Help Changing icons

TSericmaxman
post Jul 7 2006, 01:16 PM, updated 20y ago

-
7,951 posts

can anyone help me?? if i dun want to use software for changing icons, wad options do i have?? i know that i can change my My Comp, My Docs adn bla bla bla via the display properties, but wad do i have to do if i want to change my drive icons?

This post has been edited by fariz: Jul 27 2006, 08:39 AM
beebee
post Jul 7 2006, 02:10 PM

3,091 posts

iconphile

try this free software and easy to use, btw use the pinned thread 1st
ijat84
post Jul 7 2006, 03:00 PM

Kodi
884 posts

QUOTE(ericmaxman @ Jul 7 2006, 01:16 PM)
can anyone help me?? if i dun want to use software for changing icons, wad options do i have?? i know that i can change my My Comp, My Docs adn bla bla bla via the display properties, but wad do i have to do if i want to change my drive icons?
if you want to change hard drive icon manually, it's kinda hard.
anyway i'll teach you.
  1. firstly, open your notepad and type the following:

---------------------------------------------------
    [autorun]
    icon=filename, number

where the filename is the name of the file that contain an icon (either with .ico, .exe, .dll extension), while the number represent which icon you want to use. (leave it blank if you want to use the first icon though).

2. after that save it as autorun.inf in the root directory of hard drive you want to change.
anyway, like beebee sez, use iconphile or candyxp, easier. smile.gif
Freak`
post Jul 7 2006, 05:51 PM

Attack Attack!
1,375 posts

use candy xp .. tq to ijat for providing the link to it ..

Freak`
khazz
post Jul 7 2006, 09:18 PM

PIXEL THE BRAIN
858 posts

err ijat84 pro win xp...@@
TSericmaxman
post Jul 14 2006, 06:48 AM

-
7,951 posts

yo,thanks so much for the help.. now its more like bye-bye windowsblinds...hehe
kenneth87
post Jul 17 2006, 06:15 PM

~~"\(0.0)/"~~
956 posts

Sometimes im wondering y that theres are so many useful software that can make ur life easier but u wana choose the hard way....Cant really understand... rclxub.gif But anyway, thats ur choice... laugh.gif
Joey-kun
post Jul 18 2006, 01:50 PM

no avatar plagarism plz, foxboy sez nuz
4,662 posts

LOL who knows...there's all kinds of ppl out there...

IconPackager is one of the best software I've used so far. Does not work with IE7 tho. Icons will revert back to orginal windows icons.
FCUK89
post Jul 20 2006, 07:10 PM

www.bigvisionsocialmedia.com
955 posts

QUOTE(kenneth87 @ Jul 17 2006, 06:15 PM)
Sometimes im wondering y that theres are so many useful software that can make ur life easier but u wana choose the hard way....Cant really understand... rclxub.gif  But anyway, thats ur choice... laugh.gif
Guess maybe the softwares will slow down the startup a little like Windows Blind...

This post has been edited by FCUK89: Jul 20 2006, 07:10 PM
khazz
post Jul 20 2006, 08:57 PM

PIXEL THE BRAIN
858 posts

QUOTE(Joey-kun @ Jul 18 2006, 01:50 PM)
LOL who knows...there's all kinds of ppl out there...

IconPackager is one of the best software I've used so far. Does not work with IE7 tho. Icons will revert back to orginal windows icons.
yeh i agree wit u.. iconpackager easier way to change ur icon. just drag and apply thumbup.gif
kenneth87
post Jul 21 2006, 01:32 AM

~~"\(0.0)/"~~
956 posts

QUOTE(FCUK89 @ Jul 20 2006, 07:10 PM)
Guess maybe the softwares will slow down the startup a little like Windows Blind...
iconpackager wouldn't slow leh.... Window blind indeed will slow but icon wont...
eXPeri3nc3
post Jul 21 2006, 05:08 PM

It's coming! 3ɔu3ıɹǝdxǝ ♥
9,257 posts

QUOTE(kenneth87 @ Jul 21 2006, 02:32 AM)
iconpackager wouldn't slow leh.... Window blind indeed will slow but icon wont...
Unless you didn't rebuild the icon cache after you've change the icons. smile.gif
TSericmaxman
post Aug 3 2006, 01:34 PM

-
7,951 posts

QUOTE(ijat84 @ Jul 7 2006, 03:00 PM)
if you want to change hard drive icon manually, it's kinda hard.
anyway i'll teach you.

1. firstly, open your notepad and type the following:

[autorun]
    icon=filename, number

where the filename is the name of the file that contain an icon (either with .ico, .exe, .dll extension), while the number represent which icon you want to use. (leave it blank if you want to use the first icon though).
  2. after that save it as autorun.inf in the root directory of hard drive you want to change.
anyway, like beebee sez, use iconphile or candyxp, easier. smile.gif
i don't get it.. where is the root directory??
ijat84
post Aug 3 2006, 01:46 PM

Kodi
884 posts

hmm..
example,
if your hard drive letter is C,
save autorun.inf in C:\
eXPeri3nc3
post Aug 10 2006, 11:03 AM

9,257 posts

Ijat,

where the filename is the name of the file that contain an icon (either with .ico, .exe, .dll extension)

Only .ico, .exe, .dll??
How about shortcut or picture?
ijat84
post Aug 10 2006, 12:56 PM

Kodi
884 posts

^ yep, only that kind of extension
if you want to use picture, just convert it into ico.. smile.gif
eXPeri3nc3
post Aug 10 2006, 04:33 PM

9,257 posts

QUOTE(ijat84 @ Aug 10 2006, 01:56 PM)
^ yep, only that kind of extension
if you want to use picture, just convert it into ico.. smile.gif
^ Thanks! I just manage to find one freeware and very flexible~* smile.gif
It worked for the pendrive... thumbup.gif wink.gif
TSericmaxman
post Aug 11 2006, 10:46 AM

-
7,951 posts

QUOTE(eXPeri3nc3 @ Aug 10 2006, 04:33 PM)
^ Thanks! I just manage to find one freeware and very flexible~*  smile.gif
It worked for the pendrive...  thumbup.gif  wink.gif
what is the program?? flex.gif flex.gif flex.gif
eXPeri3nc3
post Aug 11 2006, 11:48 AM

9,257 posts

QUOTE(ericmaxman @ Aug 11 2006, 11:46 AM)
what is the program?? flex.gif  flex.gif  flex.gif
Ah, I think I should rephrase my sentence.
I found an Icon builder that is freeware that worked perfectly to create my own icon rclxm9.gif
Not the program to change the pendrive icon tongue.gif
kenneth87
post Aug 16 2006, 07:05 PM

~~"\(0.0)/"~~
956 posts

QUOTE(eXPeri3nc3 @ Aug 11 2006, 11:48 AM)
Ah, I think I should rephrase my sentence.
I found an Icon builder that is freeware that worked perfectly to create my own icon  rclxm9.gif
Not the program to change the pendrive icon  tongue.gif
What program is that which can create ur own .ico?? Can share?? hehe.. tongue.gif

0.0170sec    0.71    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 03:01 PM