Android TV Box

boyboy2020
post May 3 2016, 04:24 PM

QUOTE(AVFAN @ May 3 2016, 04:02 PM)
only HK ones?

that's a little tough.

there are some in KODI - e.g. kissasian, azdrama... mostly in SD.

or find ahem iptv.
mandarin stuff - tons of them, plenty in HD.
China drama oso ok. As long as can stream via apps instead going through browser and type in every single drama details!

Tried azdrama to stream hk movie but not all can be play..dunno y.. vmad.gif

Currently i'm using Megabox for english movie streaming but not so up to date. sweat.gif

This post has been edited by boyboy2020: May 3 2016, 04:27 PM
boyboy2020
post May 3 2016, 04:26 PM

QUOTE(ranger2020 @ May 3 2016, 04:11 PM)
please be warned that operating a tv box is not as a matter of plug and play, one need to do a lot of reading and at least some basic tech knowledge to operate. if you just need to click and point on apps. a basic tv box will do (by the way, i using Neo U1 now). of course you may need to subscribe to a paid iptv. Please also take note take Minix does not support Netflix HD.
Yea, u r right. thats y i m doing the reading on the basic tech to operate while my wife just wan on, click and play. hahaha!
ctvtec
post May 3 2016, 05:06 PM

51 posts

Another way of watching HK, China, Korean dramas & movies: download an app named "Rss Video Player" from Google playstore, then add following url in the channel setting "http://irss.se/dramas", have fun...
AVFAN
post May 3 2016, 06:20 PM

24,452 posts

QUOTE(ranger2020 @ May 3 2016, 04:11 PM)
please be warned that operating a tv box is not as a matter of plug and play, one need to do a lot of reading and at least some basic tech knowledge to operate.
thumbup.gif

i can't say this enough.

to add, it will take 3-6 months of hands on to get to a good level.
AVFAN
post May 3 2016, 06:27 PM

24,452 posts

QUOTE(boyboy2020 @ May 3 2016, 04:24 PM)
China drama oso ok. As long as can stream via apps instead going through browser and type in every single drama details!

Tried azdrama to stream hk movie but not all can be play..dunno y.. vmad.gif

Currently i'm using Megabox for english movie streaming but not so up to date. sweat.gif
china dramas.. get buding and VST - these 2 will give u lots of good stuff. best if seller can pre-install for u.

azdrama... been around for a long time... but like many others... good to look at, can't eat. biggrin.gif

there are some better ones - kissasian, dramago, dramanice, drama24h - in KODI.

but none of them come close to what other apps offer in mandarin.

QUOTE(boyboy2020 @ May 3 2016, 04:26 PM)
Yea, u r right. thats y i m doing the reading on the basic tech to operate while my wife just wan on, click and play. hahaha!
u may be in for trouble if u overpromise wifey...

more so if yr internet speed is weak/low.

This post has been edited by AVFAN: May 3 2016, 06:55 PM
SUSchokia
post May 4 2016, 09:25 AM

Chartered Member
3,617 posts

My MXQ unable to screenshot (CTRL-S)movie/series while playing maybe lack of memory. It only captures kodi interface with black background
boyboy2020
post May 4 2016, 10:01 AM

QUOTE(ctvtec @ May 3 2016, 05:06 PM)
Another way of watching HK, China, Korean dramas & movies: download an app named "Rss Video Player" from Google playstore, then add following url in the channel setting "http://irss.se/dramas", have fun...
my current philips tv box OS oni version 4.1.1 lolipop..cant support tat RSS video player..that y wan change it to Minix. being con by TV seller..say no need buy tv box coz this philip TV bundle together. bangwall.gif
boyboy2020
post May 4 2016, 10:02 AM

QUOTE(AVFAN @ May 3 2016, 06:27 PM)
china dramas.. get buding and VST - these 2 will give u lots of good stuff. best if seller can pre-install for u.

azdrama... been around for a long time... but like many others... good to look at, can't eat. biggrin.gif

there are some better ones - kissasian, dramago, dramanice, drama24h - in KODI.

but none of them come close to what other apps offer in mandarin.
u may be in for trouble if u overpromise wifey...

more so if yr internet speed is weak/low.
will try for better wifi connection with cable or wifi extender. and also try KODI.

Thanks for the recommendation, Guru!
voncrane
post May 4 2016, 10:37 AM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

QUOTE(boyboy2020 @ May 4 2016, 10:01 AM)
my current philips tv box OS oni version 4.1.1 lolipop..cant support tat RSS video player..that y wan change it to Minix. being con by TV seller..say no need buy tv box coz this philip TV bundle together. bangwall.gif
You are on the right track.. That's why we do research and read about real world performance before purchase. Even then, one still needs to put in additional effort to keep the box working nicely.. It's a pain.. Yes.. But it's the price all cord cutters must pay.. smile.gif
stevenycs
post May 5 2016, 12:40 AM

83 posts

Hi all bros, wanna ask for advice. My current set up at home is a Plasma TV to my current BD Player cum Media Player which supports all audio&vids to my Yamaha 5.1 amps. Question now I wanna get a tv box/media player to replace my current unit.

options
hi media or mi box 3 enhanced?

