182 Pages « < 55 56 57 58 59 > » Bottom

Folding Bicycles v3, Foldies come in!

terryble
post May 16 2014, 12:45 PM

527 posts

QUOTE(valkyrie1232 @ May 16 2014, 12:33 PM)
Hello sifus! Got a noob question here. For the past few months my neos derailleur on my tern link d8 has been giving me problems with shifting and a noisy drivetrain. Brought it to Johnny MBS to have a look and he changed my cable housing but he said I should consider changing the RD as it's kinda work out or lost tension or something. Then brought it to pedal spot ss2 as well and they said my chain is loose and replaced the chain as well. It's slightly better now but the drivetrain I still not as responsive as it used to be and while pedaling on certain gears I get a 'tsk tsk' sound. The guy from pedal spot also commented that the RD is not working well either.
I bought the bike in sept last year so it's less than a year. It is possible to send the bike back for warranty to have the RD replaced or will they not cover this kind of wear and tear for warranty?
Bought the bike from Vans Urban PJ.
Thanks in advance!
Hi i am interested to get the same bike soon..
do update us on the outcome of the matter..

by the way, what does RD means?

zeliustitan
post May 16 2014, 01:43 PM

466 posts

QUOTE(valkyrie1232 @ May 16 2014, 12:33 PM)
Hello sifus! Got a noob question here. For the past few months my neos derailleur on my tern link d8 has been giving me problems with shifting and a noisy drivetrain. Brought it to Johnny MBS to have a look and he changed my cable housing but he said I should consider changing the RD as it's kinda work out or lost tension or something. Then brought it to pedal spot ss2 as well and they said my chain is loose and replaced the chain as well. It's slightly better now but the drivetrain I still not as responsive as it used to be and while pedaling on certain gears I get a 'tsk tsk' sound. The guy from pedal spot also commented that the RD is not working well either.
I bought the bike in sept last year so it's less than a year. It is possible to send the bike back for warranty to have the RD replaced or will they not cover this kind of wear and tear for warranty?
Bought the bike from Vans Urban PJ.
Thanks in advance!
Im not sifu but as a customer who know the buying rights, why don you go directly to Vans Urban where you got your bike from?

You should consider MBS or Pedalspot as your second option if only Vans failed to comply.

Talk to YC in Vans.
zeliustitan
post May 16 2014, 01:45 PM

466 posts

QUOTE(terryble @ May 16 2014, 12:45 PM)
by the way, what does RD means?
RD = Rear Derailler
valkyrie1232
post May 16 2014, 01:54 PM

721 posts

Ya RD is the rear derailleur that helps your bike shift gears. It's located at the rear wheel. Terryble, the tern link d8 is actually a very nice bike. I like it's solid and stiff frame, plus it looks pretty darn good hehe. I highly recommend it especially as a beginner bike, you won't need to upgrade for a long time.

Zeliustitan : ya maybe I should just talk to YC and see how it goes. Probably go next Monday or something
zeliustitan
post May 16 2014, 01:59 PM

466 posts

QUOTE(valkyrie1232 @ May 16 2014, 01:54 PM)
Ya RD is the rear derailleur that helps your bike shift gears. It's located at the rear wheel. Terryble, the tern link d8 is actually a very nice bike. I like it's solid and stiff frame, plus it looks pretty darn good hehe. I highly recommend it especially as a beginner bike, you won't need to upgrade for a long time.

Zeliustitan : ya maybe I should just talk to YC and see how it goes. Probably go next Monday or something
Give YC a call now and arrange the meeting time. Just to make sure you wont miss him when you are there. BTW, the shop is open until 8pm even on Saturday.

The earlier you got your bike fixed, less 1 thing to worry in your daily plan
valkyrie1232
post May 16 2014, 02:14 PM

721 posts

Ok thanks for the advice !
jenli_84
post May 16 2014, 02:16 PM

377 posts

any regular at putrajaya? will be there next week. maybe can meet up for ride.
terryble
post May 16 2014, 02:25 PM

527 posts

QUOTE(valkyrie1232 @ May 16 2014, 01:54 PM)

Thanks dude~~i am indeed a beginner and actually planning to get the D8 this 2 days~~
I met YC last weekend and was thinking for a C7 until he mentioned the bang for bucks Tern~~
that is where i hesitated a while and go home to do further research~~

By the way....any hidden cost after buying from Van's?
i saw some buyer were charge with assembly and lubrications~~

Lastly, may i know if a hand/leg pump necessary?
or should i just pump at petrol station? (Kpi is 50 to 60?)

