icon_idea.gif
Theres so many minix that it's confusing
WaCKy-Angel
post Feb 26 2016, 11:24 AM

PeACe~~
21,962 posts

QUOTE(sepulse @ Feb 26 2016, 11:05 AM)
guess i will go for the better one. minix u1 or x8-h. looking for something below 600 with that wireless remote. good?
M8S+ is not bad, slightly slower (within kodi) when navigating only. Other than that its pretty same for a normal user which doesnt really need most of the sophisticated features of high end box.

For eg. Watching any 1080P with sound 2.0 movies (most common if not lower) results would be the same whether u r using X8-H or M8S+ so u dont really need to spend on high end X8-H which costs about 200% more compared to M8S+

Correct me if im wrong..voncrane

But then ofcourse if budget is no issue then better get a higher end box it probably lasts longer (processing speed wise and also support wise)
sepulse
post Feb 26 2016, 11:44 AM

434 posts

QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ Feb 26 2016, 11:24 AM)
M8S+ is not bad, slightly slower (within kodi) when navigating only. Other than that its pretty same for a normal user which doesnt really need most of the sophisticated features of high end box.

For eg. Watching any 1080P with sound 2.0 movies (most common if not lower) results would be the same whether u r using X8-H or M8S+ so u dont really need to spend on high end X8-H which costs about 200% more compared to M8S+

But then ofcourse if budget is no issue then better get a higher end box it probably lasts longer (processing speed wise and also support wise)
thanks for the input.

ok im mostly using this for
- kodi
- Iptv

im really confused now. i have the cash but its better if i can spend less. rclxub.gif

voncrane
post Feb 26 2016, 02:24 PM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

guess i will go for the better one. minix u1 or x8-h. looking for something below 600 with that wireless remote. good?
Box & remote is good. IMO, the Neo A2 Lite remote is the most satisfying remote/airmouse I've had to use.. Make sure to calibrate properly before use & occasionally repeat for optimal performance.

QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ Feb 26 2016, 11:24 AM)

Here's how I see it.. The Perodua Kancil satisfactorily carries out the exact primary purpose of an automobile as say a 7 series BMW, which in turn does the same thing as a Bugatti Veyron Super Sport or Hennessey Venom GT. They all get you from point A to B. However, extra features means greater control, speed, comfort & premium support.

Speaking about electronics, IMO, getting extensive support, comfort & performance is everything especially if it's within one's budget. I choose/prefer Minix boxes as I know exactly who manufactures & provides firmware updates to squash bugs & introduce new features. Even after a brief search, I still can't place a finger on the actual M8S/M8S+ manufacturer.. It appears are a few manufacturers..
SUSXnet
post Feb 26 2016, 02:28 PM

1,862 posts

Has the U1 fixed the DTS issue?
Horror review from this guy

https://youtu.be/AQChK8jyQNw
MeToo
post Feb 26 2016, 02:32 PM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Feb 24 2016, 05:37 PM)
a minor tip to offer to those wanting to get into android boxes... with the purchase of a new tv at the same time.
i used to think smart tv's are a waste of time, better get cheaper tv plus an android box. that should be true for last few years. but now... some tv's come with good androids, can be even more advantageous, depending on what u are looking for.

a couple of persisting issues i observed lately about android boxes:

.. most cannot do IFLIX.
.. except for a few certified devices, all boxes cannot do NETFLIX in HD/UHD4K.

The above two are not a problem with the the latest generation of Smart UHD 4K TV's. The androids built in these TV's are new and quite powerful. Other then Netflix and Iflix, put in KODI, Mobdro and a couple other apps - and there is little else u will need! tongue.gif

The USB playback can handle the popular formats, deliver good video quality. In addition, using HDMI ARC or digital audio output, u can get DTS/DD5.1 audio for yr home theater.

So, if u are planning to get a new TV, it may make sense to get the right 4K TV. Of course, if no plans to change TV, getting a box is the logical thing to do.

The above is based on this TV I got recently:
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3811168/+240
I also want to get smart 4k TV...

Namely the MiTV3 but worry cannot do youtube, cannot iflix, cannot netflix apo pun cannot -.-
jimmylam
post Feb 26 2016, 02:39 PM

13 posts

Currently using M8s no problem with iptv, kodi, and some other "china" apps, but iflix is not working, able to play but only sound no display.
AVFAN
post Feb 26 2016, 03:05 PM

24,453 posts

QUOTE(MeToo @ Feb 26 2016, 02:32 PM)
I also want to get smart 4k TV...

Namely the MiTV3 but worry cannot do youtube, cannot iflix, cannot netflix apo pun cannot -.-
Need to be careful if China brands. Typically, YouTube, Google banned. Netflix probably not certified.
voncrane
post Feb 26 2016, 03:25 PM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

QUOTE(Xnet @ Feb 26 2016, 02:28 PM)
Has the U1 fixed the DTS issue?
Horror review from this guy

https://youtu.be/AQChK8jyQNw
Based off the comments on both the Part 1 & 2 videos, he's either got a defective unit or doesn't exactly know what he's talking about. However, I still believe the Minix team messed up, that the Neo U1 is a rushed product & the next box will be more worthy successor to the Neo X8-H Plus. Latest firmware update is FW005 (20160129). Here's the changelog from FW004 (20151230) ;

Dickong
post Feb 26 2016, 05:20 PM

1,689 posts

QUOTE(jimmylam @ Feb 26 2016, 02:39 PM)
Currently using M8s no problem with iptv, kodi, and some other "china" apps, but iflix is not working, able to play but only sound no display.
Bro.what resolution did u set for your m8s mine a bit lag when set to1920x1080p 60hz but set to 1920x1080p 50hzs quiet ok but color not so detail.tq

This post has been edited by Dickong: Feb 26 2016, 05:31 PM
AVFAN
post Feb 27 2016, 12:15 PM

24,453 posts

QUOTE(jimmylam @ Feb 26 2016, 02:39 PM)
sad to say, iflix does not work on many boxes.

works fine on tablets and smart tv's.

same with hypptv everywhere and astro-on-the-go.

