simple questions

TSGrayson
post Feb 12 2014, 11:13 PM, updated 12y ago

319 posts

I am tight on budget, but i feel like playing this game, can any bro tell me izit worth the money? izit really that good?
Lordz`
post Feb 12 2014, 11:45 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(Grayson @ Feb 12 2014, 11:13 PM)
I am tight on budget, but i feel like playing this game, can any bro tell me izit worth the money? izit really that good?
My advise, don't start playing any if you are on tight budget, get something like GW2, b2p rather than p2p.
TSGrayson
post Feb 13 2014, 12:15 AM

319 posts

QUOTE(Lordz` @ Feb 12 2014, 11:45 PM)
My advise, don't start playing any if you are on tight budget, get something like GW2, b2p rather than p2p.
thanks for the advise, if you were me, would u do that too? hmm... i just wan to know wether is worth for what it's paid smile.gif
[d]-ky
post Feb 13 2014, 09:54 AM

633 posts

what do you mean by tight on budget? the game is less than 100 for activation and 50 for monthly subscription :/
unless you're a student who doesnt have an income (well, go study! tongue.gif)
TSGrayson
post Feb 13 2014, 04:17 PM

319 posts

QUOTE(d-ky @ Feb 13 2014, 09:54 AM)
what do you mean by tight on budget? the game is less than 100 for activation and 50 for monthly subscription :/
unless you're a student who doesnt have an income (well, go study! tongue.gif)
haha u are rite, its my final year and its gonna be dead boring with less class, study oso boring.. just wanna say, is that money worth it for the gameplay? all i know the graphics are awesome lol...
uremeshi
post Feb 13 2014, 06:17 PM

247 posts

conclusion of the game is,

its a game that newbie can start catching up quickly (base level wise) just by grinding fate, but it is very time consuming to actually train the all the classes and jobs that you need (for cross class skills).

once you hit all the classes and jobs you need, basically just repeating certain instance to collect the tome stone (i believe its capped at 450 per week now). tome stone is used to exchange strong equipment for those high level boss dungeon.

if you are in a good active guild, there will be 8-man or 24-man special boss instance to run (item loot capped only can do once a week for each special boss instance in order to be able to get loot), after that you still can join the run for fun but you wont be able to get the loot

after that its all about earning money and slot those special stone into your crafted equipment to make yourself more powerful. (slightly more powerful than tome stone equipment)

i stopped playing right before they update the tome stone cap from 300 to 450 so I am not sure if there is any new changes after 2 months of time haha blush.gif
TSGrayson
post Feb 13 2014, 06:23 PM

319 posts

QUOTE(uremeshi @ Feb 13 2014, 06:17 PM)
conclusion of the game is,

its a game that newbie can start catching up quickly (base level wise) just by grinding fate, but it is very time consuming to actually train the all the classes and jobs that you need (for cross class skills).

once you hit all the classes and jobs you need, basically just repeating certain instance to collect the tome stone (i believe its capped at 450 per week now). tome stone is used to exchange strong equipment for those high level boss dungeon.

if you are in a good active guild, there will be 8-man or 24-man special boss instance to run (item loot capped only can do once a week for each special boss instance in order to be able to get loot), after that you still can join the run for fun but you wont be able to get the loot

after that its all about earning money and slot those special stone into your crafted equipment to make yourself more powerful. (slightly more powerful than tome stone equipment)

i stopped playing right before they update the tome stone cap from 300 to 450 so I am not sure if there is any new changes after 2 months of time haha  blush.gif
why stopped playing? any reasons for it? i saw a new patch of 2.1 which is "a realm Amoken", u can even have your own house. smile.gif
uremeshi
post Feb 13 2014, 07:10 PM

247 posts

just got back from america around middle of december and i havent assemble back my desktop and currently no internet at home lol.. then got a job now and the only time i can play is on the weekend.. so i guess its not a good deal to pay monthly for the game cry.gif might as well stick back to diablo later after i got my desktop assemble back hmm.gif
TSGrayson
post Feb 13 2014, 07:14 PM

319 posts

QUOTE(uremeshi @ Feb 13 2014, 07:10 PM)
just got back from america around middle of december and i havent assemble back my desktop and currently no internet at home lol.. then got a job now and the only time i can play is on the weekend.. so i guess its not a good deal to pay monthly for the game  cry.gif  might as well stick back to diablo later after i got my desktop assemble back  hmm.gif
you are rite... if im at university, i can only play when im at the cafeteria... and cant confirm i can play it on a daily basis.. for games that requires payment monthly is a lot of a waste.... sad.gif cry.gif
poipoy
post Feb 21 2014, 10:45 AM

