Maybank 2 Cards Premier, Fastest Air Miles Conversion

corad
post Feb 27 2015, 04:40 PM

Hard to see, the dark side is.
2,403 posts

So my spend is above 100k a year, thanks to my job of being a "booker" for company trips/venues. Pay only qualifies me for MBB2Gold which I've been holding for 3 years.

Read pages 50-ish on this thread on pledging with FD. So when FD expires we can take the money but keep the MBB2Premier cards ?

Also after the 2nd year, what are the fees if one dosent hit the minimum spend of RM80k ?

Only downside I can see vs MBB2Gold is no more monthly RM50 cashback ... but well compensated with Priority Pass/SPG discounts.

corad
post Jul 8 2015, 02:22 PM

2,403 posts

Just checking if :

1. Can still pledge FD to apply for these cards (and minimum amount tongue.gif)
2. Are the benefits still Amex earns 5 x TP , while Visa Infinite is 5 x Plaza Premium Lounge access / year ?

Also the PPL access isn't listed on the card's maybank website ... is it a "hidden" feature ?
corad
post Jul 9 2015, 09:18 AM

2,403 posts

QUOTE(bearbear @ Jul 8 2015, 02:33 PM)
1. Yes
2. Amex 5x TP any transaction, VI 5x for oversea; 2x for local.

Main feature is air mile conversion.
QUOTE(maskedchan @ Jul 8 2015, 02:53 PM)
5x local PPL a year and 5x international PPL a year with Priority Pass
Thanks. Do you guys have second thoughts after getting this card ? (ie: a better alternative?) The perks for me would be 5 x TP for AMEX and the freedom to convert into airmiles if needed.

Currently using MBB2Card because of 5% cash back for most things. I don't spend enough on Petrol / Groceries to make use of Ikhwan or OCBC Titanium.

EDIT: PPL benefit is a plus but have a BMW White Card which grants me access. Would I be able to bring a guest in with this card , or must the name match ?

This post has been edited by corad: Jul 9 2015, 09:21 AM
corad
post Jul 11 2015, 09:49 PM

2,403 posts

QUOTE(michael881 @ Jul 11 2015, 09:09 PM)
Hi Sifus,

I just got my Maybank 2 Card Premier in my pos laju today. Got 2 supplementary cards for wifey and my father.

1. There is only one Priority Pass application form in the package. Are my supp cards members allowed to apply for the free 5x Priority Pass Membership? It would be a nice perk because my wife flies with me sometimes. Would be nice to enjoy lounge facilities overseas.

2. The 5x Malaysia PPL entry per card? Can it be shared among us? (ie. Principal 5x + Supp01 5x + Supp02 5x = 15x?) Anyone can confirm this?

Thanks!
Did you apply for the Supplementary cards at the same time of your application ? Or did you have to wait till your card was approved before adding them on ?
corad
post Jul 13 2015, 09:23 AM

2,403 posts

QUOTE(michael881 @ Jul 12 2015, 01:41 PM)
Thanks for the information regarding free upgrade to Hilton Hhonors Gold. rclxms.gif

Anyone has information regarding FREE upgrade to Starwood SPG Gold using our Amex Reserve? (its a platinum right?) I'm trying to get Gold for next year's travel plans with my family around USA.

QUOTE(michael881 @ Jul 12 2015, 09:20 PM)
They didn't list Hilton Hhonors Gold as a benefit for VI, so no harm trying luck imo.. biggrin.gif
Which card gives HH Gold ?

SPG Gold isn't that special and they have plenty of sign up routes : http://loyaltylobby.com/2014/05/17/spg-gol...l-july-13-2015/

corad
post Jul 22 2015, 11:22 AM

2,403 posts

how soon did you guys get your card after approval ? And was it pick up from branch or home delivered ?

got my approval today and traveling next Wednesday (overseas placement) so fingers crossed.
corad
post Jul 23 2015, 09:01 AM

2,403 posts

just wondering if Malaysian CC is the most cost efficient way if making a big purchase overseas ? (US & UK) Thinking around RM40k mark

Don't have a US or UK bank account so can't do bank draft.

