123 Pages « < 89 90 91 92 93 > » Bottom

News ROG GL552VW i7-6700HQ GTX960m 128GB FHD W10 ~ 4399, XPS15 6300HQ GTX960,4K infinityEdge~6699

evofantasy
post Jan 14 2015, 09:31 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(AceDeatH @ Jan 14 2015, 09:27 PM)
Owh I see. Any problem with your machine so far?  hmm.gif  drool.gif Yea theres a huge different between HDD and SSD. Means if peoples are going to get a SSD better only pick Plextor and Samsung Evo since you said other brands of SSDs performance not that contented.
Considering V15 or V17. But they said V17 storage expansion capability is limited compared to V15 and its hard to access overall.  cool2.gif  doh.gif
apple and oranges actually as it just depends if you want a mobile laptop (then go 15") or a desktop replacement (then go 17")

as someone who used a 17" for 7 years and now a 15", it is a big difference. in fact i am considering to get a 14" now despite running virtual machines and heavy remote desktops
calvinlgj1985
post Jan 15 2015, 12:01 AM

104 posts

QUOTE(AceDeatH @ Jan 14 2015, 09:27 PM)
Owh I see. Any problem with your machine so far?  hmm.gif  drool.gif Yea theres a huge different between HDD and SSD. Means if peoples are going to get a SSD better only pick Plextor and Samsung Evo since you said other brands of SSDs performance not that contented.
Considering V15 or V17. But they said V17 storage expansion capability is limited compared to V15 and its hard to access overall.  cool2.gif  doh.gif
Actually not good at ssd, but i look around for reviews. Most brands like samsung, sandisk, crucial or plextor are nearly the same performance. But samsung best bang for buck. Best if u go check out price from shops then search the reviews.

My GE60 has toaster level heat. If i max it and without turning on the cooler booster (max fan speed) cpu cam reach 92, gpu around 90. With the fan max cpu is 89 and gpu 85. Thats my only complaint: hot and noisy. Built quality okay but not excellent. Speakers have high and clear volume, display is samsung pls so viewing angle and contrast very nice.

If only they bother to put better cooling maybe it worth the RM4199 i paid for it. Its the 2nd most expensive 860m laptop. 1st is asus g750jm haha but u paying for good cooling...
evofantasy
post Jan 15 2015, 12:06 AM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(calvinlgj1985 @ Jan 15 2015, 12:01 AM)
Actually not good at ssd, but i look around for reviews. Most brands like samsung, sandisk, crucial or plextor are nearly the same performance. But samsung best bang for buck. Best if u go check out price from shops then search the reviews.

My GE60 has toaster level heat. If i max it and without turning on the cooler booster (max fan speed) cpu cam reach 92, gpu around 90. With the fan max cpu is 89 and gpu 85. Thats my only complaint: hot and noisy. Built quality okay but not excellent. Speakers have high and clear volume, display is samsung pls so viewing angle and contrast very nice.

If only they bother to put better cooling maybe it worth the RM4199 i paid for it. Its the 2nd most expensive 860m laptop. 1st is asus g750jm haha but u paying for good cooling...
this might help:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7YsNssB0QPo
calvinlgj1985
post Jan 15 2015, 12:30 AM

104 posts

Apples and oranges again bro smile.gif
No m.2 ssd mentioned tho.
AceDeatH
post Jan 15 2015, 12:34 AM

67 posts

QUOTE(calvinlgj1985 @ Jan 15 2015, 12:01 AM)

Haha. So far I know M.2 SSD quite pricey leh. 120GB cost Rm300++ huh ._.
Thanks for sharing info about your machine!

evofantasy
post Jan 15 2015, 02:42 AM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(calvinlgj1985 @ Jan 15 2015, 12:30 AM)
Apples and oranges again bro smile.gif
No m.2 ssd mentioned tho.
oops my bad, didnt know it is for M2 >.<
calvinlgj1985
post Jan 15 2015, 06:38 AM

104 posts

QUOTE(evofantasy @ Jan 15 2015, 02:42 AM)
oops my bad, didnt know it is for M2 >.<
Haha. But the review is good, shows samsung ssds are good and if u compare prices they are affordable. Imo m.2 or pcie ssds are overkill, unless ur wallet very thick and u want good benchmarks.

I rather spend on good mobo, cpu and gpu. Standard sata ssd is more than enough.
DWExia
post Jan 15 2015, 02:44 PM

140 posts

hey guys looking to get a mid range gaming notebook (though i dont game much)

Budget around 3k plus?

Would u guys recommend the Acer V nitro still? Or wait for something newer coming soon
evofantasy
post Jan 15 2015, 02:53 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(calvinlgj1985 @ Jan 15 2015, 06:38 AM)
Haha. But the review is good, shows samsung ssds are good and if u compare prices they are affordable. Imo m.2 or pcie ssds are overkill, unless ur wallet very thick and u want good benchmarks.

I rather spend on good mobo, cpu and gpu. Standard sata ssd is more than enough.
Comes down to the slot on your laptop as well.
calvinlgj1985
post Jan 15 2015, 03:24 PM

104 posts

QUOTE(DWExia @ Jan 15 2015, 02:44 PM)

Budget around 3k plus?

Would u guys recommend the Acer V nitro still? Or wait for something newer coming soon
Any laptops with 860m works decently. So far 3k plus is lenovo y50 (but u get bad display, poor temps), v15 nitro (good allrounder, only 1slot ssd), g551jm (not sure, anyone can review?). These laptops still can run most 2013/14 games at high-ultra, 2015 games maybe medium-high at 1080p.

