Android TV Box

AVFAN
post Nov 9 2015, 05:29 PM

24,453 posts

QUOTE(Prissy Elf @ Nov 9 2015, 05:19 PM)
Dear sifus,

I'm planning on getting an android TV box to replace Astro for my parents. Nothing to watch on Astro anymore. Keep repeating the same series over and over.  mad.gif
there is no box that will replace astro. it does not work like that.

for older people, it is even more difficult unless they are used to pc's, mouse, copy and paste, downloads, usb drives, etc.

i suggest u visit a friend, colleague or neighbor who has an androidbox working.

see for yrself if you can handle it, if yr parents can handle it.

.. it is a diff kind of device compared to astro decoder or dvd player.
.. needs time and effort to make it work.
.. needs constant upgrades and changes.
.. does not have much reliable canto stuff unless u go illegal.
ekudz
post Nov 9 2015, 05:39 PM

Vaper Enthusiast
736 posts

Dear sifus,

I'm planning on getting an android TV box to replace Astro for my parents. Nothing to watch on Astro anymore. Keep repeating the same series over and over.  mad.gif

Basically to watch China, HK, Taiwan series/movies, Taiwan live news update and English series/movies. Can someone recommend a good one? I was hoping for one which can support Kodi. Been looking at Xiaomi MiBox but read somewhere that the RAM is not enough to support Kodi caching which causes Kodi to freeze/crash.  rclxub.gif

My budget is around RM300-RM500. My TV is not a smart TV but has HDMI connection. Internet streamyx 4mbps considering to upgrade to unifi 5mbps.

Thank you!  rclxms.gif
upgrade to unifi .. they will give u stb android box and can be use for kodi (im using it now).

This post has been edited by ekudz: Nov 9 2015, 05:39 PM
voncrane
post Nov 9 2015, 05:51 PM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

Dear sifus,

Basically to watch China, HK, Taiwan series/movies, Taiwan live news update and English series/movies. Can someone recommend a good one? I was hoping for one which can support Kodi. Been looking at Xiaomi MiBox but read somewhere that the RAM is not enough to support Kodi caching which causes Kodi to freeze/crash.  rclxub.gif

My budget is around RM300-RM500. My TV is not a smart TV but has HDMI connection. Internet streamyx 4mbps considering to upgrade to unifi 5mbps.

Thank you!  rclxms.gif
What AVFAN says.. nod.gif ... Also, you should consider upgrading to 10Mbps or the newer 30Mbps package. You'll need it to stream most content.

This post has been edited by voncrane: Nov 9 2015, 05:53 PM
slashie
post Nov 9 2015, 09:37 PM

203 posts

QUOTE(Hianz @ Nov 9 2015, 09:55 AM)
OK. thanks for information..

for free channels.. would I be able to enjoy sports channels like Spain or England football live telecast every week..?

Are those HD channels..??
For English premier league, I normally use Phoenix kodi addon and it is in HD.
petlu28
post Nov 9 2015, 11:08 PM

3,936 posts

You may buy HiMedia from him. Today I start using it.

https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=3677149&hl=

Dear sifus,

Thank you!  rclxms.gif
Prissy Elf
post Nov 11 2015, 01:26 PM

282 posts

QUOTE(ekudz @ Nov 9 2015, 05:39 PM)
upgrade to unifi .. they will give u stb android box and can be use for kodi (im using it now).
TM called to give promotion to upgrade to Unifi 5mbps. Will they give me the new stb android box with google play store pre-installed? biggrin.gif Or maybe they want to clear old stock and give me old model tongue.gif How many mbps is your connection if you don't mind me asking? smile.gif

QUOTE(voncrane)
What AVFAN says..  nod.gif ... Also, you should consider upgrading to 10Mbps or the newer 30Mbps package. You'll need it to stream most content.
Will 5mbps work? Must make sure can stream before terminating Astro or my parents will kill me! laugh.gif

voncrane
post Nov 11 2015, 02:31 PM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