Sifu and bosses here any tips ?
corad
post Jul 23 2015, 01:57 PM

2,403 posts

QUOTE(lamode @ Jul 23 2015, 10:56 AM)
in term of cost efficient for that amount you mention, i personally find withdrawal the money from local (in US & UK) for better exchange rate.
yes, there might be charges for each withdrawal, but based on my experience, the exchange rate would made it up if you find the ATM allows higher amount per transaction.
QUOTE(herc @ Jul 23 2015, 11:12 AM)
cost efficient way is still to get bank draft in the destination currency (GBP or USD), but it takes time to clear into the account at the point of your purchase, not recommend for retail shopping.
Just checking if this is speaking from experience ? smile.gif I believe withdraw limit for ATM is RM2k / day ?
corad
post Jul 24 2015, 10:20 AM

2,403 posts

QUOTE(maskedchan @ Jul 24 2015, 10:15 AM)
AMEX - 5x tp for both local and oversea
VI - 2x tp for local and 5x tp for oversea..

applicable for everyday
any idea if AMEX or VI is better for the USA ?

Read that VI has better exchange rate ... but that was for Europe and Australia. Havent been able to find anything about usage in America.

corad
post Jul 24 2015, 10:27 PM

2,403 posts

QUOTE(tishaban @ Jul 24 2015, 03:08 PM)
Is this one single swipe for ~RM40k or multiple swipes for RM40k?

Either way, most Malaysian credit cards charge between 1-2% foreign transaction fees. On a RM40k amount, this is up to RM800 or even more. If you're charging it over time then you'll have to take into account the daily variations of forex as well. This is offset by quite a bit with the Premiere cards because you get the FFP, 40k is enough for a one way trip to North America on Cathay or Singapore Airlines.

I personally don't use my Malaysian cards for overseas transactions unless someone else is paying the bill biggrin.gif
in a single receipt.

which cards do you use ? I have a UK card but USD/GBP isn't very attractive now 1.5 vs 2.1 in 2012
corad
post Jul 25 2015, 06:57 PM

2,403 posts

QUOTE(tishaban @ Jul 25 2015, 09:43 AM)
I have a US based card so it's different for me. In my experience, money changers have the best forex rates and are negotiable but carrying >US$10k is risky obviously. ATM withdrawals and TT through banks are ok and some banks are negotiable as well eg. Stanchart although I was transferring > RM100k at the time. This doesn't take into account the possible fees though but RM10 TT fee in Malaysia + US$20 TT fee in the US is minimal.

In short I think you don't have much choice, swallow the RM800 fees on the credit card and see if you can use the extra 40k miles biggrin.gif Alternatively you can do a TT but depends on whether or not you have an account in the US.
Thanks for the advice. Well ~RM800 is still palatable, considering I was quoted RM6k more for the same thing in Malaysia.
corad
post Oct 15 2015, 09:17 AM

2,403 posts

QUOTE(nestahng @ Oct 14 2015, 07:01 PM)
Hi all sifu,

Do I get to enjoy the benefit of Hilton Hhonors Gold if I book the hotel through Agoda.com?

p.s. Today is Visa Wednesdsy www.Agoda.com/visawedmy
Why not book through Hilton.com and use their Best Price Guarantee to price match Agoda + receive 50USD ?
corad
post Oct 31 2015, 09:21 PM

2,403 posts

QUOTE(tishaban @ Oct 31 2015, 06:50 PM)
I'd be pretty pissed if I got the Diamante and only get 5x free international lounge access via Priority Pass. That's pretty sucky for a card aimed at millionaires.
millionaires would probably fly flag carriers / full service carrier ... MH,CX,SQ etc which even if they don't have their own lounge would provide an invite to a 3rd party site.

in any case, a person with USD1m won't be thinking too hard about a Priority Pass if it's important to them tongue.gif

looking to the day when Maybank has something to rival AMEX Centurion Black
corad
post Nov 7 2015, 11:50 AM

2,403 posts

anyone with M2Premier have HSBC Premier card as well ?

in terms of earned points/charges which is better ?
corad
post Nov 7 2015, 07:51 PM

2,403 posts

QUOTE(anwa @ Nov 7 2015, 05:52 PM)
I don't think there's any card that can beat m2premier in terms of earning enrich miles, especially the amex. In terms of charges, I presume you meant for overseas. From what I gather the charges are around 2.3%. Some say higher rates for amex but better exchange rate in europe/usa. I've only used in HK recently and found visa slightly better vs amex.
Sorry I don't have hsbc premier card.
QUOTE(BrandNewStart @ Nov 7 2015, 07:40 PM)
HSBC premier does give better redemption rate at 3,000 points per 1000 miles if u spend at the right place that earns 5x points, that means RM600 for 1000 miles. Some spending earns high than 5x. However, please note the cap per month. Read the promotion programme for more info.
Thanks, was wondering more on item redemption / discounts.