102 posts

QUOTE(Grayson @ Feb 13 2014, 07:14 PM)
you are rite... if im at university, i can only play when im at the cafeteria... and cant confirm i can play it on a daily basis.. for games that requires payment monthly is a lot of a waste.... sad.gif  cry.gif
if you can only play when at cafe and not daily. it's totally not worth it.
(EVEN if u can play daily, might not worth it too but this depends on personal taste.)
Right now, the current situation of the game is = ghost town. The people you know, doesn't log in that much now. However, during prime time (which is around 8pm when everyone's off work) you still need to get queue into the game which means there's still a bunch of people playing, maybe newcomers.

My ghost town view is due to game is kinda well.. for my taste too easy. If you have 5hours to spare daily for the game. you can get any job to max level within 5-7days. Crafting jobs might be slightly harder but still very fast to level. When you're max level, you grind dungeons for tomestone in exchange for your starting "end-game" gear. Now it's so easy to grind it's a joke.

Basically, current contents are really kinda boring after you do it for a month. It's all repeating the same stuff. End game though, which is Coil of Bahamut, you can only clear once per week, which is actually the only interesting content to do really. Therefore, many, myself included, only login when it's time to do Coil. Some may say can do money earning stuff to prepare for buying house etc. HOWEVER, the economy is so bad now it really depress people.
e.g: a widely used food "Devil Eggs HQ". to make 99 (which is a stack) it takes roughly like 10 hours to gather the materials and then craft it. 2 months ago it's around 1500-1800gils each, so you roughly earn around 150k-180k for 10hours of work for a stack of 99. now, it's like 500-700gils each. It's all due to jobs all being too easy to lvl, ( I myself took only 2 weeks to max all crafting and gathering class=11jobs) everyone can make their own now.

If you really wanna try the game. wait till u finish ur final year. By that time, the first expansion should have release, then you can get reviews from players about it again. Final Fantasy XI was the other MMO Square-enix made. That game was also a huge disappointment during it's early days, and only got really damn good after the release of its first expansion Zilart a year later. For myself, I'm only giving the game chance until the first expansion lol.

*All the above are only my personal views, You can take it or leave it*
Madgeiser
post Feb 21 2014, 12:21 PM

433 posts

QUOTE(poipoy @ Feb 21 2014, 10:45 AM)
(EVEN if u can play daily, might not worth it too but this depends on personal taste.)
Right now, the current situation of the game is = ghost town. The people you know, doesn't log in that much now. However, during prime time (which is around 8pm when everyone's off work) you still need to get queue into the game which means there's still a bunch of people playing, maybe newcomers.

My ghost town view is due to game is kinda well.. for my taste too easy. If you have 5hours to spare daily for the game. you can get any job to max level within 5-7days. Crafting jobs might be slightly harder but still very fast to level. When you're max level, you grind dungeons for tomestone in exchange for your starting "end-game" gear. Now it's so easy to grind it's a joke.

Basically, current contents are really kinda boring after you do it for a month. It's all repeating the same stuff. End game though, which is Coil of Bahamut, you can only clear once per week, which is actually the only interesting content to do really. Therefore, many, myself included, only login when it's time to do Coil. Some may say can do money earning stuff to prepare for buying house etc. HOWEVER, the economy is so bad now it really depress people.
e.g: a widely used food "Devil Eggs HQ". to make 99 (which is a stack) it takes roughly like 10 hours to gather the materials and then craft it. 2 months ago it's around 1500-1800gils each, so you roughly earn around 150k-180k for 10hours of work for a stack of 99. now, it's like 500-700gils each. It's all due to jobs all being too easy to lvl, ( I myself took only 2 weeks to max all crafting and gathering class=11jobs) everyone can make their own now.

If you really wanna try the game. wait till u finish ur final year. By that time, the first expansion should have release, then you can get reviews from players about it again. Final Fantasy XI was the other MMO Square-enix made. That game was also a huge disappointment during it's early days, and only got really damn good after the release of its first expansion Zilart a year later. For myself, I'm only giving the game chance until the first expansion lol.

I play it on and off whenever i can squeeze some playtime in. It is a good game, depending on how you view it. If you are the type whom is absolutely must have everything maxed out and treat it like a grind fest, probability of you subbing past 6 months is almost non-existence.

