The Google Nexus 5 Official Thread V5, Dolphin Browser are not trusted- XDA

xxdesire
post Feb 12 2014, 11:29 AM

Iris Heart-sama ❤
3,354 posts

QUOTE(ndragon @ Feb 12 2014, 11:18 AM)
wow.. thats impressive... after SOT of 3-4 hrs.. and 2-3hrs of music.. u can still left 30% battery?..

i listen music via bluetooth eats up alot battery.. 10% juice for less than 1 hr..
I listen with cable biggrin.gif Yes, I try bluetooth before also, eat more battery ><
Yeah was impressed with faux, that's why I stay with it.
Also forgot to mention: I greenify a lot of those wakeup apps w/ notification (eg: fb, messenger) only whatsapp on.
SOT mostly is reading stuff. (browser/offline reading) (occasionally check messages/fb)

QUOTE(arif48 @ Feb 12 2014, 11:23 AM)
yeah. got stolen last december, searching the internet if someone trying to sell it online but no luck. so. hoping that by widening the search area can find it back.
Aww, that's horrible sad.gif Tolong kena accident please perompak.
Will look out for any of the condition you mentioned around LYN / mudah / lelong / fb
xxdesire
post Feb 12 2014, 12:03 PM

Iris Heart-sama ❤
3,354 posts

Ahh, yes yes. I'm running on ART. Disabled xposed. No battery guru or what-so-ever. My mostly running background apps are faux app, whatsapp and android tuner.

QUOTE(arif48 @ Feb 12 2014, 11:49 AM)
i know the chances are pretty slim. just trying my luck before i moving on. hahaha. lost it in my dorm room while i was sleeping. the thief left other roommate phone and laptop untouched. only my phone missing.  the imei number 358240-05-533986-5. only get to use it for one day. very sad you know. hahaha
Sound like someone you know stole it. Like @ndragon: Since only your phone missing, hypothetically speaking, one of your roommates could be the thief.

Edit: Yes, like @NightFelix said: Please at least take a photo of the box/receipt and PM them to mudkipryan94 to confirm you are the owner (and not the thief trying to find the box)

This post has been edited by xxdesire: Feb 12 2014, 12:06 PM
xxdesire
post Feb 12 2014, 01:43 PM

Iris Heart-sama ❤
3,354 posts

QUOTE(C-Note @ Feb 12 2014, 12:31 PM)
faux or franco or elementalx is the best?
Still got people asking this question haha doh.gif
All kernels are good. Only you yourself can tell which kernel is suited for your daily usage.
Some will say ElementalX. Some say franco. Some say faux. Some say trinity. Some say etc etc.

Just go flash and test it for a few days.

QUOTE(Someonesim @ Feb 12 2014, 01:08 PM)
Good to know, coz my daily usage are quite similar to yours. Goes to work in LRT with music on headset, mostly music still on during breakfast, main usage was web browsing. Will consider testing on Faux also.  biggrin.gif
If can report back too rclxms.gif
Usually listen to music when work; either morning before lunch or evening until off work.
I referenced Uber's faux kernel settings @ faux N5 thread.

QUOTE(clon12 @ Feb 12 2014, 01:25 PM)
Guys, the IMEI is not supposed to be the same in the phone and the sticker right?
and how do I check the defects?  hmm.gif
doh.gif Why would they put a different IMEI sticker on the phone.

This post has been edited by xxdesire: Feb 12 2014, 01:53 PM
xxdesire
post Feb 12 2014, 02:29 PM

Iris Heart-sama ❤
3,354 posts

QUOTE(clon12 @ Feb 12 2014, 01:54 PM)
if i could recall correctly, AP sets tend to have a different IMEI code in the phone and for the sticker.  hmm.gif
thanks  thumbup.gif
IMEI is a unique identity code to the phone. If we talking about current N5 AP set, the AP set is just overseas phone but not distributed through official distributer. They are original phone from the <wherever-country> play store.

If you purchased a N5 with different IMEI code (box/sticker != phone); chances are that seller has changed box/sticker of the phone. (not sure if got counterfeit N5 now or not lolol)
xxdesire
post Feb 12 2014, 03:16 PM

Iris Heart-sama ❤
3,354 posts

QUOTE(clon12 @ Feb 12 2014, 02:38 PM)
From https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/857577
Identify Original and AP Set
- take out the phone case and battery.
- original set comes with authorized company sticker (Zitron, Avaxx, T-Choice, Midland...)
- AP set comes with AP company sticker (Final Choice...)
- press *#06# to check the phone 15 digit serial number (IMEI).
- compare it with the IMEI written on phone sticker (back of phone case) and package box sticker.
- for original set, these serial numbers are the same.