Tempted with HSBC Premier due to the worldwide banking, and they've revised to RM200k in account to be eligible with no spend/fee requirement ... if I recall correctly it used to be 800k ? Also was quoted FD 4.45% for 6 months

But perks don't include all PPL (Only KLIA, Changi & HK) or permanent dining discount (MBB 50% at Shangri La KL) ... although haven't explored too deeply yet
corad
post Nov 9 2015, 03:02 PM

2,403 posts

QUOTE(psiloveu @ Nov 9 2015, 11:49 AM)
Hilton card only can be obtained by World Master card, VI not eligible.
Priority pass only applicable for principal card holder.

Supp card holder still can use VI to get free access to local PPL.
are there any differences for World MasterCard privileges from different banks ?
corad
post Dec 22 2015, 09:56 AM

2,403 posts

QUOTE(minthiam @ Dec 21 2015, 04:53 PM)
If CX lounge is nothing special at all, I am afraid you will be equally disappointed with Flight Club as well. Based on Lounge Index review, CX lounge should be quite decent, http://loungeindex.com/Asia/Malaysia/KUL/C...ounge/index.htm

I will check out this lounge on my next trip in January  brows.gif
QUOTE(herc @ Dec 21 2015, 05:06 PM)
the food bar looks exactly like the 1 i visited in Penang, simple salad, bakery and maggie instant cup noodle! PPL is much more better than it. I end up walk to PPL next door for a warm breakfast.
As *A Gold and OW Sapphire the only lounges I haven't been to in KLIA is Emirates & Flight Club. My personal favorite is the CX lounge. Mainly for the booze tongue.gif Food is pretty good too, depending on what time you go (Bfast or Dinner is when they have a full spread ... Lunch (1100-1600) and Evening ( 2000- 2300? ) is so-so )

It really depends what you're looking for in a lounge: food, powerpoints, guest access, showers etc

QUOTE(Clement1001 @ Dec 21 2015, 06:14 PM)
The premier lounge are getting better than the current Golden lounge at KLIA. Golden lounge used to be a must go for me if i reach early, now it's shitty.
MH lounges have been on a decline since 2013. Now even at KLIA (flagship) all booze has to be "ordered" ... even tinned beer , furniture is dirty and food choices rarely change apart from the monthly menu @ Noodle bar. Even then the food quality/taste is sweat.gif

Just waiting for news on what the new MH-EK tie up is about
corad
post Dec 22 2015, 11:15 AM

2,403 posts

QUOTE(minthiam @ Dec 22 2015, 10:22 AM)
May I know you got OW Sapphire through Malaysia Airlines or other OW carriers? My understanding is that I could use my Enrich Gold to enter CX Lounge in KLIA so long as I am flying with any OW alliances? Is it really true?

I hate the Golden Lounge, think it is overrated, crowded and the washrooms are really world class  mad.gif
yes, got my OW status with MH. CX allows you to bring a guest as well as long as they are also flying on a OW Carrier (doesn't have to be the same flight).

If I have time/feeling bored, I'll usually lounge hop between MH Regional (just skip the MH Lounge at Satellite) , CX and PPL
corad
post Dec 22 2015, 02:05 PM

2,403 posts

QUOTE(minthiam @ Dec 22 2015, 12:25 PM)
Yes, that's my understanding too. Last week I tried to access CX/QR/JL/QF lounge (operated by JAS Premier Lounge) in Jakarta with my Enrich Gold but was told that they are not collaborating with MH, ended up in Pura Indah Lounge again  vmad.gif
3rd party lounges only let you in if you have an invitation card smile.gif

if flying OW at CGK, still prefer the coffee shop opposite Pura Indah (just at the end of travellator to departure gates). one of the best coffees in Indonesia thumbup.gif
corad
post Jan 19 2016, 09:26 AM

2,403 posts

QUOTE(weihong @ Jan 18 2016, 12:24 PM)
http://www.maybank2u.com.my/mbb_info/m2u/p...sonal/CRD-Cards

WMC Maybank, 5 treat miles = 5x treat points
hoho, Maybank finally has a World MasterCard.

Hilton Premium Club membership is around RM600+ /year if I recall ? And 50% off SPG eatery is pretty good.

Apart from the above :
PPL can get free with Citi
World MasterCard travel services can get with HSBC Premier

Citi and HSBC have no annual fee ... so while MBB WMC is tempting, not exactly a must-have for me.

0.0262sec    0.49    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 06:07 PM