QUOTE(kurikuraX @ Mar 12 2014, 11:34 AM)
Hi guys, anyone from Bangi, Kajang area? got about 20 tails of ghost shrimps and 2-3 tails of culled betta to giveaway. For your fish of course. lol
Too far. LolPrimitive Fish V3, Fish that Survived Milleniums
Mar 12 2014, 04:44 PM
383 posts Joined: Nov 2008 From: In front of PC |
Mar 21 2014, 07:48 PM
Mar 27 2014, 05:40 AM
Hi, since this thread is somewhat dead, and I cant sleep, and im a fish freak, here is a chronological story of my channa tank.
First off, went to LFS to get some driftwoods and slow plants Driftwoods: ![]() ![]() Got my 3 x 1.5 x 1.5ft clear glass tank from amirolzaris for a bargain. After initial lazy setup with only a java fern: ![]() Using 2 filters, a top filter and a canister (SunSun). Top filter purely sponges, whereas canister with bio rings, aquaclay for the bacteria colony. Since it was too boring, went back to the LFS and bought some more plants, java ferns and anubias. Also got some nirox almond leaves to have blackwater. ![]() Left the tank for 12 days for a proper fishless cycle, and also for the bacteria colony to properly adapt. Rounghly 2 weeks, after doing some research, apparently my lighting is not sufficient for the plants in the tank, plus the blackwater makes the light even harder to penetrate to the bottom. Stumbled upon wei jie's planted tank thread here in LYN so contacted him for some plants n proper lighting. Got him a plant n ordered java moss 10cm x 10cm fro him. Lights put on hold for a few days as it costs quite a bomb, Aquazonic T5HO 24wx4tubes 2.0 ft. Added new plant, Sagittaria Subulata (left) ![]() After got the lights + java moss, voila: ![]() |
Mar 27 2014, 05:42 AM
Then starts the search for channa. Wanted bleheri but had that before. So after poisoning my mind on the species of dwarf snakeheads out there, decided on looking for a channa assam @ andrao. Asked Bluegrass Aquatics to source it out (thanks to fellow forumers on whatsapp group
Upon arrival: Supposedly Male » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Female » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Acclimitaze them for about 20 mins, then released them into their wilderness » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « After more thorough research, apparently they need a proper temp of at least 24C for them to really thrive. Current temp is at 29C, and on hot days can go up to 31C. So this is a big no-no. Asked Luqee for some DIY ideas and he proposed of putting 2 pc fans, DIY-ed connected to acdc adaptors. After a day or two, i got the temp down to 24C average, overnight with the aircond on lowest recorded temp was 21.5C. Then after a few days, due to my prompt LFS shopping instincts, bought some more plants. The shrubs on the left: ![]() Dunno whats this ![]() No idea ![]() This post has been edited by aimank_88: Mar 27 2014, 05:43 AM |
Mar 27 2014, 05:44 AM
After a week or so, the channas started to really blend in, with its diet mainly on sinking pellets and ghost shrimps:
And also due to the stable temp on the tank within its recommended range, their colors start to be more vibrant: ![]() ![]() ![]() They've grown for about 1.5cm now after 3 weeks, and latest pic: ![]() Sekian sahaja posting saya pada hari ni. Inb4 Primitive Fish is my diary and Genie dont mind. This post has been edited by aimank_88: Mar 27 2014, 05:47 AM |
Apr 8 2014, 09:47 PM
Apr 9 2014, 03:58 AM
QUOTE(Piratefx @ Apr 9 2014, 01:53 AM) Im having Channa Assam. All dwarf snakeheads are territorial, even with themselves sometimes. So best if u keep only their kind in one tank. And with lotsa hiding places. |
Apr 11 2014, 02:42 PM
QUOTE(Piratefx @ Apr 11 2014, 12:09 PM) Aiseh.....if jumper then i think cannot. Water level is about 3-4 inches from the top. Also....i quite sayang my denison barbs, i don't mind if it whacks the rest, guppies are thriving in my pond and i don't want them. Strangely, my 14 inch high back ignores all smaller fish. As Luqee said...The guppies will be food for d snakeheads, d snakeheads will be food for d kaloi n aro. |
Apr 14 2014, 03:57 AM
Apr 15 2014, 06:05 PM
QUOTE(Untitled2 @ Apr 15 2014, 04:02 PM) DONT Allow import but if buy from Fishshop, may not be imported right? some may be bred here ? It endagers if u release it into the wild. Like most fishkeepers do, when it gets too big, they just release it into rivers and lakes. Just be responsible. Keep the fish until it dies of old age. If u cant afford to keep one, then dont.Or should they state, banned from keeping these fishes ? this is more effective at saving our ecosystem? Weird indeed. I currently own 2-3 species of the banned ones.. Anyone know where to get araipaima Gigas small ones cheap? haha In Sg buloh selling for RM200. Haha |