.. local ones appear to be preventing the apps to work on boxes, restrict to hand held devices.
.. local ones are behind in get certification on smart tv's - none of the 3 are listed on my smart tv playstore.
.. netflix is far ahead - hd/uhd for certified devices incl boxes and tv's; sd for all uncertified devices incl boxes.

nikrizal
post Feb 27 2016, 12:44 PM

1,230 posts

Go for x8-1 plus now, it's a bargain since newer model u1 is there. Make sure u get the bundle one with minix A2 mouse, they are superb working together!
jchue73
post Feb 27 2016, 01:31 PM

2,496 posts

Been busy and I have not been playing much with my Nvidia Shield. My wife probably is more familiar. laugh.gif

But a few days ago I happen to switch it on to check on something and a notice came out on huge update;

Thought it was just a routine update and proceeded to update but just now only I read that it's actually a Marshmallow update that a lot of people have been waiting for. blush.gif

http://www.androidcentral.com/marshmallow-...rolling-out-now

Supposedly with the latest Kodi and Mashmallow, I am able to bitstream audio to my sound bar. But don't think that happened when I played Avengers Age of Ultron. Need to investigate further.
sepulse
post Feb 27 2016, 02:27 PM

434 posts

QUOTE(nikrizal @ Feb 27 2016, 12:44 PM)
Go for x8-1 plus now, it's a bargain since newer model u1 is there. Make sure u get the bundle one with minix A2 mouse, they are superb working together!
Thw price diff is just around rm 50 bro. Not sure which 1 for now. X8-h got 10% cimb while u1 dont have
voncrane
post Feb 27 2016, 02:40 PM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

QUOTE(sepulse @ Feb 27 2016, 02:27 PM)
Thw price diff is just around rm 50 bro. Not sure which 1 for now. X8-h got 10% cimb while u1 dont have
For RM50 difference, just get the U1.
WaCKy-Angel
post Feb 27 2016, 02:44 PM

PeACe~~
21,962 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Feb 24 2016, 02:02 PM)
Ah yes... Mums cannot be interrupted..  tongue.gif. As for KODI, it might seem challenging at first but it gradually gets better. There's a KODI thread here & lots of articles & YouTube videos, containing tutorials etc.
Usually for instances like that, one needs to manually create a keymap.xml file and store it in the Android userdata folder (/sdcard/Android/data/org.xbmc.kodi/files/.kodi/userdata/). The following is a sample code I used with the Minix Neo A2 lite remote & KODI on the Minix Neo X8-H Plus.

Further customisation is possible & your remote's key ID maybe different..
Keymap didnt worked
voncrane
post Feb 27 2016, 02:53 PM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ Feb 27 2016, 02:44 PM)
Keymap didnt worked
Expected if it's not the Neo A2 Lite remote.. Try searching for your remote's back key ID or the add-on:Keymap Editor.

Edit.. Try this first..
Note that even keys that aren't in the list can be used in keyboard.xml with the syntax:
CODE
<key id="xxx">Action</key>

where xxx is the key code (as decimal number). You can get the key code by looking in xbmc.log. Enable debug logging then press the key a few times. Now look in xbmc.log for lines like:
CODE
DEBUG: SDLKeyboard: scancode: 2, sym: 49, unicode: 49, modifier: 0
DEBUG: CApplication::OnKey: 61537 pressed, action is Number1

The number after CApplication::OnKey, i.e. 61537 in this case, is the key code. This number is decimal not hex.

This post has been edited by voncrane: Feb 27 2016, 02:56 PM
AVFAN
post Feb 27 2016, 04:53 PM

24,453 posts

QUOTE(jchue73 @ Feb 27 2016, 01:31 PM)
Been busy and I have not been playing much with my Nvidia Shield. My wife probably is more familiar.  laugh.gif

But a few days ago I happen to switch it on to check on something and a notice came out on huge update;

Thought it was just a routine update and proceeded to update but just now only I read that it's actually a Marshmallow update that a lot of people have been waiting for.  blush.gif

http://www.androidcentral.com/marshmallow-...rolling-out-now

Supposedly with the latest Kodi and Mashmallow, I am able to bitstream audio to my sound bar. But don't think that happened when I played Avengers Age of Ultron. Need to investigate further.
please do a full review when ready!

i will consider it when one of my older boxes fail. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Feb 27 2016, 04:54 PM
nikrizal
post Feb 27 2016, 04:56 PM

1,230 posts

QUOTE(sepulse @ Feb 27 2016, 02:27 PM)
Get u1 instead!

248 Pages « < 65 66 67 68 69 > » Top

0.0260sec    0.57    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 04:03 PM