850m laptops may priced below 3k but i am not sure. Havent bothered about it haha. It is one step lower than 860m, 2 steps lower than 965m. No point.
I'm CEO
post Jan 15 2015, 05:19 PM

147 posts

QUOTE(DWExia @ Jan 15 2015, 02:44 PM)

Budget around 3k plus?

I'm using Acer V Nitro, it was amazing. thumbup.gif
Maybe I sound biased, but this laptop is best bucks.

And guys, I've been using V nitro for a week, last time I always use Google DNS (2008 Asus laptop). I only put TCP IPv4, because its an old laptop right.
So, do I set TCP IPv4 or IPv6 or both for my new V Nitro? unsure.gif
miong93
post Jan 15 2015, 07:02 PM

~ Fulamak ~
1,236 posts

QUOTE(calvinlgj1985 @ Jan 15 2015, 03:24 PM)
Any laptops with 860m works decently. So far 3k plus is lenovo y50 (but u get bad display, poor temps), v15 nitro (good allrounder, only 1slot ssd), g551jm (not sure, anyone can review?). These laptops still can run most 2013/14 games at high-ultra, 2015 games maybe medium-high at 1080p.

850m laptops may priced below 3k but i am not sure. Havent bothered about it haha. It is one step lower than 860m, 2 steps lower than 965m. No point.
Why don't want recommend ILLEGEAR or AFTERSHOCK.. hmmm hmm.gif maybe their laptop a bit exp compared to others XD
I think 2015 games cant play on med-high 1080p leh.. you try Watch Dogs medi-high 1080p with your MSI GE60 Pro.. see how much fps you get brows.gif
PiggyD
post Jan 15 2015, 08:01 PM

25 posts

DWxia, V15 suit you if you are not a heavy gamer. Around 3k it is the laptop to go. The only not so good design is all USB at right side, I wont say it is bad. The pad is below average, and it has no click button, using it is not so convenient, but I game with the mouse so it is not a problem.

Ips screen is good because wide viewing angle. Speaker is a good grade for a laptop. So far wifi no prob. It come with 12Gb ram. At least it has a m2 slot, I able to add in ssd in future coz Im not so into ssd now. Hybrid drive fast ON and OFF.

Most important is you must know what you really NEED. New tech is always better but do it really need that?

calvinlgj1985
post Jan 15 2015, 09:08 PM

104 posts

QUOTE(miong93 @ Jan 15 2015, 07:02 PM)
Why don't want recommend ILLEGEAR or AFTERSHOCK.. hmmm hmm.gif  maybe their laptop a bit exp compared to others XD
I think 2015 games cant play on med-high 1080p leh.. you try Watch Dogs medi-high 1080p with your MSI GE60 Pro.. see how much fps you get  brows.gif
Aiya do like me lo, play fhd resolution at high setting (not all) and NO aa at all xD
Sometimes if u chase tech everytime ur empty wallet will chase u back tongue.gif

Edit: btw playing watchdog at high settings is possible, with no AA, some enviroment settings at med. fps around 30+ and temps are like mad xD Fried some eggs while testing hahaha. But normally i use all med to control heat sad.gif

This post has been edited by calvinlgj1985: Jan 15 2015, 09:12 PM
miong93
post Jan 15 2015, 09:16 PM

~ Fulamak ~
1,236 posts

Yea.. bo bian lor.. I next time also will do like that.. during that time still need you to teach me what settings is best.. XD

860m really is not good for open world game
calvinlgj1985
post Jan 15 2015, 09:34 PM

104 posts

QUOTE(miong93 @ Jan 15 2015, 09:16 PM)
Yea.. bo bian lor.. I next time also will do like that.. during that time still need you to teach me what settings is best.. XD

860m really is not good for open world game
860m not good for any high-end AA, shadows and enviroment settings. Normally i lower down those first, starting from any AA. 860m actually is bottlenecked by the 128-bit bus. I assume if it has 192-bit bus then it will outperform the 770m. This should be similar to 965m with its 128bit or else it will out perform 870m. Thats marketing strategy from the nvidia that we love and hate sad.gif
DWExia
post Jan 15 2015, 10:51 PM

140 posts

QUOTE(PiggyD @ Jan 15 2015, 08:01 PM)
DWxia, V15 suit you if you are not a heavy gamer. Around 3k it is the laptop to go. The only not so good design is  all USB at right side, I wont say it is bad. The pad is below average, and it has no click button, using it is not so convenient, but I game with the mouse so it is not a problem.

Ips screen is good because wide viewing angle. Speaker is a good grade for a laptop. So far wifi no prob. It come with 12Gb ram. At least it has a m2 slot, I able to add in ssd in future coz Im not so into ssd now. Hybrid drive fast ON and OFF.

Most important is you must know what you really NEED. New tech is always better but do it really need that?
Thanks for your reply bro. Yeah I think you can get where I'm coming from. I dont need a high end super power notebook. Just a decent gaming laptop that's good value. I understand the issue with Nitro V is the battery right
PiggyD
post Jan 15 2015, 11:56 PM

25 posts

Hey. I found that my wifi card is AC-7265. How is yours? Previous read about wifi prob wiyh other card woth V15. Acer improvement?
x3cream
post Jan 16 2015, 12:19 AM

391 posts

QUOTE(PiggyD @ Jan 15 2015, 11:56 PM)
Hey. I found that my wifi card is AC-7265. How is yours? Previous read about wifi prob wiyh other card woth V15. Acer improvement?
No wifi prob so far
zenquix
post Jan 16 2015, 06:14 PM

Life is short!
2,552 posts

QUOTE(PiggyD @ Jan 15 2015, 11:56 PM)
interesting. When and where did u get your VN7-15?

123 Pages « < 89 90 91 92 93 > » Top

0.0290sec    0.40    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 12:01 PM