i will watched lotsa downlaoded 1080p dts movies most of the time. but at the same to be able to watch or stream online shows for my kids and wife. my eye set on the mi box but wanted to get some feedback from all the pros in here. TIA
AVFAN
post May 5 2016, 02:18 AM

24,452 posts

QUOTE(stevenycs @ May 5 2016, 12:40 AM)
Hi all bros, wanna ask for advice. My current set up at home is a Plasma TV to my current BD Player cum Media Player which supports all audio&vids to my Yamaha 5.1 amps. Question now I wanna get a tv box/media player to replace my current unit.

options

i will watched lotsa downlaoded 1080p dts movies most of the time. but at the same to be able to watch or stream online shows for my kids and wife. my eye set on the mi box but wanted to get some feedback from all the pros in here. TIA
u said u hv q10pro, no?
Scissorshand
post May 5 2016, 01:14 PM

1,691 posts

QUOTE(stevenycs @ May 5 2016, 12:40 AM)

options

I somewhat "feel" that for downloaded movies which is played via AC Ryan Mini thru 5.1 on my Onkyo has better output results overall compared to via Q16
AVFAN
post May 5 2016, 01:53 PM

24,452 posts

QUOTE(Scissorshand @ May 5 2016, 01:14 PM)
I somewhat "feel" that for downloaded movies which is played via AC Ryan Mini thru 5.1 on my Onkyo has better output results overall compared to via Q16
That is true, I had said that a couple of times in the himedia thread almost 2 yrs ago. tongue.gif

The ac Ryan pohd has good Realtek chipsets.

Video output is marginally better than himedia.

Audio, no difference for dts, dd, dtshdma, ddtruehd.

However, himedia q16 can pass thru dd atmos and play uhd4k videos.

Also, himedia has mini bluray menu, which is not found in most devices and playback apps.

So, I use both of them for playback, depending on file type.

This post has been edited by AVFAN: May 5 2016, 01:56 PM
stevenycs
post May 5 2016, 03:28 PM

83 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ May 5 2016, 02:18 AM)
u said u hv q10pro, no?
that was for my brother in law actually.
m thinking to get a box for myself as my previous Hi-Media is an old model but still working fine without Android OS inside.

stevenycs
post May 5 2016, 03:32 PM

83 posts

QUOTE(Scissorshand @ May 5 2016, 01:14 PM)
My previous amp is Onkyo 7.1 but busted the main board and beyond cost of repairing after the 4th year.
Just got myself a Yamaha instead but in terms of the power and bass, Onkyo win hands down but clarity still Yamaha IMO.

But coming back to the media box, MiBox recommended to couple with amp?
gwong
post May 5 2016, 03:32 PM

391 posts

Guys, one quick question. Any opinion or feedback on Nexus Player? Thank you.
AVFAN
post May 5 2016, 03:45 PM

24,452 posts

QUOTE(stevenycs @ May 5 2016, 03:28 PM)
that was for my brother in law actually.
m thinking to get a box for myself as my previous Hi-Media is an old model but still working fine without Android OS inside.
i see.

for playback, all players can do as it is mature tech. difference lies mainly in the audio codecs and licensing, i.e. if it can do dd/dts, ddtruehd/dtshdma, dd atmos/dts:x.

for online streaming, it will depend what are yr requirements and expectations, what internet speed u hv.

... eng, mandarin, canto...
... movies, tv series, live tv, kid's tv
... what quality u accept... sd, hd, uhd...

besides this android box thread, there are also himedia and mibox threads.

more details on each brand and their models there.

whatever box, just take note:

.. these boxes are not plug and play - u need to know how to install, maintain and update - not an easy task to get the best stuff.
.. support is impt - a new user will inevitably need help one way or another.
stevenycs
post May 5 2016, 11:08 PM

83 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ May 5 2016, 03:45 PM)
i see.

for playback, all players can do as it is mature tech. difference lies mainly in the audio codecs and licensing, i.e. if it can do dd/dts, ddtruehd/dtshdma, dd atmos/dts:x.

for online streaming, it will depend what are yr requirements and expectations, what internet speed u hv.

... eng, mandarin, canto...
... movies, tv series, live tv, kid's tv
... what quality u accept... sd, hd, uhd...

besides this android box thread, there are also himedia and mibox threads.

more details on each brand and their models there.

whatever box, just take note:

.. these boxes are not plug and play - u need to know how to install, maintain and update - not an easy task to get the best stuff.
.. support is impt - a new user will inevitably need help one way or another.
Opss sorry side track on the forum topic.
But thanks a lot for your feedback though notworthy.gif

owenwong84
post May 6 2016, 04:50 AM

Zin zin
1,041 posts

My house got this android box china set.
Anyone know what name of this android box?
Want to learn more what spec this has.

voncrane
post May 6 2016, 08:41 AM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

QUOTE(owenwong84 @ May 6 2016, 04:50 AM)
My house got this android box china set.
Anyone know what name of this android box?
Want to learn more what spec this has.

Much shiny.. So Gold... smile.gif
Can't say much from that picture, need more information such as: pictures of labels on the device itself and box.. Boot it up and take a screenshot of the "About device" area, as this usually has the model name.. Is there a system update area and or app? Name, screenshots.. Etc.

248 Pages « < 83 84 85 86 87 > » Top

0.0222sec    0.71    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 06:52 AM