Which Job to choose..help me!

TSmie7
post Jul 13 2006, 09:06 PM, updated 20y ago

29 posts

okey,the stories goes like this..im fresh grads.living at serdang
i got 3 interview today and somehow im lucky to pass all of that shocking.gif shocking.gif
now,i've been given till this monday to think bout their offer..

1 : Customer Service Support (Streamyx)
applied this job thru one of the advertisement in lowyat.net.
starting salary + allowances : RM1550
this one far from my house,at TTDI

2 : Support Enginner
starting : RM1800
also far,at Hartamas
i love this one actually coz its involves with linux,web hosting, and server thinggy and also customer support..since i have good skills in Linux administrations and also server part.i also love dealing with customer. took me at most 50 minutes to reach here,kinda tiring.

3 : Graphic Designer
starting : RM1700
behind my home, icon_rolleyes.gif TPM
this one kinda need a person who able to meet tight deadline,work under stress..lots of project going here....easy travel for me since behind my home only...no headache bout traffic jam or mental disorder tongue.gif

can u guyz pleaze give an advice on my carreer advancemnt if i accept any of this job..im thinking that if i choose G.D,my carreer growing would be little bit slow,am i rite?

and,if u in my shoes,which one do u choose?

i love 1 & 2 but its quite far from my house,maybe i can relocate to nearest place...plz give me advance...thx

plz and thx.. blush.gif

This post has been edited by mie7: Jul 13 2006, 09:08 PM
yihyan
post Jul 13 2006, 09:14 PM

862 posts

support engineer have flexible time right? standby 24hr?

i would choose 3 smile.gif better hours and nearer to house
TSmie7
post Jul 13 2006, 09:22 PM

29 posts

QUOTE(yihyan @ Jul 13 2006, 09:14 PM)
support engineer have flexible time right? standby 24hr?

i would choose 3 smile.gif better hours and nearer to house
no,the jobs more like system engineer but i also not sure y its called supprt engineer.
there is no standby time,as i had been told by the panels.work on normal hour.
no 2 is wide n very broad company,since it covers Australia,Holland and Asia PAcific..
i think my value will be high a little bit if i go with this one.especially when i want jump.

This post has been edited by mie7: Jul 13 2006, 09:22 PM
Syd G
post Jul 13 2006, 09:27 PM

Mom. Servant of God.
8,023 posts

I'd go for no 2. I assume that you have a degree right? Ya GD very hard to expand and anyone can do it.

and its not like GD has better hours anyway.

My suggestion : get job 2 . Dont worry about the distance. I know lots of people who actually live in Nilai/Seremban/Semenyih to work in kl smile.gif

aichiban
post Jul 13 2006, 09:35 PM

pot yia thee keh tai lang!!
1,994 posts

u forgot to mention the companies' name
TSmie7
post Jul 14 2006, 12:45 AM

29 posts

QUOTE(Syd G @ Jul 13 2006, 09:27 PM)
I'd go for no 2. I assume that you have a degree right? Ya GD very hard to expand and anyone can do it.

and its not like GD has better hours anyway.

My suggestion : get job 2 . Dont worry about the distance. I know lots of people who actually live in Nilai/Seremban/Semenyih to work in kl smile.gif
ya,i will have my graduation this august...atm,im only using my transkrip results,actually they din have any look at my cert (choice 2 & 3)....during the interview session,they ask lots about my skills and technical parts,not even touching my academic result.. smile.gif im lucky that i can answer and explain to them very well..

erm,im also think postion no 2 is good enough for me ffor my future position...im willing to relocate for this position.
TSmie7
post Jul 14 2006, 12:46 AM

29 posts

QUOTE(aichiban @ Jul 13 2006, 09:35 PM)
u forgot to mention the companies' name
position 2 is at Flexi e Solutions.
position 3 is at Bernama Solutions & Provider.
yihyan
post Jul 14 2006, 06:51 AM

862 posts

QUOTE(mie7 @ Jul 13 2006, 09:22 PM)
no,the jobs more like system engineer but i also not sure y its called supprt engineer.
there is no standby time,as i had been told by the panels.work on normal hour.
no 2 is wide n very broad company,since it covers Australia,Holland and Asia PAcific..
i think my value will be high a  little bit if i go with this one.especially when i want jump.
in this case no. 2 seems better smile.gif
working in mnc is always better hehe rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif
jinyee80
post Jul 14 2006, 07:47 AM

Jinyee? Me lor =)
868 posts

I will choose graphic designer if I were you.

