Maybank 2 Cards Premier, Fastest Air Miles Conversion

digidigi
post Jul 25 2015, 07:05 PM

1,745 posts

Hi,I have no principle credit card now, and my DSR is most likely around 200% now, that mean I will be rejected if I apply for a card.

So is there any other ways I can get a card approve? Put FD in the issuer bank? Any bank offer this?
digidigi
post Jul 26 2015, 11:37 AM

1,745 posts

QUOTE(lamode @ Jul 23 2015, 10:53 AM)
assuming you don't want to submit any income document at all.

just pledge min 30k, one to one ratio between FD and credit limit.
This card so easy to get? Just 30k FD pledge they will approve?
digidigi
post Jul 26 2015, 03:14 PM

1,745 posts

QUOTE(lamode @ Jul 26 2015, 02:34 PM)
yes. you may call the CS for confirmation / further question.
Maybe I will just drop by the nearest branch for info
digidigi
post Jul 26 2015, 03:17 PM

1,745 posts

QUOTE(minthiam @ Jul 26 2015, 02:43 PM)
Unfortunately yes, that's why now they reduced the unlimited PPL access to 5 times a year!
Then who will still apply lower rank card since they can just pledge 30k or 50k to get this card? I think 30k should be non issue for who eligible for a normal platinum card which require at least 60k income per annum.
digidigi
post Jul 26 2015, 08:50 PM

1,745 posts

A question, is all the payment through maybnk2u accumulate treats point or membership rewards point?
digidigi
post Jul 26 2015, 08:53 PM

1,745 posts

QUOTE(minthiam @ Jul 26 2015, 08:17 PM)
Wow, you have a perfect scenario for comparison smile.gif

It should be quite straightforward right? Just use Local Currency (MYR) / Foreign Currency (KRW)

VI
1. 187.51/55,300 = 0.00339078 (or 1000KRW = 3.39078MYR)
2. 84.77/25000 = 0.00339080
3. 34.01/10030 = 0.00339083

AMEX
1. 27.13/7980 = 0.00339975 (or 1000KRW = 3.39975MYR)
2. 33.65/9900 = 0.00339899

So, it's pretty clear that VI offers slightly better rate!
Actually it seems like it is not worth using maybank 2 premier oversea as it incur 2 to 3 percent of conversion rate, which the treat point seems bring lower percentage in term of cash back?
digidigi
post Jul 26 2015, 10:09 PM

1,745 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jul 26 2015, 09:07 PM)
If you look at it this way, say with TP > EP, you get cashback of xx (read Gen-X's tutorial). XX - 2-3% = can still get xx% cashback. If exchange rate is your main concern, look at Aeon cards. Their normal and watami cards exchange rates are about 0.9-1%!!! blink.gif  shocking.gif
So it basically means the cash back is used to offset the conversion rate which is not bad as u have the convenince to use card oversea with no extra cost.

I actually more into the air miles conversion so the conversion rate is acceptable compare to what we get from the airline ticket
digidigi
post Jul 27 2015, 09:03 AM

1,745 posts

QUOTE(bearbear @ Jul 26 2015, 11:36 PM)
You obviously miss the main feature of this card, air miles.

If you look for Cashback and what not, wrong thread. smile.gif
Yea, will try to spend on average of 10k per month on this card.

digidigi
post Jul 27 2015, 09:23 AM

1,745 posts

QUOTE(maskedchan @ Jul 27 2015, 09:14 AM)
This card require min 80k p.a spending
In future I rather they raise the bar to waive the AF or raise the AF instead of inflate the airmiles conversion rate
digidigi
post Jul 27 2015, 10:54 PM

1,745 posts

QUOTE(tishaban @ Jul 27 2015, 10:02 PM)
It's definitely the best conversion rate in the world right now, I've stopped putting my daily spend on my US based cards and focusing purely on my Premiere cards.
Is this card have maximum spending limit on TNB online bill payment,as my most expense is Tnb bill which at least 5 figure per month
digidigi
post Jan 7 2016, 03:20 PM

1,745 posts

Is priority pass a standalone card? Or it combine with the credit card itself? I just get my card and it doesn't come with priority pass, is the benefit ended for 2016?
digidigi
post Jan 7 2016, 06:53 PM

1,745 posts

QUOTE(maskedchan @ Jan 7 2016, 04:12 PM)
standalone card..you need to fill in the form and mail or email it..
the form should be include in standard kit that come with your credit card
No form found inside the envelope except the two cards.....
digidigi
post Jan 7 2016, 07:37 PM

1,745 posts

QUOTE(terence_say @ Jan 7 2016, 07:08 PM)
http://www.maybank2u.com.my/WebBank/VI-Pri...PassAppForm.pdf

you can just print out this form to apply
Thanks for your help:)
digidigi
post Jan 8 2016, 03:40 AM

1,745 posts

Is this card pin enable?
digidigi
post Jan 8 2016, 11:52 AM

1,745 posts

QUOTE(anwa @ Jan 8 2016, 11:43 AM)
When I got this card, I asked about the pin. They say nowadays they don't issue pin unless customer specifically ask for it.
But some Merchant especially oversea one they require pin to make transaction
digidigi
post Jan 30 2016, 12:56 PM

1,745 posts

QUOTE(intrepidity85 @ Jan 30 2016, 12:16 PM)
ops. sorry.

is it worth in your opinion? 30k just for premier?
Al depend how you will use your 30k if u not use it to pledge, and how much u gonna spend with your card monthly
digidigi
post Jan 30 2016, 05:47 PM

1,745 posts

QUOTE(intrepidity85 @ Jan 30 2016, 01:06 PM)
30k swipe here and there finish liao .. nowadays 30 is nothing

my question was 'is it worth for u to pledge this card for 30k'?
of course diff ppl hav diff opinions

for me i would not pledge it.. will apply it lo. haha..

but as fruitie mentioned, this card is for fantastic travellers
If your spending is much higher than 30k, then it would be troublesome as you will only get 30k limit.
digidigi
post Feb 28 2016, 03:45 PM

1,745 posts

QUOTE(pspfan @ Feb 27 2016, 01:24 PM)
i was in japan last week. swiped my AR and VI same day 3 minutes apart.. outcome=== VI better rate
I was in Japan last month as well, but the posting date for Amex was always one or two day later than visa, is it common?
digidigi
post Mar 3 2016, 10:01 AM

1,745 posts

QUOTE(minthiam @ Mar 2 2016, 12:41 PM)
Where did you hear that?
Here is the flyer, http://www.maybank2u.com.my/WebBank/eDM-Starwood.pdf
Is that apply to all restaurant inside Westin kl?
digidigi
post Mar 3 2016, 09:28 PM

1,745 posts

QUOTE(msa9696 @ Mar 3 2016, 09:21 PM)
Don't worry just go and spend. I spent few times this year including today at Westin Five Senses, discount still 50% for 2.
How about the Westin prego?

0.0467sec    0.59    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 11:23 PM