Android TV Box

shenmui
post Jun 26 2015, 12:51 PM

265 posts

QUOTE(alwyn75 @ Jun 20 2015, 03:21 PM)
Dear sifu,

Hope you could advise me whether i should buy this item due to budget and seldom watch TV, only watch during weekend (mostly astro knowledge channels like nat geo wild, history channels, mega builder and do on)

I planned to buy this
item(s): CS918 RK3188 Quad Core
Hardware Specifications:
Rockchip RK3188 Quad Core Cortex A9 1.6GHz (1.8GHz max.)
2GB Ram
8GB NAND Flash
Android 4.4 android tv box
802.11 b/g/n Wi-Fi(2.4GHz)
RJ-45, Micro SD Card reader, USB, OTG, SPDIF
Quad Core Mali 400MP GPU

It is compatible with kodi? Everything can run smoothly?
I'm newbie to android TV box by the way.

Thank you for your advice in advanced.
I think minix neo 8h + or neo 8+ is the best

abu.shofwan
post Jun 29 2015, 01:12 PM

1,455 posts

looking for a hdmi stick that runs android to stream shows (off browse/chrome, or app based) - no gaming intended. needs to be stick shape, so that i can conceal behind my tv (otherwise my kids will realise it's there and just... well, you know kids).
anyone can recommend something or have experience?
also, more importantly any shop selling close to KLCC area?
voncrane
post Jun 30 2015, 08:23 PM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

QUOTE(abu.shofwan @ Jun 29 2015, 01:12 PM)
looking for a hdmi stick that runs android to stream shows (off browse/chrome, or app based) - no gaming intended. needs to be stick shape, so that i can conceal behind my tv (otherwise my kids will realise it's there and just... well, you know kids).
anyone can recommend something or have experience?
also, more importantly any shop selling close to KLCC area?
Tons of Android powered sticks out there to choose for. Be hard to recommend such cuz they often always have performance issues.
muncheno
post Jul 1 2015, 09:40 AM

736 posts

QUOTE(alwyn75 @ Jun 20 2015, 03:21 PM)
Dear sifu,

Hope you could advise me whether i should buy this item due to budget and seldom watch TV, only watch during weekend (mostly astro knowledge channels like nat geo wild, history channels, mega builder and do on)

I planned to buy this
item(s): CS918 RK3188 Quad Core
Hardware Specifications:
Rockchip RK3188 Quad Core Cortex A9 1.6GHz (1.8GHz max.)
2GB Ram
8GB NAND Flash
Android 4.4 android tv box
802.11 b/g/n Wi-Fi(2.4GHz)
RJ-45, Micro SD Card reader, USB, OTG, SPDIF
Quad Core Mali 400MP GPU

It is compatible with kodi? Everything can run smoothly?
I'm newbie to android TV box by the way.

Thank you for your advice in advanced.
I'm using this android box, but with additional web camera on top.
Still running on XBMC Gotham, rooted and no problem with Azdrama, Genesis and Showbox.
Running on Time Dot Com - 10mbps and I don't found any issue for my use.

Only problem I would complaint is the remote is rather slow response and limited range.
For the problem, I got my self a wireless remote MEELE F10(cant recall the name).

Wanted to try to Kodi later, but reading here alot of ppl have issue with KODI stability.
So will delay until a more stable version is out or the add-on is not working anymore.

Just my 2-cents.
stix
post Jul 1 2015, 01:19 PM

276 posts

Guys, i have a question. I was using Android TVbox previously and it basically sucked all the line connection to it and left everything else slow. Laptops, phones basically have very laggy connection when the TVBox is on. Anyone know whats the issue?
Nova_Ghost
post Jul 1 2015, 01:51 PM

65 posts

QUOTE(stix @ Jul 1 2015, 01:19 PM)
Guys, i have a question. I was using Android TVbox previously and it basically sucked all the line connection to it and left everything else slow. Laptops, phones basically have very laggy connection when the TVBox is on. Anyone know whats the issue?
QoS. Set it up in your router.
stix
post Jul 1 2015, 02:11 PM

276 posts

QUOTE(Nova_Ghost @ Jul 1 2015, 01:51 PM)
QoS. Set it up in your router.
I tried but my router is too damn complicated to do the QoS right. By the way, anyone else face this issue?
AVFAN
post Jul 1 2015, 03:11 PM

24,453 posts

QUOTE(stix @ Jul 1 2015, 01:19 PM)
what broadband speed do u hv?

an android box typically takes up 100-300 kbps to work.

so, if u hv 5mbps, yr mobile devices should still work ok.

