Complaint on Great Eastern Insurance, Declination of Guarantee Letter

jasongcp
post Mar 24 2016, 11:25 AM

14 posts

I am a strong believer of having sufficient or rather more than sufficient insurance in one's life and this coverage should move upwards or downwards accordingly to the changes in one's life and earning capability. Somehow, I do agree with the caliber and integrity of most insurance agents in Malaysia sucks big time as I personally witness how a young lady who just joined the industry keep insisting me to get my investment link policy way beyond what I can afford and after which, I realized she did that because she is trying to hit some target set.

Nonetheless, like all industries, there are the bad rotten apples, at the same time, there are the good and honest one. I am glad I have found one. Trust me when I said I am a good reader of insurance agents as I have seen far too many. From my days in London to Singapore to now Malaysia. First time in my life my insurance agent advise me against buying 3 policies from her in one go as she find that the financial impact on me will be great and advise me accordingly which one to go for first and subsequently slowly up the ante.

After reading 4-5 pages of this thread I happened to come to a conclusion which I guess not many will agree as well. Insurance company is just another business entity operating for the sake of profit generating, well even the hair saloon you cut your hair is operating for money. One day when you realised your hair style done by the hair saloon is not as good, will you ask for your money return and go around telling everyone that the hair saloon cheated your money etc? My guess is no and why is that so? The business model is almost identical, Hair saloon is making money out of you by providing a service to you and hair stylists are like agents bridging the market gap between you and the hair saloon. There are good hair stylist and there are bad one, so when you happened to find one good one. Please stick to him/her and frankly speaking, it is of no fault from the company point of view.

At the same time, I find insurance knowledge from majority Malaysians is severely lacking (applies to agents as well) Many have no idea when to make known their medical condition to the insurance company and when things happened, they start calling for the head of the insurance companies. Hey com'on, if you were to buy a used car and after taking the car out of the dealership, immediately the engine dies off. Would you blame the dealer for not telling you the existing problem with the car? Or would you take full responsibility and pay for repair on your own? Metaphors are all around us just that due to the lack of sufficient insurance coverage knowledge, many are led by the nose of their "trusty" insurance agents and omit declaring or under declare their existing or known condition which eventually haunted them.

I read all policies given to me before I sign the acknowledgement slip. I declared all medical conditions regardless how mild or insignificant it is (even my agent commented how detail I am). I even have a full discussion with the panel doctor when I go for my check up. When I need to make a claim, I always call my agent up and get her to advise me on what to say and what to do when I see the doctor. I noticed many times people tends to downplay their condition in front of doctor which eventually caused the medical report issued by the doctor to completely downplay your condition as well. This eventually become your problem when you want to process a claim.

Currently I holding 3 policies and each is around 30% above my expected payout because I like to be sure that my family is well taken care of if something bad happened to me. So far, I feel GE has been quite professional in dealing with my case as even for my generic skin condition - eczema, they requested previous medical report from my GP in Singapore.

If anyone stated that they do not need any insurance policy, I really do hope you earn much much more than the rest of us and yet have much much less commitment than the rest of us. Oh ya, please at least ensure your car is insured, why? Because if you accidentally bumped into mine, I will like to claim from your car insurer. At least that is protection I expect to have as a fellow road user. Protection for your family remains your personal call. I pray for good health and great life to you if you decided not to be insured.
jasongcp
post Mar 28 2016, 09:40 AM

14 posts

QUOTE(lifebalance @ Mar 24 2016, 02:20 PM)
Well written. Don't mind if I can quote your statement in the near future ?
Go ahead, I claim no credit for the write up as I am just sharing my personal view on insurance coverage. Really puzzle with some claiming they do not believe insurance and yet when they buy a house, they insure the house, they buy a car, they insured the car. I was a victim of an accident to the back of my car and the fellow does not have insurance. I am so tempted to report him to the polis and sue the hell out of him as he is so irresponsible.

If you are asking me, I will tell you straight in the face, those who claim they do not buy insurance as they do not trust insurance are really irresponsible. At least to their family. Asian valued our family ties as top priority and many parents claim how much they love their children, giving the best to them. However, they refuse to even buy a RM200 medicard for their children and prefer to spend the money on better car, expensive handbag or even an expensive dinner. I really confuse. Read a statement which I really find very meaningful for parents who do not insure their children medical to dwell over. "If the child fall sick and after spending millions of ringgit to save the child, yet the young life passed on, the father and mother will definitely feel sad, however they will get over it and move on. If children fall sick and yet passed on because the father and mother did not have enough money to save the child. There is no way they will be able to get over it and forgive themselves"

How many times we read online / facebook about how someone is dying and require donation from public because their relatives are so heartless to ignore their pleas. I used to donate money to these unfortunate group until I realised there are many Malaysians bearing same thought and belief like how some in this threads are functioning. They ignore their life insurance coverage thinking they are still young, healthy, no money, not trusting insurance etc..... and yet when shit happened, they scramble around their relatives, friends and closed ones for money and starts criticise how heartless these people are when they refuse to loan them the hundreds, thousands and more. Then they resort to going online to "beg" for donations and naive people like me in the past so willingly open our wallet and take out 100 so that the tiny amount can accumulate to the medical fee which should be originally covered by insurance.