QUOTE(Prissy Elf @ Nov 11 2015, 01:26 PM)
TM called to give promotion to upgrade to Unifi 5mbps. Will they give me the new stb android box with google play store pre-installed?  biggrin.gif Or maybe they want to clear old stock and give me old model  tongue.gif How many mbps is your connection if you don't mind me asking? smile.gif

Will 5mbps work? Must make sure can stream before terminating Astro or my parents will kill me!  laugh.gif
Standard answer when asking for new equipment while still under contract would be shakehead.gif shakehead.gif . Most who got newer equipment had to terminate (return old equipment) and apply as a new installation. I'm on VIP10 and still trying to negotiate with TM for newer equipment. Should negotiation fail, since there are a few months left under contract, I might have to wait it out.

I believe TM has scrapped the VIP5 & VIP10 plans in favor of their new plans. IMO, while 5Mbps "might" do the job, there are some sources and content that will struggle to play smoothly and without buffering. Especially when there are multiple internet users at the same time. Since, you plan on terminating Astro, the extra RM32 per month difference between Unifi VIP5 (RM157.94) & Advance 30Mbps (RM189.74) plans should be negligible. Wanna risk being tossed out the window by your parents, while waiting for content to buffer? tongue.gif

This post has been edited by voncrane: Nov 11 2015, 02:44 PM
Prissy Elf
post Nov 11 2015, 03:22 PM

282 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Nov 11 2015, 02:31 PM)
Standard answer when asking for new equipment while still under contract would be  shakehead.gif  shakehead.gif . Most who got newer equipment had to terminate (return old equipment) and apply as a new installation. I'm on VIP10 and still trying to negotiate with TM for newer equipment. Should negotiation fail, since there are a few months left under contract, I might have to wait it out.

I believe TM has scrapped the VIP5 & VIP10 plans in favor of their new plans. IMO, while 5Mbps "might" do the job, there are some sources and content that will struggle to play smoothly and without buffering. Especially when there are multiple internet users at the same time. Since, you plan on terminating Astro, the extra RM32 per month difference between Unifi VIP5 (RM157.94) & Advance 30Mbps (RM189.74) plans should be negligible. Wanna risk being tossed out the window by your parents, while waiting for content to buffer?  tongue.gif
LOL!!

TM said they have special promo for Unifi 5mbps. I'm still using streamyx so they said will give me new modem, dect phone, tv box, wiring blah blah blah. Maybe I will try the 5mbps first before terminating Astro and if streaming not okay, then only consider 30mbps. biggrin.gif

ekudz
post Nov 11 2015, 03:22 PM

Vaper Enthusiast
736 posts

QUOTE(Prissy Elf @ Nov 11 2015, 01:26 PM)
TM called to give promotion to upgrade to Unifi 5mbps. Will they give me the new stb android box with google play store pre-installed?  biggrin.gif Or maybe they want to clear old stock and give me old model  tongue.gif How many mbps is your connection if you don't mind me asking? smile.gif

QUOTE(voncrane)
What AVFAN says..  nod.gif ... Also, you should consider upgrading to 10Mbps or the newer 30Mbps package. You'll need it to stream most content.
Will 5mbps work? Must make sure can stream before terminating Astro or my parents will kill me! laugh.gif
im using 5mbps and no problem .. except playing 1080 movies .. need to wait for buffering .. other's all ok ..
for stb .. u just need to make report for stb replacement (if still under warranty) if not .. cant change. all new unifi package TM currently provide with new android box .. this is what i told ..
kinggerrard
post Nov 11 2015, 03:33 PM

198 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Nov 6 2015, 04:53 PM)
Yup, same here... Launching it throws an error, will look into resolving that. As for Movies4k.to....... If you have Fusion Tvaddons.ag installed, go to its addon installer > From Repositories > Elezear's Repo > Video Addons.... Its in there. For now, launching it also throws an error, will look into resolving that as well. Some suggest trying it with a VPN.
Same here.. MoviesHD is not working.. Wondering whether is it the creator has removed it or my setting problem.. Is there anyone managed to use MoviesHD?
voncrane
post Nov 11 2015, 03:34 PM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

QUOTE(Prissy Elf @ Nov 11 2015, 03:22 PM)
LOL!!

