Mechanical Keyboard Thread V21, We need more customs !

wildwestgoh
post Feb 18 2014, 07:23 PM

2,215 posts

QUOTE(Y.J.S @ Feb 18 2014, 06:21 PM)
so keycaps are all moddable for cm storm quickfire tk, right?
CM Storm Quick Fire TK
Note: Gallery's picture too huge to compare here (small screen).

Filco Majestouch Full size

From the comparison, CM Quick Fire TK has few keys that's not standard size so may have trouble finding custom key cap.
Among what I see is the last row (Ctrl, Win key, Alt, Spacebar, Fn key)
And changing to custom key cap may also lose some of the original marking on those non-standard layout and extra functions keys (F1~F2), numeric pad's keys, etc. sweat.gif

This post has been edited by wildwestgoh: Feb 18 2014, 07:25 PM
wildwestgoh
post Feb 18 2014, 07:30 PM

2,215 posts

QUOTE(Y.J.S @ Feb 18 2014, 07:26 PM)
hmm.gif
the modifying potential not as huge as Filco, Ducky, KMAC2 I guess doh.gif
The TK is non-standard layout anyway.
However the Quick Fire Stealth (TKL) is using standard layout without the numeric pad, also known as 80%. wink.gif
Same goes for the Quick Fire Rapid (also TKL), but I find slight not-so-standard size at the left modifier keys... hmm.gif I could be wrong
wildwestgoh
post Feb 18 2014, 08:15 PM

2,215 posts

QUOTE(eddydo @ Feb 18 2014, 08:01 PM)
what you meant by left modifier keys? which are the keys?
opps sorry, wrong side, it's the right side, Alt and Ctrl seems... different, well, as I said, I could be wrong.
wildwestgoh
post Feb 19 2014, 02:59 PM

2,215 posts

QUOTE(quovadis123 @ Feb 19 2014, 02:43 PM)
Err.. You have to wait for years for a mechanical keyboard to die... laugh.gif
Really really long time..
This is one of the top (among few reasons) to get MKB! thumbup.gif (well, that's me anyway blush.gif )
But seeing guys here and Geekhack does not really care about that any more, most are just customs and "fashions"? doh.gif
wildwestgoh
post Feb 19 2014, 05:14 PM

2,215 posts

QUOTE(crazy_ape91 @ Feb 19 2014, 05:05 PM)
read already. sad.gif but i am a bit weak regarding keyboard. so would like to ask for help from SIFUS to guide me for the best keyboard. sad.gif
If you want blink-blink, CM Storm has few keyboards that suits your needs with your budget of RM350.
If you want serious premium quality (not looks) then Ducky Zero TKL or stretch a bit go Filco TKL, but those are standard keyboard, no extra keys for macro.
For Macros, look at Steelseries or Razer.
wildwestgoh
post Feb 19 2014, 09:40 PM

2,215 posts

QUOTE(dadudeneverabides @ Feb 19 2014, 09:08 PM)
Itik kosong bersinar want or not?

RM300 second hand, comes with all documentation.
What Cherry MX and what LED color? hmm.gif
TKL? hmm.gif

p/s: IINM MX Green? hmm.gif I prefer brown...sorry too much question sweat.gif

This post has been edited by wildwestgoh: Feb 19 2014, 09:41 PM
wildwestgoh
post Feb 19 2014, 10:20 PM

2,215 posts

I did tried the Blue switch before on the Razer, the ONLY and 1 in Kuching here that I can test without asking for Salesperson help to unbox, bla bla bla, one word from non-MKB "old" guy, great feels, except it's darn loud, whole shop can hear it I think...
CM Storm at PC Image, and ONLY at Saberkas, need to ask for Salesperson assistant, since I'm not going to buy it so I feels shy to ask without buying, all Full size, not even a single model that I'm interested in... bleh...
wildwestgoh
post Feb 20 2014, 08:14 AM

2,215 posts

QUOTE(Y.J.S @ Feb 20 2014, 04:41 AM)
can this be supported on CM Storm QFR?

Edit : btw, how to know if which keycaps and fit my mkb or not?
From the looks at the QFR gallery, it seems to be standard if my eyes didn't play with me.
Reading from one of the posted article here explains that a standard should have something like this for the bottom row.
CODE

1.25, 1.25, 1.25, 6.25, 1.25, 1.25, 1.25, 1.25.
Ctrl, Win, Alt, Spacebar, Alt, Win, Fn?, Ctrl.

The QFR seems to have almost similar measurement (from the gallery), so can assume QFR is standard and can use third party keycaps.
Now go buy, don't think, just swipe your father card(s). brows.gif
wildwestgoh
post Feb 20 2014, 10:30 AM

2,215 posts

QUOTE(dadudeneverabides @ Feb 20 2014, 10:01 AM)
Nooooooo

There must be an end to my journey. I'm not richfag, so must find the "ultimate" keycap soon.
Should be QFR is standard layout. But if it's the TKL set, then you'll have some wastage because this one is 104-key set.
There's endless for this kind of "fashion" if you ask me, for me, I'll just go for a keyboard and use it for long... long time, until I have enough cash to throw around then maybe will go customs. sweat.gif That'll be long... long... (n) time.