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Jul 1 2015, 03:13 PM
stix
post Jul 1 2015, 03:13 PM

276 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Jul 1 2015, 03:11 PM)
what broadband speed do u hv?

an android box typically takes up 100-300 kbps to work.

so, if u hv 5mbps, yr mobile devices should still work ok.
8mpbs. Most of my usage turned spiky with high ping. Damn
AVFAN
post Jul 1 2015, 03:17 PM

24,453 posts

QUOTE(stix @ Jul 1 2015, 03:13 PM)
8mpbs. Most of my usage turned spiky with high ping. Damn
it shouldn't be a problem.

i hv 10 mbps - good for 1 pc, 2 android boxes and 2 tablets all at same time.

check yr actual broadband speed, wifi reception.

if router is old and cheap one, consider replacing with a better one - it helps a lot.
calvincty
post Jul 1 2015, 03:36 PM

226 posts

The Minix Neo X8 H Plus seems good feedbacks and alot of recommendation, buy my friend was saying that it's overpriced and intro me this http://www.aliexpress.com/af/S812.html?lty...iewCP=y&catId=0 for similar spec but half of the price.

Would like to get comments from sifus here is this good enough?
voncrane
post Jul 1 2015, 08:52 PM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

QUOTE(calvincty @ Jul 1 2015, 03:36 PM)
The Minix Neo X8 H Plus seems good feedbacks and alot of recommendation, buy my friend was saying that it's overpriced and intro me this http://www.aliexpress.com/af/S812.html?lty...iewCP=y&catId=0 for similar spec but half of the price.

Would like to get comments from sifus here is this good enough?
Which particular box did your friend recommend? As the link you posted merely pointed to search results on boxes with Amlogic S812 CPUs. Minix boxes come with a higher level of guarantees than your average box manufactured by less than popular companies even with identical hardware specs. Not to say its the perfect box but at least they offer software updates, work directly with the KODI Dev team, operate an official forum where you can go ask for fixes, tips or future requests, as well as there being lots of "unofficial" support forums, posts and how-to videos. Think of it this way, Apple, Sony and even Samsung products are mostly over-priced hardware but why do people buy them?

This post has been edited by voncrane: Jul 1 2015, 08:55 PM
calvincty
post Jul 1 2015, 09:36 PM

226 posts

Sorry wrong link pasted. He's recommended this http://www.aliexpress.com/item/Professiona...308.4.19.vCTyCB.

If minix x8-h+ is good buy, where can i buy except aliexpress
voncrane
post Jul 1 2015, 10:17 PM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

QUOTE(calvincty @ Jul 1 2015, 09:36 PM)
Sorry wrong link pasted.  He's recommended this http://www.aliexpress.com/item/Professiona...308.4.19.vCTyCB.

If minix x8-h+ is good buy,  where can i buy except aliexpress
I see... Here are some of the noteworthy hardware differences I picked up, where the Minix NEO X8-H Plus comes out on top.
*Internal Storage: 16GB eMMC vs 8GB NAND Flash
*Wireless Connectivity: Much faster & future proof 802.11ac Dual Band Wi-Fi with Bluetooth 4.0 vs Some unspecified (Probably 802.11n) Dual Band Wi-Fi, Bluetooth support also unknown.
*Ethernet: Gigabit Ethernet (10/100/1000Mbps) vs 10/100M only.
*KODI: Officially confirmed Kodi 15.0 Isengard compatibility vs Default 13.2 Gotham (KODI 15.0 support unknown).
*HDMI (Video Output): HDMI 1.4b, up to 4K @ 30fps with HDMI-CEC support vs HDMI 1.4 up to 1080p.
*USB: 3 USB 2.0 ports with 1 OTG port vs 2 USB 2.0 ports.
*Supported Audio Format: DD/DD+/MP2/MP3/WMA/WAV/OGG/OGA/FLAC/ALAC/APE/AAC vs MP3/WMA/WAV/OGG/AC3.
*Supported Video Format: DAT/MPEG/MPE/MPG/TS/TP/VOB/ISO/AVI/MP4/MOV/3GV/FLV vs AVI/RM/RMVB/TS/VOB/MKV/WMV/MPEG.

