Coolermaster Cavalier Mod, 120mm front intake n big side window.

TSianho
post Jul 7 2006, 10:54 PM, updated 19y ago

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

Here's a CM Cavalier I just did. All those ppl using CM Cavalier n C5 will know that the case has a silly 80mm front intake fan. The rear exhaust is a nice 120mm fan but y in the world CM put a 80mm fan at the front is a mystery. Anyway here's how I modded the case to fit a 120mm fan in front.

This is how the standard side window looks like.

This is the puny 80mm front intake.

1st thing I did was to drill out the rivets holding the HDD cage to the chassis n remove the HDD cage. Like this.

Next up, put a 120mm fan on the front n mark it out.

Then mask it up to protect from scratches while cutting.

TSianho
post Jul 7 2006, 11:06 PM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

Test fitting the fan to make sure the mounting screw holes line up properly n the gap for the floppy drive is just perfect. I went for a really tight tolerance cut n put the fan right up to the bottom of the floppy drive so that there's no ugly gap between the fan n floppy drive.

Now it's time to cut the HDD cage to allow the 120mm fan to sit inside the cage.
HDD cage cut n ready to be slotted back in. C the gap in the HDD cage at the front? That's the part I cut out.

This is how the stock HDD cage looks like. It's a straight edge at the front so the 120mm fan cannot fit inside it.

The modified HDD cage slots back in perfectly with the 120mm fan in place.

More updates 2moro. Gonna tidur. Very, very tired after modding whole day. rclxub.gif rclxub.gif rclxub.gif
zahri
post Jul 8 2006, 12:51 AM

Do You Feel LuCKY PunK ?
1,526 posts

Nice MOd There IANHO,

I somehow have some problems while cutting my case using a jigsaw,

the steel tends to bend a bit, does not look clean sad.gif

any tips ?
Westley
post Jul 8 2006, 10:56 AM

Night Crawler...
Store Representative
679 posts

it would detry the nature design of casing...
why not put the fan out of the metal frame?
by doing this u can avoid to cut out those hdd box

TSianho
post Jul 8 2006, 01:22 PM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

QUOTE(zahri @ Jul 8 2006, 12:51 AM)
Nice MOd There IANHO,

I somehow have some problems while cutting my case using a jigsaw,

the steel tends to bend a bit, does not look clean sad.gif

any tips ?
Then u'll need to get a finer blade with more teeth per inch.

QUOTE(Westley @ Jul 8 2006, 10:56 AM)
it would detry the nature design of casing...
why not put the fan out of the metal frame?
by doing this u can avoid to cut out those hdd box
I don't destroy casings. laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
I make them better n at the same time look like they came from the factory like that. The fit n finish of my custom HDD cage with the fan installed there looks like a stock casing without mods. That's what I always aim for, to make it look like it came from the factory like that. Anyway there's no space in front of the Cavalier to install a fan on the outside of the case. There's a lot of electronics at the front. U'll understand y later when I post more pix of the front panel. This problem of not having space for a 120mm fan in front or behind the HDD cage is a unique problem that the Coolermaster Cavalier n C5 cases share.

This post has been edited by ianho: Jul 8 2006, 01:34 PM
Westley
post Jul 8 2006, 03:55 PM

Night Crawler...
Store Representative
679 posts

QUOTE(ianho @ Jul 8 2006, 01:22 PM)
Then u'll need to get a finer blade with more teeth per inch.
I don't destroy casings.  laugh.gif  laugh.gif  laugh.gif  laugh.gif
  I make them better n at the same time look like they came from the factory like that. The fit n finish of my custom HDD cage with the fan installed there looks like a stock casing without mods. That's what I always aim for, to make it look like it came from the factory like that.  Anyway there's no space in front of the Cavalier to install a fan on the outside of the case. There's a lot of electronics at the front. U'll understand y later when I post more pix of the front panel. This problem of not having space for a 120mm fan in front or behind the HDD cage is a unique problem that the Coolermaster Cavalier n C5 cases share.
Nope, u hv destroy the interior part...
although it looks same outside, but it doesn't work same as the ori...
u can't use ur hdd lock to lock those hdd...
the interior part, of each casing, is more important...
it decided how many hardware u can fit inside...
with ur mod, it spoil the concept of that casing, or can said the usability of it...
u hv to found another ways of solving problems.

This post has been edited by Westley: Jul 8 2006, 03:57 PM
SUSAllnGap
post Jul 8 2006, 04:22 PM

[ Modding with Passion(tm) ]
4,561 posts

is this the casing you're modding ?

well i modded this for my friend, there arent much space in between the front panel and the main chassis.