terryble
post May 16 2014, 02:30 PM

527 posts

QUOTE(jenli_84 @ May 16 2014, 02:16 PM)
any regular at putrajaya? will be there next week. maybe can meet up for ride.
If i get a bike this week then probably we could meet up next week smile.gif

any veterans here care to go as well? tongue.gif
zeliustitan
post May 16 2014, 02:41 PM

466 posts

QUOTE(terryble @ May 16 2014, 02:25 PM)
Thanks dude~~i am indeed a beginner and actually planning to get the D8 this 2 days~~
I met YC last weekend and was thinking for a C7 until he mentioned the bang for bucks Tern~~

if you buying a bike cost you 1.4k, you jus have to pay 1.4k. no hidden cost.

but if you bring your bike to service, then they will charge you as per what you want. Basic checking is about Rm40 to Rm50. Dismantling every parts, cleaning and lubricating job might required you to pay more, about 100 to 120. Best to ask them first how much they charge for servicing.

Anyway, basic cleaning can be done by yourself.

Handpump only good when your tire got punctured during cycling which requires you to change tube or patch the tube.

People dont carry leg pump while cycling la. Usually they just keep it at home and use it once a week.

For my case, i have a pump for myself because i commute everyday and alone. handpump come in handy in case my tire punctured. of cos i have the patches and spare tube along too. If my tire have less air/pressure, i just pedal slowly to petrol station to pump in the evening.

If you only join the cycling group, some of them might carry their pump which you can borrow from. Else it is your unlucky day

Depending on what is your tire valve - presta or schradder. Presta is the slim one and schradder is the one like your car which is common. If you are having presta valve, either you wan to carry a presta head handpump or just the converter (the pump can borrowed from someone)

Your tire got indicate how much PSI you required to pump. Normal car pumped at only 29psi (roughly about 200kpa) but bicycle tire maybe can reach up to 90psi. I pump my ugo at 38psi although i could go higher.

This post has been edited by zeliustitan: May 16 2014, 02:45 PM
H2D
post May 16 2014, 02:43 PM

598 posts

shud bring to sifu etige can get hands on knowledge.... biggrin.gif

CheaTeRz
post May 16 2014, 03:41 PM

They can't beat me so they call me Cheater. oh silly
1,400 posts

thought i might share some photo of my bike from last 2 weeks

Going for a ride then found some place nice for a shots

area Machang, Kelantan.

Mine was the XDS AFB160

- - -

anyway, have a very little to no experience in maintaining a bike and its been awhile since I do anything from the last time I bought it.

So is there any tips or easy maintenance guide for beginner I can follow up?

*I do notice some squeak and creek lately when I'm climbing up uphill.

notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by CheaTeRz: May 16 2014, 03:42 PM
jackhammer84
post May 16 2014, 03:50 PM

209 posts

anybody has any recommendations for a good set of blinkers? preferably something that can be USB-charged.

i quite like Knog's blinkers, but damn, they are quite expensive :S

i've also seen some el cheapo blinkers, but they're mostly not USB-chargeable, and I think i would need to worry about whether it's waterproof or not.

This post has been edited by jackhammer84: May 16 2014, 03:54 PM
zeliustitan
post May 16 2014, 04:12 PM

466 posts

QUOTE(jackhammer84 @ May 16 2014, 03:50 PM)
anybody has any recommendations for a good set of blinkers? preferably something that can be USB-charged.

i quite like Knog's blinkers, but damn, they are quite expensive :S

i've also seen some el cheapo blinkers, but they're mostly not USB-chargeable, and I think i would need to worry about whether it's waterproof or not.
i m using Knog and so far satisfy with it.

For blinker, you can consider Cateye Rapid X : http://www.cateye.com/en/products/detail/TL-LD700-R/ or http://www.usjcycles.com/latest-bike-safet...id-x-tl-ld-700/

Price about Rm140 to Rm150 (i can help you get if you want for around that price)
zeliustitan
post May 16 2014, 04:17 PM

466 posts

QUOTE(CheaTeRz @ May 16 2014, 03:41 PM)
anyway, have a very little to no experience in maintaining a bike and its been awhile since I do anything from the last time I bought it.

So is there any tips or easy maintenance guide for beginner I can follow up?

*I do notice some squeak and creek lately when I'm climbing up uphill.

notworthy.gif
Cut long story to short, i suggest you to download this Bike Maintenance - Tips, Tricks and Techniques 2014 at http://filepost.com/files/62md64mb/Bike_Ma...s_2014.bak.pdf/

a full guide with 200+ pages with illustrations.

