6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

News ROG GL552VW i7-6700HQ GTX960m 128GB FHD W10 ~ 4399, XPS15 6300HQ GTX960,4K infinityEdge~6699

miong93
post Jan 18 2015, 09:58 AM

~ Fulamak ~
1,236 posts

QUOTE(calvinlgj1985 @ Jan 18 2015, 09:29 AM)
I should say 1hr and 50 min. Mid brightness and wifi off. Just play movie only. Hwmonitor says batt at 4% wear. And i use the batt often and its max capacity is 48 mwh. Msi never use large capacity for their ge series.
Oh.. I didn't know that.. But almost 2 hours is okay ad lar.. Lucky my Z5 is 6 cells.. can last me 3-5 hours with wifi on and mid brightness sweat.gif
But your screen is better.. LG IPS.. not AHVA thumbup.gif
miong93
post Jan 24 2015, 09:34 AM

~ Fulamak ~
1,236 posts

QUOTE(inShuz @ Jan 24 2015, 12:20 AM)
Hi everyone! I'm struggling between Acer Nitro or Aftershock M-15

Nitro
Intel Core i7-4710HQ Quad-core 2.50 GHz
39.6 cm (15.6") Full HD (1920 x 1080) 16:9 IPS
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 860M with 2 GB Dedicated Memory
12 GB, DDR3L SDRAM
1 TB HDD + 8 GB SSD

AfterShock M-15
Clevo based?
4th Generation Intel® Haswell Core™ i7-4710MQ Processor (Quad Core)
15.6 FHD IPS Display
NVIDIA GEFORCE 850M GTX 2GB GDDR3
IC Diamond Thermal Compound CPU
8GB DDR3L 1600MHZ (8x1)
750GB Western Digital Solid State Hyrbid Drive (16GB SSD NAND Cache, 5400rpm)
DVD Drive

Both are less than RM100 different sad.gif
Aftershock
Pros: Good built quality, IC diamond Thermal
Cons: GTX 850m

Nitro
Pros: more ram, disks and 860M
Cons: reputation in gaming laptop?

Did I miss anything? This is so hard!! Appreciate you guys any feedback!
Acer V Nitro, if not mistaken, the Acer now comes with 4gb vram.. so it's even better.. and I though it comes with 8gb ram ?
Acer V Nitro also comes with LG IPS screen.. But they're using stock thermal..
So.. Acer V Nitro, best bang of buck

This post has been edited by miong93: Jan 24 2015, 09:35 AM
miong93
post Jan 26 2015, 03:02 PM

~ Fulamak ~
1,236 posts

I have to admit.. Rm4.7k can get an i7 and gtx970m is really a good.. no.. Best deal..
exclude the 5400rpm hdd.. lol
miong93
post Jan 26 2015, 06:47 PM

~ Fulamak ~
1,236 posts

QUOTE(silrave @ Jan 26 2015, 04:39 PM)
haha told u liao a
except that stupid hdd lol
Cause I tot it's 965 or 960m ma.. not 970m.. But since I got laptop ad.. other laptop is all a luxury for me.. haha
I now "heng" desktop and desktop parts drool.gif

QUOTE(riku2replica @ Jan 26 2015, 05:54 PM)
If you compare with Dell US price. Our R9 295M is cheaper compare to theirs while their 970M is way cheaper than us.  sweat.gif
Ya lo.. I tot US got more Nvidia user.. so price should be higher..
miong93
post Jan 26 2015, 07:08 PM

~ Fulamak ~
1,236 posts

QUOTE(zonan4 @ Jan 26 2015, 06:58 PM)
If you have friends working in Dell you can get it way cheaper... And I heard there is a discount on Chinese new year... At first I'm going for GE62 with 970m but Dell offering is too good to pass on. what u guys thing whoch one I should go? Off course I'll add SSD onto the AW15
Obviously get the AW.. HDD just bear with it lo.. or ask then to switch to a 7200rpm.. they sure will switch it for you if you add in more..
4.7k for gtx970m is very cheap.. lol
Just hope that when you get your laptop, AMD doesn't come out with a better or on par gpu.. cause AMD card always is cheaper that Nvidia sweat.gif

QUOTE(TheThing94 @ Jan 26 2015, 07:04 PM)
Yeah I was eyeing for GE62 with 970M as well, but from my research it may be equipped with the sub-par 4k IPS screen with only 48hz refresh rate and will appear downright yellowish out of the box, You can see in forums where people complain about the 4k screen on Lenovo Y50 4k and also GS60 Ghost Pro 4k version. Surely you don't want to game with that kind of screen. But it comes with SSD installed + 7200 rpm 1TB HDD compared to nooby 5400rpm HDD on the Alienware tho & not to mention the Alienware will be MUCH heavier at 3.2kg compared to GE62 @ 2.4kg.

