Android TV Box

cchean
post Jul 3 2015, 09:11 AM

176 posts

[quote=AVFAN,Jul 2 2015, 11:43 PM]
let me chip in... biggrin.gif

i have himedia q5ii for 1.5 yrs and q16 for almost a year now. very happy.

never used minix.

I must say that Q16 has been working very well for me after using it for a few months. No complaints so far..
voncrane
post Jul 3 2015, 09:14 PM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

never used minix.

from what i read:

minix is yr choice if u r heavy KODI user due to customised kodi/dev involvement.
support, i hv no idea.
made in hong kong, i believe.
a bit more expensive, i think.

himedia q16 is similar in specs to that minx except:
- it can pass thru dtshdma, dd truehd and dd atmos audio while minix cannot (this is what i know then, not very sure now) - impt if u r using home 5.1/7.1 theater.
i find the hardware, playback codecs and wifi capability very good.
support - varies from seller to seller, some sell n forget, some support all the way.
for launcher and settings, it is dual language, u can toss between eng and chi
eng apps like kodi and oithers, it is eng, no chinese.
chinese apps will be chinese on any device.
i will say both are good, depends on yr needs and preference. wink.gif

[/quote]

[quote=cchean,Jul 3 2015, 09:11 AM]

never used minix.
I must say that Q16 has been working very well for me after using it for a few months. No complaints so far..

[/quote]

Valid points. biggrin.gif As mentioned support is tricky at best especially for the uninitiated. As for pass-through, The Minix Neo-X8 H Plus has full support for H.264, HEVC, DD (Dolby Digital), DTS (Dolby Theatre System) and Dolby pass-through. So far and to the best of my knowledge, 7.1 Dolby True HD is not currently possible on an S812-H chip. 7.1 DTS Master Audio is possible but maybe down-mixed. I'm a tweaker and I expect my devices to not only be tweakable but also have a strong following online for guaranteed firmware upgrades, new mods and tricks. Sure its a bit biased, as I lack interest in non-English apps and content. So as the nice folks above have mentioned, it boils down to one's preference. I'd rather be safe than sorry b4 coughing up close to RM600 on a box. nod.gif

This post has been edited by voncrane: Jul 3 2015, 09:21 PM
dopp
post Jul 4 2015, 10:33 AM

1,733 posts

There is seller in lowyat that provide support for Q16. As for minix, the casing is plastic and looks cheap.

Q16 is metal based, larger , therefore better ventilation.
He sells minix as well. You dont have to risk import,just grab from him for RM500+
AVFAN
post Jul 4 2015, 12:54 PM

24,453 posts

there is this app:
http://tvapp.so/

below was recently discussed in another thread:

QUOTE(andru @ Jun 15 2015, 06:24 PM)
It cannot work on Android box. It works with Android phone.

QUOTE(voncrane @ Jun 15 2015, 07:51 PM)
Hmmm.... Works as expected on my tablet. How about editing the build.prop temporarily on an android box to match a nexus device? Changing the android version, model and product brand?
QUOTE(AVFAN @ Jun 15 2015, 09:28 PM)
i tried tvapp.so 1.1.2 and 1.1.3 on android 4.2 and 4.4.
all failed.

QUOTE(andru @ Jun 15 2015, 09:58 PM)
How nice if it can work with Android Box.
I am use it at my HTPC to watch live TV shows and really happy with the quality.
Wish there are sports channel too especially EPL from Skysports or Bein
(Anyway these sports channels are always available in Navi/Kodi)
Enjoy when it is there.
Have a nice day guys
i got great news for himedia q16 owners. update yr firmware to latest 1.0.9 and this tvapp will work, in hd. thumbup.gif

you will recognize many of the popular iptv hd channels, enjoy!

other android boxes should be able to do same with latest firmwares.
voncrane
post Jul 6 2015, 12:22 AM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Jul 4 2015, 12:54 PM)
there is this app:

i got great news for himedia q16 owners. update yr firmware to latest 1.0.9 and this tvapp will work, in hd. thumbup.gif

Nice... Looking much better now and smooth streaming. Oh Yeah, app has channel guides as well..
alwyn75
post Jul 6 2015, 04:08 PM

253 posts

there is this app:

How to use this app in Raspberry pi 2?
AVFAN
post Jul 6 2015, 04:36 PM

24,453 posts

QUOTE(alwyn75 @ Jul 6 2015, 04:08 PM)
How to use this app in Raspberry pi 2?
no idea.

but i know it works on androids and pc's.

maybe you can check with rpi users
calvincty
post Jul 7 2015, 12:08 PM

226 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Jul 2 2015, 11:16 PM)
You are welcome....

