> tambun biscuit, halal or non? Chat

TSmrjacknjill
post Feb 13 2014, 11:50 PM, updated 12y ago

17 posts

tambun biscuit Ghee Hiang company
just want to know this food halal or not??
danny_sp15
post Feb 13 2014, 11:53 PM

==============
3,045 posts

not sure, but it is tasty
zyrl
post Feb 14 2014, 11:53 AM

Thunder buddies for life, right, Johnny?
885 posts

QUOTE(mrjacknjill @ Feb 13 2014, 11:50 PM)
Well, Ghee Hiang and Him Hiang probably are the best tambun biscuit maker. Sadly, they are non-halal.
harryfoo
post Feb 14 2014, 11:54 AM

2,296 posts

Summon Penangfag. fantasy1989
edmkec91
post Feb 14 2014, 11:54 AM

59 posts

Don't think so. All this "fragrant" biscuit has a tendency to use non-halal oil while baking/frying them.
pkiensing
post Feb 14 2014, 11:56 AM

[Richfag]
824 posts

you can try see God will punish you or not...
if no punishment then means halal...
SUSsoundsyst64
post Feb 14 2014, 11:57 AM

I'm No-Longer-Noobs
3,725 posts

If you feel 100% - eat
If you feel 50/50 - don't eat.

Simple as that.
seather
post Feb 14 2014, 11:58 AM

xXxXxXxXx
1,335 posts

100% non halal..

That smooth buttery texture? it is pork lard my fren...
SUSPhilHellmuth
post Feb 14 2014, 12:00 PM

699 posts

no halal .. pork lard
nearlee
post Feb 14 2014, 12:01 PM

105 posts

harom
arubin
post Feb 14 2014, 12:01 PM

Holy Pastafarian
670 posts

There are vegetarian versions of Tambun biscuits to cater for the veggie Buddhist crowd. However, there won't be any 'halal' certification because those are costly to both obtain and maintain.

The only question is whether or not 'vegetarian' is good enough for you.

Note that the Buddhist veggie crowd are not so fussed about having the kitchen be completely halal though. Its OK that the biscuits are baked in the same place as a kitchen that uses pork lard just as long as the biscuit itself has no meat ingredients.
TSmrjacknjill
post Feb 14 2014, 12:02 PM

17 posts

thanks for the info
rcracer
post Feb 14 2014, 12:02 PM

?????
3,772 posts

i tot if was was don't eat
lifeislikeadream
post Feb 14 2014, 12:04 PM

259 posts

QUOTE(zyrl @ Feb 14 2014, 11:53 AM)
Well, Ghee Hiang and Him Hiang probably are the best tambun biscuit maker. Sadly, they are non-halal.
the one selling in Penang airport very nice
Draconian Paladin
post Feb 14 2014, 12:06 PM

80 posts

Actually, I did come across some tambun biscuit with the halal logo. Can't remember which brand, though.
SUSAllnGap
post Feb 14 2014, 12:08 PM

[ Modding with Passion(tm) ]
4,561 posts

QUOTE(danny_sp15 @ Feb 13 2014, 11:53 PM)
not sure, but it is tasty
tak kesah lah....

i had a cina female friend that brought his malay bf to kopitiam.
then she was eating char koay teow, the bf then curi makan the noodle and "keropok" a bit.....

he said sedaaappp tongue.gif tongue.gif then he ask this one got put pork ar ??

then we tell him, kalau tak tahu takde dosa......baik awak jangan tau.....

then he just senyummmmm kammmbing laugh.gif
xsan
post Feb 14 2014, 12:11 PM

Ouh Emm Gee I Can Edit This Nao
1,020 posts

ada cop halal ok can makan
pobox
post Feb 14 2014, 12:12 PM

551 posts

QUOTE(seather @ Feb 14 2014, 11:58 AM)
100% non halal..

That smooth buttery texture? it is pork lard my fren...
This
quadcube
post Feb 14 2014, 12:17 PM

1,924 posts

QUOTE(AllnGap @ Feb 14 2014, 12:08 PM)
tak kesah lah....

i had a cina female friend that brought his malay bf to kopitiam.
then she was eating char koay teow, the bf then curi makan the noodle and "keropok" a bit.....

he said sedaaappp tongue.gif  tongue.gif  then he ask this one got put pork ar ??

then we tell him, kalau tak tahu takde dosa......baik awak jangan tau.....

then he just senyummmmm kammmbing laugh.gif
first taste of heaven drool.gif drool.gif
roystevenung
post Feb 14 2014, 12:20 PM

2,173 posts

I dont see any halal logo in it and i dont think they are even bothered with it.

I am in alma now brows.gif
FidelisGVR
post Feb 14 2014, 12:20 PM

673 posts

QUOTE(arubin @ Feb 14 2014, 12:01 PM)
There are vegetarian versions of Tambun biscuits to cater for the veggie Buddhist crowd. However, there won't be any 'halal' certification because those are costly to both obtain and maintain.

The only question is whether or not 'vegetarian' is good enough for you.

Note that the Buddhist veggie crowd are not so fussed about having the kitchen be completely halal though. Its OK that the biscuits are baked in the same place as a kitchen that uses pork lard just as long as the biscuit itself has no meat ingredients.
i'm not so sure about this statement of yours bro... hmm.gif but ayam no muslim so i can't say much.

billylks
post Feb 14 2014, 12:23 PM

180 posts

Can order it from junsheng
arubin
post Feb 14 2014, 12:26 PM

Holy Pastafarian
670 posts

QUOTE(FidelisGVR @ Feb 14 2014, 12:20 PM)
i'm not so sure about this statement of yours bro... hmm.gif but ayam no muslim so i can't say much.
I wasn't referring to Muslims lar. I was saying that Buddhists do not necessarily mind eating food that is cooked in kitchen with meat in it as long as their own food doesn't contain any meat ingredients. It won't even matter if the utensils have been used to cook meat as long as they were washed beforehand.

Muslims, on the other hand, are not even supposed to be eating food cooked in a kitchen that has pork in it - especially if the utensils have handled pork, and not even after they have been washed.

But of course, some Muslims turn a blind eye to it...this is a personal call...
DarkNite
post Feb 14 2014, 12:30 PM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

QUOTE(mrjacknjill @ Feb 13 2014, 11:50 PM)
Ghee Hiang no
Him Heang maybe Halal but you best check out with them >> +604228 6129
noobfc
post Feb 14 2014, 01:30 PM

Peanuts
753 posts

got vegetable version, i think thats the best one can get
ijatgonard
post Oct 9 2015, 10:49 AM

49 posts

I think the Penang BAN HEANG brand got Halal sticker on the box, so i ate it, & its taste good

0.0173sec    0.41    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 10:54 PM