This is from the obsolete thread but also from what I understand last time. Though your explanation on the changing of box seem plausible too. Anyway I'm posting this from my red  nexus 5
Maybe true from those old days. Now AP sets are just imported original from overseas and sell through different distributors.

However it is still important to check your phone IMEI and compare it to the box before you pay anything to the seller.
xxdesire
post Feb 12 2014, 03:29 PM

Iris Heart-sama ❤
3,354 posts

QUOTE(eveready @ Feb 12 2014, 03:24 PM)
my phone keep rebooting when playing youtube video. is it hardware issue as it happened on stock rom/kernel. no undervolt.
Only when you play Youtube video? from the app or browser?

Some users been reporting about their phone having random reboot; some reported that it was the kernel issue, after they flashed custom kernel, their problem (keep rebooting) been solved.
xxdesire
post Feb 12 2014, 03:52 PM

Iris Heart-sama ❤
3,354 posts

QUOTE(clon12 @ Feb 12 2014, 03:45 PM)
I see. Well great to know that too. I've check and everything tally. Just the buttons are a bit loose.

Anyway here's the photo as promised ytd.

Nice! thumbup.gif Ready up (to attract females) for Valentine's Day brows.gif
But that red is way to bright for my liking. And I don't fancy the red speaker grill tongue.gif
xxdesire
post Feb 13 2014, 08:09 AM

Iris Heart-sama ❤
3,354 posts

QUOTE(ashwin988 @ Feb 12 2014, 11:41 PM)
@xxdesire

Faux 009 is out!! with the new governor intelliactive. Check it out, feel smoother to me and so much better smile.gif
Wow really?! Yesterday when to sleep early so totally miss it. Now downloading and flashing brows.gif

QUOTE(ndragon @ Feb 12 2014, 11:54 PM)
so u guys buy the faux paid apps tuner?.. worth buying?..
QUOTE(bugb34r @ Feb 13 2014, 12:04 AM)
Buy to support dev. PM me to get half price.  brows.gif
Aiyoh why no tell me can get half price sweat.gif
Anyway I bought it during my N7 time, after I switch to ElementalX (on N7), I totally forgot that I bought faux app haha
xxdesire
post Feb 13 2014, 08:35 AM

Iris Heart-sama ❤
3,354 posts

Anyone here uses Google Play music app? Have any problem detecting music from sdcard? Even though my other music app can detect the music files, play music can't detect; keep asking me to transfer music to my phone.

QUOTE(djlah @ Feb 13 2014, 08:25 AM)
using ElementalX kernel + faux app for changing settings = profit!
hahaha
Haha yeah, after reminder here, I went and dl faux app on my N7 and uses that to change for elementalx settings icon_rolleyes.gif
xxdesire
post Feb 13 2014, 08:51 AM

Iris Heart-sama ❤
3,354 posts

QUOTE(mudkipryan94 @ Feb 13 2014, 08:40 AM)
Maybe there was some edit on User list on 10.10A.m. ..
to do so.. don't submit 1st yeah smile.gif
Oh, also need add in Red in color section haha biggrin.gif

QUOTE(djlah @ Feb 13 2014, 08:41 AM)
Yes, I'm. using it and play my music files from internal storage, no problem.
Edit: Clear cache/dalvik, reboot, now play music is displaying all music files.

This post has been edited by xxdesire: Feb 13 2014, 09:33 AM
xxdesire
post Feb 13 2014, 09:27 AM

Iris Heart-sama ❤
3,354 posts

QUOTE(ic-klass @ Feb 13 2014, 09:20 AM)
Anyone know where can get case and sp for N5 quickly, no need waiting - just walk in?
Rarely see shop sells so try go garage sales look for ready stocks.