This post has been edited by jinyee80: Jul 14 2006, 07:48 AM
kb2005
post Jul 14 2006, 08:08 AM

Yahoo!
17,858 posts

QUOTE(jinyee80 @ Jul 14 2006, 07:47 AM)
I will choose graphic designer if I were you.
Yes, me too. I will also choose graphic designer thumbup.gif
Christopher_LKL
post Jul 14 2006, 08:11 AM

Kairi Kawaii ^^
1,399 posts

my suggestion will go to 2
u learn more and meet more ppl ... therefore it improve u alot 50 mins drive is ok ... i need to drive around 60-90 mins per trip daily, if hella jam sometimes need 180 mins per trip O_o ...
hazremi
post Jul 14 2006, 08:21 AM

1million people saved this avatar bcoz she's too cute!
5,676 posts

QUOTE(mie7 @ Jul 14 2006, 12:45 AM)
ya,i will have my graduation this august...atm,im only using my transkrip results,actually they din have any look at my cert (choice 2 & 3)....during the interview session,they ask lots about my skills and technical parts,not even touching my academic result.. smile.gif im lucky that i can answer and explain to them very well..

erm,im also think postion no 2 is good enough for me ffor my future position...im willing to relocate for this position.
which uni are u from?
TSmie7
post Jul 14 2006, 10:18 AM

29 posts

QUOTE(hazremi @ Jul 14 2006, 08:21 AM)
which uni are u from?
uniten...

GD? im afraid that i will stuck forever in that field,my value will be evaluate based on my creativity and projects...any GD in Lowyat.net that has build successfull carreer?
WaCKy-Angel
post Jul 14 2006, 10:23 AM

PeACe~~
21,962 posts

I will go for 2nd or 3rd..

In KL, everywhere u go takes about 50minutes...
Me from Old Klang Road go KLCC also need that much time but only 15minutes of no jam.

Support engineer can learn more hands-on stuffs and graphic only sits infront pc and sometimes meet client
hazremi
post Jul 14 2006, 10:45 AM

1million people saved this avatar bcoz she's too cute!
5,676 posts

2nd is good choice,but pls prepare for the high cost of travelling
TSmie7
post Jul 14 2006, 10:48 AM

29 posts

ya,2 is high cost travelling....
if i do math here,i can say that 2nd job salary will be lot more lower compare to 3rd job due to cost travelling...
but if compare to experience and future carreer,i think 2nd is better,am i rite?
im rily fresh grads who stuck in 2 most critical choices..
msnice
post Jul 14 2006, 02:11 PM

28 posts

QUOTE(mie7 @ Jul 14 2006, 10:48 AM)
ya,2 is high cost travelling....
if i do math here,i can say that 2nd job salary will be lot more lower compare to 3rd job due to cost travelling...
but if compare to experience and future carreer,i think 2nd is better,am i rite?
im rily fresh grads who stuck in 2 most critical choices..
for a career wise, I prefer no 2. and I think it suits your interest. for the sake of getting the experience, I think u can bear with transportation cost and time to commute. and if u're willing to move to nearer place, that will be better.
so good luck dude. the choice is in your hand. thumbup.gif
Tainted
post Jul 14 2006, 02:59 PM

Bored!!!
4,503 posts

Think,which do you like most.
Since that you like choice no.2,i'll say go for it.
It may take 50mins to travel but you'll be working much happier there.
Think which you're good at and whether you're able to work under stress and whether you'll be able to work happy there and excel there as well.

Working in a place where you like and you're happy there,will definately be the right choice.
I'll rather choose something that I like and will be happy there.
say_it
post Jul 14 2006, 04:42 PM

521 posts

i think you should choose option 2.

reason as follow:
1. You like this job the most among these 3 option.
2. MNC is always better than local company.
3. Networking/ server thing having better prospect for you, if you're IT gradute.
jasontoh
post Jul 15 2006, 12:30 AM

8,429 posts

QUOTE(mie7 @ Jul 13 2006, 09:06 PM)
okey,the stories goes like this..im fresh grads.living at serdang
i got 3 interview today and somehow im lucky to pass all of that  shocking.gif  shocking.gif
now,i've been given till this monday to think bout their offer..

1 : Customer Service Support (Streamyx)
    applied this job thru one of the advertisement in lowyat.net.
    starting salary + allowances : RM1550
  this one far from my house,at TTDI

2 : Support Enginner
    starting : RM1800
  also far,at Hartamas
  i love this one actually coz its involves with linux,web hosting, and server thinggy and also customer support..since i have good skills in Linux administrations and also server part.i also love dealing with customer. took me at most 50 minutes to reach here,kinda tiring.

3 : Graphic Designer
    starting : RM1700
  behind my home, icon_rolleyes.gif TPM
  this one kinda need a person who able to meet tight deadline,work under stress..lots of project going here....easy travel for me since behind my home only...no headache bout traffic jam or mental disorder  tongue.gif
can u guyz pleaze give an advice on my carreer advancemnt if i accept any of this job..im thinking that if i choose G.D,my carreer growing would be little bit slow,am i rite?

and,if u in my shoes,which one do u choose?

i love 1 & 2 but its quite far from my house,maybe i can relocate to nearest place...plz give me advance...thx

plz and thx.. blush.gif
If I were u, I will choose 3 bcos u can learn other things which can be valuable to your next job. Besides that, you can learn to cope with pressure and meet deadlines. Mayb after working for a year or two you switch to IT jobs. While u work in this place, u can save money and invest wisely in stock and funds. That's my opinion. BTW, I do some research and found out that flexi e solution is not an MNC. I know that MNC usually pay fresh 2k and above.

This post has been edited by jasontoh: Jul 15 2006, 12:33 AM

0.0223sec    0.67    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 03:11 AM