This post has been edited by AllnGap: Jul 8 2006, 04:22 PM
lolhalol
post Jul 8 2006, 05:39 PM

Showroom Skateboarding
1,823 posts

@Westley
dude y u so critic man.... ianho is a sifu and u r saying he did it wrong... if like dat y still got cutomer at his mooding services?..dis guy is a real pro.... do u go up to a barber and say dude u suck at cutting hair....
Westley
post Jul 8 2006, 07:27 PM

Night Crawler...
Store Representative
679 posts

QUOTE(lolhalol @ Jul 8 2006, 05:39 PM)
@Westley
dude y u so critic man.... ianho is a sifu and u r saying he did it wrong... if like dat y still got cutomer at his mooding services?..dis guy is a real pro.... do u go up to a barber and say dude u suck at cutting hair....
i think ur hv done a big mistake by saying this words...
a professional, does not means he is a perfect man...
well, mistake make him complete.

u may try to prove that u can use those lock, by doing the same thing like him.
if those customer only use one case to judge his profesion, i dun think he will find a good person that qualify his demand.

see the picture below, n tell me, isn't that this casing's main concept is to reduce screw of hdd?
Please do utilize ur eye to focus on the hdd lock.

maxsteel
post Jul 8 2006, 08:21 PM

371 posts

QUOTE(Westley @ Jul 8 2006, 07:27 PM)
i think ur hv done a big mistake by saying this words...
a professional, does not means he is a perfect man...
well, mistake make him complete.

u may try to prove that u can use those lock, by doing the same thing like him.
if those customer only use one case to judge his profesion, i dun think he will find a good person that qualify his demand.

see the picture below, n tell me, isn't that this casing's main concept is to reduce screw of hdd?
Please do utilize ur eye to focus on the hdd lock.
Hey I'm one of the people who have this casing also. If I can change the 80mm fan with 120 mm fan but have to use screw for my hdd, why not? rolleyes.gif It is better for myhdd temp also lah..
And besides ianho don't yet finish with the casing..
Go check out his other projects and then give comment... whistling.gif
Westley
post Jul 8 2006, 08:34 PM

Night Crawler...
Store Representative
679 posts

QUOTE(maxsteel @ Jul 8 2006, 08:21 PM)
Hey I'm one of the people who have this casing also. If I can change the 80mm fan with 120 mm fan but have to use screw for my hdd, why not? rolleyes.gif It is better for myhdd temp also lah..
And besides ianho don't yet finish with the casing..
Go check out his other projects and then give comment... whistling.gif
of course u'll said becoz u r not using it...
not ever1 hv same concept...

ok, i paid those much for the technology...
or can said the function
but after i give u to do some changes, and i lost those function.

when buying a casing, u pay more u should get some thing that is valuable for what u pay.

i knew that it can be use screw.
i knew that ianho is have much more experience in case modding.

but, i dun like the one, lolhalol.
ya, i'm pointing at u.
i dislike ur attitude, and i hope that LYN members does not follow u.

do not try to prey a human and influence people to believe he is god.
i hv visited many forum that i knew how to write the language.
but i feel sad because there is always a group of members who knows only preying selected old members.
and, they r not producing even one valueable comment.

i see too much reply of oh, that is good... etc.
i do not wish to see it in this forum.
members at here did delighted me, and i respect those who is well experience.
but, do not try to cover up any mistake they do.
we just stated out and hope to share and gain more.

i have not stated one word, or use any improper words to discribe ianho is not a good man.
people argue on some topic in a gentlemen manner.
and, if u do, so do i.
rEktOr
post Jul 8 2006, 08:57 PM

377 posts

Westley, do not afraid ianho will take away functions needed by his customer. So far, ianho performed his modding services just like what his customer wanted. He is just doing what had been ask by his customer. Maybe he had a better idea, but his customer wanted different thing. icon_rolleyes.gif
Westley
post Jul 8 2006, 09:05 PM

Night Crawler...
Store Representative
679 posts

hope so...

mayb when i post up my casing, must be more careful since so much rifle pointing at me.tongue.gif
hypermax
post Jul 9 2006, 04:04 AM

2,524 posts

Pls take note of the topic of this thread: Coolermaster Cavalier MOD.
See the word MOD?? It means to change. So what's the purpose of modding something if you want to retain the original concept?? Why don't you just leave it intact?? rolleyes.gif

If the airflow would increase by leaps and bounds after the mod, i dun see why he should retain the original concept with poorer airflow. It's a MOD after all. I do notice that diff people have diff concept. So if the owner of the case like it this way, why wanna complain so much about 'spoiling the original concept' or "cannot use hdd lock'? Besides, AllnGap had already explained that there's limited space between the front panel and the main chasis.

Anyway, just my two cents. I am not preying at any so called "old member" of this forum. If anyone find my post hostile or inappropriate, pls report to the moderator.

People nowadays are so sensitive. shakehead.gif

This post has been edited by hypermax: Jul 9 2006, 04:16 AM
sherren
post Jul 9 2006, 10:26 AM

Retired
1,298 posts

NIce Mod Ianho ,giving me some ideas to do for my mod after pmr have an 120mm fan infront:D
TSianho
post Jul 9 2006, 10:30 AM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

Wah! I go take a rest for 2 days, come back n c all this fighting in here. What in the world is this world coming to. Case mods oso must fight ar? I command everybody to go take a chill pill! NOW! laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
No more fighting nonsense or I'll just delete all the garbage OK? Let's all b adults n discuss things nicely. This forum is for sharing n learning, not to show who is smarter or more clever.