TM said they have special promo for Unifi 5mbps. I'm still using streamyx so they said will give me new modem, dect phone, tv box, wiring blah blah blah. Maybe I will try the 5mbps first before terminating Astro and if streaming not okay, then only consider 30mbps.  biggrin.gif
Ah... I guess migrating from Streamyx to Unifi does warrant different equipment. Sounds like you have it all sorted out then. rclxms.gif
AVFAN
post Nov 11 2015, 05:20 PM

24,453 posts

QUOTE(kinggerrard @ Nov 11 2015, 03:33 PM)
Same here.. MoviesHD is not working.. Wondering whether is it the creator has removed it or my setting problem.. Is there anyone managed to use MoviesHD?
good question.

i lost it too. the last time i accessed it, a message popped up saying something like only certain users will allowed to use for the time being while a new app is being developed for all. until now, nothing.

i also read somewhere that for now, movieHD is sensitive the chipset type/model and mac numbers.

it is possible they are now filtering such that only certain devices can play.

but never mind... there is still popcorntime and showbox, besides all that stuff in kodi. wink.gif

Like a Bause
post Nov 11 2015, 05:31 PM

419 posts

best app to watch korean and taiwan is which source?
petlu28
post Nov 11 2015, 10:28 PM

3,936 posts

Mine movieHD too can't access already. So the apps should delete or just keep it?

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Nov 11 2015, 05:20 PM)
good question.

i lost it too. the last time i accessed it, a message popped up saying something like only certain users will allowed to use for the time being while a new app is being developed for all. until now, nothing.

i also read somewhere that for now, movieHD is sensitive the chipset type/model and mac numbers.

it is possible they are now filtering such that only certain devices can play.

but never mind... there is still popcorntime and showbox, besides all that stuff in kodi. wink.gif
This post has been edited by petlu28: Nov 11 2015, 10:36 PM
AVFAN
post Nov 11 2015, 10:42 PM

24,453 posts

QUOTE(petlu28 @ Nov 11 2015, 10:28 PM)
Mine movieHD too can't access already. So the apps should delete or just keep it?
can remove.

can reinstall later if good news come.
petlu28
post Nov 11 2015, 11:04 PM

3,936 posts

Noted. Thanks bro

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Nov 11 2015, 10:42 PM)
can remove.

can reinstall later if good news come.
petlu28
post Nov 11 2015, 11:34 PM

3,936 posts

Just receive Azdrama prompt update. It's work back.
voncrane
post Nov 12 2015, 01:22 AM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

Hey all.. As regards MoviesHD addon no longer functioning. Download the New Movies HD APK. From my brief test/usage... it appears most of the content playback options are mostly 480p or 720p, and with some listings at 1080p. Audio so far is 2.0 AAC. Tested about 15 links, movies and TV shows and they all played pretty smoothly and almost instantly. So that seems to rule torrents out. Oh yeah, it has its own internal player but also allows external players like KODI, etc (Good...Helps to source subtitles as subs aren't included in the apk yet), direct content downloads are also allowed.

I can neither confirm nor deny any details of this app's operation without the secretary’s.... oops... Movies HD team's approval. tongue.gif
mun88
post Nov 12 2015, 01:06 PM

846 posts

QUOTE(nikrizal @ Nov 9 2015, 10:08 AM)
using KODI, almost everything free, HD as well.
i new to KODI, it is all "free to watch" ??
Like a Bause
post Nov 12 2015, 03:39 PM

419 posts

wanna know is this steps in this link good to use? or better to install one by one?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6_NbmSAzyPo

248 Pages « < 36 37 38 39 40 > » Top

0.0197sec    0.24    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 02:47 AM