause problem on knees and legs, they will stressed out. Bro, I see your foldie there no drinking water, keep hydrated also important ler. |
Sep 23 2014, 12:12 PM
598 posts Joined: Dec 2006 |
QUOTE(Shengz @ Sep 23 2014, 12:09 PM) Impossible ler... As I remember first session of my ride with RB, I rode 25-28kmph for 20++kms, no problem on legs except the buttock. You pedaling too hard ke? If seat-post too low also cause problem on knees and legs, they will stressed out. e'one is diff mah.. |
Sep 23 2014, 12:14 PM
QUOTE(ApeKG @ Sep 22 2014, 12:50 PM) Hi guys, any java mini velo carbon (limited edition) owner here? I would love to hear some reviews on this bike. And others opinion are welcomed as well. i think u can find some previous owners who sold their java carbon mini velo on bbs, I am currently using mountain bike for leisure ride and exercise, and i am thinking to get a mini velo to go to work (jalan kuching to jalan ampang) and have some fun. My budget is around 5k or less. Lesser is better if it is better or equivalent to java mini velo carbon (non-folding). p/s: if this bike was reviewed before, kindly please point me to the post/thread. I am still reading this thread in V1.hehe. if u manage to contact them n persuade them to tell u the truth... also java is a china brand, so china forums might be able to help... |
Sep 23 2014, 12:17 PM
QUOTE(H2D @ Sep 23 2014, 12:12 PM) Don't la like that bro... Pedal smoothly sure no problem one ma.. I think left think right think up think down also can't brain 6.5kms on flat road will wear out the legs, unless keep on sprinting like nobody business.Never mind... Next week my foldies reached, I see how my wife rides, I report back here. I really don't trust lahhhhh!!!!!!! |
Sep 23 2014, 12:47 PM
QUOTE(Shengz @ Sep 23 2014, 12:09 PM) What speed and which gear make your legs melted? Seat height is ok. Yesterday Wasnt totally flat lah, got mix some incline- riding up road ramps for hiway overhead passes. But i did try some sprint on flats, was trying to see how fast i can pedal on 11t. Couldnt stay long there though, i had to drop back to 13t and 15t for comfortable cadence. Legs went jello when i had to gear down to 34t for the climb. High cadence but the bike is too slow. So i have to pedal somemore as if i am sprinting. Your seat adjusted correctly dy? Impossible ler... As I remember first session of my ride with RB, I rode 25-28kmph for 20++kms, no problem on legs except the buttock. You pedaling too hard ke? If seat-post too low also cause problem on knees and legs, they will stressed out. Bro, I see your foldie there no drinking water, keep hydrated also important ler. In the photo i posted, i was on my wife's java fit riding up sempah, which didnt have a bottle holder. Have a 600ml water bottle on my ugo, while my wife carries another bottle on her waist pouch. |
Sep 23 2014, 01:16 PM
side question, what do you guys use to lube your chain and cogs? Singer oil? wd40? old engine oil? or purposely buy gear oil?
