Android TV Box

dwRK
post Jan 20 2017, 06:48 AM

the consummate chartist
6,230 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Jan 19 2017, 11:27 PM)
I turned down the bass volume but I found an easier way, I did connect those connectors tightly and firmly. Leave some space but strong enough to hold each other, then the hissing sound went off. I noticed it is without bass anymore. sweat.gif
Could be cable connection/grounding...

Anyways... FYI...

Hissing...if it is ever present whatever you do, ie cable connected properly...this white or pink noise is the noise floor of the electronics. It's very very low in good designs but it's still there and you can't hear it normally...bad design opposite lor...could also be cable picking up high frequency signal from nearby sources...usually badly designed switch mode power supply...ie chargers or power block...

Humming...loud 50hz bass sound...usually grounding/connection issue...

If you describe hissing correctly, can try untie the cable, keep it straight not looped, away from other cables, and see if the noise is reduced...but when you say went away...sounds like humming issue... sweat.gif

This post has been edited by dwRK: Jan 20 2017, 06:49 AM
dwRK
post Jan 20 2017, 12:01 PM

the consummate chartist
6,230 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Jan 20 2017, 11:22 AM)
Yeah, mine is this but mine is 32GB storage and 3GB RAM. Around RM 202 with daily bank credit card promo. rclxms.gif
Not worth for it. RM 18. Can get much much cheaper outside. I didn't expect I had to go to LYP yesterday, saw in Viewnet only RM 4. sad.gif
Awwww...dun be so sad... Sometimes have to take taxi instead of bus...

Your past week headache... Cured smile.gif

This post has been edited by dwRK: Jan 20 2017, 12:26 PM
dwRK
post Jan 20 2017, 06:37 PM

the consummate chartist
6,230 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Jan 20 2017, 06:18 PM)
i just found another one of this as i was cleaning up. another 2 in my "bag of cables".

never used them.

could have sent to u all 3 for free. laugh.gif
Aiyoo...why cucuk her like that? She already sad face pay so much...I try to make her forget n be happy...

Quick quick send all to her now to average down laugh.gif

dwRK
post Jan 21 2017, 11:39 AM

the consummate chartist
6,230 posts

QUOTE(BOTAK_WAI @ Jan 20 2017, 11:27 AM)
because i wanted a full size optical out, else i will get this model also. 4 usb ports damn convenient.

all this tv box are MXQ Pro variants
Have you compared optical vs spdif, n found optical better...

This post has been edited by dwRK: Jan 21 2017, 11:56 AM
dwRK
post Jan 21 2017, 11:53 AM

the consummate chartist
6,230 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Jan 21 2017, 11:43 AM)
Just wondering if bluetooth sound bar with subwoofer enough for my case? Will it cause hissing and humming noise if over BT? unsure.gif
Can u record the sound, upload somewhere for us to hear?

Don't play anything, just crank up the volume...

Otherwise we'll have to drive over to your house...😂

This post has been edited by dwRK: Jan 21 2017, 11:54 AM
dwRK
post Jan 21 2017, 12:08 PM

the consummate chartist
6,230 posts

QUOTE(BOTAK_WAI @ Jan 21 2017, 11:54 AM)
you confused with the term?

optical a.k.a toslink is subset of spdif

spdif = toslink / coaxial
Yes you're right...brain freeze...

So...coax vs optical?
dwRK
post Jan 21 2017, 12:55 PM

the consummate chartist
6,230 posts

QUOTE(BOTAK_WAI @ Jan 21 2017, 12:28 PM)
[CODE]
u will always read all this coax vs optical over the web, says coax theoretically better than optical because it doesn't need to convert signal twice like optical hence lower jitter kind of thing.

but for me, optical sounds better to me, a bit clearer sound.
Thanks...I've been in hi-fi long enough to know just trust your own ears...

Plan to get a new box soon that's why wanna get some other first hand experiences...
dwRK
post Jan 21 2017, 03:19 PM

the consummate chartist
6,230 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Jan 21 2017, 12:08 PM)
laugh.gif Here you go. http://www.filedropper.com/record-002
Not sure if it is playable, if not, please let me know. biggrin.gif
I hope it is clear to you guys. laugh.gif
Exactly, I tried with my Xiaomi BT speaker that day and it kept breaking. sweat.gif
...its electrical interferences...

the question is...what is generating it? what is picking it up? objective is try to eliminate either one or better both...

I suspect its gonna be tough for you to test, since you don't have a stash of cables, power blocks, dac, etc...

anyway can try these process of elimination first...

1. with everything hooked up, switch off power to the box...leave the speaker power on...got problem?
2. switch power to box on, unplug 3.5mm from the box but leave it near the box...got problem?
3. if 2 got problem, switch power to box off...got problem?
4. Use old 3.5mm to 3.5mm cable...I know only one side got sound but...got problem?
try a different power block to the box if possible...ask friend who has similar or different box to try...

dwRK
post Jan 21 2017, 03:20 PM

the consummate chartist
6,230 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Jan 21 2017, 02:18 PM)
The next thing I'm going to do is buy shorter cables, like 0.3m? laugh.gif
best try not to use cable... smile.gif

This post has been edited by dwRK: Jan 21 2017, 03:30 PM
dwRK
post Jan 21 2017, 05:54 PM

the consummate chartist
6,230 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Jan 21 2017, 04:09 PM)
Thanks for the tips. I will try when I'm home later.
Nobody else has this box..

