New 2014 Honda City, come show the excitement!

ZeroSP
post Feb 17 2014, 12:31 AM

184 posts

The sad thing is, knowing it is in Malaysia...

Son: Ah Ba, I am going to buy this new City. Very complete at a good price.

Dad: You siao ah? How many times must I tell you to stay away from any other cars other than Toyota? You see CVT again, not scared ah?

Son: But but... Toyota also using CVT ma

Dad: You also know how to say IT IS a Toyota, you ever see Toyota got emergency assist team? No right? Toyota will never breakdown. No more argument, get yourself a Vios please. Even cheapest one will do. My salesman told me VVT-i is better than i-Vtec, it has to do with the V, the more V the better.

Ok... But certainly it the top variant is right at 90-92K, it will be good and somehow eating into another segment.
ZeroSP
post Feb 23 2014, 11:04 PM

184 posts

I cannot brain if Honda really go for rear drums. They have only done so for the iDSI and the lesser hybrids.
ZeroSP
post Mar 8 2014, 02:22 AM

184 posts

The next thing you know, Toyota salesman will have smile on their faces now.

Just keep hantam the same point, City top spec also don't have disc brake you know?

Vios no traction control? No need of one... You are not going to race.

Believe it or not, this is exactly the point that elder generation will buy.

"When Toyota uses CVT, it is advancement; when the competitor uses, keep hantam it will spoil"
ZeroSP
post Mar 12 2014, 11:20 AM

184 posts

QUOTE(ericmaxman @ Mar 12 2014, 09:09 AM)
Whats wrong with having rear disc brakes?

This is a NA 1.5L B segment car, not some turbocharged C segment car (which also weighs heavier)

Just because the Vios has it, so the Honda also must have?
It is like all the while since iDSI City and some minor hybrid models, all Honda cars fitted with rear disc.

So it is like, since they are going to fight that VIOS or BIOS or VIUS whatever, they already doing so much on the spec list with a good pricing, why let go of something like the rear disc?

And we all know that Toyota salesman having easy job already by how they con people to buy Vios (no need con la actually, people will buy without asking technical shit, janji Toyota), now suddenly Toyota salesman become so technical-savvy by telling people "you see, City fitted with drum even on highest spec, our Vios is rear disc".

Eh, no joke... My friend bought a Vios G instead of TRD (which he wanted), just because salesman say TRD suspension is too hard too racy for normal use (I am like @@).
ZeroSP
post Mar 12 2014, 10:31 PM

184 posts

QUOTE(sanadi @ Mar 12 2014, 09:10 PM)
I agree, marketing wise, the New Honda City is "inferior" compared to current 5th Gen City in Malaysia.

Friends and colleagues have been saying these:
* no paddle shift
* rear drum brakes

They are not car enthusiasts, but they do look at features and compare cars. They *all* say the current gen City is better.

Looks like the new 6th Gen City's nemesis is its own brother, the 5th Gen City.
All the while paddle shift only on Honda AT equipped cars. CVT usually with tiptronic buttons although they work the same. But yes, it is missing nonetheless.

Drum brakes, as I have said, might be nothing wrong to the car. But the marketing part is failing. Hoohaa big to take down rivals, but score an own goal.
ZeroSP
post Mar 13 2014, 11:13 PM

184 posts

QUOTE(sanadi @ Mar 13 2014, 11:05 PM)
For car enthusiasts or those knowledgeable on cars like us, we know that rear disc is not necessary for a light 1.5L car like City. But to the majority of the car-buying public, they think no paddle shifters & rear drums are downgrade because the *previous gen City had it*.

Would I buy the new City if I'm looking for one? Yes for the 6-airbags + VSC variant. It is up to us to explain to our friends, families & colleagues that the safety features are more important than paddle shifters.
Yes, but you know the biggest let down IMHO, is that Honda make the suspension softer than before. It is like losing out the core philosophy a bit. In order to sell cars, it is like finally even Honda give up their philosophy.

And drum brake wise, like I say may be sufficient, but it is bad for marketing wise, and making the ever greedy UMW Toyota job too easy.
ZeroSP
post Mar 14 2014, 12:26 AM

184 posts

QUOTE(sanadi @ Mar 13 2014, 11:16 PM)
Are you sure about the suspension? That's like, a Honda is not a Honda anymore!

Honda should be
* free revving, sweet sounding engines
* good handling
Various test drive review (Paultan, Live Life Drive) mentioned the same thing. It is biased to comfort suspension setup. While it is still better than Vios and Almera like, it is definitely "not so Honda" IMHO.
They say people complained about the current City slightly harsh setup, but I think this is what Honda should have, it is like the identity itself.

My sister drove current City and I am very well know of how the handling is despite not top notch, lesser than Fiesta but better than Polo Sedan itself to me. Now the review is saying it is not any better than Polo Sedan.
ZeroSP
post Mar 16 2014, 02:27 AM

184 posts

QUOTE(kerorokatak @ Mar 15 2014, 10:58 AM)
Guys, how the cvt gearbox for this new city? 2006 city cvt is giving alot of problem to me....
In my home we have a 2005 City CVT too, but I don't encounter any problem till today.

Just use the correct CVTF. Before this shit happens because they pour ATF into it, and then people keep spreading it like the CVT sucks (Toyota fans maybe?).

The new City CVT however is not quite the same as previous one, they have replaced the wet starter clutch with conventional torque converter. Reliability improved, but suffer more power loss.
ZeroSP
post Mar 19 2014, 03:15 PM

184 posts

QUOTE(V12Kompressor @ Mar 19 2014, 02:39 PM)
fixed. tongue.gif
rclxms.gif brows.gif
ZeroSP
post Mar 23 2014, 09:07 PM

184 posts

My official test drive is on next Saturday. I will share out my findings by then. I test drive each and every Honda ever since I drive a Honda. I will dig every hidden functions out.