Westley, to answer ure question about funtionality of the case. I have retained not just the original looks but also the functionality. The HDD quicklock mechanism does work. I haf retained all the locks there for a reason. If they dont work I wud haf just removed all the quicklock thingys.

All I haf to do is shave off about an inch from the end of the quicklock tabs n they can start sliding on the rails to lock the HDD again. However I didn't do that coz using 2 screws on the HDD is not a big issue n also my advice was to retain the original plastic locks in case there is a need to sell the case later on n the new buyer may not appreciate cut off plastic locks. I haf retained 100% functionality of the case n mechanism + improved the intake by leaps n bounds n maintained the resale value of the case too.

QUOTE(sherren @ Jul 9 2006, 10:26 AM)
NIce Mod Ianho ,giving me some ideas to do for my mod after pmr have an 120mm fan infront:D
Ya man. Coz u haf the exact same problem with ure C5. Now u can do a big mama 120mm fan too.

Here's the updates.

Well, here's a pic of y it's so hard to implement a 120mm fan on the front of this case. There's a big soundmeter at the front panel n lotsa circuitry behind it. This is y a 120mm fan doesnt fit in front of the chassis. Look closely n u'll also c a plate with holes at the bottom. That restricts a lot of the intake.

In this pic u can c I've cut out the perforated section to make a big rectangular hole for more effective intake of air.

N this is how it looks like when the whole panel is installed back onto the chassis.
N that's the 120mm fan mod completed.

Now it's on to the side window. As u all know the optional window is really, really tiny. So I did a big window for it.

This is the standard optional window.

all masked up n cut.

N here's how it looks like on the case. It's a pity my digicam doesn't do macro shots. I wanted to show u guys how clean the cut on the window is but the pix turned out all blurry n out of focus coz I don't haf macro mode. The window edge is perfectly straight n even polished to a mirror shine. The metal edges r actually shining like a mirror.

N that's it for this Cavalier mod. thumbup.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
2uk3y
post Jul 9 2006, 12:37 PM

┌П┐(◣_◢)┌П┐
2,095 posts

waaaa nice with added front 120mm fan..... icon_idea.gif
no top mod for fan or transparent ??? brows.gif

Westley
post Jul 9 2006, 01:55 PM

Night Crawler...
Store Representative
679 posts

QUOTE(hypermax @ Jul 9 2006, 04:04 AM)
Pls take note of the topic of this thread: Coolermaster Cavalier MOD.
See the word MOD?? It means to change. So what's the purpose of modding something if you want to retain the original concept?? Why don't you just leave it intact?? rolleyes.gif

If the airflow would increase by leaps and bounds after the mod, i dun see why he should retain the original concept with poorer airflow. It's a MOD after all. I do notice that diff people have diff concept. So if the owner of the case like it this way, why wanna complain so much about 'spoiling the original concept' or "cannot use hdd lock'? Besides, AllnGap had already explained that there's limited space between the front panel and the main chasis.

Anyway, just my two cents. I am not preying at any so called "old member" of this forum. If anyone find my post hostile or inappropriate, pls report to the moderator.

People nowadays are so sensitive. shakehead.gif
change because of what?
improvement...
if a mod that change things, make the situation worst.
i dun fee it is a good reason of mod...

ianho not yet give a valid answer about his mod.
for that hdd cage.
he do not even explained will it satisfied for other practicer?
if somebody use this idea, and he found out that he can't use the hdd cage.
then i wonder who should be blame?
ianho or urself?
because of not study the situation clearly.

people keep ignoring answer.
well, it seems like LYN still the same.

hope u all will know what is the focus on the question.
because u are still try to do as what i mention.
man is not god.

Ianho,
put a harddisk and show how u can push the quick lock to the end.
ur fan size is blocking it to move ahead.
do u think i have not measure it?

This post has been edited by Westley: Jul 9 2006, 02:04 PM
sniper on the roof
post Jul 9 2006, 02:18 PM

23,414 posts

Relax lar ppl... besides, the damn "tool free" clips are the main reason I stop using my C5 at the first place. Horrible vibrating nonsense.

Personally, I'll be happy to see the damn clips so.

Edit: Questions yes... everyone can question what they like about anything (personally I do that all the time) but let's not turn this into personal attack.

Cheers.

This post has been edited by sniper on the roof: Jul 9 2006, 02:19 PM
spacey
post Jul 9 2006, 02:19 PM

14 posts

OMG its not like u cant use the hdd lock or rack or the whole chasis at all after modding it. Its just a small cut to make it fit since the 120mm fan is there. For god sake would u trade screws for heat?

0.0221sec    0.60    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 07:39 PM