123 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

News ROG GL552VW i7-6700HQ GTX960m 128GB FHD W10 ~ 4399, XPS15 6300HQ GTX960,4K infinityEdge~6699

SUSbingding
post Jan 28 2014, 09:40 AM

662 posts

QUOTE(shin2l @ Jan 28 2014, 09:38 AM)
clock rate, which means if you overclock gt750m to gt755m clock rate, it will "unofficially" become gt755m. And they are of the same identical card.
what i meant is are there other differences between these two laptop models beside their gc is different...
shin2l
post Jan 28 2014, 09:52 AM

1,032 posts

QUOTE(bingding @ Jan 28 2014, 09:40 AM)
what i meant is are there other differences between these two laptop models beside their gc is different...
everything same, price RM200 difference just for 10% improvement. Last time Y500 and Y510p with GT750M is more valuable. In fact, GC is the same technically.
SUSbingding
post Jan 28 2014, 09:55 AM

662 posts

QUOTE(shin2l @ Jan 28 2014, 09:52 AM)
everything same, price RM200 difference just for 10% improvement. Last time Y500 and Y510p with GT750M is more valuable. In fact, GC is the same technically.
haiz, why lenovo increase the price if only differ a bit.....increase few hundred summore, not few ringgit...

This post has been edited by bingding: Jan 28 2014, 09:55 AM
shin2l
post Jan 28 2014, 10:02 AM

1,032 posts

QUOTE(bingding @ Jan 28 2014, 09:55 AM)
haiz, why lenovo increase the price.....
That is why I asked my friend faster buy Y500 (<RM2999 + warranty upgrade), however, it was still 3rd gen I7 but it was more than enough. Later, Lenovo refresed Y500 to Y510p with Haswell I7, price increased to RM3099 (not mistaken). Nearly the end of year, Lenovo refreshed again Y510p with GT755M plus price increased to RM3399. So, basically you are paying RM200+ for 40mhz increase in base clock (equivalent to 10% performance in SLI performance) which you can actually use for warranty upgrade.

The price change affected most in single version (RM200~RM500), SLI version always remains RM3999 (not mistaken) throughout the model refresh
SUSbingding
post Jan 28 2014, 10:12 AM

662 posts

QUOTE(shin2l @ Jan 28 2014, 10:02 AM)
That is why I asked my friend faster buy Y500 (<RM2999 + warranty upgrade), however, it was still 3rd gen I7 but it was more than enough. Later, Lenovo refresed Y500 to Y510p with Haswell I7, price increased to RM3099 (not mistaken). Nearly the end of year, Lenovo refreshed again Y510p with GT755M plus price increased to RM3399. So, basically you are paying RM200+ for 40mhz increase in base clock (equivalent to 10% performance in SLI performance) which you can actually use for warranty upgrade.

The price change affected most in single version (RM200~RM500), SLI version always remains RM3999 (not mistaken) throughout the model refresh
haiz, nvm lo coz my previous lappy broken at the wrong time... erm, i din buy the warranty upgrade.. is it important to buy?
shin2l
post Jan 28 2014, 10:36 AM

1,032 posts

QUOTE(bingding @ Jan 28 2014, 10:12 AM)
haiz, nvm lo coz my previous lappy broken at the wrong time... erm, i din buy the warranty upgrade.. is it important to buy?
Default is 2 yrs for lenovo y series, warranty upgrade can increse from basic 2 yrs to 3 yrs either with carry in service or onsite service. Accidental protection is also part of the warranty upgrade if not mistaken. Hope other sifus can advice.

For some users, number of freegifts is not important (unless free ssd, hdd, ram), warranty service is much important which I very agree.
SUSbingding
post Jan 28 2014, 10:39 AM

662 posts

QUOTE(shin2l @ Jan 28 2014, 10:36 AM)
Default is 2 yrs for lenovo y series, warranty upgrade can increse from basic 2 yrs to 3 yrs either with carry in service or onsite service. Accidental protection is also part of the warranty upgrade if not mistaken. Hope other sifus can advice.

For some users, number of freegifts is not important (unless free ssd, hdd, ram), warranty service is much important which I very agree.
whats accidental protection? so if no upgrade, then there wont be any warranty for accidental protection? and onsite service means what?
cheese86
post Jan 28 2014, 02:45 PM

790 posts

feel like sending in my Y500 into service center for massive clean up.

i need them disassemble my whole notebook, clean up all the dust and reapply the thermal paste for both CPU and GPU

do the service center in 1U have such service for notebook under warranty ?

i know HP have that kind of service.
ckeong89
post Jan 28 2014, 03:02 PM

779 posts

QUOTE(bingding @ Jan 28 2014, 10:12 AM)
better buy an upgrade la...not very expensive, rm70 for 3y carry-in, and rm160 for 3y on-site. if not mistaken, both these warranty are international warranty. so worth la spend a little bit more for extra 1 year protection. for warranty upgrade, if not mistaken only resellers are able to do ut for y-series. correct me if im wrong.
shin2l
post Jan 28 2014, 03:02 PM

