8 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Android TV Box

BOTAK_WAI
post Dec 20 2016, 02:05 AM

Blow Water First Class
4,154 posts

Btw, any recommended music streaming apk?
BOTAK_WAI
post Dec 20 2016, 07:15 AM

Blow Water First Class
4,154 posts

QUOTE(GuyM @ Dec 20 2016, 07:11 AM)
Damned... Seems doesn't work well with across Android 6...
both S905X and S912?

syukur pakai old lollipop S905... biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by BOTAK_WAI: Dec 20 2016, 07:16 AM
BOTAK_WAI
post Dec 20 2016, 07:31 AM

Blow Water First Class
4,154 posts

QUOTE(GuyM @ Dec 20 2016, 07:16 AM)
Yup...
tested on my marshmallow note 4, not working either, also pop up the maintenance msg.
BOTAK_WAI
post Dec 20 2016, 07:29 PM

Blow Water First Class
4,154 posts

http://freaktab.com/news/615999-android-me...sible-solutions

Android Media Player: Problems and Possible Solutions.

An informative article to understand a little what you can expect when you buy a Cheap Media Player
It is not a way to alarm you, but rather to understand that there are always bugs in this type of boxes and some possible resolution solutions.

Compiled article from my experience and from reports that I see from staff with other boxes.
As they must have repaired at the moment the boxes in vogue by default are Amlogic S905X or Amlogic S912, and the article will be in order to expose all the problems related to these boxes.

Without forgetting that they are boxes lowcost, any box costing 50 €/$ or less are quite prone to have some bugs
because little time is invested in developing a ROM in conditions for the box.

Many people don't even notice,
because the errors are not always consistent and depend a lot on the TV where they will use the box and location of the router.

What they can think is the cheaper the box, the more these problems.
In Cheaper boxes in the range of 50 €/$, will be less, but at least HD sound may never work on amplifiers.

If they are going to use KODI, IPTV and multimedia applications and some games, yes they will work,
but there are always some tweaks you can do as well as problems they can detect.

One way or another in all my experience I try to find these problems, however there with my setup TV / Router I don't see a lot of problems that get mentioned or others have.

As you can see depending on your use may be boxes that will give more or less problems, but they always exist, for the price at which they are sold it is impossible to be perfect boxes.

Many of these boxes are only salable because there are people in forums like the freaktab that takes these boxes and loses the time the manufacturer has not lost (and not invested to lower the price), and develops a ROM in conditions!

You can always then compare my boxes low cost top 2016 with my top of the best boxes 2016 .

Many of these problems with a resolution can find tutorials on my channel youtube to easily solve, there are already many targeted at KODI and walk to work in other more directed to the pits.

KODI with Dark Image
Some TV's there is incompatibility in the way the default brightness of the box is read and is kept to a minimum (automatic brightness).

Possible solutions:
- Search Custom ROM that has been corrected;
- Try apps of this kind to try to fix this: Display Brightness

KODI with green image
It is not as common, but in this case one has to disable hardware acceleration

Follow this tutorial:
Fix Black Screen

KODI always installs addons after a boot
Quite possibly the box comes with a custom KODI.

Solution:
Go to application settings, remove the cache and data and remove the application,
follow this tutorial to uninstall the preinstalled kodi and install KODI directly from google store.

KODI and 4K formats
Sometimes 4K may not have the best result in terms of fluid imaging. This also depends sometimes on ROM optimization.

Possible solutions:
- Search for updated ROM or custom ROM;
- Check if KODI installed is official and will not be some custom or outdated version.

Audio pass-through for amplifiers
Correctly none of these boxes will make the audio pass. It usually only gives DTS and DD but in most of them it has a bug with the audio and in the audio passage every 10 seconds it fails.
For DD +, TrueHD, DTS-MA, DTS-HR, formats do not contain these boxes to pass audio.
There fix
:Follow this tutorial

Netflix HD
These boxes will only give Netflix SD (720x480), do not usually have widevine certification higher than L3 and also have no Netflix certification for HD content or higher.

Netflix does not give
In some cases I have detected that netflix does not give the cheapest boxes, since it comes with the "changed" libraries, in this case sometimes it is necessary to remove some files or replace with other more functional ones.
(Tutorial under development)

Youtube HD or 4K
Again for 4K they need certification so they will never give up.
As for 1080p or 720p if they do not give in that format is firmware problem, only with custom ROM or with some correction by the mark.

