126 Pages « < 88 89 90 91 92 > » Bottom

Model Kits Gundam & Mecha modelling thread V33, Gunpla builders assemble!

HxiiiK
post Apr 13 2014, 09:09 PM

QUOTE(Hayden TKY @ Apr 13 2014, 09:05 PM)
Any simple rules to follow before spray paint it??? Newbie here  blush.gif
Currently my idea is all black with some red color and panel lining  nod.gif
just wash the parts, clean them, put a layer of primer, wait for it to dry (some prefer overnight, or up to your experience.. i myself just wait overnight since i spray at night) then spray the color u like.. light coats, be sure to keep the part about 10-20cm away and spray side to side evenly.. spraying perfectly is tiring and u may need a few coats, so u have to spend quite a bit of time there
those are some basics i think.. best you try it yourself and get the feel of it.. but whatever you do, do NOT use industrial thinner to clean paint off your parts.. it will destroy your gunpla.. get the paint remover from hobby stores, those are your best bet
that's all i know, i think.. i'm not quite good in the painting section yet.. i myself am trying to get the hang of airbrushing still, so.. just give it a try, and have fun! spray cans are pretty cheap anyway, i usually get those Mr.DIY spray that cost only about RM7-8 each
General_Nic
post Apr 13 2014, 09:53 PM

D5000 fully loaded n ready to shoot~!!
3,508 posts

damn u bandai, no chrome blades for RG Exia, instead give us dull silver like Sazabi Ver Ka's silver frame doh.gif
wee939
post Apr 13 2014, 10:01 PM

just to share my painted zaku2 ms-06s rclxms.gif

HxiiiK
post Apr 13 2014, 10:13 PM

QUOTE(General_Nic @ Apr 13 2014, 09:53 PM)
damn u bandai, no chrome blades for RG Exia, instead give us dull silver like Sazabi Ver Ka's silver frame  doh.gif
fak... the P-Bandai R1 parts better be chromed.. guess i'll be getting one exia first and waiting for the next one to be on sale
as opposed to wanting 2 RG Exias right away.. damned bandai.. cheaping out on the chrome even though they raised the price
OhNooy
post Apr 13 2014, 10:57 PM

1,133 posts

Why the green parts are already in semi transparent green, but still need stickers?
Khai62
post Apr 13 2014, 11:06 PM

I respect to this person making this.
Khai62
post Apr 13 2014, 11:07 PM

Forum double post error! mad.gif

This post has been edited by Khai62: Apr 13 2014, 11:08 PM
mdshaman
post Apr 13 2014, 11:40 PM

15 posts

damn u bandai, no chrome blades for RG Exia, instead give us dull silver like Sazabi Ver Ka's silver frame  doh.gif
that's strange.. all the scans shows and stated it being chrome plated.. blink.gif well i guess 2700¥ be the standard RG price from now on.. hmm.gif
RoofTopPrince
post Apr 14 2014, 12:29 AM

As long as you have the memories, you can be with that person fo
598 posts

QUOTE(wee939 @ Apr 13 2014, 10:01 PM)
just to share my painted zaku2 ms-06s rclxms.gif

hnnnggggg i gonna build one
TSnazrul90
post Apr 14 2014, 02:11 AM

302 posts

QUOTE(:3mushy:3 @ Apr 13 2014, 02:49 PM)
FG6 - Masked Rider Kabuto - Rider Form

Finally painted this little bugger (no pun intended) biggrin.gif

The good:
1. Appropriate scale and size to be displayed.
2. Articulations rival the SH Figuarts.
3. Nice metallic dark red paint!
4. Awesome eyes.
5. Extras, including that cool roundhouse Rider Kick effect and stands.

The bad:
1. Stickers everywhere, and you need some of them to get the printed details, otherwise due to the scale, it's going to be very difficult to replicate it.
2. Be careful of some pieces that easily warp, especially the lower leg parts when you trim the nubs too hard. I broke the helmet (Masked form) 'wire' thingy.
3. It may be subjective, but the price should be around RM60ish if you ask me.

