TSntick
post Jul 8 2006, 02:44 PM, updated 20y ago

348 posts

Should i stay or leave

dear guys..i have facing problems rigt now hope some one can give me opinion

i have join this company for 3 months ++, it was a new company
its related a network security company , the product is security product

1st of all, i have intresting in this line and want to join in this line, so thats y i quit my previous job

3 months pass liao, i haven't independent setup a firewall or security product for any company, everday what i did in office just read article, testing and do my own work

i found that i have no value for the company because i cannot help company gain any profit.....

before join this company , i have set my self 1 target, thats is in 4 months i can handle and independent to work .....but it seens cannot achieve my target.

and i found that my passion is become lower and lower...it is a alert 4 me

Should i stay or leave?

This post has been edited by ntick: Jul 8 2006, 03:57 PM
ckseng
post Jul 8 2006, 02:52 PM

328 posts

can you learn something new in this company first?
If yes then you may stay or else you can leave if u feel you r wasting your time..

jinyee80
post Jul 8 2006, 02:56 PM

Jinyee? Me lor =)
868 posts

Move on. My sis also faced the same problem. She quited soon and joined another company which the company is ran by a bumiputra. She was sent to Vietnam for training and now she's earning 5 digits per month.smile.gif
exkay
post Jul 8 2006, 02:56 PM

Hired Gunman
3,657 posts

learn your engrish first.
sinoffire
post Jul 8 2006, 02:59 PM

3,557 posts

is there anyone in ur company willing to help/guide/teach u? do u have to do everything on ur own?? any team work? if none, go on.....give ur bos the ultimate letter. look for other company.
lmfai
post Jul 8 2006, 03:02 PM

132 posts

Good question there ...........

Should i stay or leave .......... ? tongue.gif

I had join about 1.5 year , as position of engineer only.

But the jobs was too much for me .... i think so .... sweat.gif

all quotation , calibration , repair, projects ( overseas or local), training ,

management, supervisor, office boy and etc.

That was alot things for me, somehow i need to arrange with people, projects schedule, planning & etcs. rclxub.gif

sinoffire
post Jul 8 2006, 03:19 PM

3,557 posts

QUOTE(lmfai @ Jul 8 2006, 03:02 PM)
Good question there ...........

Should i stay or leave .......... ?  tongue.gif

I had join about 1.5 year , as position of engineer only.

But the jobs was too much for me .... i think so ....  sweat.gif

all quotation , calibration , repair, projects ( overseas or local), training ,

management, supervisor, office boy and etc.

That was alot things for me, somehow i need to arrange with people, projects schedule, planning & etcs.  rclxub.gif
made any decision.....yet?
Ido
post Jul 8 2006, 04:09 PM

325 posts

I think you may start looking for others. Time is priceless. Don't waste it
goliath
post Jul 8 2006, 04:23 PM

5,532 posts

If your company has no initiative to teach you and let you handle/join a project any time soon, I suggest you to leave the company for a better one
Chester
post Jul 9 2006, 12:00 AM

2,380 posts

man, u really have to improve ur english if you wanna change job.
bcteh
post Jul 9 2006, 04:10 PM

481 posts

Stay for another 3 months lor ...see how first.
jojoko1982
post Jul 9 2006, 08:28 PM

399 posts

QUOTE(exkay @ Jul 8 2006, 02:56 PM)
QUOTE(Chester @ Jul 9 2006, 12:00 AM)
sweat.gif sweat.gif sweat.gif sweat.gif sweat.gif
jinyee80
post Jul 11 2006, 01:23 AM

Jinyee? Me lor =)
868 posts

QUOTE(exkay @ Jul 8 2006, 02:56 PM)
QUOTE(Chester @ Jul 9 2006, 12:00 AM)
QUOTE(jojoko1982 @ Jul 9 2006, 08:28 PM)
sweat.gif  sweat.gif  sweat.gif  sweat.gif  sweat.gif
sweat.gif sweat.gif sweat.gif sweat.gif sweat.gif sweat.gif cool.gif
alqa
post Jul 11 2006, 02:05 AM

346 posts

double posting... my bad whistling.gif

This post has been edited by alqa: Jul 11 2006, 02:07 AM
alqa
post Jul 11 2006, 02:06 AM

346 posts

dont know your actual situation, but 3 month is too short a time to make such evaluation, and the 4 month deadline is not a rational one. trust must be earned and you can only earned it with time.

its normal that companies (supervisors especially) need time to assess your knowledge, skill and experience. normally they'll walk u thru the phases. first they make u read manuals, then some testing in offices, later helping out other colleagues or seniors, then maybe they'll try to send u out with others, maybe when they r truly satified they'll let u do it independently or lead others for a change.

dont be greedy or impatient... u said it urself that u still need a lot to learn. it wud be different if u were hired becos of ur specialisation/expertise or vast experience in the field. and furthermore... ur not even confirmed yet. be patient buddy.

but if u still wanna jump... well I'm an experienced jumper myself... but not before I learn at least a new skill or experience that i can bring to the next company, that way i can demand for more pay and higher post.

P/s.... good engrish wud help too blush.gif

This post has been edited by alqa: Jul 11 2006, 02:08 AM
THTgadgets.com
post Jul 11 2006, 09:17 AM

Bigger than Bigger
5,005 posts

Wow, threadstarter's english is poor... He'd better take up some simple english courses before deciding on which company to jump to... U know lah, many companies nowadays require jobseekers to at least have passable written as well as spoken english as a key criteria for consideration...
msnice
post Jul 11 2006, 05:33 PM

28 posts

leave before it's too late. before it kills ur self-esteem.
jinyee80
post Jul 11 2006, 08:58 PM

Jinyee? Me lor =)
868 posts

Just leave... dun work at the east can work at the west.
sinoffire
post Jul 12 2006, 01:01 AM

3,557 posts

i got a same dilemma oso. here's the story:

started working in this new company working as an IT helpdesk 1st level last week onli.

1st week agenda:
Mon - full day training from 9-6pm
Tues - full day training from 9-6pm
Wed - half day training + buddy-ing system.
thurs - half day training + buddy-ing system.
fri - half day training + buddy-ing system.
sat & sun - rest day

2nd week agenda:
Mon - start doing test calls. i failed.
Tues (today) - failed again.

bare in mind during training, no handouts are given cos trainer said :' all info are in the system/database'. they only show u the slides & talk about teori.

i got hired into this company bcos of my previous cust service experience. i got ZERO IT background. i'm a nut in IT in terms of proxy lar, firewall lar etc etc.

there were few new hires just like me, but they did orait & going to take real life call edi whereas i'm stil on buddy-ing.

i'm stil thinking if i made the right choice in venturing into this whole new industry.
even during buddy-ing, i stil kelam-kabut when a live call came into my phoneline. have to hold the incoming call for few times.

pls help!!!!! icon_question.gif icon_question.gif icon_question.gif icon_question.gif icon_question.gif

nxfx
post Jul 12 2006, 09:23 AM

979 posts

You doing IT helpdesk but you know nuts about IT, sure its going to be difficult. Try to learn as much IT terms and technology. Google the net and do your research.

0.0188sec    0.46    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 08:41 PM