Framerate switch
In android 6.0 on the Amlogic S905X and S912 the switch for the image to get more fluid does not work under conditions. Applications that reappear after being removed
In this case follow the previous tutorial to remove pre-installed applications.

Language always changing to Chinese after a boot
Problems related to HDMI-CEC due to ROM's little optimized, many neither option has to activate or deactivate, however it comes active by default.

Possible solutions:
- Turn off the HDMI-CEC on TV;
- Check that it is possible to deactivate the HDMI-CEC in the box.

Wifi intermittent
It has already been detected that many boxes give problems in the reception wifi in router in (especially), in that the connection is always turning on or off.
Always try a different channel on your router

Possible solutions:
- Place the router with WPA protection;
- Disable AC network on router and pass only to g / n or b / g / n;
- Set static IP (sometimes problems in DHCP assignment).

Wifi weak or slow
There is not much to do, most of the boxes have a very small internal antenna.
Most of the boxes comes with a chipset that indicates AC, but in reality it is fake AC, since the speeds are more consistent with standard N.

Possible solutions:
- Connecting cable;
- Try to approach the router;
- DIY to put external antenna (involves welding and changing the box to have internal antenna).

Malware preinstalled
Some boxes have already been detected to come with malware.
Solution: Install Malwarebytes from Google Play.

Box shuts off
Probably overheating problems.

Possible solutions:
- Custom ROM;
- More/Better Ventilation,
- Laptop Cooler

Source: aminhacasadigital
BOTAK_WAI
post Dec 21 2016, 09:19 PM

Blow Water First Class
4,154 posts

QUOTE(myeddylim @ Dec 21 2016, 09:10 PM)
notworthy.gif
do not quote the link la plz…
BOTAK_WAI
post Dec 24 2016, 04:25 PM

Blow Water First Class
4,154 posts

QUOTE(jonn zee @ Dec 23 2016, 11:48 PM)
Anyone can recommend a good airmouse + qwerty keyboard combo???
actually wireless mouse (preferably with bluetrack sensor) + original remote = best cheap combo.

i am using Logitech K400 Plus, but i feel that keyboard isn't necessary for tv box.

the most frequent used keys are:
1. touchpad/mouse
2. left click
3. back/home/recent app
4. play/pause
5. previous track
6. next track
7. mute/vol-/vol+
8. power button
9. up/down/left/right/ok
BOTAK_WAI
post Dec 24 2016, 11:21 PM

Blow Water First Class
4,154 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Dec 24 2016, 10:05 PM)
Neo U1 set to 100%
Using HT/TV (HDMI-CEC) remote to adjust volume up and down.. Zero issues.
Clearly you don't use the browser/Kodi frequently.. A keyboard comes in handy for entering web addresses, etc.  smile.gif
yea, seldom use the web browser.

using spmc to watch dvd iso only.
kodi no mpeg2 hw acceleration option like in spmc, so kodi not for me.
BOTAK_WAI
post Dec 24 2016, 11:23 PM

Blow Water First Class
4,154 posts

QUOTE(jonn zee @ Dec 24 2016, 11:00 PM)
Hmmm qwerty keyboard is a must for me.

I've settled for Minix A2 lite for both my Minix U1....

I m thinking of Logitech Dinovo Mini for my coming D5.... And layer will cross use with the A2...
the air mouse is more expensive than your tv box…lol

This post has been edited by BOTAK_WAI: Dec 24 2016, 11:23 PM
BOTAK_WAI
post Dec 26 2016, 09:01 PM

Blow Water First Class
4,154 posts

anybody did add heatsink on the wifi chip on the board?

for pc, those usb wifi adapter heat up very fast and performance will degrade when temperature increase, sometimes even disconnected when heavy load on traffic.

too bad i have no extra small heatsink that can fit inside the box, else i will try it.
BOTAK_WAI
post Dec 26 2016, 09:10 PM

Blow Water First Class
4,154 posts

QUOTE(JayceOoi @ Dec 26 2016, 02:44 PM)
HiMedia Q10 Pro review is up. Feel free to read it. Thanks.  notworthy.gif

https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4158255
very like their casing. they have been using it since 1185/1186 era. thumbup.gif
BOTAK_WAI
post Dec 27 2016, 01:32 PM

Blow Water First Class
4,154 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Dec 27 2016, 01:23 PM)
Looks more anitique than my 2009 ac ryan pohd 1st gen. laugh.gif