Articulation is great, very simillar to Figuarts.
What I did to mine:

1. Paint the silver part with Silver Sharpie marker. I find it works well to cover the nub marks.
2. Use Black Sharpie to paint the black part on Masked Form and to rectify mistakes if you accidentally spilled the silver paint area (No.1).
3. A dot of Silver Sharpie on the metallic red nub marks, wait for it to dry, and use Red Sharpie to cover it. Blends well.
4. Mr. Hobby Semi Gloss top coat.
5. Decals only on the Kabuto Zecter and the shoe soles.

I think I like this kit so much due to the easiness of painting the necessary parts, where for Gundams, due to its robotic design and less curvy area, AB is a better way to do it.
Needless to say, I'm not fond of the Masked Form very much biggrin.gif
articulation still sucks
you need to mod the joints a bit to be like SHF articulation

dam conman
give gold plated on RG SF wings but not even for Exia's swords

QUOTE(mdshaman @ Apr 13 2014, 11:40 PM)
that's strange.. all the scans shows and stated it being chrome plated.. blink.gif  well i guess 2700¥ be the standard RG price from now on..  hmm.gif
upcoming RG Char Z'gok still at 2500yen
the price increase on certain MS maybe due to cost production

This post has been edited by nazrul90: Apr 14 2014, 02:12 AM
wee939
post Apr 14 2014, 02:27 AM

QUOTE(RoofTopPrince @ Apr 14 2014, 12:29 AM)
hnnnggggg i gonna build one
u will definitely love to build one
TaurusOxford
post Apr 14 2014, 05:54 AM

Everyone freaking out about RG Exia's GN Sword blades can calm down. The sample kit YellowSubmarine Shop was given was an early review copy, and Bandai hadn't added the chrome to the blades yet.
:3mushy:3
post Apr 14 2014, 07:10 AM

<--~(--+<[o]>+--)~-->
4,723 posts

QUOTE(OhNooy @ Apr 13 2014, 10:57 PM)
Why the green parts are already in semi transparent green, but still need stickers?
Normally it's the foil sticker to be added behind the transparent part, silver/chrome makes the light reflects better biggrin.gif

QUOTE(nazrul90 @ Apr 14 2014, 02:11 AM)
articulation still sucks
you need to mod the joints a bit to be like SHF articulation
Well given that it is an 'HG', it can't match the SHF articulation which is being sold at least double the price. But for an 'HG' kit, the articulation is good enough that it is able to do the character trademark poses, and more biggrin.gif
kyuen7
post Apr 14 2014, 08:46 AM

19 posts

[quote=:3mushy:3,Apr 11 2014, 04:50 PM]
http://goo.gl/bXGs4v tongue.gif

Lol. You did an Iron man! rclxms.gif
Agito666
post Apr 14 2014, 10:19 AM

11,861 posts

chrome or not, if not chrome just get sharpie silver paint all the way XD
HxiiiK
post Apr 14 2014, 10:37 AM

QUOTE(TaurusOxford @ Apr 14 2014, 05:54 AM)
Everyone freaking out about RG Exia's GN Sword blades can calm down. The sample kit YellowSubmarine Shop was given was an early review copy, and Bandai hadn't added the chrome to the blades yet.
Whew.. blades aside.. build looks good and i think it woukd be fun to build.. as per RGs standard
rx330
post Apr 14 2014, 10:51 AM

11,809 posts

any experts here in creating panel lines?
razr_sped
post Apr 14 2014, 11:04 AM

393 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Apr 14 2014, 10:51 AM)
any experts here in creating panel lines?
the one method i see here are using marker, but i'm more of the lazy one where i use very liquidy enamel black/brown by tamiya and let it flow by itself
and wipe off excess one..looks more then enought for me and i dont realli need to be careful..
plus its only 2-300JPY a bottle...
Vorador
post Apr 14 2014, 11:12 AM

Blessed !!!
3,494 posts

sendiri spray lor what to do... sad.gif
Vorador
post Apr 14 2014, 11:17 AM

Blessed !!!
3,494 posts

QUOTE(sphiroth @ Apr 13 2014, 12:15 AM)
Done decal and top coat, the bet rm280 I've spent rclxm9.gif  ...now itchy to get new kit  doh.gif

[attachmentid=3928087]
nice one! thumbup.gif (Even top coat alone make it looks so much nicer!)

126 Pages « < 88 89 90 91 92 > » Top

0.0379sec    0.42    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 05:42 AM