Model Kits Gundam & Mecha modelling thread V33, Gunpla builders assemble!

TheAdmiral
post May 12 2014, 04:12 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(BBXiong @ May 12 2014, 03:30 PM)
perhaps someone can fill me in, why is everyone attracted to TurnX here? sweat.gif

still no time to watch Turn A yet though
Its weird looking unlike any mobile suit. For gundam kit builders, after hundreds of design that r roughly similar (heck some r just kitbash/recolored design in itself) getting to build something new, something different is highly anticipated.

It, along with turn a is the most ridiculously overpowered gundam ever, approaching super robot-ish level of power.

Turn a series as a whole is unlike most gundam shows, yet its still great in is own right.

All the above combine makes turn a series a unique entry in the gundam-verse. This give it charm, it is precisely this weirdness and quirky design that makes it attractive.
TheAdmiral
post May 12 2014, 04:39 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(BBXiong @ May 12 2014, 04:35 PM)
interesting, watched Turn A for a few episode and it feels rather slow paced perhaps in the beginning. I'll marathon through it and see for myself, perhaps I'll get it too. BTW I recommend gundamtoyshop if u getting, gotten my RG Zeta and MG Red Frame from him since the shop is nearby my place. Friendly seller thumbup.gif
turn a is not for everyone, its slow pace not just in the beginning but throughout the whole series. It focuses heavily on character development rather then politics and warfare. Its different then most gundam shows and this difference is reflected in its rating. Some even downright hated it because its so un-gundam-ish not just in design but the show as a whole. I'll say give it a try.

This post has been edited by TheAdmiral: May 12 2014, 04:45 PM
TheAdmiral
post May 14 2014, 12:27 AM

49 posts

QUOTE(HxiiiK @ May 14 2014, 12:02 AM)
maybe its time and they wanna push out more Nu/Sazabi ver ka style and complexity kits tongue.gif
i'm hoping this is true.. those are really quality kits and i don't mind having an entire line just for them tongue.gif
like a 1/100 RG
Current MG is 1/100 RG. With the recent ver ka and 3.0 kits, the only true difference between RG and MG at this point is pre-assembled innerframe, and that is vastly inferior to a true proper innerframe. Upscalling a RG is pretty much a step backward rather then forward at this point.

If this new line is just to separate between the ver ka and 3.0 styling to normal releases then its pretty much a pointless gimmick as I dont c the needs to do so.

This post has been edited by TheAdmiral: May 14 2014, 12:28 AM
TheAdmiral
post May 14 2014, 09:33 AM

49 posts

QUOTE(:3mushy:3 @ May 14 2014, 07:13 AM)
New line or not, but the chances of Zaku 3.0 coming out is high likely. I just hope they can do something about the hands (it will most likely be using Sazabi Ka's hands for sure biggrin.gif).
In the case on Zaku 3.0, Sazabi hand will be use no doubt but it should hold up better then on Sazabi. Zaku doesnt have any big heavy weapons, the joint flaws on those hands should be minimize.

QUOTE(HxiiiK @ May 14 2014, 07:39 AM)
that was for lack of a better term, much like how HG was THE 1/144, now we have RGs that are 1/144
so i was referring to something like a transition from HG -> RG.. MG -> whatever they may call the new line
Ahh i got u.

At that time there is a big difference between HG and MG, fans were clamoring for MG style HG together with innerframe, details, and such at the scale of 1/144. We can see it could be done with some compromise and Bandai eventually gone and did it by using some tech from the line above and scale it down while compromising features like innerframe to create the RG line which pleases fans all around. This time though I dont see such aspect in the MG line, there is nothing on the other line that MG doesnt have.

The description of it so far seems to indicate an upscale RG or 3.0/ver ka styling or something around that ballpark, if this is the case then its pretty disappointing to me since its nothing new other then a label on the corner of the box. I could be wrong, I hope im wrong.

This post has been edited by TheAdmiral: May 14 2014, 09:36 AM
TheAdmiral
post May 14 2014, 06:01 PM

49 posts

So 1/100 line dedicated to msv? I approve. But i do question how Bandai's gonna market this. Not many ppl know what the hell a Nightingale or ZII or Mk III is and most msv's design is so unlike normal gundams regular fans may not care about it. Mayb its marketed as some p-bandai exclusive or something (god i hope not).

btw that nightingale on display seems small for a 1/100. Mayb its just the distance or mayb that is 1 of the hg prototype sitting in Bandai Hobby Division HQ.