A rough currency conversion sees you paying about RM570 for the box, possibly having to deal with customs and also, I can't seem to find any warranty claims offered by the seller (despite very excellent feedback from previous buyers). Do you have a thing against buying local with a 1 year warranty for roughly the same amount or max RM600 with the A2 Lite Air Mouse included? I'd link several posts by good sellers but don't want to play favorites, so up to you.
Sure, would you mind to share me for the links of the sellers? Thanks so much!
voncrane
post Jul 7 2015, 02:33 PM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

QUOTE(calvincty @ Jul 7 2015, 12:08 PM)
Sure, would you mind to share me for the links of the sellers? Thanks so much!
Hey... Here u go tongue.gif
calvincty
post Jul 7 2015, 03:02 PM

226 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Jul 7 2015, 02:33 PM)
Hey... Here u go tongue.gif
Thanks! notworthy.gif
cchean
post Jul 10 2015, 03:50 PM

176 posts

there is this app:

How do you upgrade the firmware to 1.0.9 for Q16? Where do you get it? Thanks in advance sifu
AVFAN
post Jul 10 2015, 04:17 PM

24,453 posts

QUOTE(cchean @ Jul 10 2015, 03:50 PM)
How do you upgrade the firmware to 1.0.9 for Q16? Where do you get it?  Thanks in advance sifu
yr seller would have it, get from seller.

if u haven't update before, the updating is done using usb drive, settings.
siauann
post Jul 10 2015, 04:44 PM

Music-Movies-Coffee
3,375 posts

there is this app:

i cant install it in my x8h. dont know why. but it works on my ipad mini 2.
AVFAN
post Jul 10 2015, 04:50 PM

24,453 posts

QUOTE(siauann @ Jul 10 2015, 04:44 PM)
i cant install it in my x8h. dont know why. but it works on my ipad mini 2.
like i said, if yr androidbox can't play it now, chances are a new firmware is required - check with yr seller.

i was so disappointed when i watched it work on pc but not on my box 3 weeks ago.

last week, a new firmware got it working.

this tvapp.so app is good, among the best one can ever find! latest version now is 1.1.5.
siauann
post Jul 10 2015, 04:58 PM

Music-Movies-Coffee
3,375 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Jul 10 2015, 04:50 PM)
like i said, if yr androidbox can't play it now, chances are a new firmware is required - check with yr seller.

i was so disappointed when i watched it work on pc but not on my box 3 weeks ago.

last week, a new firmware got it working.

this tvapp.so app is good, among the best one can ever find! latest version now is 1.1.5.
i try update teh firmware and see how it goes biggrin.gif
xngjn
post Jul 10 2015, 05:34 PM

1,239 posts

I cant play http://tvapp.so/ on my windows 7 and Samsung note 3.
It just keep on loading after I select the channel.
AVFAN
post Jul 10 2015, 05:36 PM

24,453 posts

QUOTE(xngjn @ Jul 10 2015, 05:34 PM)
I cant play http://tvapp.so/ on my windows 7 and Samsung note 3.
It just keep on loading after I select the channel.
hmm... try uninstall and reinstall latest version.

or yr broadband weak...?

i just tried it on my pc windows 8.1.

works like a charm... in hd.

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Jul 10 2015, 05:40 PM
xngjn
post Jul 10 2015, 05:40 PM

1,239 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Jul 10 2015, 05:36 PM)

or yr broadband weak...?

what yours version? My android was 1.1.5
windows 7 is TVApp for PC v1.0
AVFAN
post Jul 10 2015, 05:47 PM

24,453 posts

QUOTE(xngjn @ Jul 10 2015, 05:40 PM)
what yours version? My android was 1.1.5
windows 7 is TVApp for PC v1.0
same versions... but i suspect...

my androidbox vs yr android phone - maybe yr phone needs next update?
windows 8 vs windows 7..?
voncrane
post Jul 10 2015, 11:42 PM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Jul 10 2015, 05:36 PM)

or yr broadband weak...?

Works on a Nexus tablet but not on my windows 8.1 PC. Also, Its a bit suspect why it asks for admin rights to run on the PC.

248 Pages « < 17 18 19 20 21 > » Top

0.0223sec    0.37    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 02:10 PM