I remembered I had this issue with one sided speaker issue on my white HyppTV box but the box is not with me now.
I can't. sad.gif Wanna use BT will break pulak. sad.gif
I will just get a TV and close case then. sad.gif
Don't have to be the same box...just wanna check is it yr box problem...ie, their box no buzzz, swap your box...buzzz...

Also if power supply is same...is your supply causing the buzzz...

Go test it on TV...using HDMI & red/white plug...

This test not about one sided sound...wanna check is it new cable problem...ie, old 3.5mm cable no buzzz, new 2-piece cable...buzzz...even though it's only one sided buzzz

If box/supply is problem...quickly exchange lor...

Ok to clarify...i said try not to use cable mean use connector as suggested by botak_wai...less cable less chance of problems...btw shorter is better than longer...

This post has been edited by dwRK: Jan 21 2017, 06:00 PM
dwRK
post Jan 22 2017, 10:16 AM

the consummate chartist
6,230 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Jan 22 2017, 12:52 AM)
Did the above... Looks like not the box issue but my speaker issue... Even when the box is not powered up, the speakers have that humming noise but soft though... However once plugged to the box it become louder, plugged to laptop the humming noise is gone.
Edit: After I re-powered up and re-plugged in my speakers again, no more obvious  humming noise when plugged in to box. I think I can live with it then. smile.gif

Case closed for my case. Thanks for all the help. smile.gif
thumbup.gif
dwRK
post Jan 22 2017, 03:46 PM

the consummate chartist
6,230 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Jan 22 2017, 12:38 PM)
Yes, that's my plan to borrow from friends to try out. smile.gif
I seriously doubt it's deteriorated speaker foam/paper surround. IMHO that is a wrong diagnosis...reason being the speaker plays fine when connected to your PC.

You can try connecting to your phone... I suspect it will be OK too.

The problem is likely caused by inferior design, mismatch impedance, & cable issues.

The box has a line level output...it is expecting a high impedance load. Headphone output is designed to drive low impedance load...and your edifier is probably designed for this. This mismatch can cause parasitic oscillation...
dwRK
post Jan 25 2017, 09:29 AM

the consummate chartist
6,230 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Jan 25 2017, 06:40 AM)
Help is already available.. Read the thread.. These type of questions get asked too frequently and have been answered.
Answer is simple... Nvidia Shield...AOTG.... laugh.gif

Ya every day or so same questions...pening...
dwRK
post Jan 25 2017, 12:22 PM

the consummate chartist
6,230 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Jan 25 2017, 10:04 AM)
few people bother to respond becos your kind of question is asked by someone every week.

tired of repeating.

there are no straightforward answers unless u understand what such a box can and cannot do, provide details on preferences.

but all the relevant info, views and comments are in this thread and individual brand box threads - xiaomi, beelink, himedia, minix. check all of them.

and if it helps:
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3126605/+3540
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3126605/+1420
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3126605/+3940
Honestly I don't mind replying if they have done some basic homework and ask the right questions...

dwRK
post Jan 28 2017, 11:00 AM

the consummate chartist
6,230 posts

S905 vs S912

http://www.cnx-software.com/2016/09/19/aml...rks-comparison/

This post has been edited by dwRK: Jan 28 2017, 11:00 AM
dwRK
post Jan 28 2017, 11:06 AM

the consummate chartist
6,230 posts

QUOTE(nikrizal @ Jan 28 2017, 09:04 AM)
I own both Minix X8h (3 years) and newly acquired S912 H96 Pro Plus 3/32 gb. Minix is very reliable, whereas the other one still need time to tell. But thedifferences between S912 and the older neo u1 are hugh!

If u want to stick with minix, wait for u9
You meant your older x8h right?
dwRK
post Jan 28 2017, 11:13 AM

the consummate chartist
6,230 posts

Some TV boxes reviews...ignore the scores but read the article... See what plays/passthrough, what doesn't & why...and are they an issue to you...

https://www.avforums.com/homecinema/reviews...eo-streamers.29

dwRK
post Jan 28 2017, 05:30 PM

the consummate chartist
6,230 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Jan 28 2017, 12:17 PM)
This list is good.

No prices though.

We know some of them.

Others like wetek... any idea who is selling locally?
Just to help get folks started... smile.gif

On Lazada, search "kiii" or "kii" tv box for wetek "lookalikes"...no idea if it's the same. No idea on local seller...

I've seen lookalikes for Himedia q5 pro with identical specs but perform significantly worse...so buyer beware...

This post has been edited by dwRK: Jan 28 2017, 06:57 PM
dwRK
post Jan 28 2017, 05:43 PM

the consummate chartist
6,230 posts

Some other sites with TV box reviews, & fan supports...

http://www.eyalo.com/
http://www.cnx-software.com/
http://freaktab.com/
http://www.futeko.com/newforum/

BTW... There are Russian & Chinese sites to explore too but these are good enough to get started for everyone... laugh.gif

This post has been edited by dwRK: Jan 28 2017, 06:16 PM
dwRK
post Jan 28 2017, 11:12 PM

the consummate chartist
6,230 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Jan 28 2017, 09:49 PM)
former is 2/16gb, latter is 2/8gb - not a good comparison.

better u1 vs q10pro.
QUOTE(Lurker @ Jan 28 2017, 09:59 PM)
Oh..  Guess I didn't do enough reading.i tot q5/Q10 only different is the internal hdd
U1 - RM 500
Q5 pro - RM 490
Q10 pro - RM 600

I'd compare all three together laugh.gif

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.1285sec    0.79    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 01:25 PM