Well, as long as it works good, old fashioned is fine!
their casing nice build bro…aluminium.

my 1185 hd600a still working like charm, just the remote control wording all hilang already laugh.gif

yea, if it ain't broken, don't fix it.
BOTAK_WAI
post Dec 27 2016, 03:08 PM

Blow Water First Class
4,154 posts

[18+] "video" app with password lock for testing purpose brows.gif
- app icon camouflaged with [setting] icon
- will not appear in recent app after exit the app

=HAPPY HOUR ENDED=

This post has been edited by BOTAK_WAI: Dec 27 2016, 11:27 PM
BOTAK_WAI
post Dec 27 2016, 03:21 PM

Blow Water First Class
4,154 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Dec 27 2016, 03:19 PM)
cannot access..

for whose testing?
only can see in desktop.

for hamsap otai brows.gif
BOTAK_WAI
post Dec 28 2016, 01:48 AM

Blow Water First Class
4,154 posts

QUOTE(blu35ky88 @ Dec 27 2016, 11:52 PM)
How about not kodi just normal apk cos my kodi not working
try uninstall ur kodi and install spmc, then google "cthlo" for instruction to install the repo for ICDrama.
BOTAK_WAI
post Dec 28 2016, 01:32 PM

Blow Water First Class
4,154 posts

QUOTE(maraippo @ Dec 28 2016, 11:11 AM)
Uninstalled most of the addon ady. Much smoother. But kodi still crash once in a while. But at least can use it for longer period.

Other apps like megabox, modbro, iflix works smoothly n no crashing anymore.  Thanks for the advice dude thumbup.gif
not enough ram?

tried spmc already?
BOTAK_WAI
post Dec 28 2016, 01:42 PM

Blow Water First Class
4,154 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Dec 28 2016, 11:27 AM)
Maybe any of you guys can consider opening a new thread? Since this is a huge and long thread now. laugh.gif

Then add some useful information in post #1. smile.gif
post #1 gonna takes a lot of time to write a comprehensive tutorial for newbie. laugh.gif
BOTAK_WAI
post Dec 28 2016, 03:01 PM

Blow Water First Class
4,154 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Dec 28 2016, 02:12 PM)
It has to start somewhere. tongue.gif
Since Android box is so common these days. tongue.gif
but the problem is piracy issue. u know i know ok la, don't cross the line here brows.gif

common scenarios here:

1. there are always newbie comes in the thread and ask which box should i buy so that i can replace astro.

our best answer:

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Nov 3 2016, 02:12 PM)
actually, it is now very common to see, hear and read:

... more and more axtro users wanna quit.
... after quitting, they want same axtro content - for free or only a small price.
... uninformed axtro user think there must be box out there doing all that with minimal or no personal effort.

alas... the truth... axtro is eating in a restaurant; android box is cooking at home.

not the same, maybe similar in some ways.

the cook needs to know the oven, the wok, the knives, the ingredients, the recipes.

a good cook needs to learn, watch videos, search for info, experiment.
well... some people enjoy cooking, some don't.

the good cooks get to eat better food at a lower price!

poor cooks get to eat little or return to restaurant.
2. there are always newbie comes in the thread and ask what app can i download so that i could stream movie, drama, football match, either in live or on-demand.

answer: you need legal content, you need to pay subscription to service like netflix, iflix…

all these movie, drama, football match, and other broadcast contents are copyright protected. u want ask for free streaming for all these contents? u pandai pandai la…here not allow piracy contents sharing 1 mah…go google the discussion keyword by yourself la…

3. there will be newbie comes in the thread and ask why some android tv box sellers sell their box so expensive and why i saw gb and laz got selling cheap tv box, what's the difference?

answer: in pc world, u know the difference between download torrent by yourself and buy dvd from pasar malam right?