Regarding the S+, there should be a mode button no? It is quite straight-forward.
ZeroSP
post Mar 24 2014, 03:45 AM

184 posts

Nobody get the metallic gray? That looked best to me... Easy to take care, the color pops easily after a good detailing.
ZeroSP
post Mar 28 2014, 03:32 AM

184 posts

QUOTE(ronDON @ Mar 27 2014, 05:35 PM)
guys...this may be a dumb question, but does anyone know if the ABS & EBD & VSC an active feature for all 4 wheels or just 2(front) only??
For Honda, it is all under a package (function) called VSA. ABS is on all wheels (for 4 discs brake model), EBD is on all side. TCS is achieved by combining various of correction.

This post has been edited by ZeroSP: Mar 28 2014, 03:35 AM
ZeroSP
post Mar 28 2014, 02:39 PM

184 posts

QUOTE(alxdc @ Mar 28 2014, 07:42 AM)
I think ronDON is confused with rear drum brake whether the VSA and all other safety feature work?
The answer is yes it work all 4 wheels even though rear brakes are  drum.
Well that should fine then. Cause the articles I had last time, still no Honda models with rear drum yet tongue.gif.
ZeroSP
post Apr 5 2014, 05:47 PM

184 posts

I would like to work on a Modern Steel or Blue color City for Opti Coat. Anyone want to take my offer?
ZeroSP
post Apr 17 2014, 12:37 PM

184 posts

QUOTE(david890701 @ Apr 17 2014, 12:23 PM)
thats what i read from other forumer. S = Sports mode. Hence my curiosity
To make it easier to understand, CVT varies between a set of ratios (Let's say 3.5 to 0.7), while for 5AT each gear has its own ratio.

D mode = All ratios is being used for maximum efficiency (For AT, which means all 5 gears can be engaged, and CVT can vary into all the given ratio)

S mode = O/D Off, for Honda 5AT you are left with 1,2,3 only since 4 and 5 are OD gear. The same goes to CVT (which means the ratio range is now reduced to 3.5 to 1.0) hence dubbed as sport mode since with shorter ratio your rpm stays higher, and shorter ratio (lower gear) means more responsive throttle, and also better traction. It is like how you would go to lower gear on slope/going down hill/taking a corner.

L mode = Only the initial ratio (means only first gear for AT, first ratio range for CVT) used only for heavy towing or you are really going down a super slope (which I doubt so)

My home has previous gen CVT City, previous gen 5AT City, Civic FD and so... I played with them all very well.

This post has been edited by ZeroSP: Apr 17 2014, 12:38 PM
ZeroSP
post May 2 2014, 10:28 PM

184 posts

QUOTE(wroof @ May 2 2014, 02:59 PM)
bro.. it is too professional.. cant figure what r u trying to say.. if im going up to hill like genting, then i shud push to 'S' ? how to maintain cvt gearbox anyhow ?
Nothing too professional.

Yes, if you going up genting and you want easier time, put it to S mode. And going down hill the same also, you will want to use the lower gear ratio range in S mode.

I dunno what car you drive before but to sum it up.

D mode = D mode just like any car

S mode = O/D off in most general automatic car, or some car marked as D3 (As I have seen in Kelisa), cause their D is D4.

L mode = Same like normal L mode

Maintaining CVT and its performance, install a CVTF cooler (normally referred as ATF cooler, but since this is not an AT, I call it CVTF cooler), it works the same just to cool down your transmission fluid.

And for Honda, use the premium CVTF from Japan instead of normal grade CVTF from Singapore. The premium is called HMMF (Honda Multi Matic Fluid) that comes in 4 litre can and cost 2x of normal CVTF. Many claims they are the same, but I tell you no, it is far different. I have used the HMMF for the my home old City, the ATF-DW1 Ultra for my sister's City, and also the MTF-3 Ultra for my bro's FD2R. All Japan version have superior response, especially in the CVT and AT, since for MT the gear change smoothness depends on your clutch control.

Note: The new City CVT is paired with Torque Converter, therefore I am not sure whether HMMF or the HCF-2 should be used as I do not own the new City. Kindly refer to your manual book.

This post has been edited by ZeroSP: May 2 2014, 10:38 PM
ZeroSP
post May 3 2014, 07:24 PM

184 posts

QUOTE(FiFiQ89 @ May 3 2014, 07:17 PM)
anybody here can advise me the best wax for blue colour city? I tried a lot of products but mostly disappoint me and didn't last that long sad.gif
Go for quality sealant or coating la, knowing it is Malaysia.
ZeroSP
post May 20 2014, 12:01 PM

184 posts

QUOTE(joseph-2898 @ May 20 2014, 10:34 AM)
after maintenance u go home and try open it and see whether is it real iridium or not  biggrin.gif
All Honda models since last Civic FD comes with Iridium plugs.
ZeroSP
post May 20 2014, 01:00 PM

184 posts

QUOTE(WhereTheLightIs @ May 20 2014, 12:20 PM)
Laser iridium? I check the maintenance guideline, change sparkplug only at 100K. Normal iridium life cycle is only 60K , unless its Laser Iridium
Yup, Laser Iridium, another grade higher than common iridium. Much more expensive at RM240++.

My older city changed once. My Civic still first set. Bought from one of the seller in this forum, need to special order as he hold no stock for such plugs.

This post has been edited by ZeroSP: May 20 2014, 01:01 PM

0.0515sec    0.31    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 06:37 AM