SUSMatrix
post May 15 2014, 10:15 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ May 15 2014, 10:06 PM)
wa.... so many!!

which one u refering to?

i dun mind getting another low cost android that purely handles xbmc 720/1080 dts/dd5.1 perfectly.

say <rm200, but not interested to spend more.

there is now a war by large cos. against "internet neutral" now, xbmc and associates may get stifled, we may get less... unless we pay!!
I seriously doubt you can find an RM200 unit which can do passthrough for dts/dd5.1 though.

Btw, is there something going on to close down XBMC? I don't think you can every pay for XBMC...all the sources are uploaded by everyone, no ones control it...XBMC merely crawls the web to get the source.

voncrane
post May 15 2014, 11:31 PM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

QUOTE(kamfoo @ May 15 2014, 10:09 PM)
xmbc die soon?
Very unlikely cuz XBMC is a free and open source (GPL) software media player and entertainment hub. Development is ongoing, at least for now.
voncrane
post May 15 2014, 11:33 PM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

QUOTE(choki123 @ May 15 2014, 03:09 PM)
Thanks guys for the feedback and recommendations. Will do some read up and research see whichever suit me well smile.gif
A lot of new jargon to me... Haha...
Haha.... No worries, just take it easy. We were all noobs once. Just when choosing a box, make sure it has an active forum support and a legit quad core processor for smooth performance. Might cost you slightly more but you'll enjoy it more.
AVFAN
post May 16 2014, 12:34 AM

24,451 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ May 15 2014, 10:15 PM)
Btw, is there something going on to close down XBMC? I don't think you can every pay for XBMC...all the sources are uploaded by everyone, no ones control it...XBMC merely crawls the web to get the source.
QUOTE(voncrane @ May 15 2014, 11:31 PM)
Very unlikely cuz XBMC is a free and open source (GPL) software media player and entertainment hub. Development is ongoing, at least for now.
yes, that has been the idea. but over time, some powerful parties aren't happy with profits eroded and grey areas of piracy.

recent events foretell the future net/www might not be all free and unrestricted like now.
https://www.linkedin.com/today/post/article...-roll-art-title
http://www.ispreview.co.uk/index.php/2013/...y-websites.html

good possibility of broadband tiering, isp new rules or outright ban on certain things - the killing of net neutrality.

as some were saying in the xbmc thread, there is already noticeably less and less 1080 stuff available. dd/dts5.1 stuff becoming rare. most are 720 aac2.0, probably the lowest grade hdrips.

well, until then, we enjoy what we can!

This post has been edited by AVFAN: May 16 2014, 12:37 AM
SUSMatrix
post May 16 2014, 10:37 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ May 16 2014, 12:34 AM)
yes, that has been the idea. but over time, some powerful parties aren't happy with profits eroded and grey areas of piracy.

recent events foretell the future net/www might not be all free and unrestricted like now.
https://www.linkedin.com/today/post/article...-roll-art-title
http://www.ispreview.co.uk/index.php/2013/...y-websites.html

good possibility of broadband tiering, isp new rules or outright ban on certain things - the killing of net neutrality.

as some were saying in the xbmc thread, there is already noticeably less and less 1080 stuff available. dd/dts5.1 stuff becoming rare. most are 720 aac2.0, probably the lowest grade hdrips.

well, until then, we enjoy what we can!
Yeah...hardly can find any HD source in XBMC nowadays...anyway, going legit with Netflix and Huluplus not that expensive...and the user experience is way much better. smile.gif

SUSMatrix
post May 16 2014, 10:44 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(susa @ May 15 2014, 06:59 PM)
This a latest android box....
new android box
good for running hd movie..
Anybody see this item in Malaysia...
Info to me....
FYI...new boxes with AMlogic S802 (Vanilla) does not do DTS/DD decoding. There are many variants of the S802 chipset, but seems like most manufacturers opting for the vanilla S802.(Cheaper and no need to pay DTS/DD license)

Some might be able to do it via software decoding but the the results might varies...

I have a Tronsmart S89 Elite if anyone interested. Just one unit, doesn't do DTS/DD passthrough at all. But if that is not important to you, it runs most other stuff fine, including 4k videos. PM me if interested.

This post has been edited by Matrix: May 16 2014, 10:45 AM
susa
post May 16 2014, 02:39 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ May 16 2014, 10:44 AM)
FYI...new boxes with AMlogic S802 (Vanilla) does not do DTS/DD decoding. There are many variants of the S802 chipset, but seems like most manufacturers opting for the vanilla S802.(Cheaper and no need to pay DTS/DD license)

Some might be able to do it via software decoding but the the results might varies...