For me, i play maybe 4 times a week. Depending on free time, sometimes just 15-30 minutes, sometimes hours on end. Still enjoying the game, and i have been playing since CBT. Some friends whom treat it like a grind fest has already long stopped playing.

Too bad there isn't a free trial, else you can just give it a go and see if you like it before committing. smile.gif
ultimaweaponx
post Feb 21 2014, 01:08 PM

359 posts

FF14ARR is my first kind of MMO.
as a person have been clearing bahamut coil turn 5 and primal ex every week, i'd say this game is not that easy.

i remember how despair it was to do garuda Hard mode (yes, hard mode) in early days but until 20-30th tries i was able to managed it and titan hm as well. got my relic after that and i started doing coil (end game contents)
looking back how i able to develop myself to become better in the game
is worth the money. and this game is still new. expect more contents in future

i say buy the game and u get 30days sub. u can reach lv50 and end the storyline which took roughly 30-50hrs to play. it really worth the money even just to play its story mode. thinks like u play offline RPG but online
[d]-ky
post Feb 21 2014, 03:13 PM

633 posts

it actually took me 2 days to finish the story, 3 days to get full dl, 1 day to complete relic quest, started plying in december 2013, so i think i was like carried by those overgeared df :3

anyway, imo, this game worth the money, at least to me
TSGrayson
post Feb 22 2014, 02:08 AM

319 posts

thanks for the feedback guys smile.gif
TSGrayson
post Feb 22 2014, 04:15 AM

319 posts

QUOTE(poipoy @ Feb 21 2014, 10:45 AM)

thank you bro for taking time in give me a clear explanation smile.gif notworthy.gif will heed your advise smile.gif
poipoy
post Feb 23 2014, 02:30 AM

102 posts

QUOTE(Madgeiser @ Feb 21 2014, 12:21 PM)
I play it on and off whenever i can squeeze some playtime in. It is a good game, depending on how you view it. If you are the type whom is absolutely must have everything maxed out and treat it like a grind fest, probability of you subbing past 6 months is almost non-existence.

For me, i play maybe 4 times a week. Depending on free time, sometimes just 15-30 minutes, sometimes hours on end. Still enjoying the game, and i have been playing since CBT. Some friends whom treat it like a grind fest has already long stopped playing.

Too bad there isn't a free trial, else you can just give it a go and see if you like it before committing.  smile.gif
I'm just giving the OP my view. My last sentence did clarify that. I dont care about your view, so you don't need to quote my text. You play 4 times a week, sometime only 15-30mins. I play 10hours+ per day, I don't need to work, I can just sit at home while my bank account grows, so we are apparently in different situations. Don't push your own situation to me and tell me that you enjoy it becoz u can only play mins to few hours. and dont judge how long i can sub to a game. I sub FFXI for 8 years, only active for 5 years and just let the sub cont when i quit. Why? because I can afford a measely US13/month.

FYI, There is a free trial, I trial 1month in 1.0, I played since beta, I play during early access, I got my new 2 weeks free when launch date starts. So I dont need you to tell me whether I need to commit to a game or not. I'm a FF fan, I played every series. The game is boring for gamers that had experience alot of mmos past or new, You don't need to defend that, it's really a fun game, but when contents are finished there's really not much to do. Since you're those really casual type, I just want you to stop viewing your situation and think everyone must think like you. You enjoy the game, I'm glad for you. I enjoy it for every 1-2 months on a new patch then got bored, that's my feel. I did say that to the OP.
MaxSteR88
post Mar 19 2014, 05:19 PM

488 posts

Me personally, i am a student as well and i am on my final year.
but im not sure how tight your budget is, as i am not that tight as i do some part time as well.
for me the game was worth it, i enjoy it till today and with the coming 2.2 patch , i cant wait to see Leviathan. one of my favourite egis, aoens , summons,gf what ever term u want to use tongue.gif
but like you it took me more than a month after the game released to really buy the game as i was thinking ah it is pay to play, can i afford this, will this be a problem for me. but till today no problem as i pay 3 months ahead lol...
this is how i calculated to "sedapkan hati" , RM50 per month divide by 30days a month RM1.67 a day, which is roughly like one "teh o ais" at mamak lol.
so it is all up to u how u wanna view it.
good luck on ur decision thumbup.gif

0.1285sec    0.52    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 10:10 PM