Need C&C for this photo

TSesmonde
post Jan 17 2014, 10:20 PM, updated 12y ago

510 posts

Hello Everyone,

Good day to you guys.
I need some C&C for the photo below which was posted as behalf of my friend. icon_question.gif

Thank you. notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
mingyuyu
post Jan 18 2014, 11:54 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

hmm... can't really say a lot about this picture. it looks dull and flat, some boost in contrast + clarity would help. it also looks blurry and the bad looking watermark at the bottom is distracting. the blue gradient from the top looks overdone also.

composition wise, not really the best angle imo, maybe he can go lower and shoot with a wider lens to alter the perspective and make shot more interesting.
[PF] T.J.
post Jan 19 2014, 12:46 PM

24,193 posts

I think the main problem with this shot is the position of the ship. I don't think you will be able to take a very good shot when its positioned and shot like this hmm.gif The stones at the back is not that nice

Also, I agreed with mingyuyu sifu on his comments.
The brushing of blue tones on the top part of the photo should exclude the radar pole of the boat.

usually the shot will be better if the ship has its back pointed out to sea.
Semporna by PF T.J., on Flickr

TSesmonde
post Jan 20 2014, 03:35 PM

510 posts

Wow, very constructive comments and advice from both mingyuyu and T.J.

I have sent this link to my buddy. And at the same time learnt something from you guys.

Thank you a lot. rclxms.gif biggrin.gif
chrisling
post Feb 13 2014, 10:46 AM

Helper Trainee+
1,684 posts

Few suggestion:

1. Always use tripod for landscape photography.
2. Use the lowest ISO.
3. Obey to one third rule.
4. Consider foreground interest more.

0.0159sec    0.99    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 09:30 PM