Maybank 2 Cards Premier, Fastest Air Miles Conversion

ignorantcow
post Apr 3 2014, 04:42 PM

35 posts

Received the cards today. The staff at card centre the gardens is good.
ignorantcow
post Apr 4 2014, 01:21 AM

35 posts

QUOTE(tigaxxx @ Apr 3 2014, 10:43 PM)
how long they took to approve ur application?
About a week, but the staff told me if I had directly went to a maybank card center it would have been faster.

-

On a side note, has anyone been having problems making online purchases using the AMEX?
ignorantcow
post Apr 4 2014, 02:06 AM

35 posts

QUOTE(tigaxxx @ Apr 4 2014, 01:41 AM)
I thought The Gardens, midvalley were 1 of the card centers with fast approval ->  1-2 hours
happened to me b4...CVV is 4 digits in front , not 3 digit at the back....(never used amex before  laugh.gif )
yeah, i did my application at a branch... then went to that card center.

first time using amex too. before this 5x TP deal never found a need to use an amex card. I knew the CVV is in front, but I've no idea whether the card was charged or not, no OTP, m2u doesn't show any transaction... rclxub.gif
ignorantcow
post Apr 4 2014, 10:53 AM

35 posts

QUOTE(maskedchan @ Apr 4 2014, 09:12 AM)
you did not set to receive SMS for every transaction above RM1?
may I ask what did you buy online?
so far I've tried adding my card to uber (failed), namecheap (failed), asos (seems like it went through)

I think I will call the CS again today.
ignorantcow
post Apr 4 2014, 06:32 PM

35 posts

QUOTE(rjb123 @ Apr 4 2014, 02:52 PM)
Maybe Maybank have the wrong 4 digit security code in their system, hence transactions not approved? This happened to me, the code printer on my card was different than on their system  rclxub.gif

I actually tried 2 transactions with ASOS recently, both times I received SMS that payment went through - but they requested for extra documents (passport scan etc,) so I gave up  laugh.gif
after a lot of back and forth with different maybank CSRs and some online merchants today, this woman from MB finally told me AMEX blocks a lot of transactions from merchants by default due to fraud, even paypal rclxub.gif

so apparently the process is to call in AFTER the transaction fails, request for them to NOT decline paypal (or any other merchants), stipulate a time frame (max one month). For longer time periods like "as long as the card is valid", they require you to email in with a LIST of the merchants you won't want blocked.

Wahlao.

This is for the AMEX only btw, I haven't encountered any declines with the VI.

Btw, I requested the SMS alerts threshold to be changed to RM1, she told me it will take 3 days rclxub.gif is this true?
ignorantcow
post Apr 4 2014, 09:17 PM

35 posts

QUOTE(rjb123 @ Apr 4 2014, 06:42 PM)
Odd - I didn't have this issue with my Amex. Not sure about SMS alerts as I haven't changed mine!

I actually just did an online transaction for over RM8K online via AMEX - no SMS code required and went straight through  whistling.gif
isn't that... worrying?
ignorantcow
post May 5 2014, 05:48 PM

35 posts

Has anyone tried converting to Krisflyer miles using their MBB2Premier TPs? On the TP site it says only for VI, wondering if they will allow TPs from the amex card to be used?
ignorantcow
post May 10 2015, 02:55 PM

35 posts

Just wondering why are you guys redeeming enrich miles still, when they had a massive devaluation of their award redemption chart in Feb?

With krisflyer and now asiamiles as redemption options, aren't those two programs a much better deal?
ignorantcow
post May 12 2015, 02:17 PM

35 posts

QUOTE(cybpsych @ May 11 2015, 04:42 PM)
MAS Rewards Enrich Members Via Digital World Of Riches Till May 31, 2015

KUALA LUMPUR, May 11 (Bernama) -- Malaysia Airlines (MAS) will be rewarding Enrich members to an exclusive redemption offer via its Digital World of Riches from now until May 31, 2015.

Accessible via MAS' online publication, Digital World of Riches, the redemption campaign is packed with attractive deals and packages, as well as interesting destinations.

In a statement today, MAS said holiday goers can fly from as low as 7,000 Enrich Miles one-way or 14,000 Enrich Miles return, enjoying discounts on flights by up to 50 per cent to selected destinations.

http://www.malaysiaairlines.com/etc/design...;/enrich-offers
Not bad offers, a lot 30-50% off so that the rates are still sane

This post has been edited by ignorantcow: May 12 2015, 02:18 PM
ignorantcow
post May 12 2015, 07:09 PM

35 posts

QUOTE(herc @ May 12 2015, 02:41 PM)
The comparison done all based on business class.

The date I input were Dec19~Jan2. AsiaMiles only available for Dec22~Jan4 (firmed booking, not waitlist)

Not sure about MAS stop fly Amsterdam, but when playing with Enrich redemption, it's still available.

Wife was bugging on SIA, says never try before...
I say listen to your wife... MH flies their 20 years old never updated angled lie flat product on a 772 to AMS. Comparing to SQ, even their older J seat blows anything MH has out of the water unfortunately.

