QUOTE(amalaziz @ Jan 17 2007, 03:15 PM)
Here's his thread:http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/389927
Technical Buyer's Guide / FAQ, No discussion on modded console.
Jan 17 2007, 04:48 PM
119 posts Joined: Jun 2006 From: PJ |
Jan 19 2007, 11:07 AM
Jan 23 2007, 12:16 PM
QUOTE(Eisenmeteor @ Jan 23 2007, 12:06 PM) Wow..I want to get one at dat kind of price too..Iz it premium and wat version iz it?? The price they are referring to is for dell monitor. x360 price is around upper 1.3k to lower 1.4k.And if modded even if buy ori games also cant play xbox live ar? Modded with ori games should be able to play xbox live but if xbox live is important to you I strongly recommend you buy non modded. As you get to taste the fun and joy of XBL, you will be constantly worrying that 1 day it will be taken away from you. The fear everytime there's an update is no fun. And the game titles for xbox360 now are very affordable. RM160-RM180 per title. And most titles has decent amount of contents and good quality, added with the ability to play among friends in XBL, it adds to the playability of the game. So its defintely worth it to buy ori. You do not need to own every game released, just prioritize on those that you like. |
Jan 23 2007, 02:28 PM
Bottom line, you can definately share your streamyx connection. XBL doesn't take up much bandwidth. eg. I can still play multiplayer games with 7 other players while my GF is surfing net. Of coz it will be slower if you have BT running coz it takes up all entire bandwidth available unless you limit it.
About setting up, it depends whether what type of modem you're having. Most new modems nowadays comes with router capabilities. All you need is to get a network switch to share the connection with your pc and xbox. If your modem does not have router capabilities (you can tell if you need to dial to streamyx using your pc) then you will need to buy a router. Cheapest can get around 100+. I can even give you my old wireless router if you need. Just that the wireless feature rosak already but router function still good |
Jan 23 2007, 03:16 PM
If you're using a usb modem then its alot more tricky. You need to share your connection using your pc. Meaning your pc acts as a router. Its alot more tedius compared to using a router setup.
I suggest you go out and buy a modem with router capability. If your xbox sits very far away from your modem you can consider to buy a normal modem + a wireless router. Of course your xbox needs to have a wireless adapter also (RM 250 and above) |
Jan 23 2007, 04:05 PM
If you are going to use your pc as a router you can try to follow this guide:
http://www.practicallynetworked.com/sharing/xp_ics/ You will still need to find a way to connect your xbox to your network. Either you pull a long cable from your pc to your xbox or wireless. Alternatively you can buy a VGA cable and play using your monitor. This way you won't need buy any wireless product and use a short cable. |
Jan 23 2007, 04:23 PM
Wireless router costs around more or less RM200. Buy the wireless router only if you want to place ur xbox away from your pc. But the wireless router will only act as a access point only, your pc be doing the routing work unless you buy a normal modem (non usb modem).
If cost is your concern. You should go for this setup. Use your existing pc as router. Buy a VGA cable to and use your monitor to play xbox360. Connection wise just use connect a network cable (cross cable) directly from your pc to your xbox360. But this setup you need to setup windows internet connection sharing (pc as router). This way your investment will only be VGA cable + a network cable. |
Jan 23 2007, 04:54 PM
It's either you connect your xbox to the network though wired or wireless connection. If wireless you need the wireless adapter. I bought mine around RM280.
Modem with wireless router would be more expensive than wireless router only. But that will save you alot of configuration than using a usb modem and relying on your pc as a router. I strongly recommend you get a router with ethernet modem combo or a router that has built in modem. |
Jan 23 2007, 05:06 PM
Yup. Ethernet Modem (dun get USB) + wireless router and a xbox wireless adapter. Any other brand of wireless adapter will not work.
Jan 24 2007, 09:42 AM
QUOTE(Eisenmeteor @ Jan 23 2007, 07:22 PM) Erms for this ethernet modem,do i need to purchase any wireless cards or sumthing like dat? Ethernet modem is suppose to connect to your router. Use a normal LAN cable to connect them.So i have to spend bout 2k to play xbox live lo..WOuld it be worth it ar? Btw,i saw a thread dat recommend to use the Aztech Homeplug thing..I would like to noe wther iz it possible to connect using those too?? 2k including the xbox system? Everyone here spends more or less that amount of money. Its xbox live that keeps the community here alive coz we "gather" everynite in LIVE to kill each other Let me throw in another thing for you to consider. The famous 3ROD problem. If you go modded you are on your on. If it happens your xbox is confirmed paperweight while unmodded you still can claim warranty if 3ROD happens. At least you have a year peace of mind playing your xbox. Buy from Gamer Hideout in cineleisure they will help you claim warranty if there's any issue. (Djinn need to give me discount for promoting Aztech homeplug... nvr use b4. Technically it should work like a wired network so it should be usable. If you op for this, you can use your existing setup, use your pc to share your internet connection and connect your xbox to your pc through the homeplug. QUOTE(soccerbal8 @ Jan 24 2007, 12:31 AM) 1. How much is d cheapest one i can get? for mod and original one la... 1. Last I check RM1300-RM1400 asian set. PM Djinn for more details or goto Gamers Hideout in cineleisure. Dun know abt modded price.2. Just wanna know if i got say 3 friends who have a xbox360 and we wanna connect it together like wanna play LAN (like on a pc) can i use like a route to connect it ka or is tat even possible? 3. for d Xbox Live Silver, can i play online with my other friend or do i have to upgrade to gold? 4. N for Xbox Live Silver is it one account for 1 Xbox360 or wat? 2. If you want to connect locally you only need a switch or a router with 4 port switch to network them. 3. No 4. No. 1 360 can have more than 1 acc. Silver or gold. Check back 1 or 2 page back on some of my xbox live experience and some drawbacks of going modded. This post has been edited by terencey: Jan 24 2007, 10:02 AM |
Jan 24 2007, 11:22 AM
1. If "Locally" means you guys see each other face to face then yes you can play MP without going online. You play though "system link" on a local area network.