Apr 15 2014, 09:50 PM
QUOTE(Untitled2 @ Apr 15 2014, 06:59 PM) Roughly around 6-7 inches?QUOTE(Untitled2 @ Apr 15 2014, 07:06 PM) I have a red tail catfish ! Wah thats a lot of fishes! How big is ur tank?with a bunch of other fishes like 6 inch pacu x4 Red tail kelah, dunno what name actually Alligator gar 6 inch 2xspotted gar 4inch 1 silver Rowan's 8 inch And a bunch of the cheap catfish for feeding one, but giant size 8inch + What I want to say is, my red tail catfish rarely get to eat cox the other fish sapu everything at surface top before sinking down to him..... So hard to feed him That's so sad... RTC can hand feed la! Hehe. Initially hand fed mealworms. Now and then i just give steamed fish, selar kuning. If ur afraid to put ur hand in, buy this: This post has been edited by aimank_88: Apr 15 2014, 09:57 PM Attached thumbnail(s) |
Apr 16 2014, 11:20 PM
QUOTE(Untitled2 @ Apr 16 2014, 01:49 PM) ya the RTC onli want to eat smelly stuffs. Ok thats big. HahaAlways have to wait till he comes to the surface only got chance to feed it. Because last time still have some talapias in the pond which always grab the stuffs before the RTC grabs it.. nowdays a bit busy, dont have time to really feed it to it's mouth.. looks like it has to starve a bit. 5ft W x 12 ft length X 3 Ft Depth. In time u can teach d rtc to eat pellets. Their sense of smell is astounding, so good quality pellets preferred la if u wanna teach it to eat them. My RTC currently eat pellets too, but not all d time la. I enjoy more seeing them eating feeder fishes. |
Apr 17 2014, 03:53 PM
QUOTE(Untitled2 @ Apr 17 2014, 03:37 AM) I just fed them some boiled chicken meat today. Looks like he is full for a few days. Lol, the thing with pellet, they float n all the top feeders glup them up very fast. The RTC is no where to be seen when I am feeding pellets... Same for my alligator gar.. Yea same with mine. Eyesight poor. Wait, ur gar eats pellets ?Because last time when I am less busy, I am always feeding them meat those left overs from my meal or from boiling soap.(Of course without the sauce and oil) Think they are now meat eaters. The RTC really seem very blind. Throw food in front also cannot see, but their sense of smell is great. Always come with i feed smelly meat stuffs. |
Apr 19 2014, 05:43 PM
QUOTE(Untitled2 @ Apr 18 2014, 11:19 PM) Ya my 1 x 6-8inch Alligator Gar and 2 x 5 Inch spotter Gars are eating pellets. They didnt like pellets at first but now, they do take the round pellets. Of course they prefer meat and live food. The spotted gar do have some problem eating pellets because they have small mouth. hard to aim small round pellets correctly. But the alligator gar, i just throw a bunch of pellet, he open his mouth n bite left one time, right one time, then left n then right.. just keep eating like that. haha Wow ur lucky ur gars are eating pellets. I have to go buy LFS everytime to buy FF. Its like my 2nd home edi lol.Yea the RTC eyesight really bad.. put food near him, he cant even see it... so speechless. I actually thought my pond UV light that kills algae made him a bit blind when he somehow end up in the filter tank.. Good to hear that he is actually quite blind and not caused by me.. lol |
Apr 25 2014, 12:44 AM
QUOTE(Untitled2 @ Apr 24 2014, 11:26 PM) I had soon hock 2 pieces in a pond with many super eaters. The soon hock ends up shrink in size by 2cm after a while. N now don't even see them anywhere already... My pond got places to hide, so it's very very hard to feed them.. Sigh. Thats because they are naturally ambush predators, they just wait. Like antzz suggested, try feeder fishes. My suggestion would be feed the koi's with pellets first, then put in the feeders. Higher chance for the feeders to survive till ur goby gets a chance to eat them. N they don't move much n if u have a pond with places to hide, they will be in there hiding... So, in my case, I won't even bother keeping them again. |
Apr 25 2014, 02:44 PM
May 23 2014, 06:57 PM
May 24 2014, 06:17 PM
May 27 2014, 10:20 PM
Jun 22 2014, 04:47 PM
Channa Andrao 1
Pic taken 27th March 2014 » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Pic taken 19th May 2014 » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Pic taken today: » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « This post has been edited by aimank_88: Jun 22 2014, 04:48 PM |
| Change to: | 0.0346sec
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 05:28 AM |