Dilemma huh?
Do you check the review on heating issue? Cause MSI laptop always come with it.. like a package.. sweat.gif
Hope there is no heating issue.
miong93
post Jan 26 2015, 09:44 PM

~ Fulamak ~
1,236 posts

QUOTE(calvinlgj1985 @ Jan 26 2015, 09:15 PM)
Myself using a GE60 860m. And despite a better gpu but still a frying pan. Lol. At least my cpu/gpu heat avg 90celcius is way better most people at 92-95. Lucky me lol.

Yes MSI does know how to make a cool gaming notebook. ROG imho is too mainstream smile.gif You know that when you bring your MSI into a crowd of Asus/acer/lenovo and u are the only one with an msi. With full rgb KB xD.

But like what miong said, gaming desktop is also my next stop xD

Edit: for those who is interested with ge62 line, please go and test it first or wait for some in depth review. And i heard that they are also introducing ge60 line with 960m/950m. No point when it still make fried chicken after few hours gaming lol.
Yea.. wait for review first before purchasing new laptop model.. except you're damn rich lo..
And MSI is too mainstream also.. a lot ppl know of this brand ad.. and mostly it's very exp.. user first impression of MSI doh.gif
I'm the only one who's using ILLEGEAR in my Uni.
When I bring my laptop to schl, everyone is staring at me.. that feel.... is a bit... annoying ? lol (just let me use the damn laptop without staring at me sweat.gif )

P/S: Asus ROG mainstream meh ? I seldom see ppl use G7551J.. there's one guy in my uni using it, I can't stop my eye from keep staring at it.. lol
miong93
post Jan 27 2015, 07:36 PM

~ Fulamak ~
1,236 posts

QUOTE(kimraz @ Jan 27 2015, 07:19 PM)
yep with credit card rebate.. so it deducted RM519.9
[attachmentid=4319850]
There is some cheap price you got there.. Even better than Alienware 15.. lol
miong93
post Jan 27 2015, 08:07 PM

~ Fulamak ~
1,236 posts

QUOTE(kimraz @ Jan 27 2015, 07:41 PM)
but i still considering.. dont know worth or not..
Considering it got 1TB 7200rpm + 128GB SSD, AC wifi card, 970m, up to 32gb ram and i7 4710hq.. it's a good deal.. but maybe no backpack lar..
And what need to worry is the warranty lo.. and whether the unit is in good condition or not..
I don't trust Lazada or online shop when it comes to laptop or PC.. lol
miong93
post Jan 27 2015, 08:19 PM

~ Fulamak ~
1,236 posts

QUOTE(kimraz @ Jan 27 2015, 08:13 PM)
stated over there it comes with backpack, rog mouse and rog headset..
i also afraid, this one is not from lazada but it comp..
the 2 years international warrant not work by asus malaysia?
If comes with so many freebie, it's really quite a good deals. Very tempting.. even more than the AW15
2 years international warranty is very good.. and if you're in malaysia, you still need to go through Msia Asus for warranty claiming. Just that if you're going oversea, you still get support at there, globally.
Most probably is not from Lazada, mostly is from 3rd party reseller... Lazada doesn't have their own laptop stock 1..
So just worry about warranty and the unit quality lo.. spec wise it's damn worth it.. fast decide lo.. you left 4 hours.. haha
miong93
post Jan 28 2015, 02:17 PM

~ Fulamak ~
1,236 posts

QUOTE(Chosen one @ Jan 28 2015, 01:54 PM)
May I knwo what's the latest spec of Acer v nitro ? Planningwhat to buy it in lowyat plaza at Mid February
So far what I know is
Acer V15 Nitro :
8GB RAM
GTX 860m 2GB vram
1TB SSHD (8gb cache)
Dual fan
LG-IPS 1080p
Backlight keyboard
1 year warranty (if not mistaken)
RM3.4k - 3.5k
miong93
post Jan 29 2015, 11:17 AM

~ Fulamak ~
1,236 posts

QUOTE(Chosen one @ Jan 29 2015, 11:01 AM)
awww the ram dropped
and the gc vram still 2 gb
in this case lenovo y50 will be better?
Depend on your budget and how much u can get for y50. If it's around 3.7k you can consider ILLEGEAR Z5.. better price spec ratio..
Lenovo is okay but sometime the build quality and service is not good

QUOTE(zenquix @ Jan 29 2015, 11:04 AM)
it's 12g ram
The latest spec posted by storm88 is 8gb ram.. Previous spec is 12gb indeed
miong93
post Jan 29 2015, 11:40 AM

~ Fulamak ~
1,236 posts

QUOTE(zenquix @ Jan 29 2015, 11:25 AM)
do not know abt storm88 but acer website still shows 12g

http://www.acer.com.my/ac/en/MY/content/series/aspirevnitro

edit: storm88 still shows 12G also
https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=3428453&hl=acer
Below is the link and comment storm88 mentioned.. page 5
url : LINK

QUOTE(storm88 @ Jan 25 2015, 11:24 AM)
ASPIRE V NITRO BLACK SPEC UPDATE
12G DDR3L 1600 - > 8G DDR3L 1600
RM3399 -> RM3449

The rest remain same.