2. So far all the games I played has system link feature to play on LAN. |
Jan 24 2007, 12:30 PM
For your specific situation:
1. Modem ----- PC (USB) 2. PC to homeplug (network cable) 3. homeplug to xbox (network cable) |
Jan 24 2007, 05:03 PM
QUOTE(soccerbal8 @ Jan 24 2007, 03:40 PM) Seperate TV set. Some games allow 2 person to play on 1 tv with split screen.QUOTE(soccerbal8 @ Jan 24 2007, 03:54 PM) here's his thread.http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/389927 |
Jan 24 2007, 05:41 PM
errr no. you plug your usb modem to your pc. your pc to your the homeplug and also xbox to another homeplug.
No the bandwidth will not be slower. |
Jan 24 2007, 05:59 PM
Homeplug comes in a pair. Beware that you going this method, your pc will need to ask as a router. That need configuration and also the pc needs to be on when you want to online using xbox.
This post has been edited by terencey: Jan 24 2007, 06:00 PM |
Jan 24 2007, 09:14 PM
QUOTE(soccerbal8 @ Jan 24 2007, 07:19 PM) Thanks terencey.... Help alot... Cant name 1 model/brand around that price. Maybe someone else here have a better idea. One more thing.... Anyone know wat is d best tv set or monitor i can get to play my xbox360 on? any recommendation guys? budget below RM700 la.. but if got good one above tat price i can also consider.. Things you should look for in your new display. Go for LCD, preferbly a widescreen because alot of xbox games are rendered in widescreen format. Op for the largest widescreen within your budget and should be high in contrast ratio and low in response time. QUOTE(Eisenmeteor @ Jan 24 2007, 07:34 PM) Ok.. There are numerous model/brand out there, the 1 judge-the suggestted works coz he can really tapau ppl online If letz juz say dat i want to try the modem plus wireless router,may i noe wat brand and model should i get?Does a cheaper model works well on xbox? And if use dat model my pc also can go internet wirelessly rite? If you op for that 1, you setup will become phone line to new modem/wireless router, pc to wireless router through LAN cable or wirelessly (need additional adapter), and xbox to wireless router through xbox wireless adapter. Take note that you are connecting from upstairs to downstairs wirelessly. The connection might not be that good. There's no way you can tell how good is the reception until you actually test it. |
Jan 24 2007, 09:52 PM
I specially buy a LCD TV juz to play xbox360 so I don't think it will spoil it. 15in abit small but you can put up with it 1st until you save up enough for an upgrade. Yes you only need vga and network cable.
Jan 25 2007, 02:35 PM
I'm using Samsung LA32R71B (RM4180).
LCD TV has bigger screen and more expensive. It has lower resolution than LCD Monitor. Can support tilll 1080i unless you want to fork out 10k and above to buy 1080p capable LCD TV. Standard LCD Monitor in the market max around 24". They can support up until 1080p resolution. |
Jan 25 2007, 07:37 PM
As far as I know there isn't any concrete info on the new version of 360 yet. Judging by the amount of 10mil sold units, they will definately ensure backward compatibility for the older version of the console.
If you can wait, then wait but with all the games coming out every 1-2 months , sit back and watch us enjoy!!! |
Jan 29 2007, 10:50 AM
QUOTE(Eisenmeteor @ Jan 27 2007, 09:35 PM) Today i went to kl after work for a walk..So i saw a game shop sellin consoles ..When i asked him bout the price for xbox360..He told me the one dat he sold is modded and cant be detected by Microsoft coz he said it was the latest version or sumthin..So i would to ask u guyz wther is there a way dat those guyz can actually escape from kena banned..?? 1st thing 1st these ppl are business man. They tell you anything that can help their sales. Try asking him if he can guarantee you can go LIVE after a year. And also ask him if he offer warranty for 3ROD. |
| Change to: | 0.0405sec
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 12:03 PM |