This post has been edited by xxdesire: Feb 13 2014, 09:29 AM
xxdesire
post Feb 13 2014, 11:35 AM

Iris Heart-sama ❤
3,354 posts

QUOTE(Najmods @ Feb 13 2014, 11:10 AM)
My battery life being shitty with data on I have no idea whats been draining the battery, everytime I browse it seems like it eats 1% battery every couple of minutes no matter what the screen brightness or CPU clock/voltage. I disable Google Location today and the battery drains just like on WiFi. I dont want Google to stick their hands to my stuff anymore, I want my privacy
Um, you do know if you do sync your stuff to Google, they has most of your info not just location sweat.gif

it seems on data is draining battery. Is your network signal strong? (check dBm in phone info) also check your network mode.

xxdesire
post Feb 13 2014, 12:48 PM

Iris Heart-sama ❤
3,354 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Feb 13 2014, 12:33 PM)
I feel 5" and 7" is way too close to warranty using the Nexus 7 on a regular basis lol. 8" is a different story though tongue.gif
My friend has a note 8.i used it (borrow for 2 days and play) and the 1 inch is not that much of a big deal for me (compare to my n7 la). I would prefer development and updates over a little bigger screen tongue.gif
xxdesire
post Feb 13 2014, 12:51 PM

Iris Heart-sama ❤
3,354 posts

QUOTE(blinky @ Feb 13 2014, 12:10 PM)
Yeah, and since I'm already using a Nexus 7, might as well change to a Nexus phone too!
I would at least recommend to root (if you dont want flash it's ok) so you can utilize those root apps. But it's your device, your choice tongue.gif
xxdesire
post Feb 13 2014, 01:17 PM

Iris Heart-sama ❤
3,354 posts

No one giving Meenova a chance?
It's pretty good as there's no space limitation (based on the capacity of the sdcard you use)

This post has been edited by xxdesire: Feb 13 2014, 01:33 PM
xxdesire
post Feb 13 2014, 01:55 PM

Iris Heart-sama ❤
3,354 posts

QUOTE(djlah @ Feb 13 2014, 01:39 PM)
US$ 12.00, interested  drool.gif  drool.gif 
anyone bulk it?
Yes, I'm also interested in joining bulk as they have flat rate of $3.00 shipping fee only. (buy 10, each pay shipping $0.30cent brows.gif )

QUOTE(colt45 @ Feb 13 2014, 01:49 PM)
guys..if any of you is interested..
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3130175
Lol, so fast sell haha biggrin.gif
Good luck!
xxdesire
post Feb 13 2014, 02:35 PM

Iris Heart-sama ❤
3,354 posts

QUOTE(C-Note @ Feb 13 2014, 02:17 PM)
hey guys if i do factory reset(for flashing rom) on Nexus(no sd card), will i lose all the nandroid and TB?
What is a data media device?

tl;dr
TWRP: factory reset will not wipe your internal sdcard. To be safe, just do a backup.
Edit: same with CWM. Assuming same with PhilZ too.

This post has been edited by xxdesire: Feb 13 2014, 02:37 PM
xxdesire
post Feb 13 2014, 02:52 PM

Iris Heart-sama ❤
3,354 posts

QUOTE(C-Note @ Feb 13 2014, 02:37 PM)
but doesnt nexus only have one internal storage/sdcard?
All phones have only one internal storage, rest are expandable (external).
In Nexus 5, the internal storage is actual in /data under /data/media.

TWRP's method of wiping data in factory reset:
Since /data/media is part of /data, we pretty much never actually format the data partition. Formatting data, of course, also removes the media folder that contains the internal sdcard. When you choose a factory reset, instead of formatting, we use rm -rf commands to remove all the folders except for the media folder so that we can remove all of your apps and settings while leaving your "sdcard" intact. In TWRP we also have a wipe internal storage option that rm -rf's the media folder and a "Format Data" option that formats to recreate the entire file system in case something goes completely wrong or to remove device encryption.

xxdesire
post Feb 13 2014, 04:16 PM

Iris Heart-sama ❤
3,354 posts

QUOTE(freakyleon93 @ Feb 13 2014, 03:57 PM)
Is the warranty from google play store an international warranty?

For example, if I get an Australian set, can I claim warranty in Japan's google play store?
No international warranty. You buy from that country's play store, your warranty is at that country's LG center.
xxdesire
post Feb 13 2014, 05:57 PM

Iris Heart-sama ❤
3,354 posts

QUOTE(deadman8836 @ Feb 13 2014, 05:53 PM)

This is how long my battery can last me for occasional Facebook, Instagram and Whatsapp. Rooted with Stock ROM + Stock Kernel + very light touch of Gravity Box  tongue.gif
Not bad thumbup.gif
Used any root apps?

This post has been edited by xxdesire: Feb 13 2014, 05:58 PM

8 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0513sec    0.50    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 05:52 PM