1,032 posts

QUOTE(wengjoe @ Jan 28 2014, 02:45 PM)
feel like sending in my Y500 into service center for massive clean up.

i need them disassemble my whole notebook, clean up all the dust and reapply the thermal paste for both CPU and GPU

do the service center in 1U have such service for notebook under warranty ?

i know HP have that kind of service.
As quote, can the job be done on Y500?? CPU may be socketed but GPU is soldered right?
icecreamcake
post Jan 28 2014, 03:21 PM

307 posts

QUOTE(jeff10012003 @ Jan 28 2014, 07:19 AM)
what about the settings? all ultra like me?  brows.gif
I use GeForce Experience to help me optimize all the setting

instead of manual setting with test one by one. biggrin.gif
shin2l
post Jan 28 2014, 03:25 PM

1,032 posts

QUOTE(icecreamcake @ Jan 28 2014, 03:21 PM)

instead of manual setting with test one by one.  biggrin.gif
Interesting, the games you optimized is it genuine games?
jeff10012003
post Jan 28 2014, 03:37 PM

Format Complete
2,117 posts

QUOTE(icecreamcake @ Jan 28 2014, 03:21 PM)

instead of manual setting with test one by one.  biggrin.gif
optimized but the temp is still high?
should not be the case..
hmm.gif

icecreamcake
post Jan 28 2014, 04:18 PM

307 posts

QUOTE(shin2l @ Jan 28 2014, 03:25 PM)
Interesting, the games you optimized is it genuine games?
I have both non-genuine and genuine games,
both also can be optimized. biggrin.gif

No problem so far.

QUOTE(jeff10012003 @ Jan 28 2014, 03:37 PM)
optimized but the temp is still high?
should not be the case..
hmm.gif
No idea.
I think the GeForce Experience is optimized the graphic setting
based on the GPU capability to run the game smoothly , so it may
fully load the GPU. hmm.gif

High temp only happen when playing high graphic demand games.
Others low end graphic games won't reach until this temp.

The palm rest area also will become very hot sweat.gif ,
but it still acceptable.

How about your's y510 ? rolleyes.gif

jeff10012003
post Jan 28 2014, 05:26 PM

Format Complete
2,117 posts

QUOTE(icecreamcake @ Jan 28 2014, 04:18 PM)
both also can be optimized.  biggrin.gif

No problem so far.
No idea.
I think the GeForce Experience is optimized the graphic setting
based on the GPU capability to run the game smoothly , so it may
fully load the GPU.  hmm.gif

High temp only happen when playing high graphic demand games.
Others low end graphic games won't reach until this temp.

The palm rest area also will become very hot  sweat.gif ,
but it still acceptable.

How about your's y510 ? rolleyes.gif
mine currently the highest demand is arkham origins.
i turned on all settings to ultra and still the game satisfy me.
i never used GE to optimize it.
the funny thing is the anti aliasing.
i switch to geforce AA high and the graphic is so smooth.
but when i pull it down to MXAA(iinm) and the game lag a bit.
i cannot show you the screen now as mentioned, it's at the service center.. cry.gif

storm88
post Jan 28 2014, 05:52 PM

~UncleSam Ready to Rolls~
5,595 posts

QUOTE(s7ran9er @ Jan 28 2014, 10:15 AM)
Yes, Lenovo at CES mentioned it will be available during Q1 but source here says May 2014.

Not sure when but I'm guessing storm88 might have some tips?  rolleyes.gif
Lenovo Malaysia has no info to give at all at this moment

but base on the experience cooperate with Lenovo, high chances that Y50/40 arrives at April / May lor IMO
SUSbingding
post Jan 28 2014, 07:10 PM

662 posts

QUOTE(ckeong89 @ Jan 28 2014, 03:02 PM)
better buy an upgrade la...not very expensive, rm70 for 3y carry-in, and rm160 for 3y on-site. if not mistaken, both these warranty are international warranty. so worth la spend a little bit more for extra 1 year protection. for warranty upgrade, if not mistaken only resellers are able to do ut for y-series. correct me if im wrong.
wats on site warranty?
shin2l
post Jan 28 2014, 09:57 PM

1,032 posts

QUOTE(icecreamcake @ Jan 28 2014, 04:18 PM)
both also can be optimized.  biggrin.gif

Good Goood rclxms.gif

Bcs I only have non-genuine games, I am afraid that GeForce Experience will detect and charge me icon_question.gif
ckeong89
post Jan 29 2014, 01:10 AM

779 posts

QUOTE(bingding @ Jan 28 2014, 07:10 PM)
wats on site warranty?
on site warranty mean if there's any problem with ur laptop, u call up the service center, the technician will diagnose the problem thru phones and once problem identified, service center will send the technician to ur place to fix ur laptop.
lee1767
post Jan 29 2014, 10:33 PM

64 posts

Today, just got myself one unit of Y510P....

123 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0314sec    0.36    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 08:23 AM