Sep 23 2014, 01:28 PM
QUOTE(andrewhtf @ Sep 23 2014, 01:16 PM) side question, what do you guys use to lube your chain and cogs? Singer oil? wd40? old engine oil? or purposely buy gear oil? google can help...endless opinions... http://www.bikeforums.net/bicycle-mechanic...n-cleaning.html |
Sep 23 2014, 01:31 PM
66 posts Joined: Sep 2012 |
QUOTE(andrewhtf @ Sep 23 2014, 12:47 PM) Seat height is ok. Yesterday Wasnt totally flat lah, got mix some incline- riding up road ramps for hiway overhead passes. But i did try some sprint on flats, was trying to see how fast i can pedal on 11t. Couldnt stay long there though, i had to drop back to 13t and 15t for comfortable cadence. Legs went jello when i had to gear down to 34t for the climb. High cadence but the bike is too slow. So i have to pedal somemore as if i am sprinting. normal lah bro, need training one canno just go nia... sometime go uphill you cannot use the biggest gear at the back, it will kill your leg lah.. In the photo i posted, i was on my wife's java fit riding up sempah, which didnt have a bottle holder. Have a 600ml water bottle on my ugo, while my wife carries another bottle on her waist pouch. me now oso not up to the mark alrd kot since so long never ride alrd.. maybe next month can start to ride again seem like knee pain no more.. |
Sep 23 2014, 01:39 PM
42 posts Joined: Apr 2012 |
QUOTE(andrewhtf @ Sep 23 2014, 12:47 PM) Seat height is ok. Yesterday Wasnt totally flat lah, got mix some incline- riding up road ramps for hiway overhead passes. But i did try some sprint on flats, was trying to see how fast i can pedal on 11t. Couldnt stay long there though, i had to drop back to 13t and 15t for comfortable cadence. Legs went jello when i had to gear down to 34t for the climb. High cadence but the bike is too slow. So i have to pedal somemore as if i am sprinting. No wonder you pengsan! You lose too much energy spinning on 34T and not getting anywhere. Go ride somewhere flat and just use 13T or 14T until you build up your stamina. Only after, go for a few hills. If you enjoy hill climbing later, sell the foldie. In the photo i posted, i was on my wife's java fit riding up sempah, which didnt have a bottle holder. Have a 600ml water bottle on my ugo, while my wife carries another bottle on her waist pouch. |
Sep 23 2014, 01:48 PM
i think andrew needs to ride with some buddies tht can help/correct him.
or u can get a heart rate monitor, so u can reduce ur effort when u push too hard.. |
Sep 23 2014, 03:18 PM
QUOTE(H2D @ Sep 23 2014, 01:28 PM) nah, i just want to know what do you guys use. |
Sep 23 2014, 03:19 PM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
QUOTE(andrewhtf @ Sep 23 2014, 01:16 PM) side question, what do you guys use to lube your chain and cogs? Singer oil? wd40? old engine oil? or purposely buy gear oil? I no lube.. I don't like KY.. I love original feel.. Sorry, jokes apart. If you see around the web, some ask you to lube, some ask you don't. So see which one you prefers la. I usually don't lube because in long run the chain will becomes messy, when taking off the wheel to change tube, tersentuh a bit, habis kotor your hands. One more, dirts tend to stuck on oily surface, and I believe the dirts/sands will create more friction than a oil-free chain. Two more, the chain cannot simply use fab, trojan, or sunlight to clean so oily is no no. |
Sep 23 2014, 03:32 PM
QUOTE(Shengz @ Sep 23 2014, 03:19 PM) I no lube.. I don't like KY.. I love original feel.. i am a motorbiker. chain cleaning and lubing is essential for steady wear rate and prolong chain life. also a lubed chain is less noisy than a dry one. but that is on motorbike. on bicycle where less torque (relative to a bike) are applied on the chain and cogs, i may understand your view. Sorry, jokes apart. If you see around the web, some ask you to lube, some ask you don't. So see which one you prefers la. I usually don't lube because in long run the chain will becomes messy, when taking off the wheel to change tube, tersentuh a bit, habis kotor your hands. One more, dirts tend to stuck on oily surface, and I believe the dirts/sands will create more friction than a oil-free chain. Two more, the chain cannot simply use fab, trojan, or sunlight to clean so oily is no no. however habits just die hard and i would lube it with a thin coat of oil when possible. just like my motorcycle chain, i would wipe with a rag cloth soaked with WD40, leave dry, then just run a line of singer oil onto the whole chain and then go for a short ride to cycle through all the cogs. however singer oil is a tad too wet so some fling-off are possible. old engine oil meanwhile is dirty as they grease up with dirt over time. dry lube looks dirty to me too. |
| Change to: | 0.0381sec
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 05:11 PM |