Sell the numeric key set? sweat.gif Maybe someone else want different keycaps for their Full size. hmm.gif
wildwestgoh
post Feb 20 2014, 05:08 PM

2,215 posts

After read this: http://tech.hexun.com/2012-08-26/145144477.html
Discover that KBT Oni actually has slightly better quality and feels than Filco Majestouch, erm, seems confused as well as most Geekhack would recommend Filco over KBT.... @.@;;
wildwestgoh
post Feb 25 2014, 10:06 AM

2,215 posts

QUOTE(quovadis123 @ Feb 25 2014, 09:50 AM)
Nothing wrong.. Just too sombong I think.
Although we know this is a gimmicks of their marketing.
It just marketing to get the gaming community to believe their products are the best around, in fact there's plenty of QC issue with their products, overpriced some more doh.gif

wildwestgoh
post Feb 25 2014, 10:55 AM

2,215 posts

Another not-so-talk-about brand, reviewed by 3dGameMan (I know some may not like him hmm.gif) worth a little look at.
Feenix Autore Mechanical Gaming Keyboard
Full Size 104 keys
Reviewed switches: MX Brown
Comment: Very typical hardware review.

Check the video link here: http://3dgameman.com/reviews/1578/feenix-a...gaming-keyboard (youtube embeded video)

This post has been edited by wildwestgoh: Feb 25 2014, 10:55 AM
wildwestgoh
post Feb 25 2014, 01:26 PM

2,215 posts

QUOTE(diaBoliQu3 @ Feb 25 2014, 12:11 PM)
Bila mok beli kamu punya? biggrin.gif Fast, nanti sold out.
Unless Filco "Doh Tio" (Teochew), I'm actually asking one retailer to give me info already, I'll order afterwards. Due to extra expenses, only month end can pay full amount, not even the BR1M can cover all *sigh*. Pitily poor me T.T
wildwestgoh
post Feb 25 2014, 04:55 PM

2,215 posts

QUOTE(Chew Yongxian @ Feb 25 2014, 02:56 PM)
Tried on the key caps and lampshade. This is just a test run.

Lucky the lampshades didn't dim out the LEDs too much.
Oh, nice LED but shine through too much and not so nice ler IMHO.
If can shine through the letter only will be a nice touch. hmm.gif Any such keycaps?
wildwestgoh
post Feb 26 2014, 03:23 PM

2,215 posts

Can't wait to get my hands on MKB for the first time, darn... it's such a long wait (4~5 days??).....

Dive back...
wildwestgoh
post Feb 27 2014, 08:20 AM

2,215 posts

Sad, now a bit regret order Filco, all gets fancy flashy Ducky Shine T.T"
wildwestgoh
post Feb 27 2014, 09:24 AM

2,215 posts

QUOTE(Azurika @ Feb 27 2014, 09:14 AM)
Very true  icon_rolleyes.gif  thats y I also chose FIlco over Ducky

But the backlit just makes it soooo cool for a gamer who has been using Razer in the past  blush.gif
For me it's much easier to spot the key in a flash when in a dark room, unlike my current one which I need to focus for slight while.
I used a backlit notebook before and the feels is different when I try to spot the keys in the dark but of course it won't be much matter when you start gaming, your fingers will automatically locate the keys.
Another reason for me to get MKB is the aging scissors type that I have been using for a while, FPS gaming is no-go, the scissors seems to take the toll right now after so many years of "light" gaming. (sometimes pressing the keycaps corner will not actuate... gah... die -.-")

p/s: Wonder why I ordered the Ninja instead... sweat.gif , double regret... doh.gif
wildwestgoh
post Feb 27 2014, 09:45 AM

2,215 posts

QUOTE(quovadis123 @ Feb 27 2014, 09:41 AM)
I advised you sell your Filco and get a Ducky since you like fancy flashy Ducky Shine.
cry.gif No money liao bro, maybe next time...
But Ducky Shine all Full size, don't like, Zero Shine only available at tabao sad.gif
wildwestgoh
post Feb 27 2014, 01:28 PM

2,215 posts

Wah, all "buy" custom keycaps one, I may plan to just spray it over when the warranty expired... (I know.. not good feel, cheap-skate.. tongue.gif)
wildwestgoh
post Feb 27 2014, 01:58 PM

2,215 posts

QUOTE(quovadis123 @ Feb 27 2014, 01:48 PM)
why waste filco stock keycaps? Filco stock keycaps is the best already. brows.gif
hmm.gif I was thinking of re-paint it if it become shining, but until then I probably has some bucks to buy PBT already. brows.gif
Tiam... icon_question.gif poisoned... just like when I enter this.

0.0427sec    1.13    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 02:31 PM