4. there will be newbie comes in the thread and ask why some pre-installed apps work when newly buy but can't watch over some period.

answer: if legal content, it might be trial period ends. if illegal content (be it free or paid), of course it is not 100% guaranteed to work la…even pirated dvd stall in pasar malam with taiko protection also will kena sapu la. pirated online contents also the same, but they have 1 common characteristic: I WILL BE BACK! (just in another form or place)
BOTAK_WAI
post Dec 28 2016, 03:47 PM

Blow Water First Class
4,154 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Dec 28 2016, 03:05 PM)
laugh.gif This is already a good start. tongue.gif
Anyway, yes don't cross the line for piracy discussion. wink.gif
Compared to setup a htpc, android box already very easy and convenient liao. laugh.gif

well, perfect customization for oneself on kodi or spmc takes time for very new user to master it. my first try on kodi is on pc (XBMC v13 Gotham), and i wow when using it to manage my local video files, impressive GUI. i think lazy ppl won't enjoy using kodi tongue.gif now i only use spmc for icdrama and watch dvd iso file, haha…

btw, few rules for newbies:

1. No Perfect Android Box in the World, period.
2. No 100% Guaranteed Working Apps or Add-Ons.
3. No Spoon Feeding.
4. No Replacement for Paid Subscription Service like Asteruk, etc…
5. No Piracy in LYN Forum.
BOTAK_WAI
post Dec 28 2016, 05:26 PM

Blow Water First Class
4,154 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Dec 28 2016, 03:56 PM)
I also use Icdrama/Azdrama on Kodi and some IPTVs for my normal dose.
Hardly have time to sit down and relax to watch movies these days. tongue.gif
Purposely bought a new box to bring to overseas so that I won't be bored in India for 5 weeks...
yea, no time to enjoy is also one of the reasons more ppl want to switch from asteruk to android tv.

this is my opinion la…dulu ppl subscribe to asteruk because:
1. they want more variety of contents.
2. they want watch epl.
3. they unable to have clear signal reception on free to air tv.

but now:
1. high speed broadband is expensive in malaysia, ppl might just cut asteruk and subscribe to 30Mbps broadband package since ppl now need high internet speed for working and entertainment purpose.

2. android box now can live stream or watch it on demand many contents thanks to legal and illegal content providers, so asteruk now is for lazy/non tech savvy ppl. for chinese, we can opt to watch contents from all over the world. for malay, i bet older generation ppl still prefer local malay contents right? support la asteruk, else asteruk no profit = no more local malay contents production. sometimes really worry all malay youngsters being kpop kdrama oriented sweat.gif this is not healthy for our country man…

3. poor free to air signal reception? TM got Hypp TV, RTM and Media Prima got DVB-T2 broadcasting now, asteruk terpaksa introduce Njoy laugh.gif

I bet sure got asteruk marketing ppl lurking here, if u don't want to lose more profis due online iptvs, u gotta attract ppl subscribe to your service like partnering with telco, now ppl tied to telco contract due to free smartphone. kinda hate tm now, focus on your broadband infrastructure la, why play with hypp tv, force bundled with unifi package, but no produce good original contents. better kill the hypp tv and partnership with asteruk for original local contents production. ISP builds infrastructure, Content Provider creates contents.

These big companies macam this story:

BOTAK_WAI
post Dec 28 2016, 05:45 PM

Blow Water First Class
4,154 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Dec 28 2016, 04:19 PM)
I have actually posted such comments many times in this thread. biggrin.gif

I can repost them in a new thread.

About the download, app issue, i will only discuss the apps, the contents in a general sense, never the specifics like what show, what channel, what torrent, etc. That, people should be sensible enough not to ask in public but use pm.

About those ahem payable iptvs, discussion should not be allowed, at least not in this section. Once one fella starts, it will go on and on... what channels, where to buy, how much, sellers jump in.... and the thread becomes a venue for illegal piracy biz. This bit should be confined in home garage sales section, interested parties can pm, do your private thing.
yea…that's the unwritten rule here laugh.gif

QUOTE(voncrane @ Dec 28 2016, 05:01 PM)
Yes.. Plus I guarantee that some newbie will still come into the new thread and ask that dreaded question...
"I'm new, pls recommend me an Android box to watch live tv, tv shows and movies"....Oh yeah, and as if that's not enough.... "Full HD yeah".....  doh.gif  bangwall.gif
lol…not only here, pretty common in any other hardware discussion biggrin.gif

QUOTE(fruitie @ Dec 28 2016, 05:32 PM)
Though I hate to admit this but AOTG is still smooth compared to other IPTVs which may be out of service after a while. laugh.gif
That said I will only miss it when I have live badminton matches. tongue.gif

I still can find way to watch, no worries. biggrin.gif
as the name suggested, "on-the-go", suppose to use less bandwidth and optimized for handheld devices. laugh.gif

8 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.1391sec    0.68    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 07:41 AM