New price valid immediately for all new stock

QUOTE(TAN1993 @ Jan 29 2015, 11:27 AM)
Hi which one better for graphics and multimedia student

asus G551JM-DM052H or acer V15 nitro??
Spec wise Acer is slight better, 8gb ram and IPS screen.. and it's dual fan..
Asus is single fan only.. Both maybe turn hot under full load as Asus using single fan, Acer is thin.. so you may notice slight hot area on the keyboard.. its common though..
I prefer Acer over Asus cause Asus got unreliable service sometime
miong93
post Jan 29 2015, 11:53 AM

~ Fulamak ~
1,236 posts

QUOTE(zenquix @ Jan 29 2015, 11:48 AM)
thanks - did not see that thread. so everyone should try and grab the old stock asap.

do note that for the 12g models, the 2nd piece of 4G is different brand than the 8G (my laptop anyway)
Welcome smile.gif
But I doubt there is any old stock left.. remember last time whole Msia out of stock ? So the current stock is new 1.. so all price has increased and spec has changed.
And it's common to use 2 different brand of RAM.. as long as it's both DDR3L 1600mhz it will be fine biggrin.gif
miong93
post Jan 29 2015, 11:56 AM

~ Fulamak ~
1,236 posts

QUOTE(TAN1993 @ Jan 29 2015, 11:54 AM)
how about the last longer battery
Battery life is a sad case.. lol
Acer just has 3 cells battery so lower power drawn from the battery.. and its capacity is not big also.. I'm not an Acer user, so this part you need to consult Acer user.
For me both laptop battery life is not good.. As my current laptop is 8 cells with big capacity.. lol
But I think under normal web surfing and lowest brightness it can last you 2-3 hours
miong93
post Jan 29 2015, 12:08 PM

~ Fulamak ~
1,236 posts

QUOTE(TAN1993 @ Jan 29 2015, 12:02 PM)
for your opinion, which have better quality and after sales service
Spec wise and service, Acer
Quality wise, I can't confirm as I'm didn't own any of it.
miong93
post Jan 29 2015, 01:30 PM

~ Fulamak ~
1,236 posts

QUOTE(TAN1993 @ Jan 29 2015, 01:05 PM)
how about asus tongue.gif
As I mentioned, Asus is not so recommended.. Cause it's single fan.. so heating is not good.. Asus quality is good, no doubt. But their after sales service is terrible sweat.gif
For your price I suggest you get other model, as single fan is not good for 860m.. sure will have heat issue if you're gaming on high settings
miong93
post Jan 29 2015, 01:44 PM

~ Fulamak ~
1,236 posts

QUOTE(TAN1993 @ Jan 29 2015, 01:41 PM)
does acer use ori or copy windows?
What you means ori or copy ?
I think it comes with OEM windows. or maybe Retail version
But I'm sure it's licensed. Not pirated
miong93
post Jan 29 2015, 02:01 PM

~ Fulamak ~
1,236 posts

QUOTE(TAN1993 @ Jan 29 2015, 01:55 PM)
if the bottom have a sticky...retail or OEM
If I'm not mistaken, the sticker will indicate it's a OEM version or retail version.
I'm not sure on the sticker though, as I always purchase DOS version laptop sweat.gif
miong93
post Jan 29 2015, 08:43 PM

~ Fulamak ~
1,236 posts

QUOTE(Tsuki91 @ Jan 29 2015, 08:36 PM)
ok, not exactly a recommended kit but still a little old for my needs.
As this thread is discussing about, with your budget you can get Acer V Nitro, Asus G551, Lenovo Y50, Illegear Z5, Aftershock and also Dell Inspiron.
Do you game a lot ? And what kind of game you're playing.. High demanding ?
If you want best price/spec ratio then Acer is the one to go..
miong93
post Jan 29 2015, 09:28 PM

~ Fulamak ~
1,236 posts

QUOTE(Tsuki91 @ Jan 29 2015, 09:03 PM)
I play almost all the games from 2013 onwards, on both Steam & non-Steam. Graphics settings usually I set to High as it's a nice balance between smooth framerate & eye candy. The Aspire V Nitro is a very decent kit, so does the Lenovo Y50, Dell Inspiron 7xxx & ROG G551. I'm not so sure about Illegear & Aftershock since they're somewhat new for our market, so I'll narrow down to the 4 brands for the time being. =)

**Deadline is still 2 months++ before GST, so I'll give some thoughts & decide which will I pick.
FYI, this year high demanding new game I believe 860m is not sufficient to play on high settings 1080p.. so do consider it also..

6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.1251sec    0.71    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 04:38 PM