About the squeak and creek sound is produced when two metal part rubbing each other. So i think u should know where right? the only way to overcome it is to add extra padding. the padding u can use is masking tap. later i post up a photo when i got home.

if your bike has rattling sound, means some part is loose.. like loosing fenders due to screw not tight enough..
CheaTeRz
post May 16 2014, 04:33 PM

1,400 posts

QUOTE(zeliustitan @ May 16 2014, 04:17 PM)
Cut long story to short, i suggest you to download this Bike Maintenance - Tips, Tricks and Techniques 2014 at http://filepost.com/files/62md64mb/Bike_Ma...s_2014.bak.pdf/

a full guide with 200+ pages with illustrations.

About the squeak and creek sound is produced when two metal part rubbing each other. So i think u should know where right? the only way to overcome it is to add extra padding. the padding u can use is masking tap. later i post up a photo when i got home.

if your bike has rattling sound, means some part is loose.. like loosing fenders due to screw not tight enough..
thanks for the link, downloading it now. .

i see, i didn't equip it with fenders tho, will look into it. .

the creek happen only when im paddling hard tho, not sure which part. . will keep a look at it.

btw, for the chain, how often do i need to put some lube on it?
which lube should i look for with Malaysia weather thumbup.gif

thanks!
zeliustitan
post May 16 2014, 04:51 PM

466 posts

QUOTE(CheaTeRz @ May 16 2014, 04:33 PM)
btw, for the chain, how often do i need to put some lube on it?
which lube should i look for with Malaysia weather  thumbup.gif

thanks!
if there is a sound coming from your chain as you pedal, then you need to lube it

everytime you clean your chain with diesel (cheap) or degreaser, you need to lube.

I would say go for wet lube so you dont have lube so often.

i m using the dry lube from finishline brand and need to lube like once every fortnight. probably because i cycle in the rain too often or on the wet road. somehow advertisement can be too exaggerate.

for cheaper lube but yet a good lube, you can try this TOYO brand : Fuji Spray Grease. You can try Ninja Chain Lube if you want

http://www.toyointernational.com/index.php...emart&Itemid=90

This post has been edited by zeliustitan: May 16 2014, 04:51 PM
valkyrie1232
post May 16 2014, 05:13 PM

721 posts

QUOTE(terryble @ May 16 2014, 02:25 PM)

Hey just out if curiosity how much YC quote you for the tern d8. I heard this year the price is rm2080. Is he giving any freebies? Like helmet, bottle cage, lights etc

Ya the tern d8 is way more bang for your buck than the c7. First of all, you get the Physis handlepost and the N-fold, which isn't available in the c7. You get a nicer looking SRAM grip shifter as well and the looks overall are just better haha. Not to mention Schwalbe citizen tyres. It's pretty much the cheapest of the tern range with better stuff smile.gif

CheaTeRz
post May 16 2014, 05:27 PM

1,400 posts

QUOTE(zeliustitan @ May 16 2014, 04:51 PM)
if there is a sound coming from your chain as you pedal, then you need to lube it

everytime you clean your chain with diesel (cheap) or degreaser, you need to lube.

I would say go for wet lube so you dont have lube so often.

i m using the dry lube from finishline brand and need to lube like once every fortnight. probably because i cycle in the rain too often or on the wet road. somehow advertisement can be too exaggerate.

for cheaper lube but yet a good lube, you can try this TOYO brand : Fuji Spray Grease. You can try Ninja Chain Lube if you want

http://www.toyointernational.com/index.php...emart&Itemid=90
Can you recommend me where I can get those? and how much would it cost?

and do i need to clean the chain with degreaser first before applying the lube again? or I can just simply clean it with soap smile.gif

I guess i really need to apply the lube again considering i've wash out my bike several time before sweat.gif

EDIT:
Tho i found one called Zefal brand, comes in wet, dry, and pro. RM45 for pro (120ml). Is this one good?

This post has been edited by CheaTeRz: May 16 2014, 05:30 PM
terryble
post May 16 2014, 05:41 PM

527 posts

QUOTE(valkyrie1232 @ May 16 2014, 05:13 PM)
Hey just out if curiosity how much YC quote you for the tern d8. I heard this year the price is rm2080. Is he giving any freebies? Like helmet, bottle cage, lights etc

Ya the tern d8 is way more bang for your buck than the c7. First of all, you get the Physis handlepost and the N-fold, which isn't available in the c7. You get a nicer looking SRAM grip shifter as well and the looks overall are just better haha. Not to mention Schwalbe citizen tyres. It's pretty much the cheapest of the tern range with better stuff smile.gif
yep he quote me at RM2,080 with no discount...but it comes with freebies...
Helmet, saddle bag and lights (not sure what lights is this)...but i dont recall he mention the bottle cage..

that is why i struggled for quite some time and finally decided to go for it~~
nod.gif

This post has been edited by terryble: May 16 2014, 05:44 PM

182 Pages « < 55 56 57 58 59 > » Top

0.0314sec    0.75    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 12:01 PM