6 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Model Kits Gundam & Mecha modelling thread V33, Gunpla builders assemble!

General_Nic
post Feb 3 2014, 07:06 PM

D5000 fully loaded n ready to shoot~!!
3,508 posts

QUOTE(sphiroth @ Feb 3 2014, 09:28 AM)
After 4 hours of applying water decal last night, I feel like there's a difference in quality between them. The one supplied with my macross kit (especially vf27) were really hard to applied nicely, but the one for nu, is relatively easy.

BTW, anyone knows where to get water slide decal for RG SF? and how much?
waterslides degrade over time
probably your macross kit is old batch, while Nu only released for a year

just buy waterslides online, either from local or japan also can, since postage very cheap for 'paper' laugh.gif
General_Nic
post Feb 3 2014, 10:55 PM

3,508 posts

I'd choose the P-Bandai standard Astray whistling.gif
General_Nic
post Feb 4 2014, 11:57 PM

3,508 posts

QUOTE(HxiiiK @ Feb 4 2014, 10:56 AM)
this made me facepalm and wonder why i never thought of this.. i always clip the decals at the corners using the crocodile clips and simply cut them out using scissors.. can become very tedious when it flops about doh.gif

because you never minta tunjuk ajar from decal sifu whistling.gif whistling.gif whistling.gif
General_Nic
post Feb 6 2014, 10:22 AM

3,508 posts

if you really want MG ZZ, at least get this version then whistling.gif
it has all the same problems, but at least it's badass standing only brows.gif

this version much cooler brows.gif

General_Nic
post Feb 8 2014, 02:39 AM

3,508 posts

QUOTE(TheAdmiral @ Feb 5 2014, 04:55 PM)
pure plastic is 2, the 3rd shade is via sticker ala nu ver ka.
actually it does have 3 different shades of red in plastic, I even double checked mine
General_Nic
post Feb 9 2014, 03:13 PM

3,508 posts

QUOTE(wckpm @ Feb 9 2014, 02:57 PM)
no no... i know how to apply... but the problem is how to protect it...
the next day after i apply one of them stick on my finger when i touch it... wonder wat is my mistake
your mistake is not using Mr mark Setter (or Mr Mark Softer also can)
I think the video got mention about it if you watch it
General_Nic
post Feb 9 2014, 03:14 PM

3,508 posts

QUOTE(Stifler the Stifmeister @ Feb 9 2014, 03:10 PM)
Maybe u put the decal terbalik adi  hmm.gif , the gum side face outside not stick on the plastic.
actually both sides also same can stick if done properly
plus if terbalik can see the printing is on the underside, colour is off, sure will notice mistake
General_Nic
post Feb 10 2014, 11:58 AM

3,508 posts

QUOTE(blood angel @ Feb 10 2014, 11:39 AM)
aiyo so sorry bro, but i did went thro the tutorial pages and other source but for panel lining others put top coat 1st and do it and other just on bare plastic. just wanna know your thoughts and if it makes any difference
because, there's the minimum way and the maximum way
what you saw may be the pros or people with lots of patience
they spray a layer of top coat first, then panel line, lastly another layer of top coat

some does this: base paint -> primary colour -> secondary colour -> top coat -> panel line -> top coat -> decals -> topcoat
this is the maximum way

while the minimum way: colour -> panel line -> decals -> topcoat

whichever way is fine, but the main point is all the last step ends with topcoat
General_Nic
post Feb 10 2014, 12:04 PM

3,508 posts

QUOTE(sphiroth @ Feb 10 2014, 12:00 PM)
IMO, sometimes, it good to experiment with different method to find which is preferable to you. I do decal 1st before panel lining/colour (use marker) because sometime if not careful, the setter/softener liquid can cause smudge to the lining/colour. So I decal 1st, the coat to protect the decal, then only lining/colour.
it depends on your techniques
I guess you applied too much setter/softer hence the lining ink can run
most do lining first because if you applied decals already, trying to rub away excess ink would risk damaging the decals
some uses panel line wash technique, which requires thinner or zippo fluid to wipe away the excess ink, this will damage the decals
General_Nic
post Feb 10 2014, 11:31 PM

3,508 posts

wrong thread sweat.gif

This post has been edited by General_Nic: Feb 10 2014, 11:31 PM
General_Nic
post Feb 12 2014, 03:01 PM

3,508 posts

QUOTE(legenderycity @ Feb 12 2014, 02:19 PM)
Hi, I kinda need help from the sifus here. So I tried using a filer to sand off the nubs but after finishing it with 1000 grit and 1500 grit sandpaper, I still couldn't make it as shiny as it was. Here are some samples:

Any ideas on how to remove those scratches? I heard you can use a polishing agent but I don't know whether a car polish is considered one sweat.gif
there's higher grit sandpaper, with the highest #2000
after that use tamiya compound or similar hobby use polishing compound, usually 3 types, coarse, fine, finish
to end up a surface as shiny as a new car, you need to use coarse -> fine -> finish

I advice against using car polishing compound, it may deteriorate the plastic

final advice, in the second photo, you don't need to worry about nub marks, as the area will covered in the torso after finish assembling

This post has been edited by General_Nic: Feb 12 2014, 03:01 PM
General_Nic
post Feb 12 2014, 04:05 PM

3,508 posts

QUOTE(OhNooy @ Feb 12 2014, 03:02 PM)
My experience, coarse and fine is enough if you are going to matte topcoat.
if you want flat/matte finish, using #2000 sandpaper is good enough, no need compound

QUOTE(rx330 @ Feb 12 2014, 03:59 PM)
i rmemeber using those to polish nail ones, became shiny also
those nail polish sticks? yupe, those work too, although harder to use on curvy surfaces
General_Nic
post Feb 12 2014, 10:35 PM

3,508 posts

QUOTE(legenderycity @ Feb 12 2014, 07:16 PM)
Damn I don't have 800 grit sandpaper so I used a 600 grit one instead, but sadly scratch marks still there. Is it because I sand it too hard?
#600 or #800 doesn't make much difference, most important is the step up in grit
either #600 or #800, the next one you use #1000 or #1200, then next #1500

btw this is getting too much off topic, there's a thread specific for asking about modelling skills

plus, this steps have been posted many times before, please read it
QUOTE(rayloke @ Apr 30 2012, 03:47 PM)
Ok, i think i will share a little bit with snapfit... something i just learn recently when i started doing my snapfit kits.
One of the main challenge of snapfitted kit is the task of removing nip marks, without leaving any visible leftover mark. This is especially challenging when doing colored parts; especially blue n red, n other darker colors. One can sand under the nip mark is flat, but is during the cutting process, any damage on the plastic will leave a white spot on the plastic which is almost impossible to remove 100%. So be very careful!

Part on the runner.

Cut it from the runner with a side cutter. Remember to leave some extra nip. This is because no matter how sharp your side cutter is, the cutting action somehow will have some force pressing onto the plastic. This will, especially parts with darker color like red n blue n grey, The force might damage the plastic n leave white spot.

Then, use a sharp knife to slowly "slice" the nip, bit by bit. With this, no pressure will be put onto the plastic. When the nip mark is short enough, mebbe 0.5mm, we can start doing sanding.

My personal habit is start with a file. This is sometimes dangerous because file can be very erosive n it sands down plastic very fast. As a result, if not careful, u might just over sand the whole thing n leave some very deep scratch mark onto the plastic. Here, i file it down until it's almost near the part. u can still see the shape of the nip. notice the white or light color around the nip? this is plastic damage n turn white. but no worry, it's only skin deep n can be easily removed by sand paper.

Sand paper sanding. i start with 800, end with 1,200 grit. This is because i will be finishing with flat coat. IF u wanna do gloss coat, at least end with 2,000 grit n above. For curvy surface, i strongly recommend to use those 3M sanding sponge, the one state "microfine".

Now we can still see some scratches.

Next i use Tamiya compound Coarse (Pic below) to compound it. Actually i do not need to do this because my final finishing is flat. This is just to show an example for those who wants to do gloss or semi gloss.

Besides compound, if u think it's expensive (around RM15 one tube), u can also use nail polisher. Use the finest one, those used for last step polishing or they call it "buff" type.

Other than that, u can even use those CD recovery fluid. The liquid u use, when your DVD has fine scratches, to wipe on the CD/DVD. IT works.

******************************************************************************************************************************

Compared to the pic above, u can see the glossiness of original Bandai plastic. After compound, it's much glossier, something like those HD version.
General_Nic
post Feb 14 2014, 06:21 PM

3,508 posts

QUOTE(kyuen7 @ Feb 14 2014, 04:47 PM)
Ah ok thanks for the answers. I tried googling, but information about them still pretty vague. And yes, very expensive.
most, if not all, resin kits are expensive, and not everybody has the skills and patience to build resin kits

QUOTE(gundamsp01 @ Feb 14 2014, 06:05 PM)
ic...that's too bad, but i thought flat coat can't be delivered because it is liquid?
liquid items can be posted, it's the pressurized spraycans that aren't allowed
General_Nic
post Feb 14 2014, 07:49 PM