As you can see, those are hardly "similar" specs. In addition to buying local with 1 year local manufacturing warranty, I'd say its worth an extra $90, still up to you to decide though. As for other places to buy from besides Aliexpress. There's right here from forum members (Try a search in the garage sales section), DX and Lazada Malaysia with possibility to get a cheaper deal through discount codes. Though better support lowyat forum members... smile.gif

This post has been edited by voncrane: Jul 1 2015, 10:29 PM
calvincty
post Jul 2 2015, 12:18 AM

226 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Jul 1 2015, 10:17 PM)
I see... Here are some of the noteworthy hardware differences I picked up, where the Minix NEO X8-H Plus comes out on top.
*Wireless Connectivity: Much faster & future proof 802.11ac Dual Band Wi-Fi with Bluetooth 4.0 vs Some unspecified (Probably 802.11n) Dual Band Wi-Fi, Bluetooth support also unknown.
*KODI: Officially confirmed Kodi 15.0 Isengard compatibility vs Default 13.2 Gotham (KODI 15.0 support unknown).
*HDMI (Video Output): HDMI 1.4b, up to 4K @ 30fps with HDMI-CEC support vs HDMI 1.4 up to 1080p.
*Supported Audio Format: DD/DD+/MP2/MP3/WMA/WAV/OGG/OGA/FLAC/ALAC/APE/AAC vs MP3/WMA/WAV/OGG/AC3.
*Supported Video Format: DAT/MPEG/MPE/MPG/TS/TP/VOB/ISO/AVI/MP4/MOV/3GV/FLV vs AVI/RM/RMVB/TS/VOB/MKV/WMV/MPEG.

As you can see, those are hardly "similar" specs. In addition to buying local with 1 year local manufacturing warranty, I'd say its worth an extra $90, still up to you to decide though. As for other places to buy from besides Aliexpress. There's right here from forum members (Try a search in the garage sales section), DX and Lazada Malaysia with possibility to get a cheaper deal through discount codes. Though better support lowyat forum members... smile.gif
Oh, thanks for the detailed comparation between both, definitely minix is a worth buy over the another one. Will try to check it out the price in here. Thanks again! rclxms.gif
calvincty
post Jul 2 2015, 01:52 PM

226 posts

http://www.aliexpress.com/store/product/MI...2237713904.html

Currently free the A2 Lite airmouse, good buy?
dopp
post Jul 2 2015, 01:57 PM

1,733 posts

Isn't Himedia Q16 better?

QUOTE(voncrane @ Jul 1 2015, 10:17 PM)

voncrane
post Jul 2 2015, 11:04 PM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

QUOTE(dopp @ Jul 2 2015, 01:57 PM)
Depends on what you consider as better. Personally, I've never used any Himedia box before but would always pick boxes from Minix over them due to support alone...especially clear English support. Also, I believe to have read that hardware acceleration on KODI is unavailable.
voncrane
post Jul 2 2015, 11:16 PM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

QUOTE(calvincty @ Jul 2 2015, 12:18 AM)
Oh, thanks for the detailed comparation between both, definitely minix is a worth buy over the another one. Will try to check it out the price in here. Thanks again! rclxms.gif
You are welcome....
QUOTE(calvincty @ Jul 2 2015, 01:52 PM)
http://www.aliexpress.com/store/product/MI...2237713904.html

Currently free the A2 Lite airmouse, good buy?
A rough currency conversion sees you paying about RM570 for the box, possibly having to deal with customs and also, I can't seem to find any warranty claims offered by the seller (despite very excellent feedback from previous buyers). Do you have a thing against buying local with a 1 year warranty for roughly the same amount or max RM600 with the A2 Lite Air Mouse included? I'd link several posts by good sellers but don't want to play favorites, so up to you.
AVFAN
post Jul 2 2015, 11:43 PM

24,453 posts

QUOTE(dopp @ Jul 2 2015, 01:57 PM)

QUOTE(voncrane @ Jul 2 2015, 11:04 PM)
Depends on what you consider as better. Personally, I've never used any Himedia box before but would always pick boxes from Minix over them due to support alone...especially clear English support. Also, I believe to have read that hardware acceleration on KODI is unavailable.
let me chip in... biggrin.gif

i have himedia q5ii for 1.5 yrs and q16 for almost a year now. very happy.

never used minix.

from what i read:

minix is yr choice if u r heavy KODI user due to customised kodi/dev involvement.
support, i hv no idea.
made in hong kong, i believe.
a bit more expensive, i think.

himedia q16 is similar in specs to that minx except:
- it can pass thru dtshdma, dd truehd and dd atmos audio while minix cannot (this is what i know then, not very sure now) - impt if u r using home 5.1/7.1 theater.
i find the hardware, playback codecs and wifi capability very good.
support - varies from seller to seller, some sell n forget, some support all the way.
for launcher and settings, it is dual language, u can toss between eng and chi
eng apps like kodi and oithers, it is eng, no chinese.
chinese apps will be chinese on any device.

i will say both are good, depends on yr needs and preference. wink.gif

248 Pages « < 16 17 18 19 20 > » Top

0.0189sec    0.46    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 12:55 PM