I earn my 100 the hard way as well and being responsible for myself, I still have to take care of those who refuse to take responsibilities for themselves? Now I choose to be "heartless" because a pitiful person sometimes really deserved it. You can disagree with me, at least I know if there is anything to happen to me, I leave behind more than million for my wife and parents and if I need treatments, I can go to the best hospital with the best doctors and best facilities, while you who is not insured can only wept pitifully at how your loved ones go around begging for money and yet faced rejection day in and day out because of your irresponsible decision for ignoring insurance.
jasongcp
post Mar 29 2016, 04:39 PM

14 posts

For those who are assuming I am an insurance agent just show how ignorant you are. It is like only those who are insurance agent are supporting insurance coverage. Have I sell any one here any insurance policy at all? Just for your information, in case you are really that dumb. Insurance agent work for themselves. What is the point of singing praises of insurance and yet I do not earn a single cent from you? The poor are indeed pitiful.

Just to set the record straight, I am not Malaysian hence I am not able to work as an insurance agent and thankfully from what I observed so far, what my agent mentioned to me is true. Malaysian are still far lagging behind in term of insurance knowledge as compared to where I came from.

That is really pitiful. Go on, dwell in your "I do not trust insurance, I have more than enough saving to pay for the RM100,000 hospitalisation fee and if I die now, my family is well taken care of with my saving account of RM1,000,000.
jasongcp
post Mar 29 2016, 09:40 PM

14 posts

QUOTE(ikanbilis @ Mar 29 2016, 09:38 PM)
@xuzen you see jasongcp is upset with you bcoz you labelled him as an insurance agent aka form 3 dropout,  prawn mee seller and shampoo girl...

He is a proud expat from overseas you know...
I don't think insurance agent are form 3 dropout, prawn mee seller and shampoo girl, putting words in other's mouth doesn't make you a smart lad. In fact, I respect honest and ethnical insurance agents especially based on what I read so far. To earn a living from such negative market required real devotion, frankly speaking, I just don't cut it. I just don't understand why supporting an industry = I am part of the industry? This is such a childish statement.
jasongcp
post Mar 30 2016, 10:45 PM

14 posts

QUOTE(ikanbilis @ Mar 30 2016, 03:22 AM)
Chill bro...why so you so serious in a forum?? I understand u just join the forum this month and wanted to prove yourself right? Everyone has his or her opinions. If the product is good, you dun need insurance agents to upsell it. People will go to your product automatically. For example, do you see asnb push their products to you? People queue early in the morning at their offices when a new product is launched. Can you say the same to the insurance industry when a new product is launched??

I have been in this forum 13 years and seen so many complaints against the unethical insurance scams. So before u try so hard to defend the industry, think again before you speak. Everything happens for a reason.
As you have mentioned it, in forum, it is a place for all to share their experience and opinion, now you are implying by joining a month ago, I am a newbie trying to prove my worth to the forum and when you have 13 years lurking in the forum makes you a credible source of information? Oh com'on, did you hear yourself saying that when you type out those words?

The reason why I have the obligation to rebuke your post was because you are challenging me by putting words into my mouth. Hey, we are grown up and professionals here, at least I hope the same for you as well. When we are engaged in healthy and constructive discussion, you do not post personal challenges and expect no return challenges. I do admit I am serious in this discussion especially I find how misled some of the forumers are and this is indeed unhealthy. It is like you know about the Pyramid scam and people are happily discussing how they are benefiting from it prompting others to join in supporting the ideas while you know it is a very wrong concept, yet you refrain from contributing your 2 cents worth of opinion. I reckon this is a healthy forum as I benefited from some of the valuable views from others, I felt the need to contribute my view so that there is another side of the coin to be seen.

I have seen how my relatives suffered when they fell so ill and have to go around begging for hundred of thousand of dollar and if you are not able to chip in at least a few thousands, you are deem unworthy to be called family and trust me, this is the same person who refused any insurance policy citing that they are young and healthy. From what I gathered, you are not a complete "anti-insurance" person which I am glad, however I just do not like it when words are put into my mouth randomly be it virtual reality or reality. I do have my virtual personality as I think you do as well. It is a basic form of respect we can have for one another so that we invite constructive discussion rather than hurling useless comments and attack (that is reserved to kopitiam discussion I reckon) at each other.

I do agree with you that there are plenty of unethical agents around but it is not the company nor the product that failed but human factor. Based on this, we cannot drown the entire industry as they are good ones around as well, just that it really required good judgement on finding the right agent to represent you. I have heard even more horror stories on property agents and car agents, so does that means I stop investing in property and buying cars? Insurance investment is a form of trust building along, even for threadstarter, his/her insurance agent is still trying to help in whichever way he/she can. Sometimes there are many dimensions to view a situation, it is not really black or white in reality. There are grey areas and I do hope you all know there is no all in one policy available and sometimes ill-informed clients makes bad decision as well.

Last but not least, I find your argument on the number of complaints against the unethical insurance scams holds no valid grounds as seldom you will see those who benefited from their insurance come online to praise how good their agents are (seeing how I was deemed as a proud expat when I try to put it across how well covered I am proved these point is it not?) sharing online on positive things about insurance is rare not because they do not happen, but when they happened. It really make no sense on posting as Asian society is always starve of positive remarks on a business establishment or help rendered. However we are always attracted to negative and complaints that everyone can relate to. Time to change that do you not agree?

side note: I am not aggressively and emotionally affected when I type the above in case you do not sense my sense of humor in my posting above.

0.0231sec    0.23    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 07:25 AM