BTW just to share, my latest redemption:

KUL-HKG-PVG (CX)
PVG-NRT (JL)
NRT-BKK (JL)
BKK-KUL (RJ)

Ticket worth: RM13,895 http://goo.gl/flights/PB3S

Asiamiles: 80,000 miles + RM1,176.49 in taxes

80*4770 = 381,600 (TP needed)
38,1600/5 = RM76,320
RM76,320-RM1,176 = RM75,143
RM13,895/RM75,143 = 0.185

18.5% return, not bad ah?

Didn't check Enrich because it would have cost 105,000 miles to redeem the same ticket.
ignorantcow
post May 13 2015, 10:53 PM

35 posts

QUOTE(minthiam @ May 12 2015, 07:45 PM)
Wow, very good deal indeed...
By the way you have done the redemption through 'Flight Awards – Redeem through Airline Award Request Form', right? I notice that 'Flight Awards - Redeem Online' doesn't work for Multi-city redemption right? Also, may I know how's the Asia Miles respond time? How soon you receive your confirmation?
Award redemptions are unfortunately not straightforward.

A typical OW redemption 'journey' for me involves:

- Build a 'valid' route either through Google Flights or ITA Matrix (limiting by OW airlines). This is to figure out what kind of possible routings you can get between city pairs.

- Because Enrich/AsiaMiles/most OW FFPs allow up to 5 'free' stopovers on OW redemptions, it is popular to redeem trips that have multiple destinations that are in the same region. Say if you are flying to Europe, why not hit Germany, Denmark, Sweden etc 'on the way', for the same amount of miles? Although a straightforward direct flight roundtrip is the easiest to figure out, it is definitely not the best value.

- Checking on BA.com, JAL.com, AA.com, Qantas.com for award availability through their FFP 'award search' engines. BA.com is usually the most reliable out of all. All sites have problems with phantom availability. Use these tools to figure out what airlines generally have award space available instead of going back and forth with the phone agents (it becomes VERY frustrating for both parties and the phone agent doesn't get anything for helping you).

- GCMap.com is particularly useful for calculating miles for distance based award programs like Asiamiles e.g. my upcoming trip: http://www.gcmap.com/mapui?P=kul-pvg-nrt-bkk-kul - just nice 7114mi, just 386 miles shy of the 4,001-7,500 tier

- Once you have a set idea of the route you want, the airlines involved on the route, then it is time to call the phone agents. It's even better if you know exactly the flight number you want, not hard to find out (using Google Flights or ITA).

- Unfortunately phone agents are NOT the best people to deal with but there's no other choice. The online form goes to email and when it comes to award booking you need to lock down the booking ASAP because there's 3983249212 other people fighting for the limited award space not just from the same program but from all the other programs in OW.

- Get ready to call multiple times, be put on hold for long periods while the phone agent waits for Amadeus to (hopefully) respond to the query. I've gotten twice when the entire system went down and had to try again a week later. This is extremely frustrating because I wanted to confirm that the route I wanted is bookable and there is availability before transferring miles into my AM account from Maybank (took about 7 working days), during which one of the segments on the route I wanted became unavailable (CX, on their own flights are pretty generous with J seats, but other airlines usually only 'release' 2). Basically a lot of waiting.

- Once the stars align (every segment on your route is available and your miles are in your account), the agent can book and issue ticket straight away. This will 'hold' the itinerary and you can proceed to make payment for the taxes. Once you get an email with your booking ref./PNR (the 6 letter combination), you can go to the respective airlines website to check that the PNR is indeed valid (go to "Manage your booking", enter last name and PNR). The airlines website should allow you to select seats, even.

- If you get a stupid agent, hang up and try again.

Good luck!
ignorantcow
post May 14 2015, 03:20 PM

35 posts

QUOTE(herc @ May 14 2015, 09:47 AM)
Im confused. Based on GCMap for your route, its 7114 miles and supposingly it fall into Award Zone D (5001 - 7,500), which required 120,000AM for biz return, but ur earlier post u said its 80,000AM+tax to redeem, which is only Award Zone C (2,501 - 5,000)?
Herc, AsiaMiles has two different charts for redemptions.

The first one (which is 120k for 5001-7500) is for itineraries involving either just CX/KA or CX/KA+one other partner airline, and allows for one ways (with clever routing can get you a 'boomerang' redemption)

The second one is for two OW airlines (excluding CX/KA) or three OW airlines (can include one segment on CX/KA) but only allows for roundtrip. It is on this chart that 4,001-7500 tier is 80k.

https://www.asiamiles.com/am/en/redeem/charts

ignorantcow
post Jun 2 2015, 12:04 AM

35 posts

Malaysia Airlines: all-new business class for A330s, Boeing 777s

http://www.ausbt.com.au/malaysia-airlines-...30s-boeing-777s

Finally.
ignorantcow
post Jun 2 2015, 04:04 PM

35 posts

QUOTE(dc8585 @ Jun 2 2015, 07:13 AM)
Maybe there will be reason yet to convert our treatpoints to Enrich Miles. nod.gif
Let's hope so. Those angled lie flats are so horribly outdated............. and for the 'flagship' 'golden' lounges in KUL desperately lag behind the likes of HKG. Cathay's plethora of great lounges in that airport is just insane.

0.0426sec    0.28    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 07:37 PM