I have a Tronsmart S89 Elite if anyone interested. Just one unit, doesn't do DTS/DD passthrough at all. But if that is not important to you, it runs most other stuff fine, including 4k videos. PM me if interested.
Oic ...thanks matrik..info to me..
This device still have con..
I survey for any device can use WiFi draft ac..
Suggestion from u any device u know...

smileguy
post May 20 2014, 06:06 AM

3,147 posts

Boys,are there any android boxes with built in DVB-t2 tuners?Thanks
enriquelee
post Aug 2 2014, 10:06 AM

Don't ask for more, ask for COKE
10,510 posts

I am thinking to get 1 android TV box, is it real it can fully replace the only satelite TV we have here?
AVFAN
post Aug 2 2014, 10:26 AM

24,451 posts

QUOTE(enriquelee @ Aug 2 2014, 10:06 AM)
I am thinking to get 1 android TV box, is it real it can fully replace the only satelite TV we have here?
if u haven't, can read these threads - same or heavily related topic:

https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=3299652&hl=
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2970945/+80
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2855171/+540
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3139601/+600
voncrane
post Aug 2 2014, 10:40 AM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

QUOTE(enriquelee @ Aug 2 2014, 10:06 AM)
Yes & No. It really depends on your taste and what hardware you buy. Buy crappy hardware? Get crappy android media experience. Also, you MUST understand that setting up & using will NOT be as easy as switching on a Hypptv or Astro box & pressing buttons on the remote. Android OS is powerful yet super easy to customize, not for the weak. Personally, my android setup works better than any satellite service. Read before you commit.
enriquelee
post Aug 2 2014, 11:25 AM

10,510 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Aug 2 2014, 10:26 AM)
Many thanks for the links

QUOTE(voncrane @ Aug 2 2014, 10:40 AM)
Yes & No. It really depends on your taste and what hardware you buy. Buy crappy hardware? Get crappy android media experience. Also, you MUST understand that setting up & using will NOT be as easy as switching on a Hypptv or Astro box & pressing buttons on the remote. Android OS is powerful yet super easy to customize, not for the weak. Personally, my android setup works better than any satellite service. Read before you commit.
Wow! Sounds complicated yet powerful.
AVFAN
post Aug 2 2014, 12:25 PM

24,451 posts

QUOTE(enriquelee @ Aug 2 2014, 11:25 AM)
Many thanks for the links
Wow! Sounds complicated yet powerful.
after reading enough, try to answer these questions, some users n sellers can help better:

.. want to watch cantonese or mandarin or english? with chinese or eng or no subs?
.. want to watch foreign or local live tv channels, live sports or on demand streaming?
.. want 3d, hd audio or just 2d, core audio?
.. budget rm200, 400, 600?
.. willing to pay some monthly fee?
.. do u hv time to customize apps?

the clearer u r about them, the easier it is to find the right device. "i want it all" will lead u nowhere.

lastly, if u know of any fren or neighbor having such a box, best to go take a look, hv an idea. this thing is fairly new and is not plug n play like astro or dvd players.

good luck! biggrin.gif
enriquelee
post Aug 2 2014, 02:43 PM

10,510 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Aug 2 2014, 12:25 PM)
after reading enough, try to answer these questions, some users n sellers can help better:

.. want to watch cantonese or mandarin or english? with chinese or eng or no subs?
.. want to watch foreign or local live tv channels, live sports or on demand streaming?

the clearer u r about them, the easier it is to find the right device. "i want it all" will lead u nowhere.

lastly, if u know of any fren or neighbor having such a box, best to go take a look, hv an idea. this thing is fairly new and is not plug n play like astro or dvd players.

good luck! biggrin.gif
Watch movies all 3 languages, prefer chinese movie with chinese sub while english movie with english sub.

hongkong and taiwan live tc channels prefer. Video on demand yes (TVB lastest drama), live sport not important

Only want HD movie. no 3d no hd audio nevermind

budget 600

prefer not to, but if huge different with small sum, then can consider

Yes, i do have time. But i am not good at it.