This post has been edited by TheAdmiral: May 14 2014, 06:06 PM
TheAdmiral
post May 15 2014, 09:17 AM

49 posts

So the new 1/100 line is similar to the old NG line but with a bit more details. Simple in construction, save weight in not having complicated innerframe. This is the only way to make a kit as big as Nightingale in 1/100 without compromising its structural integrity and end up being all floppy.

Its also low risk on Bandai's part since its cheap to r&d due to its simplicity and would make sense since the line up is made up of MSV's that regular fans wouldnt even know where it comes from but hardcore fans were wishing for since time immemorial.

It also provides an entry for Bandai in satisfying ppl hu want MG of things that clearly cant be done or not profitable enough for Bandai to put time and effort on. A middle ground to satisfy both party.

Win win if u ask me. Though i do wonder why on earth Bandai do away with the NG line in the 1st place? NG 00 is already pretty good and ppl were buying in droves.
TheAdmiral
post May 15 2014, 10:31 AM

49 posts

QUOTE(onnylam @ May 15 2014, 10:20 AM)
But why GP04 in the so-called Reborn line? A normal MG ver is very much welcomed, in my opinion....
Mainstream fan dun even know about it. Ppl hu watch 0083 may even miss it. It shares the same name as another suits which may confuse the heck out of mainstream fans. 0083 is old and young fans wont bother with it, heck old hardcore UC fans shun 0083 for its completely out of whack plotlines and loopholes it create for the UC timeline. The only good thing 0083 has is animation. In such circumstances, investing time and money in r&d a MG of a kit that is not well known, on a series that is old and borderline fanfiction is a big investment risk, not worth the trouble.
TheAdmiral
post May 15 2014, 12:20 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(golbeza @ May 15 2014, 12:03 PM)
btw, 1/100 Nightingale's leg consctrucitons look pretty simple ._______.

with that mechanics, now i have a bad feeling about these guys  sweat.gif

Sometimes simple is good.

Complexity means many individual parts, it'll be heavy, cumbersome, too much moving parts depending upon 1 another, which equates to instability. For small/regular MG its fine but the bigger it gets these problems get compounded. Just look at Sazabi, very complex, very beautiful to look at but its almost impossible to pose with. Sure complexity looks good but it sacrifices functionality. I'll take functionality any day.

TheAdmiral
post May 16 2014, 04:53 PM

49 posts

10584yen, adjusted for tax 9800 yen...... so that extra pair of booster is 1800 yen???? dafuq rclxub.gif Its only extra 2 sets of runner with abit more pc parts and some white parts......

This post has been edited by TheAdmiral: May 16 2014, 04:57 PM
TheAdmiral
post May 19 2014, 12:34 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(Jevin94 @ May 19 2014, 12:02 PM)
Yes, this is the part i mentioned, it broke into half when i used too much pressure on it, super glue not working as the part is too small, what can I do?
please provide pictures, just saying it break in half dont provide us with any relevant information like where it broke, at what angle, how it broke, whats its condition now, etc etc. There r multiple ways to fix it depending on its condition.

also dont bother using super glue to fix broken parts, its brittle once dry and will eventually break again.
TheAdmiral
post May 20 2014, 12:08 AM

49 posts

QUOTE(Jevin94 @ May 19 2014, 11:04 PM)
Here you are, what can I do to fix it? Or where can I get a replacement?
Since its hollow, glue it as is will never work since there is no structural support to apply pressure at that angle to squeeze between the 2 halves to provide a strong enough bonding for the cement to work. Attach the joint and maneuver the pieces around till u complete step 4<3> in the instruction manual. B4 u move to step 4<4> put some cement in between the broken pieces and use some binder clip to squeeze the 2 halves together using the joint housing as structural support.

That part is non critical non moving, it will be weaker then it is originally but it should be fine.

U can also recast it with epoxy putty if u want, assuming the same piece on the other arm is intact. Here is a guide on how to do it. This is abit messy but the recast part will be rock solid.

This post has been edited by TheAdmiral: May 20 2014, 12:11 AM

3 Pages < 1 2 3Top

0.0414sec    0.55    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 05:45 PM