Android TV Box

andrewL
post Mar 13 2016, 01:51 AM

633 posts

hi guys.. may i know what is the difference between a product like HiMedia H8 Octa Core (2G RAM+16GB) vs Nvidia Shield ?

I saw many reviews about Nvidia Shield which were quite good and I am wondering if i should spend big bucks on it vs something like the Himediah8?

I'm looking for something to play/stream 1080p shows and probably some occasional gaming for the living room.

(if can torrent will be best)
andrewL
post Mar 13 2016, 03:28 AM

633 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Mar 13 2016, 01:55 AM)
Difference is miles apart and has been discussed repeatedly.. Simply put, want the best and can afford it? Get the Nvidia Shield TV box..
Thank you very much for the feedback. based on your comment alone i have instantly ordered my Nvidia shield ! rclxm9.gif

I forsee i shall be needing alot of sifu help and advice in the coming days notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
andrewL
post Mar 14 2016, 11:37 PM

633 posts

HI GUYS !
could you suggest a suitable controller for the Nvidia shield?
andrewL
post Mar 16 2016, 11:44 AM

633 posts

QUOTE(jchue73 @ Mar 15 2016, 10:22 PM)
On top of the original Shield controller for playing games, mine came free with their remote.

Anyway, I still use a wireless mouse / keyboard combo. Sometimes the mouse does not scroll properly at Shield's main menu. I have to use the keyboard arrow keys to scroll and navigate to the apps below and then press Enter key.
hi bro, my unit doesnt come with a free remote unfortunately.. and it cost USD50 for the remote excluding transport charges.
Do you mind pm me where you bought yours and for how much ?
andrewL
post Mar 17 2016, 07:21 PM

633 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Mar 16 2016, 09:37 AM)
I believe one can just use a passive adapter for the Malaysian power sockets, seeing as the main power adapter is rated to accept between 100 -  220v, 1.2A.
Wah! Thanks for the heads up! i forgot i am getting my unit from US which will definitely require an adapter.

Will have to look for this.

Another thing: i read somewhere (sos: http://whatplug.info/from/usa/to/malaysia) that the voltage may not be complient ? anyone faced any issue with voltage so far? meed transformer ??
andrewL
post Mar 27 2016, 05:45 PM

633 posts

QUOTE(calvin @ Mar 27 2016, 03:01 PM)
amazon is bundling the free remote with shield purchase now.. thumbup.gif

http://www.amazon.com/NVIDIA-SHIELD-Remote...Y2ZSS00P7F82JQJ

the only thing is how to get it here sweat.gif
OMG !! i bought 1 week earlier... and it even arrived late !
andrewL
post Mar 27 2016, 07:28 PM

633 posts

QUOTE(calvin @ Mar 27 2016, 07:21 PM)
Bought it through forwarder ?
i just used the amazon delivery considering price of local sellers are also around rm1350

0.6921sec    0.35    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 09:05 AM