This post has been edited by enriquelee: Aug 2 2014, 02:44 PM
AVFAN
post Aug 2 2014, 03:01 PM

24,451 posts

QUOTE(enriquelee @ Aug 2 2014, 02:43 PM)
Watch movies all 3 languages, prefer chinese movie with chinese sub while english movie with english sub.

hongkong and taiwan live tc channels prefer. Video on demand yes (TVB lastest drama), live sport not important

Only want HD movie. no 3d no hd audio nevermind

budget 600

prefer not to, but if huge different with small sum, then can consider

Yes, i do have time. But i am not good at it.
mandarin movies/tv shows with chinese subs, plenty. eng movie/tv shows with eng subs, plenty.
cantonese audio, mandarin/japanese/korean audio with eng subs rare.
popular hongkong/cantonese stuff won't get free, will need to find the right packages that offer such (may not be all legit), pay per month rm100-200 a year?
all hd will be difficult. more so if u r on only 5 or less mbps. a mix of 480/720/mp4 and sd more common.
if no 3d, no need hd audio, some lower end cheaper androids can do the job.
rm600 should get u an average/above average androidtv box.

diff brands n diff models may differ quite a bit in terms of price, in-house apps, firmware upgrades and service support.
some boxes can run this but not that and vice-versa, so u do need to know wat u r buying. and continuous help after that, at least for some time.
now, i think best u spend a bit more time reading and searching in this section and the home electronics section:
https://forum.lowyat.net/HomeElectronics&Wares/+30
think most sellers have threads, photos, specs, q&a there - can check the details.

you may also get some suggestions from other users and sellers...

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Aug 2 2014, 03:27 PM
enriquelee
post Aug 2 2014, 03:27 PM

10,510 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Aug 2 2014, 03:01 PM)
mandarin movies/tv shows with chinese subs, plenty. eng movie/tv shows with eng subs, plenty.
cantonese audio, mandarin/japanese/korean audio with eng subs rare.
popular hongkong/cantonese stuff won't get free, may not be all legit, will need to find the right packages that offer such, pay per month rm100-200 a year?
only hd will be difficult. more so if u r on only 5 or less mbps. a mix of 480/720/mp4 and sd more common.
if no 3d, no need hd audio, some lower end cheaper androids can do the job.
rm600 should get u an average/above average androidtv box.

diff brands n diff models may differ quite a bit in terms of price, in-house apps, firmware upgrades and service support.
some boxes can run this but not that and vice-versa, so u do need to know wat u r buying. and continuous help after that, at least for some time.
now, i think best u spend a bit more time reading and searching in this section and the home electronics section:
https://forum.lowyat.net/HomeElectronics&Wares/+30
think most sellers have threads, photos, specs, q&a there, can check the details.

you may also get some suggestions from other users and sellers...
Very informative. Thanks rclxms.gif
eye
post Aug 3 2014, 01:35 AM

1,166 posts

Bought the minix x8h. But very sad, can't get it to power on rclxub.gif rclxub.gif

voncrane
post Aug 3 2014, 01:45 PM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

QUOTE(eye @ Aug 3 2014, 01:35 AM)
Bought the minix x8h. But very sad, can't get it to power on  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif
Try reflashing its firmware if you can. Else, claim a replacement.
klphang
post Aug 3 2014, 09:46 PM

143 posts

QUOTE(smileguy @ May 20 2014, 06:06 AM)
Boys,are there any android boxes with built in DVB-t2 tuners?Thanks
I bought a Vigica C6 android DVB-T2 box for USD 75 from Aliexpress.com

The spec is android function is alright. But the box can only receive DVB-T signal instead of DVB-T2 as claimed. It cannot receive any DVB-T2 signal from Singapore free to air channel. If u only want to watch HD5, channel 8 and CNA then this box is for u.

BTW, the XBMC playback using this box only support SD video and only frodo 12.3 can be run smoothy, Gotham 13.1 will have problem on video playback
AVFAN
post Aug 3 2014, 10:38 PM

24,451 posts

QUOTE(klphang @ Aug 3 2014, 09:46 PM)
I bought a Vigica C6 android DVB-T2 box for USD 75 from Aliexpress.com

The spec is android function is alright. But the box can only receive DVB-T signal instead of DVB-T2 as claimed. It cannot receive any DVB-T2 signal from Singapore free to air channel. If u only want to watch HD5, channel 8 and CNA then this box is for u.

BTW, the XBMC playback using this box only support SD video and only frodo 12.3 can be run smoothy, Gotham 13.1 will have problem on video playback
thanks for sharing. it's good to know the various brands and models of androids in the market now.

for its price, understandable it can't do a few things.

just curious... when running frodo 12.3, what happens when trying to play an hd link? it lags and jerks or simply nothing or hang?

248 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0197sec    0.56    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 02:13 PM