3,508 posts

QUOTE(edan1979 @ Feb 14 2014, 07:09 PM)
if you find the other thread about all airbrushing/whatsnot painting your kit... you'll find an alternative flat coat... the one you need to use AB...
I believe he is searching flat coat paint for AB

QUOTE(gundamsp01 @ Feb 14 2014, 12:45 AM)
btw, if anyone can enlighten me, how much is mr hobby flat coat for ab can i get at bts?  notworthy.gif
General_Nic
post Feb 15 2014, 01:34 PM

3,508 posts

QUOTE(Zheng26 @ Feb 15 2014, 12:53 PM)
Manual brushing, apparently i don't own a airbrush was about to get one but still not sure yet. A question for the mr hobby paint i have to use thinner? any guides on manual brush painting?
definitely need to mix the paint with thinner, as the paint is thick
General_Nic
post Feb 16 2014, 08:57 PM

3,508 posts

QUOTE(Owweichieh91 @ Feb 16 2014, 06:25 PM)
just wanna ask some expert which tools are u guys using i newbie here but i love gunpla n mecha i got 5 mg 2rg n 2 valvrave model all with nub n spurt making the gunpla looks not so nice how to cut it nice and making it nice need help.may noe which cutter using ?
please read this smile.gif

QUOTE(rayloke @ Apr 30 2012, 03:47 PM)
Ok, i think i will share a little bit with snapfit... something i just learn recently when i started doing my snapfit kits.
One of the main challenge of snapfitted kit is the task of removing nip marks, without leaving any visible leftover mark. This is especially challenging when doing colored parts; especially blue n red, n other darker colors. One can sand under the nip mark is flat, but is during the cutting process, any damage on the plastic will leave a white spot on the plastic which is almost impossible to remove 100%. So be very careful!

Part on the runner.

Cut it from the runner with a side cutter. Remember to leave some extra nip. This is because no matter how sharp your side cutter is, the cutting action somehow will have some force pressing onto the plastic. This will, especially parts with darker color like red n blue n grey, The force might damage the plastic n leave white spot.

Then, use a sharp knife to slowly "slice" the nip, bit by bit. With this, no pressure will be put onto the plastic. When the nip mark is short enough, mebbe 0.5mm, we can start doing sanding.

My personal habit is start with a file. This is sometimes dangerous because file can be very erosive n it sands down plastic very fast. As a result, if not careful, u might just over sand the whole thing n leave some very deep scratch mark onto the plastic. Here, i file it down until it's almost near the part. u can still see the shape of the nip. notice the white or light color around the nip? this is plastic damage n turn white. but no worry, it's only skin deep n can be easily removed by sand paper.

Sand paper sanding. i start with 800, end with 1,200 grit. This is because i will be finishing with flat coat. IF u wanna do gloss coat, at least end with 2,000 grit n above. For curvy surface, i strongly recommend to use those 3M sanding sponge, the one state "microfine".

Now we can still see some scratches.

Next i use Tamiya compound Coarse (Pic below) to compound it. Actually i do not need to do this because my final finishing is flat. This is just to show an example for those who wants to do gloss or semi gloss.

Besides compound, if u think it's expensive (around RM15 one tube), u can also use nail polisher. Use the finest one, those used for last step polishing or they call it "buff" type.

Other than that, u can even use those CD recovery fluid. The liquid u use, when your DVD has fine scratches, to wipe on the CD/DVD. IT works.

******************************************************************************************************************************

Compared to the pic above, u can see the glossiness of original Bandai plastic. After compound, it's much glossier, something like those HD version.
General_Nic
post Feb 16 2014, 10:47 PM

3,508 posts

QUOTE(notfree25 @ Feb 16 2014, 10:00 PM)
gamersarena no polycaps.

My friends went and asked
they do sell polycaps, but NOT polycaps from any Gundam kits
those polycaps are from Wave or Kotobukiya, they are for customisation and can be use as replacement parts with some mods
General_Nic
post Feb 18 2014, 03:02 PM

3,508 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Feb 18 2014, 01:42 PM)
i think my current gold paint is acrylic base, so enamel based black paint would be next
enamel black paint have to mix with what to paint brush?

or most of here uses AB to paint the black and the gold?
Gaianotes is lacquer
General_Nic
post Feb 18 2014, 03:04 PM

3,508 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Feb 18 2014, 02:34 PM)
but hand paint can the experts here guide me how to make it more consistent? i had to keep adding the retarder in order for the ink not to dry up, and the colors gets lighter everytime i add the retarder
try painting few thin layers instead of 1 thick layer
by few thin layers mean, u paint a layer, wait it dry, paint another layer, n wait again

6 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0474sec    0.50    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 08:32 PM